Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst housemates ever?

• 01-02-2009 12:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭

I lived with 2 guys for about 9 months and regularly got into arguments with them about anything and everything (I closed the door too loudly, the fire was too hot, I used the oven too much (we had seperate ESB bills) and other things, too many to mention really)

Anywhosen, 1 day the cops turned up looking for the 2 of them because they had been trying to lure kids into their van and they went on the lan.

So who is the worst person you've lived with or shared a house with?

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭KathleenF

My family. Nuff said.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Her indoors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I shared a flat with a guy in England who was a thundering alcoholic. After a few weeks I noticed a smell of piss in the flat. I sort of got used to it and passed it off as the smell from a blocked up septic tank.

As time went by it got worse, it was so bad that a girl i was seeing wouldnt stay in the flat.

One night he came home drunk out of his mind and went to bed. I couldnt sleep for some reason that night and in the middle of the night i heard something moving in the flat. I got up and looked out the door of the bedroom and there was himself, sound asleep and having a piss in the corner of the sitting room.

Needless to say i threw him out the next day.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Josef Fritzel, always suspected he was hiding something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I just remembered another.

I was on a year away in canada and moved into a house. On my first day in the place I was sitting on the porch and this nakid girl ran outta the house and down the street screaming, the cops brought her home a few house hours later. This was just the start, it got weirder and weirder.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

i lived with an awful goon at the start of the college year, seemed fine at first but then i think working night shift all the time got the better of his brain. he was soooooo unsocialible, used to come at 3 in the morning from work when everyone was asleep, start banging doors, washing any of our dishes that we left there...badly might i say. as in ya pick up a cup and it slips out of your hand from the grease.

he neglected to tell myself and other housemates (who are mates of mine and we moved in same time) that the house was previously broken into, he also had alot of stuff belonging to previous tenant who had been in trouble with the gardai. many shady looking hoo-ers used to come around looking into our windows and doors. used to take stuff from my press and another housemates as well without asking EVER or saying he had taken something.
    he had a major problem with me which only happened after he found out what age i was. (im only 20!)

to top it off, the day before myself and two other housemates moved out. he decided to come home at 5 o clock with a bunch of people he didnt even know to have a "house party". he neglected to tell these people that he had housemates upstairs asleep. so being quite drunk they decided to make as much noise as humanily possible. doors slamming, loud music, shouting, ringing our doorbell, trying to open our bedroom doors (lucky they were locked!!) then hearing these people planning on robbing stuff from his room and downstairs.

my other housemate confronted him (i should mention shes as quiet as a mouse) he got right in her face and started to shout abuse in her face. then sometime later he done the same to me. when he finally went to bed he left these randomers alone downstairs in the house. who then tried their luck with myself and my housemate once we went downstairs. they stayed in the house until we could finally get them to leave, this was around half 9. the house was in an awful state, beers soaked into the carpets, bottles everywhere, smell of smoke everywhere, lights left on, heat left on all night, doors left wide open, p!ss all over both toilet seats, one of them broke the toilet seat, my housemates underwear which she had just washed and was on a clotheshorse had gone missing! perverts... :eek:

next day since we were up all night, we moved out very early that next morning. no apology or nothing. we spoke to the landlord, and told him about that night. sadly enough we moved to a different house in the same estate and have to see this goons face now and then :mad::mad::mad:

my housemates underwear which she had just washed and was on a clotheshorse had gone missing! perverts... :eek:

Im still wearing them..:D

Duuuurty!

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

I shared with a compulsive shop lifter friend one Summer in Austria,she refused to pay for anything that she could steal.. so the whole summer she nicked food/booze/clothes/books/make up from various shops.. I thought I was racing through my cash way quicker than normal but it took me three months to figure out that she was fleecing me as well.. if she had asked for cash I would gladly have given it to her but I suppose she was justifying it to herself .. .. I wonder has she moved onto blue collar crime now?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

he had a major problem with me which only happened after he found out what age i was. (im only 20!)

Why?!

