Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

i think it's crazy to complain about diana's reaction to getting through :confused: it's not as if she was the only one, you'll find that happens most weeks with somebody o_O that seems to be really clutching on straws, if you don't like her that's fair enough but honestly :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Meller wrote: »
    her voice sounds different? it's too obvious to explain... it just sounds different to other female singers on the radio right now, clearly?

My voice is "different" to most male singers on the radio right now, is that automatically a good thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

i think it's crazy to complain about diana's reaction to getting through :confused: it's not as if she was the only one, you'll find that happens most weeks with somebody o_O that seems to be really clutching on straws, if you don't like her that's fair enough but honestly :p

i'm afraid you will meet a few people here who have no time for diana - including myself. i will admit she was good for the first two weeks but since she came back from her sore throat, she just the same thing every week - either stands there, or sits on a chair of some sort and and destroys the songs she sings (and waves that hand around...:P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

amacachi wrote: »
    My voice is "different" to most male singers on the radio right now, is that automatically a good thing?

obviously if it sounds like crap, it's not. i like how diana's voice, sounds, however... and apparently so do alot of people. nobody claimed she was the greatest singer ever, but she's not the worst and it helps that it sounds different and unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

obviously if it sounds like crap, it's not. i like how diana's voice, sounds, however... and apparently so do alot of people. nobody claimed she was the greatest singer ever, but she's not the worst and it helps that it sounds different and unique.
    She has an alright voice imo, especially compared to Ruth, She'd trounce her in every way possible!

and that kind of quirky sound she has would only suit songs suited to older performers, which is why she butchered Everybody Hurts

Amazing yet "nothin new" voice > Alright voice but quirky

unreggd wrote: »
    Amazing yet "nothin new" voice > Alright voice but quirky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I thought Simon was pretty tactical with the planning of last nights show

He got Miley Cyrus to come on, meaning lots more younger kids would watch that prob dont usually watch

So they're watchin the show, then Eoghan does a HSM songs, which they'd obviously vote for

Boo urns!

He got Miley Cyrus to come on, meaning lots more younger kids would watch that prob dont usually watch

So they're watchin the show, then Eoghan does a HSM songs, which they'd obviously vote for

Boo urns!

Hadn't thought of that, good point. How's he gonna get him through to the final though? Get Hugo Duncan on next week?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

I'm sick of hearing about Diana getting all this bad press. She does not deserve any of the horrible comments thrown at her. I like her voice cause it shows a uniqueness and doesn't sound like the usual pop shíte on the radio.

Alex is a complete copy of Leona Lewis and tries also to be like Beyoncé. All I hear from her is just shouting and there's no real style to it.

swingking wrote: »
    I'm sick of hearing about Diana getting all this bad press. She does not deserve any of the horrible comments thrown at her. I like her voice cause it shows a uniqueness and doesn't sound like the usual pop shíte on the radio.

Alex is a complete copy of Leona Lewis and tries also to be like Beyoncé. All I hear from her is just shouting and there's no real style to it.

What horrible comments?

Woop de do, she's different from everyone else, instant KEWL!

I'd love to know if the people who say that Alex and Leona have the same look have ever seen any other black people, they look ****ing nothing alike and the style is completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Boo urns!
    That's hardly surprising though. Cowell stage manages the whole thing, from the judges and contestants comments in the pre performance to the bigging him up from Dermot O Leary every so often. He wants nobody to be in any doubt that he is the overlord. I'm becoming gradually more disillusioned with the x factor as the weeks go on. It's clear for all to see that it is now a popularity contest with the singing abilities a mere sidenote, (Alexandra aside).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

swingking wrote: »

How? Alex has evolved into an excellent performer, not only vocally but in terms of putting on a show. Her style is funk and soul, yes like Beyonce (and not a bad thing because there is no competition for Beyonce), so how can you compare that to Leona's ballad style?

