Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The IAA, "The Shop" and the other organisation - Moved from the PQ Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I actually dont, I rely on you amazing people that bring me in treats :)

This is weird, i best get back on topic of leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

kiwi84000 wrote: »
    Taz I think its quite clear what we are trying to do. I have stated many times that we are trying to set up.

Yes, and from what I can see having read the initial version of the constitution and the minutes on the website and the list of attendees not to mention having prior interaction with nearly all of them and who the initial "committee" is ... I dont lose any sleep about calling it by its proper title. A power grabbing, cartel of the insidious and duped.

I'm putting you in the second catagory because I have actually met you and I think you would be smart enough to tell the difference between right and wrong provided with enough evidence.
    If you dont want to believe that I have the best intentions of the sport in mind then its a trust issue you have with me. Not with anyone else.

About 50/50. You have positioned yourself, whether by strategy or accident, as a spokesperson for this group. You have continually argued its favor and have taken your own personal shots at people as have others (myself included). I understand that you want to protect the investment you have made in your business, this is not what is in question. What has everyone so riled up is that by joining in with this cabal you are (in many peoples view) pushing an agenda that seeks to disenfranchise them by removing their rights and freedoms (all of which has been gone over).

How can your business be worth more to them than their own personal interests? Surely you can see why this offends people?

With a specific reference to Extremetaz = he has personally defended the sport and by extention your business in the media and from political attacks for the last two years. The establishment of this group throws all of that work in his face and undermines the efforts he and many other went through to provide the IAA as a single, inclusive body which can be changed by means of democratic protocols. A group I might add that has not demanded that ANYONE join as a mandatory measure and has sought to prevent mandatory membership of any particular group in order to play or profit from the sport.

Your partially correct. I was happy to just go out and skirmish/set up my own business. That was ofcourse until the minister said he was going to ban the sport. I was invited to a meeting heard the policies and then had a choice. I disagree with some of the IAA policies and I disagree with some of the IASRA policies.

Which IAA policies do you disagree with? If you point them out I will discuss them with you rationally. I wrote the majority of them so I may be in a better position to explain.

Which of the IASRA policies dont you agree with and why?

As for being happy until airsoft was threatened. Well, the difference here is that some people were not happy to sit and wait. They actively organised and mounted a resistance campaign to whatever was thrown the way of airsoft. the fact that you have a business attests to this - like it or not, the IAA was protecting the sport (with one hand tied behind its back) for that last two years.

I dont blame you for not having much of an interest until such time as there was a direct threat to yourself. That was partly the intention of the IAA, to allow people to get on with playing while some poor saps stupid enough to volunteer fought the jabberwocky on the communities behalf.

What I do not approve of (and this is a personal thing) is that the instant that there was a threat, instead of trying to find out the truth and get the maximum ammount of information you could you threw in with the first group to drop its drawers for you.
    Then I made my choice on this thread to discuss it out here. After getting attacked and called a hypocrite for not only attending a meeting but also for discussing what I consider valid issues with the IAA I made my choice.

I invite you again to address the specific policy issues you have with me as I am the one ultimately responsible for what is written.

I would also point out that you are not innocent of being on the attack.
    Taz if you spoke to anyone who knew me before I set up the business you would not say that at all. Not to mention the fact that I would be STUPID not to try and protect my investment. Stating that it is my primary concern is right. That dosent make any of my points invalid or change the fact that I am doing it for airsoft.

Protecting your investment is not stupid. Its what every business should be doing.

Dont try to pass it off as noble. Its not. Its about profit.

You as an individual might be here to defend airsoft to the death. There wont be any argument from me on that. But when it comes to business your bottom line is the priority.

The problem, as I have explained, is that the average player doesnt give a toss about whether you are making money beyond whether your site will be open next week. They are concerned with their own priorities which seem to include the continued free enjoyment of their passtime. The IASRA appear (to most people who read the miniscule details available) to have goals which are not conducive to this continued freedom.

