Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

magnumlady wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if Rachel walks from the competition.
    She seems to be getting more and more depressed as the weeks go on.
    I just don't think she can cope.

Well, that would just suck. As a singer myself - i would love that type of major exposure (without the sob story and that)... I mean , once actual fame hits its gonna be much tougher than that - paparazzi would be scrutinising everything all the time, i mean, if she cant cope she should re-consider careers... coz its not gonna get any easier for her....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Well, that would just suck. As a singer myself - i would love that type of major exposure (without the sob story and that)... I mean , once actual fame hits its gonna be much tougher than that - paparazzi would be scrutinising everything all the time, i mean, if she cant cope she should re-consider careers... coz its not gonna get any easier for her....

I only this morning read some of the stories going around about her last week, I have to say if i was stood there in front of all those people trying to sing and in the back of my mind think they were judging me (not on talent) or wondering what they were thinking i would crumble.

With headlines like Rachel mugged my OAP wife i'd be bloody mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Actually, Leona Lewis had larengitis one of the weeks and she still sang.....

She had Tonsillitis

Thats just a sore throat

Laryngitis is 10 times worse, and swells your vocal cords

Does anyone know what theme it is next week?

I'm guessin it'll be The Beatles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

It's "Best Of British" i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Its unfair that Diana automatically went through even though she didnt perform :mad:

I think Ruth is a better performer that Laura
    Cheryl Cole has criticised X Factor voters and her fellow judges in the aftermath of Laura White's shock elimination.

The Girls Aloud singer admitted that she was furious to see White competing against Ruth Lorenzo in the final showdown and blamed "sympathy voters" for the result.

"They're not voting on talent, that's for definite. They're definitely not voting on the talent," Cole told Xtra Factor host Holly Willoughby. "That's been proven tonight."

"Do you know what, I've sat at home and done it myself - voted for people I like, people I've felt sorry for on the evening," she continued. "That's just how this show goes. But I'm actually stunned both of those girls were in the bottom two. I'm shocked."

Later, Cole claimed that Simon Cowell and Louis Walsh had only voted to save Lorenzo because they wanted to protect their own acts.

"I actually feel numb. I feel shocked," she explained. "I think it might have been a bit tactical if I'm totally honest with you."

Cole's 'Girls' category is now represented by Alexandra Burke and Diana Vickers. Meanwhile, Dannii Minogue is the only judge to have three acts remaining in the competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭fourfiveone

mick_irl wrote: »
    It's "Best Of British" i think.

Yep BoB and Leona's the guest.

Trinity1 wrote: »
    I only this morning read some of the stories going around about her last week, I have to say if i was stood there in front of all those people trying to sing and in the back of my mind think they were judging me (not on talent) or wondering what they were thinking i would crumble.

If Anyone ever wanted to be judged solely on talent, they would NOT go on X Factor.

I have been to X factor myself, so everyone involved knows what goes on. There is no illusion of privacy, they pry right from the start. You volunteer your sob story in order to get on the show as sevral of the contestants have done.
    I had a lentghy discussion with one of the film crew from X Factor (mind you it wasn't at the x factor we chatted) and she said every year it astounds her more and more the personal private things these people submit for TV.

It isn't a talent show - or Daniel would have been chucked off ages ago.... and who-ever else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

And rachel does some weird thing with her fingers, not in that video but she plays an imaginery piano in the sky :D

That's hilarious, it always makes me laugh when people do stuff like that, so into it it's unbelievable!! It's what I like to coin the Gary Lightbody influence. he used to be a regular joe, but he met up with Martha Wainwright, who does to hand twitching stuff alright (maybe that's where Diana gets it from) but he took it to the max!! yeah you may argue it's cos he has no guitar but it's still mad..

before: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fufb9w2A7Dk&feature=related

and after: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fufb9w2A7Dk&feature=related

Okay, slightly unrelated, back on topic now!! Looking forward to seeing what Rachel comes up with this week, will she take direction from dannii (she should have last week with her tuning) or go her own way?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

If Anyone ever wanted to be judged solely on talent, they would NOT go on X Factor.