In regards to Diana, for me she's just as bad as the "usual pop ****e" because she's been moulded to the point where it is not unique anymore. She was great pre-live shows and then once Cheryl got a hold of her she went into "quirkiness overdrive" to the point where she sounded unbelievably contrived. Even one of the vocal coaches, Evie, has come out and said she is constantly at Diana to decrease the quirkiness in her voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Diana indeed has her own style but this style is no good unless she can hit the notes she is meant to. Everybody Hurts was a disaster but i think that was because she tried too hard to change it to her own style and then didn't hit the notes.
    Alexander has a quality voice. Every song she sang so far was bang on and each week you can see her performances improve. Her only competition was Ruth and Laura..... but you can never tell what way it will turn out! Maybe JLS will win lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭DinnyBatman

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    In regards to Diana, for me she's just as bad as the "usual pop ****e" because she's been moulded to the point where it is not unique anymore. She was great pre-live shows and then once Cheryl got a hold of her she went into "quirkiness overdrive" to the point where she sounded unbelievably contrived. Even one of the vocal coaches, Evie, has come out and said she is constantly at Diana to decrease the quirkiness in her voice.

Interesting. I was speaking to a friend of mine yesterday, who is a sound engineer in Dublin and has worked with quite a few top producers and acts. He told me that the only person that has a hope of a career post X factor is Diana!
    They should stop the programme as soon as the auditions finish, cause lets be honest, its all downhill from there.......
    Britney night? Sweet Jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

I missed the show on Saturday night, have it recorded, will watch duriing the week. Few questions:
    When Diana sang 'Smile' I really thought she had star quality and something really special but since then and much as I hate to agree with Louis, I think its all been more of the same, getting bored with it now

Did Louis say he was getting bored with it??
    If so - cooool. Glad hes bloody waking up.

And-
    In the Xtra Factor seemed to be a lot of coldness towards Diana from the other contestants, don't think anyone likes her, then again if all the voters hated her she should have been in the bottom two this week. thought she murdered Everybody hurts and didn't finish it correctly missing a couple of words. .

Did anyone else sense this 'coldness' towards her.

Im so annoyed Ruth went, shes a bit of a leg-end.

081130_p_Diana.jpg

Makes.me.so.angry.

If you really are up there superman, please make her go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

The only talented contestant left is Alexandra and if she dont win its bloody rigged

Alexandra >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Leona

Alexandra to win! If she sang Hallelujah, it would send chills down my spine... haha, Diana singing it would send chills down by spine too!! Bleugh..

Whos going to go next folks, thats the question!

Interesting. I was speaking to a friend of mine yesterday, who is a sound engineer in Dublin and has worked with quite a few top producers and acts. He told me that the only person that has a hope of a career post X factor is Diana!
    They should stop the programme as soon as the auditions finish, cause lets be honest, its all downhill from there.......
    Britney night? Sweet Jaysus!

He is probably right. Unfortunately making it in the music business is not solely about the vocal talent. Diana has an image that a lot of teenage girls can affiliate with; it explains how ever since she sang Yellow, even though she has been really below par, she has easily progressed to the next round. Ruth gave two power house performances in comparison to Diana's weak and as Louis pointed out (right for once) uninspiring performances; but Diana still went through.

I have a feeling that the finalists will be miming Hallelujah on the night and I expect Diana to sound pretty good. Why? Because they are going to over produce the **** out of the song. No way are they going to let finalists sing live in order to prevent Diana from sounding like ****.

JLS will go next. I'm sure of that.

I absolutely agree with this. I study a degree part time with Griffith College in the evenings and all the girls are going around with the Diana hair style and nude lipstick with their clothes worn messy. I saw a pretty little thing the other night look like an absolute mess. Such a shame. Her hair was all backcombed, but didnt look anything special at all. I dont get it.

Im not ancient btw, Im 24.

I absolutely agree with this. I study a degree part time with Griffith College in the evenings and all the girls are going around with the Diana hair style and nude lipstick with their clothes worn messy. I saw a pretty little thing the other night look like an absolute mess. Such a shame. Her hair was all backcombed, but didnt look anything special at all. I dont get it.

Im not ancient btw, Im 24.

Yeah, nail on head. I see plenty of it in UCD too.

One thing I've noticed lately from listening to her VT's is that she talks, and sings, through her nose. It all adds to what John Barrowman called the "affected" sound from her voice. That's why I call her contrived. And maybe that's not her fault, as I said before Cole got her hands on her she had potential.

I'm not being mean or anything, I just prefer voices that are stripped to thee bare bones and you know that they aren't forcing anything; like Ruth and Alexandra.

Yeah, nail on head. I see plenty of it in UCD too.

Im actually working in UCD at the moment and it drives me maaaaaad!!!

If you are working in the SU Shops I don't blame ya.:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

081130_p_Diana.jpg

Makes.me.so.angry.

If you really are up there superman, please make her go.