Can you understand that many players, plinkers and collectors are upset by the idea that they have to declare their equipment, become mandatory members and are worried that their freedom of choice in where they purchase from, what they can own, how much they can own, where they are permitted to use it and to whom their information is given?

So your telling me that I am not allowed to discuss the IAA or its policies until I read what you say?

... how would that be unfair?

"I havent met Homoer Simpson, I dont know Homer Simpson but ... but ... "

"Its alright, your tears say more than real evidence ever could"
    Funny seeing the abuse that has been hurled at the new organization before the constitution is available.

Considering I managed to source a copy of the initial constitution and I have read it I think I'm as qualified as anyone else given the details of the minutes, the follks who attended and the knowledge I have of the majority of those attendees.

Can you please explain to me what whispers and tinfoil hats types you are talking about here taz? I think I have backed up pretty much everything I have said. But because I have issues with policies i am a tinfoil hat type?

I believe he may be calling your motivations and reasons for having issues with those policies into question. Please consider that many of the people here and in the airsoft community in general have been subject to spurious lies, misinformation, slander and in several cases prosedcutable defamation (and at least 1 death threat to the IAA committee). You may be coming in fresh but the fact is that some people are entitled to their suspicion when comments start looking familiar - is that a fair comment?
    Grow up

... and that was unnesesscery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

Lads, there's been a lot of hysteria whipped up on this thread, and as a recent IAA sign-up, I feel I need to say that some of you (on both sides, but particularly pro-IAA) really need to stand back and look at what you're committing to permanent record here. A lot of this doesn't represent my views at all, apart from something I'll get to. I'm right behind gerrowadat/Dave and the diplomatic approach and I think it's safe to say that if you can't say it diplomatically in less than 300 words, without quoting endlessly and pedantically (that goes for all of you) then you've lost the way and you need to stop right there. That's how it reads over 18 damn pages, with maybe 7 meaningful posts.

I support the IAA, but I don't support laying into the first person to stand up and say 'Well, maybe I want to join another group'. That's not productive. gerrowadat and Kiwi talking it over in a useful way, and hopefully Bren too, that's productive. Believe me, I've an axe to grind with the instigator of the current situation too, but this is no way to go about improving the situation and I'm disappointed in some of you.

Tigger, I'm glad you've been following the IRC channel, but I'd better warn you that I wasn't entirely serious about my setting up of a zombie apocalypse defence bunker with real steel; don't get your hopes up. I'd appreciate you not quoting edited off-the-wall conversations out of context in whatever manner suits you.

Lastly, a substantial issue for me is that I'll be damned if my access to airsoft is controlled and managed by a self-appointed NGO run primarily by commercial interests, to whom I have an obligation to disclose my property in a way which doesn't exist with any other activity in this country. I'm confident that this isn't possible, but I'll fight the possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Haha yeah, I'm a real pro when it comes to making the coffee

Yeah, right. Not when I've been in the shop. I even brought you all cookies - I'm still waiting for my coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭hrta

what fascinates me is the unstated question that lies behind much of
    our preoccupation with tit for tat capabilities. That question is
    not what will the airsoft be like in the future, but instead, what will
    we be like in the future? What kind of people are we becoming i ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Ya know there's really only one way to settle this.....Have a skirmish and realise airsoft is all about fun and having good times shooting people, not bickering with each other. Bring the community together cos it 'aint that strong as is, why weaken it further?

You know Gerrout made a serious point back a few pages that got lost in what is fastly becoming the most retarded and biggest willy wagging contest. The amount of " quote tennis" is down right laughable and if its somehow satisfying egos then fair enough : /

You know, I personally dont see this as a huge divide and problem. The simple fact is, the "anti iaa" or "naysayers" havnt a ****ing leg to stand on, you have done **** all. Like has been said many a time for ages <b> If you dont like what you see, then go join up!</b> I'm getting sick and tired of hearing the "conspiracies" of the infamous click and whose running the IAA. There is that ****ing ridic comment that a certain airsoft team is running the IAA. Its absolutely laughable...considering all you had to do was join and get yourself nominated. There is an serious keyboard warrior section that runs rampant round here, and I'll admit I would be guilty sometimes, but I have absolutely no problem standing up for my beliefs and my priorities and principles.

