Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSG 2003 S4E11 - "Sometimes a Great Notion" **FRACKING SPOILERS**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,900 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

robby^5 wrote: »

Brilliant episode, I really hope they keep this up.

Whats great about the episode and BSG in general is that it is so dark ;even Ron Moore was worried that it might be too dark for the producers.
    Its nice to see dark ,gritty shows on tv when so much programming is dumbed down pop drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

GuanYin wrote: »
    Was something about the way she reacted to the jax on earth and then her panic attack and the little ritual before she picked up the gun.

It seemed more to me than just despair and her character was supposed to be a strong female type, she was very no-nonsense til then.

I wonder if she had a flashback like the other did.

As if the Jacks were hers from a previous life.. interesting theory.
    Haha I was just watching scifi channel and
    The actress who playes Dee was interviewed and talked about how she guessed the death was coming because she only got 13 episodes in her contract and how sad she was to miss the rest of the season and the wrap party..... looks like Dee is gone for good.
    That doesnt mean anything. She might have a seperate contract by now. These producers have a knack for leaking seemingly genuine misinformation. Or, maybe she doesnt even have a new contract - its quite probable she will just be thrown into the soup again as a Special Guest Star.

The Plan as far as I know related to eliminating humanity and - like the experiment starbuck was subject to - gain the ability to reproduce, so they could then start again. Basically, the plan was genocide and ethnic cleansing; like a controlled burn of an overgrown forest. Or reinstalling windows :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

I thought dee was humming the song that gata was singing when he was in the bed recovering,from his leg been cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Cina

jor el wrote: »
    Would it be better if they went around saying "Gosh darn it, another Cylon attack, oh fooey, it's all gone to crud"? BSG universe is different to ours. They don't say fuck, they say frak, they don't say god, they say gods. I for one, never want that to change.

... I don't see your point. The fact is that it's still very annoying whenever they say the thing, it was just a stupid word employed in to the show because they're not able to say f*ck on Sci-Fi in the US, simple as. Gods-dammit isn't too much of a problem, because it actually has some relevance to the show, but what the hell does frack have?

Hell, if they say f*ck differently why the hell don't they say other words differently as well? If you have no problem with that then that's fine, but I think it's a bit daft to argue the fact that it was just put in there to try and add more maturity and grit to the show, and in my opinion, fails miserably. Shows like Lost, Prison Break et al have had no problem not using curse words, why shouldn't BSG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I think watching a major character
    randomly spraying her brains all over the wall
    adds enough maturity as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

This one's for you Cina buddy :pac:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=r7KcpgQKo2I

Vokes wrote: »
    This one's for you Cina buddy :pac:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=r7KcpgQKo2I

That's just pure evil!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I've noticed some people talking about dee and the jacks/jax on earth... I didn't see any toilet scene (would have looked great on the HD) what are these people talking about?

Cina wrote: »
    Hell, if they say f*ck differently why the hell don't they say other words differently as well? If you have no problem with that then that's fine, but I think it's a bit daft to argue the fact that it was just put in there to try and add more maturity and grit to the show, and in my opinion, fails miserably. Shows like Lost, Prison Break et al have had no problem not using curse words, why shouldn't BSG?

It was adopted from the original series. As were the Vipers. Its an homage; respect if you will.

The reason it appeared in the original series? Not nearly as Dark as the current series. Frakking kids watched it. On top of that, it avoids any watershed issues.

And need I mention: Lost and Prison Break are terrible. Stargate got along just fine without stepping outside the lines of "that Bastard Son of a Bitch!"

Besides, we wouldnt have the Frakking Drinking Game without it.
    I've noticed some people talking about dee and the jacks/jax on earth... I didn't see any toilet scene (would have looked great on the HD) what are these people talking about?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacks :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Whats great about the episode and BSG in general is that it is so dark ;even Ron Moore was worried that it might be too dark for the producers.
    Its nice to see dark ,gritty shows on tv when so much programming is dumbed down pop drivel.

Tv that actually works the brain.
    Not the heaps of dumb reality garbage. The West Wing And this are two of my best favourite shows - EVER.

Biggins wrote: »

Tv that actually works the brain.
    Not the heaps of dumb reality garbage. The West Wing And this are two of my best favourite shows - EVER.
    +9001.

It really sinks in with you how awesome the series is going to be from the time in the miniseries when they have to abandon the sublight ships.

Overheal wrote: »
    It was adopted from the original series. As were the Vipers. Its an homage; respect if you will.

I'm aware of it's origins. But a homage? fair enough if it was used the odd time, but it was literally used every 5 seconds in the big Adama-Tigh bust up in this episode, which, apart from the inclusion of the dreadful word, was brilliant.
    The reason it appeared in the original series? Not nearly as Dark as the current series. Frakking kids watched it. On top of that, it avoids any watershed issues.

There are no 'watershed issues' on US TV really though, the only stations that can have f*ck in their TV shows are HBO and Showtime from what I've gathered, it's not allowed on Sci Fi, no matter what the time is.
    It wasn't as out of place in the original (and certainly not used as much) because it was usually used in a light hearted fashion, in the new series it's supposed to be used to add more grit and anger to scenes, and I don't think it works.
    And need I mention: Lost and Prison Break are terrible. Stargate got along just fine without stepping outside the lines of "that Bastard Son of a Bitch!"