My worst experience was with a female flat-mate while I was in Galway. She did nothing all day and when I got home from FÁS, the place was always in a mess after her. She was basically a fat lazy bitch and had her boyfriend did all the running and racing for her - although neither of them would bring the rubbish to the skips. One day, I arrived to the flat and she had locked the door from the inside. I rang her phone and could hear it inside ringing, unanswered, so proceeded to hammer the **** out of the door. A half an hour later she comes down - "Oh, I didn't hear you":mad::mad:

I met the fat, useless, bitch a few months after I moved out and she blanked me!

Why?!

I honestly have no idea, its not like i had a mad rave in the house on my birthday. i went into town for drinks and came home with my housemates and boyfriend. i think he was around 28/29.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

I've only lived with other housemates once and that was enough.

There was the French guy who played guitar constantly all day long whilst singing a heavily accented and tuneless version of Sweet Home Alabama. It was the only song he knew and man did he like it! This went on for about six months. He would stay up til 5am every night and then go absolutely mental at me if I made too much noise in the mornings buttering my toast at about 8 or 9am before work because he was tired. The stingy bastard also managed to never pay a bill the entire time I was there.

The other room in the house housed the very creepy guy who was known on occasion to enter my bedroom in the middle of the night and stand there staring at me whilst I cowered under the duvet. He was also obsessed with turning the heat on in the house. He went mental at me one day when I asked if it was okay to turn the heat off because it was summer time and 25 degrees outside. Nope it was his house too and he would put the heat on if he wanted. He also liked to leave rotting meat and such lying around the house and never washed a single dish.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

My worst was three years ago (not as bag as the drug dealing scumbag from four years ago, but definitely more long-term annoying)

Anyway, I lived with the guy for a year and didn't know his name for six months. He was one of those people that never speaks until spoken to, and at that does nothing to continue a conversation. Not too bad in itself, but there were a few things he did to make it torture.

I was in my final year and out from 9-7 most days, looking forward to coming home to relax (the others in the house were mostly away, or kept to themselves upstairs). He obviously had nothing to say to me, I had nothing to say to him. I had gathered from our snips of talk that he didn't like watching TV, and yet he would come down the stairs every evening and sit in the room with me with a cup of tea for half an hour. Saying nothing, not removing his gaze from the TV no matter what was on. Never talking.

It was annoying at first but it got to me no end after a few months. I started to hate, really HATE and resent his presence. He had no expression apart from this stupid annoying half grin, he spent half an hour in the shower twice a day (and brought 6 bottles in with him, three for his hair, two for washing, an a special contoured bottle for his ears....ugh....). He always smelled like talc.

Doesn't sound like the worst but easily the most annoying person I have ever met

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Nothing creepy just some idiot lazy gits.
    They insisted on getting sky sports with the cable package and then looking shocked when they were asked to pay their share very month. They also hid from the landlady because they had drank the money mammy gave them for their rent.

They thought nothing of helping themselves to my food and getting all offended when I finally (after an entire college semester) got pissed off with them and called them ignorant ****ers for never replacing any of it.

Then their lazy mates were invited to squat in the house, broke my games console, hi-fi, and scratched my CDs.

I hate business studies students ever since.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

I hate Big Brother. Pretty Much every one ever on it is/was a complete ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I have so so many its hard to pick a worst. One guy worked around the corner from an apartment with three of us in it and got home first in the evenings. He'd change into his nightclothes get the duvet and be on the couch watching tv by 4.30. He stayed there all night every night, would never let anyone else near the remote, even took it into the toilet with him. He'd only leave to go to the toilet when we weren't in the living room and would highlight all the shows he wanted to watch in the paper to 'book' them.

Another girl who moved in at the start wanted the big en suite room and agreed x amount of rent. Then over Christmas she pushed a note under my door that said she wanted to pay less rent than me or she was leaving. I told her i'd swap rooms with her and she could pay less rent but she said no way she wanted her room which was much bigger than mine and had the ensuite for less than what i paid for mine. Came home on rent day and she was gone!