As gerrout pointed earlier, an offer has been put foward to those of the new organisation to all have a chat and see where it can go, and it is the best way foward. Many people know my feelings towards a certain person involved with this organisation. And the sad thing is, I have never met him in person. I had actually applied for a place of employment in his establishment where I had been called in for an interview, so things could have been all so different. But I've had to put up with alot of grief and ****e because of him. And even saying that, it could all be an extremely elaborate ploy by certain customers to sway my ear, but somehow I think the substantial figures of people relaying this information gives it truth.

However, if I was asked " Would you forget all and have a clean slate" Id say yes. One of the attractions to this whole airsoft thing was the tight knit community. But one which quickly exposed itself to have differences and clicks, teams against teams, shops against shops, sites against sites.

The way I look at it is, this new organisation hasnt a leg to stand on. If they want you to register with them to only get aegs, well ill go to a retailer not within their ranks. If thats not possible I'll go abroad, they cant embargo imports. And I dont see them being knighted the bosses of airsoft by the powers that run our country ( terribly).

And I find it ****ing immensly ironic the amount of people here who have called the IAA a click, can I ask exactly what this new organisation is? The problem is that msot of the people posting here with "wisdom" havnt a clue, and theres only a few people that do, and they know exactly whats going on. And they instantly understand why Derek is the main name being thrown up here ( as mentioned by paul_horgan, main supplier). The fact that this "meeting" went ahead, without the prescence of some of the biggest players in the game, points to insta-click...and immediatly smashed their credability.

As a player, I instantly see a group of people in top hats and moustaches, replacing community chest with Airsoft Monopoly. There is actually no way they can MAKE me sign with them to buy my gear...ever. Like that unless they somehow, completely overtake the iaa and get into the pants of the DOJ and get somehow miracously assigned the position of " you run airsoft". But I lie safe in the knowledge that I know theres going to be retailers that will not join this organisation, so I can get my equipment elsewhere, and like that can buy from abroad.... and considering some of the prices of the retailers in question, I'm not going to lose out by much in fairness.

I'm suprised I am actually siding with democracy here. I used to be the person who said " what will the iaa do for me??" Then I quickly realised the anwser to that question was " They let you use that toy every weekend" And thats the simple fact in my mind. I sat in my chair at the IAA AGM and just went " holy ****, they actually did it" And I KNOW that if the IAA werent around for the past however long they exist, I'd be spending sunday mornings playing wow instead of airsoft. As much as the IAA remain humble in alot of their dealings, I'm not part of their commitee, so I'll say it...they saved airsoft, fact, the proof is there. Sitting there ignoring it and being obvlivious to it all is pure ignorant, despise them or whatever your agenda, they are the reason you are playing airsoft, and will continue to do so for some time. So on a purely intellectual level, why the hell would you not support these people?

My final point is, I'd be supportive of an initiave to get a sitdown and to maybe have a look at agendas and whats what, and come to a solution/ compramise.

Like I said, alot of you here dont know the ins and outs of what goes on and what is what, and you do make alot of assumptions on pretty much here say. I've first hand experience in alot of what I say, and what is said regarding peoples,places and things in this airsoft business.

I think alot of people need to swallow that big lumpy pride down their throat, put personal issues aside and sort something out. Cause even though this inititive by the new organisation is being done for whatever reasons, already...the view being shown and displayed is Monopoly, Cartel and some form of attempt to get a pwoer grip on the industry. Which may not be the case.

Edit::

And just for the record, as probably old posts will show, I was anti -iaa, I used to say " what do they do for us" I used to say " its grand airsoft cant be banned its harmless"

But I actually bothered to investagate what exactly they did, I bothered to actually introduce myself to them when in they were present in a site to see what kinda people they were. And as someone who comes from big time golf, I well used to clicks and people abusing power. And what I saw, and still see today, are a bunch of blokes who sacfirice their free time, to take on a huge task and responsability completely under resourced...forking out of their own pockets.

If you take the time to actually do your own reserach,in a timeline format, youll quickly learn exactly the reason and people responsible as to why you are actually allowed go play airsoft on a weekend. And I also joined the iaa, so that I could make critisms, knowing full well i was a paid member, that I was a voice and a vote, and that I could make a difference from the inside...and I havnt even needed to do sweet **** all, cause the things that are dear to me, my kit and my privelage....privelage been a key factor there, to go play airsoft..have been spearheaded and safeguarded by these people...who at the end of the day..are airsofters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭copperdaz

mmmmm reading this thread tells me two things. 1. there is a split in your views and 2. there is a need for two bodies. i think that like having two political parties it provides ppeople with a choice, not just at AGM time.

i think that retailers should look out for their interests its there livelihood the bread and butter. Players involved in airsoft do it for fun or a hobby so represent that side of the sport and let retailers represent their interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

this reminds of a game of poker both sides can keep making out there hand is better getting bigger chips on the table but at the end of the day when both hands are down we will see who is bluffing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

copperdaz wrote: »
    mmmmm reading this thread tells me two things. 1. there is a split in your views and 2. there is a need for two bodies. i think that like having two political parties it provides ppeople with a choice, not just at AGM time.

i think that retailers should look out for their interests its there livelihood the bread and butter. Players involved in airsoft do it for fun or a hobby so represent that side of the sport and let retailers represent their interests.

Sure retailers and players should have their own representatives if they want. The problem most people have are the restrictions and invasion of privacy the new group would like to impose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

No sign of the "imminent announcement" from the retailers organisation which surprises me. Surely they should have been aware how contentious their formation would be especially given the onerous and restrictive practices that they are attempting to bring into the availability of airsoft devices.

The anger from ordinary airsofters like myself has been dramatic. I have never received so many PM's in one day and every man one of them contained opinions in rank opposition to what is being proposed. Nearly all stated that this situation if it stands will help decide their purchasing and playing decisions going forward to the detriment of the businesses that have set up this organisation.

Again set up a business organisation to represent the business side but do not continue the farce this is for the players. And ensure you drop the restriction that purchases will only be available to members of this flawed organisation requirements rapidly.

I would also like to hear how this organisation will liaise with the IAA and ensure a single unified voice is heard moving forward if this retailers organisation actually stays in existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Epic thread :rolleyes:

I was one of the quiet majority happy to let the IAA volunteers slog away while I went out and enjoyed the freedom to pursue my airsoft hobby.

I was happy to sit on my hole and skirmish away without any feeling that I was contributing to airsoft in any other way than taking part and being responsible in terms of safety and skirmish etiquette and generally not acting the b*ll*x.

I think the IAA should be happy that the IASRA has jumped in late in the day with both feet. I never felt a compelling need to join the IAA until their arrival.

The government may choose to restrict my freedom to pursue this hobby fair enough I'll have to take my medicine in that event. (Hope it wont come to that but we'll have to wait and see to be sure)

We dont need a nanny association and if we direct our business towards a retailer or site it has to be by choice and not coercion.

The IASRA can bite my shiny metal ass if they think I'll be declaring what airsoft gear I have to them and signing up for the privelage to buy gear from their commercial members.

In practice if I was going to drop €300 to €400 euro on an AEG to one of their members but refuse to sign up would they universally turn me away?

Luckily enough I wont have to put it to the test as my spending practices through personal experience of all the Irish retailers has led me to do business with those retailers that seem unlikely to sign up with the IASRA. Funny the way thats worked out naturally before this nonsense occurred. I feel somewhat vindicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

A question.

Straight up. What does IASRA do for commercial interests that the IAA does not do?

Since I will soon become a commercial interest I feel I have the right to know what my options are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ok
    i asked
    no reply

so i ask again

shiva did you know ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Tigger wrote: »
    ok
    i asked
    no reply

so i ask again

shiva did you know ??

You were answered at least twice, by IAA committee members.

But since that's not enough for you, I'll answer.

I didn't know for sure, but I suspected things were not as bleak as they seemed. I was at the meeting with Charles Flanagan where the IAA proposals were presented, and one of the last things he said was "Airsoft is here to stay". Given that he is on the justice sub-committee, I interpreted that as a good sign. That's what I knew. Same as anyone else who read the details about the meeting on the IAA website afterwards and could put two and two together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Wow this thread has kept me away from my jeremy clakson book for hours now.

can I just point out somrthing thats niggling away at me,If the community is split (which from previous anti IAA threads on boards ive noticed there is dissatisfaction out there. then why cant we have two groups that represent everyone (ok dont start with the you cant please everyone stuff).
    each to thier own and joint meetings with the DOJ etc.
    vinters do it garda unions do it why cant we.
    then those who dont like one group can still have a voice with another without the trivial vetting,membership,clique crap getting in the way.

why 2 cents

Shiva wrote: »

I didn't know for sure, but I suspected things were not as bleak as they seemed. I was at the meeting with Charles Flanagan where the IAA proposals were presented, and one of the last things he said was "Airsoft is here to stay". Given that he is on the justice sub-committee, I interpreted that as a good sign. That's what I knew. Same as anyone else who read the details about the meeting on the IAA website afterwards and could put two and two together.

i was answered with a direct lie from the iaa before

pardon me if i want stuff from the horese gob

thanks

i was answered with a direct lie from the iaa before

pardon me if i want stuff from the horese gob

thanks

No problem at all.

And in the interests of full disclosure I should point out that I had a coffee and a Cadbury Snack Shortcake in one of the coffee shops there afterwards.

I'll be raising the issue of why there were no Kitkats for sale at the first opportunity - I suspect a Cadbury-led conspiracy to stifle competition and disenfranchise the chocolate eating public servants of Ireland.

btw flanniagn haas as much influece over the doj as i do

No problem at all.

And in the interests of full disclosure I should point out that I had a coffee and a Cadbury Snack Shortcake in one of the coffee shops there afterwards.

I'll be raising the issue of why there were no Kitkats for sale at the first opportunity - I suspect a Cadbury-led conspiracy to stifle competition and disenfranchise the chocolate eating public servants of Ireland.

there is no need to be sarky

my
    posts are a clearv record of what i believe

i believe that there aare two issues with the iaa

thats not very many considering

btw flanniagn haas as much influece over the doj as i do

I guess the IAA should arrange to meet with you too then.
    Will there be Kitkats ?

there is no need to be sarky

my
    posts are a clearv record of what i believe

i believe that there aare two issues with the iaa

thats not very many considering

I was going for light-hearted humour, not sarcasm. Epic fail on my part.

And for what it's worth, I would tend to agree - I have some issues with the IAA too, and I've said as much to them in meetings and as individuals. But yeah, the issues aren't all that significant or even numerous.

I guess the IAA should arrange to meet with you too then.
    Will there be Kitkats ?

kitkats? there´ll be hoke and cookers if it´ll help

I was going for light-hearted humour, not sarcasm. Epic fail on my part.

And for what it's worth, I would tend to agree - I have some issues with the IAA too, and I've said as much to them in meetings and as individuals. But yeah, the issues aren't all that significant or even numerous.

i know

you are a consumate businessman and aagain i´m on record about my feeling re eirsoft

not the point i´m making tho

some people are unhappy with ethe iaa i think that perception and immatgurity on all sides has allowed this to escillate to this point

i had hope that i could join this new iaa as a protest buirt as i am fundementally agains their ideas thats not gonna happen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Isn't it funny how many people have no problems with the IAA at all, and that most of the ones who do, seem to be the "I know the CIA shot JFK" types.,
    coincidence that.,.

oh and I'll be talking to the people in the Toffee Crisp factory about your traitor activities tony ;).,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

It would have been priceless to accuse Leinster House of being involved in a Martian Conspiracy, but Cadbury is a different company . Ah well...

i know

you are a consumate businessman and aagain i´m on record about my feeling re eirsoft

not the point i´m making tho

some people are unhappy with ethe iaa i think that perception and immatgurity on all sides has allowed this to escillate to this point

i had hope that i could join this new iaa as a protest buirt as i am fundementally agains their ideas thats not gonna happen

I'm sorry man but I just get more enraged reading your terrible posts.

So if your against what the IAA stands for... why the **** are you playing Airsoft exactly?

And the reason why there is no need for two different representitive parties is pretty blood obvious.

Sport isnt like politics. The GUI is the official governing body of golf in ireland, theres only one, end of. A rival organisation tried to setup and got absolutely smashed.

If you look at any sport, the first thing you will do is see if the location you are attending is affiliated with the governing body. This gives you the confidence in that the location will be run according to the national laws set by one body.

Take for example the portmarnock golf hotel, currently engaged in massive legal action for what is a shocking sexist policy on membership. They refuse to join the GUI, and therefore lose thousands of potential customers. Much like someone not wanting to join the iaa because they want to sell hot guns.

A similar split happend in football. Brendfor and DDSL split from one and now have their own leagues. This single act, crippled irish football and ensured that hundreds of talented youngsters would get lost and never have a chance to have any sort of career.

I know this because i represented my country 3 times in my teen years, and was never given a chance because I was not in the DDSL league, regardless of the fact I was widely regarded the best goalkeeper in the country, as reported by a number of pundits, newspapers and coaches.

The simple fact is if this does go all the way and create a split permenantly. It does nothing for us, it will turn into an eternal willy wagging contest saying whose better.

An interesting post mas made refering to poker. In my opinion.

This is Daniel Negreanu playing Teddy Sheringham...no ****ing contest. A man whose won countless battles against a guy blowing in on a big name.

I actually dont believe the absolute childishness of most people around here. And the complete lack of bollox on some of you.
    This new organisation is completely not needed, its a complete farce and a joke. And anyone who thinks this is actually a body representing airsoft and not their own interests is shocking. And its very much their own interests, looking at some of the retailers present they are people i would never give a second look and i doubt they do much business :/

I dont even see discussion here, I am an open minded person, but I try to tackle the tinfoil hats as much as possible. And as time goes by im starting to feel so ****ing intellectually superior then people here. And as mentioned above by vtec, theres alot of posts here from people who ARE JUST SKIRMISHERS. Which is fine, but your missing all the reasons and points to why there is so much hostility towards this new organisation. This isnt just because its a rival to the IAA.

If I announced a new organisation tomorrow, as much as it probably would be debated, it wouldnt be this heated and it wouldnt be much. Its merely cause of the people involved.

If you want to actually do something to change airsoft, or get involved...you have more of a chance to actually doing something by joining the iaa and using your vote rather then joining another organisation, which essentially, you dont have a say in.

What i find ****ing hilarious, is that looking back, this new organisation could have used their brain and removed the isolation hat, joined the iaa and swallowed their pride, got themselves nominated for committe positions, brought along all their little sheeps on leashes and completely hijacked the iaa.

But they are too blind, arrogant, egotistical and down ride thick to even realise they could have done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

they would appear to be postin updates on irishairsoftsports http://irishairsoftsports.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=33

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

they would appear to be postin updates on irishairsoftsports http://irishairsoftsports.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=33

I LOL'd

On a serious note I am worried about these guys talking to the DOJ in January.

dont want them near doj...

Hopefully the IAA will bne in enough good sted, and can easily brush these guys off