I was merely mentioning 2 popular shows, though I'll agree that Prison Break is rubbish, Lost isn't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Thought it was a great episode.
    Like a lot of the theories, but pretty happy to sit back and just watch.
    Watched the last episode prior to the break before watching this most recent episode. Worthwhile. Saturday mornings are awesome again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

I was merely mentioning 2 popular shows, though I'll agree that Prison Break is rubbish, Lost isn't though.

But that's where everyone's opinion can differ. You think that frak and gods are annoying, where as it really doesn't bother me. I don't cringe when I hear it, and it doesn't seem out of place, even if they say it a lot. PB has become rubbish, and so has Lost, again, different opinions. I'm sure if you look on the PB forum, you'll still find plenty of 10/10 voters.

Anyway, you should let little things like a few frakkin gods get in the way of enjoying the show. It's better than that.

I didn't realise what it was that Dee found on the planet, I thought it was some sort of jewelery. The way she acted, just before killing herself was very odd though. She was all happy smiley, whistling away (I think it was Gaeta's song too), then as soon as she took her ring off, her whole demeanor changed. Smile changed to a look of seriousness. I thought it meant that she was putting all that on, and was still really pissed (at Lee), but not that she was about to kill herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

It took me a while to figure it out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

I'm aware of it's origins. But a homage? fair enough if it was used the odd time, but it was literally used every 5 seconds in the big Adama-Tigh bust up in this episode, which, apart from the inclusion of the dreadful word, was brilliant.There are no 'watershed issues' on US TV really though, the only stations that can have f*ck in their TV shows are HBO and Showtime from what I've gathered, it's not allowed on Sci Fi, no matter what the time is.It wasn't as out of place in the original (and certainly not used as much) because it was usually used in a light hearted fashion, in the new series it's supposed to be used to add more grit and anger to scenes, and I don't think it works. I was merely mentioning 2 popular shows, though I'll agree that Prison Break is rubbish, Lost isn't though.

My gods, start your own frackin Thread.

pirelli wrote: »
    My gods, start your own frackin Thread.
    Frack that, I dont want to listen to that frakking crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Calibos wrote: »
    Yeah, on second thoughts, maybe I wouldn't go so far as to say popstar. Maybe a scientist like the other final 5 who was an amatuer song writer who played this song he wrote to the others on their time off from designing the resurrection technology. :D Hopefully though he didn't write it but heard it himself in a signal he discovered during his SETI research. :D

I'll still be abit annoyed that they used a real earth song if it had no significance. Using it as incidental music would have been fine, ie as just cool theme music for the Ionian Nebula battle. However using one of 'our' songs in the galactica universe so to speak where characters hear it..... It better be connected to our earth!!
    You might not be impressed with this then. Though the storyline may reveal something different.
    Vokes wrote: »
    Nahh, its set during the miniseries events (the attack on the 12 colonies and the exodus) again but from the Cylon perspective.
    I really like the idea that they're doing this - shades of Rashomon. I doubt that they can (or want to) do it like an unreliable narrator given that we can see what's going on but I like the idea of the opposing perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Tristram

_CreeD_ wrote: »
    The 5 DID NOT cause the destruction of that planet as you can clearly see they were ordinary citizaens of it before the apocalypse. It was implied by the intro flashback to Cavill saying that the 6's did not know what they had unleashed when they gave the Centurions more autonomy added to the find of full metal cyclons that the war was between skin jobs and metal.

How exactly do we know that the Five were not responsible for the destruction on Earth? We could interpret Ellen's comment that they will be reborn as a sign that they have secured their resurrection and would have nothing to worry about with getting nuked.

Can we take the Chief's flashback as accurate? Did it show us other Cylon models or models we know at different stages of development?

Anyway the song now explains how it got them to realize they were cylons, as it probably jotted their memory. Though, not why they picked up a radio signal without braces...hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

jor el wrote: »
    But that's where everyone's opinion can differ. You think that frak and gods are annoying, where as it really doesn't bother me. I don't cringe when I hear it, and it doesn't seem out of place, even if they say it a lot.

ill just leave this here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

are tigh and those lot not like the earth cylons, made of bone etc....

is ellen tigh's 6, the femme fatale using sex to infiltrate earth

aint kara now a tigh-alike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Interesting the phrase Ellen uses at the end

"we'll be reborn..... again.... together"

reborn... "again"....

Interesting the phrase Ellen uses at the end

"we'll be reborn..... again.... together"

reborn... "again"....
    That might be clutching straws - probably a faux pas.

somebody needs to make a chart

The Thirteenth Cylon

In "Sine Qua Non", Caprica-Six is discovered to be pregnant, and Saul Tigh is accused of fathering the child. If so, this would be the first completely Cylon conception.

While "The Face of the Enemy" webisodes were released before "Sometimes a Great Notion", they actually take place several days after it.