The worst was a girl who moved in who seemed to have no standards of hygeine whatsoever. She shared a bathroom with another housemate and when he got pissed off that she never ever bought toilet roll and used it for everything, taking make up off etc, he kept it in his room. She still never bought any though! She never did any cleaning or washed her own clothes, but she would take my clothes from the clothes horse, even underwear and socks and of course always denied she did it despite wearing my clothes while denying it. Never ever bought food but took ours, still denying it. Once i cooked a pizza, took it out of the oven and left it on a plate and went quickly to the bathroom, came back and a slice had been cut out. I went in and said if you wanted some you only had to ask but she said she didn't take any. She was still eating it!!! When i pointed that out to her she said she had bought and made herself a slice of pizza and a slice missing from mine was purely coincidental and then became offended that i had accused her. Despite smoking not being allowed in the apartment as per landladys instructions she constantly smoked in the apartment and denied she did it :rolleyes: One day when my then boyfriend was coming over to Dublin for a weekend i had cleaned the apartment and went to meet him at the airport early in the morning. When we got back she was passed out on the couch in her underwear with a duvet clutching a bottle of tesco brand gin :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I live with my brothers, who walk around in their underwear (normally standing to attention too), eat all the food, borrow my hair straightener and leave nudie mags in the bathroom. (I enjoy the articles, but it gives me ma a bit of a shock)

LolaDub wrote: »
    she was passed out on the couch in her underwear with a duvet clutching a bottle of tesco brand gin :eek:

Nice..;)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

When we got back she was passed out on the couch in her underwear with a duvet clutching a bottle of tesco brand gin :eek:
    Dear diary......jackpot:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

amcalester wrote: »
    I lived with 2 guys for about 9 months and regularly got into arguments with them about anything and everything (I closed the door too loudly, the fire was too hot, I used the oven too much (we had seperate ESB bills) and other things, too many to mention really)

Anywhosen, 1 day the cops turned up looking for the 2 of them because they had been trying to lure kids into their van and they went on the lan.

So who is the worst person you've lived with or shared a house with?

I lived with a heroin junkie last year... beat that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭tommmy1979

I get a 6am wakeup call every weekday morning when my housemate stomps in to the bog beside my room and takes a whizz aiming for the water with accompanying oooooohhhss and ahhhhhsss. He may as well sit a saucepan on my pillow and take a slash into that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

Once i cooked a pizza, took it out of the oven and left it on a plate and went quickly to the bathroom, came back and a slice had been cut out. I went in and said if you wanted some you only had to ask but she said she didn't take any. She was still eating it!!! When i pointed that out to her she said she had bought and made herself a slice of pizza and a slice missing from mine was purely coincidental and then became offended that i had accused her.

What?? Seriously? :eek: I'm moving into a new place soon, I'm all worried now!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Crash

My flatmate in college, who was a good friend, once had a drunken moody day because he got turned down by a girl the previous night. Cue a very very amusing day (which I did my best to be out and about for, only popping back in for the funny parts and highlights). His mates had dropped around to try and cheer him up and get him to stop drinking.

Highlight no. 1: Walking in the door to find him drunkenly trying to rub his ballsack off one of the other guys.
    Highlight no. 2: We think he pooped himself at one stage. That was around the point the others dragged him off to the shower and I left for a pint.
    Highlight no. 3: Later that evening myself and the girl from down the hall, who hung around in our place a fair bit and I was trying to get stuck into, were vaguely cuddling on the couch while he was passed out on the other one. Laughing at the silly things that had happened, when all of a sudden he shifts slightly, and begins unbuckling his belt and sliding his hands into his pants. Needless to say we sent him to bed.

Great guy, and a good flatmate, but man some of the ridiculuous **** was erm...well..ridiculuous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

1. I lived in a house in Dublin with a few other girls. One moved her bf into her room. I didnt mind. He's a lovely guy and helped around the house and paid his way. She was the problem. Lets just say there were some "issues" with her. Her poor bf wasnt allowed to talk to us. He did all her cooking and cleaning. She made him wait in the bathroom while she showered. She would make a point of moaning very loudly while they were in bed, just to irritate everyone. When the rest of us went home every weekend, she would take stuff from the other girls rooms. Thankfully she never touched my stuff. She was afraid of me because of my dress sense and my taste in music. Daft I know, but she was a complete nutjob.