I have been to X factor myself, so everyone involved knows what goes on. There is no illusion of privacy, they pry right from the start. You volunteer your sob story in order to get on the show as sevral of the contestants have done.
    I had a lentghy discussion with one of the film crew from X Factor (mind you it wasn't at the x factor we chatted) and she said every year it astounds her more and more the personal private things these people submit for TV.

It isn't a talent show - or Daniel would have been chucked off ages ago.... and who-ever else.

Thats what would actually stop me going for it (if i could actually sing!!) is i wouldnt want anyone to know my business or past and broadcast it out there for millions of people to ponder and judge and gossip about.

You were a contestant on X factor? (nosey i know sorry :o)

Ugh, someone started a petition to get Laura back on

has 10k sigs already

but ffs, its a tv show!

They need new phonelines though, I dont think votes dont go through cos its fixed, its just technical stuff from crappy lines

Haha, just watched the official Hero video

Diana = No hands at all :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭iseegirls

unreggd wrote: »
    Ugh, someone started a petition to get Laura back on

has 10k sigs already

but ffs, its a tv show!

well those 10,000 people should have voted more then back on Saturday night if they wanted her to win so much. Petitions don't work on Reality TV Shows.

She'll be in Nuts and Zoo anyway in a few weeks time i bet - so you'll see her then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

it just shows the state of the world today when utter talent such as Austin and Laura get booted off this "singing competition" and the likes of Rachel( who sounded awful last saturday night) Eoghan and Daniel stay on. What are the judges even on about when they praise Eoghan. he is only in it only to keep the young teen viewers with the attention span of goldfishes watching. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

it just shows the state of the world today when utter talent such as Austin and Laura get booted off this "singing competition" and the likes of Rachel( who sounded awful last saturday night) Eoghan and Daniel stay on. What are the judges even on about when they praise Eoghan. he is only in it only to keep the young teen viewers with the attention span of goldfishes watching. :mad:
    State of the world?? Ha! It's only a tv show. There's an awful lot of things wrong with the world today without having to look at a tv for what's wrong with it!

Thats what would actually stop me going for it (if i could actually sing!!) is i wouldnt want anyone to know my business or past and broadcast it out there for millions of people to ponder and judge and gossip about.

You were a contestant on X factor? (nosey i know sorry :o)

Nope, if your interested i wrote a blog about it on my page (however, i didn't write about all the stuff i seen - like interviewing every person who had a disability or those who were cross-dressed or lads who were extremely camp beingsingled out and then interviewed and put straight thru for entertainment purposes.etc.etc... it was mental)
    www.myspace.com/oraclegurl
    I just wouldn't have started waffeling on about how hard life has been for me. period. Dig if you want, dont mean i have to discuss it -ever.... that'd be more my attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

Eoghan will make the final. Think of who votes on these shows.
    Girls between 10 and 15 must make up about 90% of voters and there's cute little Eoghan the perfect non threatening imaginary boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

BaZmO* wrote: »
    But the thing about that is that if Diana had of been ok to sing there is no way in hell she would have been voted off. The same cannot be said for the other 3.

Diana is annoying and contrived whe will be cleaning toilets in Marks and Spencer by Chistmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I have liked Laura throughout, but she deserved to go on Saturday night. Her voice was way too squeaky and in the sing-off, she was the same. She tried to play for the sympathy vote by saying the song was for her grandfather, but it still didn't work for her. Anyone who thought her performance in the sing-off was good enought to beat Ruth is deluded. Ruth has been in that situation twice now and has delivered when it matters. She has been able to show her best in those sing-offs because she can choose a style of song that suits her. She has a voice suited to rock songs and can really belt them out. It just goes to show that she, more than anyone, has been hampered by the styles they've chosen. If they chose a night where she could perform something by atrists like Jennifer Rush, Bonnie Tyler, or even Meat Loaf's 'I would do anything for love', the whole place would erupt and she would be one of the favourites to win.

Laura White is gone

She should NOT be brought back on the show

Diana should also have gone or been in the bottom 2 automatically last week as she didnt perform :mad:

Hopefully Rachel or Daniel go this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,665 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I feel really sorry for Ruth in all this.

Cheryl may as well be saying she was crap as she is so upset that Laura went.

I think Ruth was better on the night. Bye Laura, don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I feel really sorry for Ruth in all this.

Cheryl may as well be saying she was crap as she is so upset that Laura went.

I think Ruth was better on the night. Bye Laura, don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

While totally ignorant to the fact one of her other artists got a bye into the next round. The first obstacle that hits her and she shows her complete lack of humility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

gscully wrote: »
    I have liked Laura throughout, but she deserved to go on Saturday night. Her voice was way too squeaky and in the sing-off, she was the same. She tried to play for the sympathy vote by saying the song was for her grandfather, but it still didn't work for her. Anyone who thought her performance in the sing-off was good enought to beat Ruth is deluded. Ruth has been in that situation twice now and has delivered when it matters. She has been able to show her best in those sing-offs because she can choose a style of song that suits her. She has a voice suited to rock songs and can really belt them out. It just goes to show that she, more than anyone, has been hampered by the styles they've chosen. If they chose a night where she could perform something by atrists like Jennifer Rush, Bonnie Tyler, or even Meat Loaf's 'I would do anything for love', the whole place would erupt and she would be one of the favourites to win.

yes Ruth was better but she should not have been in the botom 2 in the first place. Ruth shouldnt have either. There was worse on the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Stephen P

....Bye Laura, don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

LOL, that brought a smile to my face, thanks! :D

Don't think laura should have went though, thought she had a great voice.

Ruth is better than Laura i'm glad she stayed

I really dont want any of Cheryl's girls to win even though Alexandra is brillant ( i cant stand annoying skeleton hypocrite Tweedy)

Its unfair that because she was ill Diana got a pass she should be in the bottom 2 or gone :mad:

Ruth or JLS to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

yes Ruth was better but she should not have been in the botom 2 in the first place. Ruth shouldnt have either. There was worse on the night

I disagree. Laura sang her main song poorly. She may have been good on other nights, but not last Saturday. Ditto for Ruth. Both received the most criticism from the judges and that was reflected in the votes. They were the worst on the night, but definitely not overall.

I know many think Daniel should've been in the bottom two, but I think that's just an overall opinion of him as a singer and not an opinion of how he fared on the night. He sang quite well on the night and as a result got the votes required. Every contestant has their fans voting every week, and the difference then is how the neutrals judge performances on the night. I think too that Simon's comments are taken on board by a lot of callers.

Who would you have had in the bottom two based on how they sang Saturday?

Lads, its not just as simple as "its a singing competition"

Its a business they're running. The whole music industry is about Money, its nothing to do with "we hafta get this person out cos they're so amazing"

You can find good singers anywhere, if it was just about the actual discovery then they wouldnt need the show at all

They need the show to be able to run and stay entertaining so [1] they make money on votes and [2] they get enough viewers, and ratings, to secure the show for further seasons

The retarded public are the blame for this lark

But theres no way ye can change that really
    If it was all public votes, there'd be no need for the judges
    [although they could stay on as mentors]
    and no singoff

I think the show's phone lines are banjaxed, they need new ones. People will complain sayin they couldnt vote for Laura, but im sure other contestants lost votes too

They get an average of 12 million viewers, so should be able to facilitate that load

Also, there's the power-vote, and "they'll sail on through" sides too

If a likeable person has a crap performance [DANIEL!] the public will power-vote to keep them in

Or if they're a front runner [Laura] people will think "Ah she's gna sail on through, no need for me to vote"

I think Cheryl is pissed that they voted tactically, although if it was based on the sing-off it woulda been the same IMO

But I believe it was tactical, 2 aufellas crushed a 21 year old girls dreams just to maybe get the pride of winning
    [which they wont anyways cos their acts are brutal. IMO JLS and Eoghan have no chance of winnin]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I paused when I was typing in Eoghan and JLS. Im not fans, I appreciate that they both can sing, but *shudderss* I'd have to find 5 paper bags if you ever dared me to be with any of them.

Eoghans big head and smile reminds me of Butters from Southpark.

JLS - hence the paper bags.
    I know. What a bunch of little girls.
    Louis really is brutal. All he has done is managed a boyband.

Never sang or danced!
    To be fair though, has Simon? Has Pete Waterman? A person with a nose for this particular type of marketable talent doesn't have to be a performer themselves.
    unreggd wrote: »
    Thats why they have all the theme nights, cos if you can pull that off, you're diverse, which is why Diana is the front runner
    Great voice? No, but every time she goes on she pulls it off
    Depends on your definition of "pull it off" though (stop sniggering down the back :D). She may pull it off, but she still does a sh1t job of it - IMO.
    Aidric wrote: »
    The fact that all the over 25's are still there is worrying.
    What's worrying about it?
    JP Liz wrote: »
    Its unfair that Diana automatically went through even though she didnt perform :mad:
    I can't bear Diana but I don't think it's unfair if she was genuinely sick. It's kinda the same principle as getting sick pay at work - you're not there to do anything but do you deserve not to get paid?
    As someone else pointed out though, it's extremely likely she wouldn't have got voted off anyway if she was well enough to perform... :rolleyes:
    Nope, if your interested i wrote a blog about it on my page (however, i didn't write about all the stuff i seen - like interviewing every person who had a disability or those who were cross-dressed or lads who were extremely camp beingsingled out and then interviewed and put straight thru for entertainment purposes.etc.
    Not one bit surprising. The way people with such obvious learning disabilities are filmed auditioning is utterly hideous. Here's a thread I started on that last year: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055152524

All the stars, cheers for the blog link - sounds fascinating. :)

If Diana was booted for not bein able to perform, there wouldnt have been any need for the others to perform, and I doubt she would have been voted off anyways

so it was the best option for them to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Diana should also have gone or been in the bottom 2 automatically last week as she didnt perform :mad:
    Its unfair that because she was ill Diana got a pass she should be in the bottom 2 or gone :mad:
    Right so this seems to be a plan that you're really keen on as you've posted it twice.

Let's just say for argument's sake that you got your wish and Diana was put into the bottom two, how exactly do you propose she takes part in the sing off considering the reason why she was put into the bottom two was because she can't sing?*

* She can't normally but for this particular week she had medical reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Dudess wrote: »
    What's worrying about it?

Nothing, I won't be surprised to see Dannii getting hit with at least a double whammy in the next two weeks (even I chance of a triple whammy-but I won't lose my faith in Ruth!).
    Dudess wrote: »
    I can't bear Diana but I don't think it's unfair if she was genuinely sick. It's kinda the same principle as getting sick pay at work - you're not there to do anything but do you deserve not to get paid?
    As someone else pointed out though, it's extremely likely she wouldn't have got voted off anyway if she was well enough to perform... :rolleyes:

To be fair, Laura going out is a testament to it being "anyone's game", I wouldn't be so sure of Diana being guaranteed qualification every week. Throughout this whole thing Laura has been either the bookies favourite or second favourite behind Diana.

IMO, and I'm saying this as indifferent because she won me over with Call Me, she should have been forced out. I mean look at any one-on-one sport/ tournament. If Joe Calzaghe was struck down with a broken wrist 3 days before his fight with Jones jr., do you think he would have been able to say "can we have it next month?" No chance, he'd have to forfeit the match.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Right so this seems to be a plan that you're really keen on as you've posted it twice.

Let's just say for argument's sake that you got your wish and Diana was put into the bottom two, how exactly do you propose she takes part in the sing off considering the reason why she was put into the bottom two was because she can't sing?*

* She can't normally but for this particular week she had medical reasons

Since she couldnt sing the judges could base it on her other performances and then decides who goes.

Maybe she could use her damn hand :rolleyes:

I just wonder if had been another contestant like Rachel or Daniel would they have got a pass :confused:

Diana, Eoghan and JLS are getting the highest votes each week
    The X Factor finalists have become embroiled in heated feuds following a voting leak, a report claims.

According to the Daily Star, the eight remaining contestants have learned that Diana Vickers, 17, Eoghan Quigg, 16, and boyband JLS were the frontrunners in the first four public votes.

Meanwhile, Rachel Hylton, 26, Laura White, 21, and Alexandra Burke, 20, are said to be "mortified" after hearing that they are trailing behind in the voting with Ruth Lorenzo, 25, and Daniel Evans, 38.

"This has caused mayhem - the girls, especially, are at each other's throats," an insider told the newspaper. "The house has been a nasty place to be this week."

However, an X Factor spokesman denied the claims, adding: "Not even Simon Cowell gets to see who is getting the most votes."