Wasn't it so funny when her manager from Marks and Spencers told her that she wasn't going to give out to her for not wearing shoes....as usual. HaHa she is such a friggin hippie, is she a Quaker or something, is that why she's a hippie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Diana scrubs up well though- in that little montage before people perform, they have footage of her all done up with hair and makeup and she looks lovely. How she can't see that, and how she can look at herself on TV when her hair is all mussed up with that disgusting lipstick on and not be mortified is beyond me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

HaHa she is such a friggin hippie, is she a Quaker or something, is that why she's a hippie?
    Huh? Does not compute. :confused: Is she a hippie because she's a Quaker? :confused:

I'm really surprised that people are Surprised that Ruth got voted off. She was always going to be the one that got the boot once the final two aspect was gone, she just doesn’t have the public support because she’s not British. I also think that there was nothing special about her, a bit too shouty and dated for my liking. Plus she’s about two years too late for the 80’s revival thing.

I’m loving the way Louis is turning JLS into the Black Westlife :rolleyes: Those white outfits and the sitting on stools at the beginning of the song and then all standing up together for the big key change half way through the song just has Walsh Boyband written all over it. I don’t think they’re the most talented bunch going but I’d definitely say there’d be a market for them and they could do ok post X-Factor.

Wee Eoghan is alright. I don’t think he has a particularly strong voice but does seem to be consistently ok each.

Alex is definitely the most talented of the bunch, although what’s the deal with her being ridiculously over animated each week? Has someone had a word with her saying that up until last week she’s had the personality of a wet fish? Just seems like she’s over compensating. I think the one thing that she has going for her with her performances is that she is really believable and credible and looks the finished article already.

And that just leaves Diana. At last people at finally seeing her for what she is. She absolutely butchered two songs this week and in particular Everybody Hurts. Did she even know the sentiment behind the song? Those little contented smiling bits throughout the song were just wrong and totally at odds with the content of the song. And it was just ridiculous the way she tried to be all quirky with her vocal arrangement. It’ll be an absolute joke if she wins.

And Britney? She just looked like Kerry Cantona prancing around the stage. Although the crowd seemed to love it.

BaZmO* wrote: »

I’m loving the way Louis is turning JLS into the Black Westlife

And Britney? She just looked like Kerry Cantona prancing around the stage. Although the crowd seemed to love it.

Hahahaha!!!!! Deadly.

I'm really surprised that people are Surprised that Ruth got voted off. She was always going to be the one that got the boot once the final two aspect was gone, she just doesn’t have the public support because she’s not British. I also think that there was nothing special about her, a bit too shouty and dated for my liking. Plus she’s about two years too late for the 80’s revival thing.

Well the fact that JLS were in the bottom two and she wasn't last week shows that Ruth still had a chance of progressing to the Semi-Final (but that would have been that for her).

There is a significant section of the voting public that go into each week undecided on who they are going to vote for. JLS were underwhelming in both performances but they gained the "undecided" vote for two reasons IMO;

• Sympathy Vote-They were slated in their first performance and the little one looked like he was about to cry. The same thing saved Scott in the 1st week after he was slated, Rachel was also saved from the bottom two due to her tears in Mariah week.
    • Cowell's influence-His ridiculously over the top praise for JLS in their second performance swayed the undecided vote. "You're back in this." I must have been watching a different performance.
    It was always going to be touch and go between Ruth and JLS on Saturday. The moment JLS had their name called out I knew Ruth was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It was always going to be touch and go between Ruth and JLS on Saturday.
    Really? I never had any doubt that it'd be Ruth getting the chop this week, even said so last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭ALFIET

The only decent one in this whole competition is Alex. She is the internationally marketable but Diana (good lord) is more marketable to the home market. However she has more of a shelf life than Alex. I just hope that they dont market Alex on Leona.

Terrible thing to say as an Irish person but god love the poor wee Eoghan... wot a yoke! His voice is not strong enough at all - he canot dance. The hair is woeful! And the whole high school musical is wearing a bit thin now.

JLS are good lads, good laugh but CANNOT sing!!!

Ruth was a power house performer and is a niche market but she was never going to win - she will have an album released though and then end up in TV presenting or a magazine reporting on X factor next year.

Diana- sweet jaysus, what is with the no shoes and the HAND!!! That hand is a wee alien she uses to hypnotise the audience into voting for her. I dont get her at all. Her voice is boring - blah!

Alex has to win.