2. Another year of college I lived with a guy who slept all day and stayed up all night. It wouldnt have bothered me that much only that my room was next to his and the walls were paper thin. He had a fondness for asian porn, which I heard every night. Not pleasant.

3. One of my current housemates is pretty bad. She has a serious drinking problem. She used to drink in the living room every night, until she was mouldy. This meant none of the rest of us could use the room, as she'd watch episodes of Stargate Atlantis ad nauseum. She'd eventually pass out around 2 or 3 and wake up at 5 or 6am and crash and bang the whole way up the stairs. A lot of the time she's late for work, or sometimes doesnt go in at all because she's so hungover. Last year she rang in sick for every bank holiday. The May bank holiday she drank for 3 days running. It came to a head at christmas after 3 weeks she drank non stop as she was off sick on a cert. She passed out and threw up all over herself and the suite of furniture. Red wine vomit. It doesnt clean easily. It was projectile as it ended up on the walls, across the floor, everywhere. We had an intervention, but she's taken to going straight to her room, so she can drink in private. We've gone into her room when she's not there, (lousy I know) and there are 30+ empty wine bottles under her bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

You didn't live near DCU by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

she would take my clothes from the clothes horse, even underwear and socks and of course always denied she did it despite wearing my clothes while denying it.
    came back and a slice had been cut out. I went in and said if you wanted some you only had to ask but she said she didn't take any. She was still eating it!!!

i don't know if that's insane or genius :confused:

you: you took my top
    her: no i didn't
    you: YOU'RE WEARING IT RIGHT NOW!!
    her : no i'm not

cosmic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i lived in between 2 german woman who seriously pissed me off

they used to make charters for days who does what cleaning etc and made up a shedule

If i played music in my room ( my room was right inbetween theres , one to either side of my side ) they would come in and shout "DAS MUSIC IST SEHR LAUT" etc

Was horrible, ended up shagging one of them tho before i left ( got kicked out ) so wasnt too bad in the end :)

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭hellodolly

my last housemate was an American guy aged around 25/26. Very nice chap, very polite. He cooked his dinner, ate it and washed up immeadiately. Bathed every single night, went to bed at 9pm...every single night. Got up at 5am 7 days a week and did an hour of exercise (sit-up's, push-up's). His body was totally ripped, i mean tanned six pack...

What was the problem? God love him but he was sooo stupid. I couldn't listen to all the stupid crap he came out with. It was like living with the ditziest man on the planet. I know it's not terrible like most of the stories here but the mental abuse of listening to 'dumb & dumber's' younger brother, 'Dumbest' was agony in the end! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Ah ffs, come on and spill the beans!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Spore

Lived with a 'fashion designer' once before... Laziest, messiest freak I've even had the misfortune to share company with. She was recently graduated from some Tossy posh designer school her folks had to shell out for and seemed to think the world owed her some fabulous career cause she made a wedding dress in college (WTF? That's all you did in college in four years?!!)

Met her on daft, said she was a non-smoking professional and I thought "great" as am I'm also non-smoking professional. Lets rent together. Within two weeks she'd canned her job and was chain-smoking and reducing the place to a pig sty. Wore the worst clothes ever, incidentally, never washed them, became a kind of second skin - a greasy threadbare food-stained skin.

Needless to say we stopped 'getting on' when she just turned into a fat lump that smoked all day. She couldn't take the least bit of criticism or gentle reminders to clean and would leave the nastiest notes for me to find in the fridge e.g. "Dear Cúnt face..." Towards the end of our tenure (we stopped speaking for four months before) I came back during lunch (worked around the corner from the place) to find a seventeen page letter addressed to me! What a fúcking freak! Couldn't talk to me like? I never read her shítty letter and took pleasure in telling her this.

I could go on about her hygene etc. but it would sicken me to recall the details... my mate shagged her though :eek: