Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

I applied in the May campaign and I passed my aptitude test in July. I am still waiting to be called for an interview. They emailed me saying I would be called in late Autumn, i.e end of Sept or October!!! Ive heard other people from the May campaign got interviews ages ago. They must have slowed it all down. Its usually a lot quicker than this from what ive heard. I probably wont start until next year now providing I pass all stages. Thats a bit long isnt it having applied in May??? They just seem to go along at their own pace however it suits them?? Ive heard of people passing all stages in a matter of weeks. Im looking at the guts of 6 months now to get through it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Devil08 wrote: »
    I applied in the May campaign and I passed my aptitude test in July. I am still waiting to be called for an interview. They emailed me saying I would be called in late Autumn, i.e end of Sept or October!!! Ive heard other people from the May campaign got interviews ages ago. They must have slowed it all down. Its usually a lot quicker than this from what ive heard. I probably wont start until next year now providing I pass all stages. Thats a bit long isnt it having applied in May??? They just seem to go along at their own pace however it suits them?? Ive heard of people passing all stages in a matter of weeks. Im looking at the guts of 6 months now to get through it all

Hi Devil08.
    The aptitude date that you got will determine what batch you were put into. I'm guessing you're in batch 2 or 3 and that will give you a basic time frame for your interview. ie: late Autumn. After that, how well you placed in your aptitude tests will determine how high up in your batch you are. If you placed high, you will be one of the first in your batch to get an interview date. It will start from who was placed number 1, then 2 then 3 etc..
    After that, if you pass your interview, you will be called for a medical when your background checks are complete or nearly complete. This can basically take any amount of time, depending on relatives living abroad etc..

Hope that helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

cheers thanks, I was actually in batch 4! left it a bit late! and i got placed in the 80's so not bad i dont think. I wont get down for the November intake which I was hoping for. It will probably be February now.

Yeah that's pretty high so you'll be called fairly quickly then... Incidentally, it might be an idea to edit your number out of the post, as it means you can be identified. ;)

It's a long process alright, but hopefully it will be all worth it in the end.
    At least you have a good while to prepare for it also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 padlad88

Why is everyone so worried about been identified on this like when someone says how well they done in the aptitude tests?is this site seen as a way of cheating?

padlad88 wrote: »
    is this site seen as a way of cheating?

I wouldn't think so, there are strict rules about what you can and can't post. You don't have to be cagey about it but it sounds like HQ do read the site so it depends on what you write in your posts. If people are giving out about how long background checks are taking etc, then they might not want to be identifiable.
    It's your own choice whether or not you want to. I have probably said many things in my posts that could identify me. It doesn't really matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 padlad88

They read through this?bit of a waste of time...maybe that is why the application process is so slow!thanks for the reply and good luck getting your interview results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

hi i dont know if i am on the right thread or not but maybe someone can help me i was told that during the week the age limit for the garda was raised to 40 can anyone here throw some light on this and tell me if its true
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Audi2008

hi i dont know if i am on the right thread or not but maybe someone can help me i was told that during the week the age limit for the garda was raised to 40 can anyone here throw some light on this and tell me if its true
    thanks

Hey if you look up www.garda.ie it will tell you the age limit is from 18-35years old.....

Just check out the website for sure thoe!!

Hope that helped you a lil:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jwt22

I'm thinking of applying when the next recruitment thing opens.
    I've already completed a degree in Sport tho and I'm wondering if there's any way I can use this if I became a member, not just the degree to get a higher pay but the actual sport side of things.:confused:
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

jwt22 wrote: »
    I'm thinking of applying when the next recruitment thing opens.
    I've already completed a degree in Sport tho and I'm wondering if there's any way I can use this if I became a member, not just the degree to get a higher pay but the actual sport side of things.:confused:
    Thanks!

Become a trainer up in Templemore, besides that, don't think they'll be much use for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jwt22

Become a trainer up in Templemore, besides that, don't think they'll be much use for it.

Thanks.
    I'm guessin thats years down the line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

jwt22 wrote: »
    Thanks.
    I'm guessin thats years down the line?

For some reason doing a course in sport related stuff is very popular for some people before joining the guards. So it is hard to tell would you get to use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

Hey all,

Im working in a job now which I dont really like, the only reason im staying is because they will pay for me to do my professional accounting exams.

I want to join the guards and the only reason I would do the ACCAs is because im told I would get promoted quicker in the guards to CAB, etc.

Is this true? I already have a BA honours degree.

Also how long would it take between applying and being accepted?

When do the guards next recruit?

Thanks folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 joebudden

Hey Lads

Has anyone got the letters out yet for the November intake??
    Let us know thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Dj-del rio

does anyone know exactly when for sure, they are recruiting again?? i am told it is towards the end of this year (08), and that they're only taking in 100.
    i wonder will reserves get any sort of preference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 razor89

nobody knows at the moment wen the next recruitment cycle will begin sadly, so at the moment all you can do is wait and prepare, also, theres so much speculation going around at the moment in reguards to recruitment numbers etc and i would urge you not to believe one single word of it from this site or anywere else simply because nobody knows! personally all the gossip and speculation has me at my wits end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

Dj-del rio wrote: »
    does anyone know exactly when for sure, they are recruiting again?? i am told it is towards the end of this year (08), and that they're only taking in 100.
    i wonder will reserves get any sort of preference

reserves do not get preference as such. ik will just make the interview stage easier, ie. very relevant compentinces, being a reserve will remove any doubt about your commitment. there is a section in the PAS Material witch refers to this.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mini--c

has anyone thought about going to the uk to be a police man as they are lookin for ppl at the moment?
    also to the person askin bout november intakes i was on holiday last week and a guy i was talking to was saying he got accepted and starts in november!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

mini--c wrote: »
    has anyone thought about going to the uk to be a police man as they are lookin for ppl at the moment?

whats the Recruitment like for that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Chris007

Once you've done your 3 years and you're eligible to apply for the specialist areas, can you apply to any area? For example, flying has always been a passion for me. Would you need a helicopter license to go for the Air Support Unit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mini--c

whats the Recruitment like for that ?
    its kinda the same as here but its not as hard to get in i dont think i was on google last nite and came across it and it seems alot easier to get in than the irish system but tat mite just b me

mini--c wrote: »
    its kinda the same as here but its not as hard to get in i dont think i was on google last nite and came across it and it seems alot easier to get in than the irish system but tat mite just b me

no your right. my uncle is a sergeant with in met. he said in ireland, applying was much more detailed, and you are a student/ trainee/probationer for much longer as well. he reckoned you are better trained in ways. gardi who go to the met on exchange he said were well respected and the gs is seen as a well disciplined, hard working productive force. they also see the lack of ppe amazing. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 iceman_kill

Chris007 wrote: »
    Once you've done your 3 years and you're eligible to apply for the specialist areas, can you apply to any area? For example, flying has always been a passion for me. Would you need a helicopter license to go for the Air Support Unit?

The Garda helicopters are flown by Air Corps pilots so you would have to apply for a cadetship in the Air Corps (extremely competitive but worth a shot).

You can however, apply to become a helicopter observer after a certain number of years in an GS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I was told by a Garda that they are only taking in 90 in the next cycle!

I would say (and hope) that they will recruit early next year. The last 2 campaigns were January and May 08. Seeing as the College Open Day is on on the 8th October, I couldn't see them recruiting in November, coming so close to Christmas and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

well it looks like the announcement is made, there will be cutbacks :-(

tabatha wrote: »
    well it looks like the announcement is made, there will be cutbacks :-(

we have heard a speculative number 11 times now, yes iam counting. i asked the local sergeant about this, he said, and i quote, all matters regarding recruitment is decided at HQ level and gardi on the street have no way of knowing recruitment numbers. he also said from his time teaching in templemore, there is never a definite number to be taken in. he said no one in the gs will make "cutbacks' on recruitment because they are always fighting for more numbers. all decisions are made at government level and a statement would be released if a decision is made. there will always be recruitment, smaller numbers just like before!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭pink star

Hi guys, lady from HR told me last week that the intake for November is still 270 that all the rumours are lies. She also said that no job offers will be sent out until the first week of October that anyone saying they have a job offer before then are lying. She said that no changes will be made to the recruitment not until after the budget atleast and that any changes made will be for the better....So stop panicking you guys, I know its horrible waiting because I'm also in the same boat but if you think about the amount of people who apply etc there's alot of work involved! I know I get annoyed sometimes wondering why it can't be quicker but atleast we are making progress it's just hard because it's something we all want soooo bad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

Ahhhhhhhh....... Lies makes Baby jesus cry... Im really really getting frustrated with all these rumours and random people coming out with random stories. I would rather know nothing until i get the letter in my hand. There's obviously gonna be a lot of speculation coming up to budget time and recession but i bet the peeps in civil service are more worried about their jobs than us. Roll on first week in october.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

So let me just get a definative answer on this. When Is the estimated time for the new application process? Is it november?