Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I'm really surprised that people are Surprised that Ruth got voted off. She was always going to be the one that got the boot once the final two aspect was gone, she just doesn’t have the public support because she’s not British.

I thought it was rather pointed that the last two were the "foreigners".
    I think Eoghan could be in trouble for that reason, he mightn't have enough support on the mainland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭ALFIET

And Britney? She just looked like Kerry Cantona prancing around the stage. Although the crowd seemed to love it.

My god, what was all that about with Britney. It was so poor!
    She kept missing steps. didnt look steady on her feet.
    And didnt seem able to engage in conversation afterwards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It BeeMee wrote: »
    I think Eoghan could be in trouble for that reason, he mightn't have enough support on the mainland.
    Ah I'd say he has plenty of support from Norn Iron as well as the teeny boppers on the Mainland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Really? I never had any doubt that it'd be Ruth getting the chop this week, even said so last week.

I made it clear why I think it wasn't that clear cut in my previous post.:P

How were you so confident that she'd get the chop this week when it was JLS and Rachel, not Ruth, in the bottom two the previous week?

As I pointed out the voting patterns are unstable among the undecided. Ruth could of, and should have, made it to the Semi Final. The external factors that I mentioned however put JLS through.

Ah I'd say he has plenty of support from Norn Iron as well as the teeny boppers on the Mainland.

And AFAIK it wasn't a final two, i.e. the first person safe wasn't the person with the most amount of votes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Westmeath Lass

Does anyone else think that Diana more screams than sings ? Whats the deal with the no shoes thing every week ?

Alex by far in my opinion is the best singer in the comp :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

Does anyone else think that Diana more screams than sings ? Whats the deal with the no shoes thing every week ?

Alex by far in my opinion is the best singer in the comp :)

I can see we're going to get along just fine. :D

Ive been reading up this morning other peoples opinions that she was planted in the X-Factor. Apparently she had already auditioned for Simon and he told her that she should audition for the X-Factor, nudge nudge wink wink.

I was shocked to watch the video of the results being read out here. Cheryl is more concerned about Diana getting through than Alexandra. In fact, Cheryl always does her trademark smile when Diana is on stage an not for when others so Im beginning to believe it is a fix and she was planted and the judges are all being told tough look, you're getting paid a packet, this is television.

I think that is why Louis is screaming that JLS are the best, he's trying to sway the public vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

And AFAIK it wasn't a final two, i.e. the first person safe wasn't the person with the most amount of votes.

Oh I know that, but they were the last two left on stage. I interpret that as a subliminal message from the producers that they want an English winner, and were merely highlighting the fact there was still one "other" left.

Then again, my paranoia has been acting up a lot lately :D

Oh I know that, but they were the last two left on stage. I interpret that as a subliminal message from the producers that they want an English winner, and were merely highlighting the fact there was still one "other" left.

Then again, my paranoia has been acting up a lot lately :D

Yeah i think there may be a need to take more of the pink pills today ItBeeMee!!!!:rolleyes: Remember the PINK ones.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I interpret that as a subliminal message from the producers that they want an English winner, and were merely highlighting the fact there was still one "other" left

I think that you might be onto something. No, really, I think that the only reason Ruth was kicked out was because

A) Simon got Eoghan to perform a High School Musical song which he knew all the little Miley Cyrus and Britney Spears fans would want their Mums to vote for

B) If Eoghan had of gone then Simon would have been without an act in the Semi Finals....and that people, is truly unforgivable, since its really his show...lets face it....hes in charge and if he doesnt like you and you win then he doesnt give a **** about your career

And when I heard what the song the winner will sing on their CD is I nearly got sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 niallzer_uh_huh

ALFIET wrote: »
    The only decent one in this whole competition is Alex. She is the internationally marketable but Diana (good lord) is more marketable to the home market. However she has more of a shelf life than Alex. I just hope that they dont market Alex on Leona.

Terrible thing to say as an Irish person but god love the poor wee Eoghan... wot a yoke! His voice is not strong enough at all - he canot dance. The hair is woeful! And the whole high school musical is wearing a bit thin now.

JLS are good lads, good laugh but CANNOT sing!!!

Ruth was a power house performer and is a niche market but she was never going to win - she will have an album released though and then end up in TV presenting or a magazine reporting on X factor next year.

Diana- sweet jaysus, what is with the no shoes and the HAND!!! That hand is a wee alien she uses to hypnotise the audience into voting for her. I dont get her at all. Her voice is boring - blah!

Alex has to win.

I agree with almost everything you say here. Alex is by far the best, a powerful voice and she's a bleedin' lash- so that will definitely sell music. If she doesn't win, they can forgerrabourrih.

Diana would only be marketable for about twonty seconds- and that's if she releases a Cranberries covers album. She was a little quirky at the start and now it's just annoying. Eoghan won't be able to sell albums once he gets a charcoal 'tache. That and his performances the last couple of times have just been him drowning in a sea of backup singers.

The one bit I don't agree with is your remark over JLS. I think they're talented and extremely lovable. They've been poxy two or three times now, but that's not because of a lack of talent. I think it's because someone (possibly Louish Waltz) is trying to get them to be like Boyzone (or whoever) and have a lead singer. They were amazing in the auditions and at the start of the staged shows, but now that Duckula is a lead singer, they've lost their pep. More trading of high notes and lines, I say.

Anyway, JLS and Alex in the final- Alex to win.

ALFIET wrote: »
    Diana (good lord)

Whether you like her or not, you have to admit, Diana will have a career after this show. Gary Barlow offered her a contract, so one way or the other, Simon will have to either give her a better offer or make sure she wins the competion. And even if she wins, and Simon doesnt like it, she can still head off to Gary's label

The one bit I don't agree with is your remark over JLS. I think they're talented and extremely lovable. They've been poxy two or three times now, but that's not because of a lack of talent. I think it's because someone (possibly Louish Waltz) is trying to get them to be like Boyzone (or whoever) and have a lead singer. They were amazing in the auditions and at the start of the staged shows, but now that Duckula is a lead singer, they've lost their pep. More trading of high notes and lines, I say.

Anyway, JLS and Alex in the final- Alex to win.

Hi See I dont get the JLS thing at all. I think there are lovely lads no doubt about that but i dont get the voices at all. Think they have had some good performances but not good voices... well not good enough.

They are though the best band ever in the competition but i just dont think they are good enough.

They will be in the final once Louis the eejit Walsh gives them some good songs... seriously why did he pick THAT britney song!!!

He should let them off to pick there own... or get the vocal coach to suggest sometihng...

AND PS WHAT SONG WILL THE WINNER SING???? I didnt hear!

Whether you like her or not, you have to admit, Diana will have a career after this show. Gary Barlow offered her a contract, so one way or the other, Simon will have to either give her a better offer or make sure she wins the competion. And even if she wins, and Simon doesnt like it, she can still head off to Gary's label

I did say she was marketable but only on the home front... not internationally... However I do not like her voice or the whinging or the no shoes or how repetitive and banal her voice sounds... i dont get her at all... the quirkiness is now just a bloomin iritation

Oh come on, that was obviously set up.

I don't think so, he seemed pretty genuine, and none of the other contestants got any offers like that from anyone else. Diana has a pretty unique, and therefore marketable, voice. Kinda reminds you of Duffy in a way. Although I physically hate Duffy.

Also find out the Miley Cyrus bit wasn't actually live, she was never onstage on the same night as Britney, apparently it was taped the week Mirah Carey was on the programme but they just decided to show it on Britney night because Britney wouldn't come out until the results show. The interview on ITV2 was also pre recorded. Should have figured it out when Dermot didn't get a chance to embarass himself interviewing her after the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Also find out the Miley Cyrus bit wasn't actually live, she was never onstage on the same night as Britney, apparently it was taped the week Mirah Carey was on the programme but they just decided to show it on Britney night because Britney wouldn't come out until the results show. The interview on ITV2 was also pre recorded. Should have figured it out when Dermot didn't get a chance to embarass himself interviewing her after the show.

Thought that alright. Holly did say something about her being 15 when wiki informs me that she was 16 on the 23 November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Holy Fukc! Im in tears right now!!

Thats Diana vid was fuccin hilarious! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭bumbletumble

oh dear god that is the funnest thing i have ever seen in my life!!!! priceless!!!!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

THAT was hilarious. Exactly what she was saying! 'Don't throw your ham..' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

that was quite brilliant :D

she really is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

"There beeeeeeeeeee bunnny Herrrrrrrbs"

"gnome, gnome" [that was hilarious]

Anyways, I hope Alexandra takes the crown this year

I think she has a good chance now as she now has the majority of Ruth's voters plus her own

Listen was rediculous! :D

she's amazo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Great vid :rolleyes:

I have to say I'm losing interest in the XF fast, the judging is an abomination, Mimed singing!!! (Same Difference, Britney)...I dont know when if ever any Artist mimed on XF, Its a live show ffs.

I have a serious gripe with Same Difference being on the show however, the principal of it. If every 4th place act that comes along is going to be signed then why have a competition at all. Fair enough these young'ens are living their dream and all the power to them but If we are to take the show seriously then it has to stop. Whats worse is Simon pedaling these acts which are signed to his label on a show with 12million viewers...Free advertising for him.

The Judging panel is all out of skew also, Louis needs to go, as does Danni. Sharon needs to return, if for her honest gob more then anything...The Judges are just blowing smoke up the holes of the last singers now, I hate watching the judges comments now...

Louis always comes out with some generic comment like 'you've become stronger and stronger each week and the public love you' and then tells evey act that they will be in the final.

Danni the Operatic Songstress tells everyone that they are Pitchy.

Cheryl just tells them that she loves them.

Simon can be a clear away the smoke a little sometimes but It feels now like he doesnt want to be too damming to any finalist as he might be signing some (If not all)

The show is slowly losing credibility, not enough to effect ratings yet but it is something that if it goes unchecked can be damaging to the brand...well thats what I fink ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Decent video. The point of bad the performance was gets across fine without the video though.

+1 on the poor judging, they very, very rarely say anything other than bigging the acts up regardless of the performance.

Great vid :rolleyes:

Here's an encore just for you.;)

"cover up your coloured child and I weigh a perm in front!"

Brilliant, I cant wait till she see's these on youtube, its going to be brillliant.

Amazing videos man, truly amazing

Its about time someone made those videos, I was beginning to think I was going mad and the only one who thought she sang like that. It doesnt help when Im having a fit of rage in front of the telly and my other half says, oh I think shes very good. Its a moment of realisation and reminder of how different we definitely are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The winner of this event has already been decided. JLS (or something like that) win.

You'll come back to this post when the event is over and wonder...is it actually rigged?!