Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Yeah have to say the same for me... puts me completely off going to these nights when I hear about the little scum w**kers that end up in there. F*cked if I'm getting a knife stuck in me - by invite as has been said is the only way. Down the country, private land... buses... hmmm :pac:

Don't think i could be arsed myself anymore at this stage,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Never doubted that trouble happened in the Asylum was just lucky never to experience or see it at first hand, heard all the stories.
    SENAN S you have made the best comment yet '1 word Coke'. I detest the stuff.What I'm hearing now is that Crack is making its mark. To be honest there was always a scum element at raves, clubs what ever you wanna call them. These days it eppears to be by the power of 10:mad:

Note: Stay on the dance floor and you generally dont see the little hard men coked up scum element.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Luke G wrote: »
    Don't think i could be arsed myself anymore at this stage,

Yeah me neither. I very rarely get out these days and when I do it's never the same - can hardly expect it to be though, life is totally different now for me to what it was then. I'm just as happy now with some new tunes on a Friday night with a fridge full of beer and a few smokes. :) And I weigh about 5 stone more than I did then :D

Well said dave...

Yeah man me too, can not stand coke or the scene, or the effect is has on some people (now not all people so that aint a stereotypical judgement at everybody who does it) yeah i prefer to be in my gaff or a mates, bag of tunes, few cans.....

But as far as the shams go at these nights, they just ruin it for themselves and everybody else, especially the likes of the board members that run them, and put their money and names on the line....

So if you think its cool to go to a night, and that youll make a name for yourself and prove something if you walk around throwing shapes, intimidating and whatever else at decent harmless people out for a good night..... Then you really need to go and stick your head up your ****.ing hole and just save yourself the admission fee and buy a bag of cans and sit on the boardwalk with who you're only gonna end up like in a few years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bmooney

go luke wud u not think of going 4 a seat in the dail

bmooney wrote: »
    go luke wud u not think of going 4 a seat in the dail

South west Dublins answer to Biffo and you know it!!!;););)

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Yeah coke is the problem, completely different to what the whole E scene was about and what it meant to everyone in those early days.

lol on the dail :D Think I'll look for a seat too, sick of working :pac:

will u get a grip man of all people biffo more like jackie ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

it happens everywhere a m/8 got a knive pulled on him in break 4 the boarder on sat nite over nothing

sure i got a knife pulled on me, on Talbot st, didn't stop me going into town..

lads, as you may know(or you's might not) i'm involved in running these gigs in Radio City as Reactive, we try our best to run the best gigs in the city( we can't please everyone with the line up) we try cater for all, tbh the first bit of hassle i came across from one of our gigs was on saturday night, when a friend of mine got a box or bottle in the head for no reason, we don't control who comes in the door unfortunatley, as like every other promotor in Ireland,

but alot of you's are going on that nothing ever happened in the aslyum, nobody got shot stabbed, robbed, battered(esp a resident DJ who played there)

no matter where you go, there's always gonna be some sort of trouble, and in fairness to the bouncers in radio city, as soon as this incident happened, they were on to the chap who did it, althought they couldn't do anything about it, as they didn't witness it, they kept an eye on the individual who did it, who was basically beside Brian for the night(who could have been the same person who thru the drink over you) SCUMBAGS YES, there was 5 of these lads, and only 1 was causing trouble. so why let 1 scumbag ruin a night.

But as far as the shams go at these nights, they just ruin it for themselves and everybody else, especially the likes of the board members that run them, and put their money and names on the line....

too ****ing right Luke, these lads will never get in again, i know there faces now, they've never been at one of our gigs before and never will,

we have some serious line up's coming up in Oct & Nov, and i mean Serious OLD SKOOL DJ's

man i wasnt putting the nite down or u its always a class nite and no matter where u go in dublin u will always get the scum all we are saying is the scum have 2 go and try this **** u put so much work/ time/ and funds into the nites it just gets 2 me when u c what people put into these nites and them pricks try this **** on keep them nites going senan they are ****ing class nites

senan s wrote: »

lads, as you may know(or you's might not) i'm involved in running these gigs in Radio City as Reactive, we try our best to run the best gigs in the city( we can't please everyone with the line up) we try cater for all, tbh the first bit of hassle i came across from one of our gigs was on saturday night, when a friend of mine got a box or bottle in the head for no reason, we don't control who comes in the door unfortunatley, as like every other promotor in Ireland,

but alot of you's are going on that nothing ever happened in the aslyum, nobody got shot stabbed, robbed, battered(esp a resident DJ who played there)

no matter where you go, there's always gonna be some sort of trouble, and in fairness to the bouncers in radio city, as soon as this incident happened, they were on to the chap who did it, althought they couldn't do anything about it, as they didn't witness it, they kept an eye on the individual who did it, who was basically beside Brian for the night(who could have been the same person who thru the drink over you) SCUMBAGS YES, there was 5 of these lads, and only 1 was causing trouble. so why let 1 scumbag ruin a night.

Sure look at the temple theater aswel notorious for the aul whats your name,where are you from ****e???

Ah wasn't aimed at your nights man, sorry if it came across that way, just aimed it at all them little pri.cks who ruin these things in general, was unfortunate that it happened at the night it did, but man im sure someone else will defnitely experience it at their night sooner rather than later...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

well, you could make a good start by stopping two blokes from coming in, a well known dealer with a colour as his surname who drinks in the Sunset House up the road from Radio City and also one of the notorious T*** brothers.

yeh man they was beside me i seen it after the drink was ****ed over at me and i seen the box and i have 2 say a few lads stepped in and was sorted all the clubs over the years have had this **** u just have 2 try not let them **** your nite up **** them senan

bohsboy wrote: »
    well, you could make a good start by stopping two blokes from coming in, a well known dealer with a colour as his surname who drinks in the Sunset House up the road from Radio City and also one of the notorious T**k brothers.

It's not your man jason orange outta take that is it??

lol...:pac:

bohsboy wrote: »
    well, you could make a good start by stopping two blokes from coming in, a well known dealer with a colour as his surname who drinks in the Sunset House up the road from Radio City and also one of the notorious T**k brothers.

We don't have control over the door, the club does and we don't know every bogy in dublin,

Sure look at the temple theater aswel notorious for the aul whats your name,where are you from ****e???

Ah wasn't aimed at your nights man, sorry if it came across that way, just aimed it at all them little pri.cks who ruin these things in general, was unfortunate that it happened at the night it did, but man im sure someone else will defnitely experience it at their night sooner rather than later...

luke and brian i know you's weren't aiming at our nights, sure the temple all us from bray, had to say we were somewhere else as they let no one in from bray, i wouldn't mind bray is a lovely seaside resort :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

i had best night in ages anyhow :D (feel a bit guilty now saying that lol) thought music was great from when i went in , very impressed with x-ray , played some hard stompers :) good meeting yas all again lads , meself and seany showed them how to move on the dancefloor :D mad reading those snippets of what went on through the night , personally i saw nothing going on , but spent most of my time on dancefloor anyway which is a safe haven :)
    always had a scum element over the years in clubs but ya wouldnt of heard half the goings on ,just now with internet and that its broadcasted everywhere that ya hear everything :)
    sounds like ya have a good plan ahead senan , any hints :)

You have a tough job Senan and obviously security at any gig in Ireland will have its headaches. A couple of years ago we would have done anything for these types of gigs, now they are becoming quite regular.

Fair play.

derra wrote: »
    i had best night in ages anyhow :D (feel a bit guilty now saying that lol) thought music was great from when i went in , very impressed with x-ray , played some hard stompers :) good meeting yas all again lads , meself and seany showed them how to move on the dancefloor :D mad reading those snippets of what went on through the night , personally i saw nothing going on , but spent most of my time on dancefloor anyway which is a safe haven :)
    always had a scum element over the years in clubs but ya wouldnt of heard half the goings on ,just now with internet and that its broadcasted everywhere that ya hear everything :)
    sounds like ya have a good plan ahead senan , any hints :)

the only hint, that 1 never played in Ireland before and the other did over 13 years ago, no more hints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

the only hint, that 1 never played in Ireland before and the other did over 13 years ago, no more hints

interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

johnny action man ? :D
    aceberg wrote: »
    interesting.
    sounds interesting indeed ace :confused:

aceberg wrote: »
    interesting.

the only interesting thing would be you leaving that front door :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

The last time i encountered this kind of sh.it was in the belvedere for Pressure & Mick walsh when some cardboard gangster whipped my mates hat of his head & when we approched him he said 'ah ye two of ye gangin up on me i'll fuc.kin slice ye up outside' & we just got the hat back off him & kept on buzzin to Pressure:D.....was brilliant by the way last tune played was :pac:Warriors groove - Young braves:pac:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?vq1qtalfh7t
    just little hard men on the white get them on there own diff story then fuc.king sh.it them selfs

Outside the belvedere later when it was over there was only me & two mates & me brother & about 8 of yer man with his mates throwing shapes & making noise which we didnt move away from the outside because of this & my mate Rob started laughing at him :p& they just had to crawl away.....(dont always have to get them on their own to find out they are just windbag cardboard gangsters)
    senan s wrote:
    there was 5 of these lads, and only 1 was causing trouble. so why let 1 scumbag ruin a night.

I have been out for a buzz some nights when 1 of my own mates would be causing sh.it being an ass.hole & we would be gettin freaked that he is ruining our night & hassling folks:mad:....usually end up ditching someone like that when they are on that buzz cause i aint gettin paid to babysit:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

this thread is lacking some quality mixes lately from the thread title

Good point senan here are a few of my favorites tapes i converted....

http://www.mediafire.com/?bvz120motv1 ignorance pt 1 (jay carey
    http://www.mediafire.com/?d139y4jdefw ignorance pt 2 (jay carey
    http://www.mediafire.com/?skyni4txndj ed case live @ asylum Friday night
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7duem3ebzn1 ed case triple xxx
    http://www.mediafire.com/?wvwnt9h2zcj Warren k live on power fm 13-10-1995
    http://www.mediafire.com/?hv3j4iw2mcc Mick walsh live @ sides with MC
    http://www.mediafire.com/?x5tl4awd2mo parlsley & thyme live @ the asylum 93
    http://rapidshare.com/files/135216643/Heller.MP3.html Hellfire club 1997 ish

And here are a load to add to your hard drive but i would say most you have all these as it was all ye who uploaded them:D

Warren K
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7dhlddhmlzj
    http://www.mediafire.com/?70k5pytwhnj
    http://www.mediafire.com/?cx4yvzkbx3x
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1mbj2t1hie1
    http://www.mediafire.com/?abwntkeo10d
    http://www.mediafire.com/?6yr1iuonjnw
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5wzzb4xcmj1
    Pressure
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3rdxdjnhw3h
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1mnzykmmqkk
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3mj94ymxdzb
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8btbmmwxgga
    http://www.mediafire.com/?aq59epgoutj
    http://www.mediafire.com/?c4wz1xbnmgl
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1nlnjzdxzji
    http://www.mediafire.com/?b2qynqt4ykt
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7ep9myzzmj3
    http://www.mediafire.com/?27inc2mzptu
    http://www.mediafire.com/?14jljmjkwz0
    http://www.mediafire.com/?jjdmzexgt9m
    http://www.mediafire.com/jjdmzexgt9m

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/20/128...lum-21-5-94.mp3

Jay Carey
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fmhw5he0w3n

http://www.mediafire.com/?6ixlxi0c20b

http://www.mediafire.com/?an2dztwtac2

http://www.mediafire.com/?4uacdjdg3zd

http://www.mediafire.com/?0ovm4y1qp9o

http://www.mediafire.com/?cnthy2vdepg

http://www.mediafire.com/?40liuzmuq3w
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fkkjt3yn14j
    http://www.mediafire.com/?evammgblmjm
    http://www.mediafire.com/?aj5tl19rmmm
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fnc2lcbl4zu
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7cct1c121zi
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3mm8m5w4dn1
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5hd2dfl0pfh
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/20/128...e (a).mp3
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/20/128...e%20%28b%29.mp3

Ed Case
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2mcn24bln1z

http://www.mediafire.com/?8cixgf0tajt

http://www.mediafire.com/?421t0htyxy0

http://www.mediafire.com/?bl24qjbdrvw

http://www.mediafire.com/?vf2zjnbd1nz

http://www.mediafire.com/?vw0b2mzfhb
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2bwydzbgrn3

http://www.mediafire.com/?zozw2z229x5

http://www.mediafire.com/?a1xjxgiylbs

http://www.mediafire.com/?6mgbvsy4bjb

http://www.mediafire.com/?lhsbtzmnmyv

http://www.mediafire.com/?26cuymfezio

Thyme
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ypf4mmtzmwn
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mngim1zqml1

http://www.mediafire.com/?acfmsgzixyo

http://www.divshare.com/download/1436938-bdc

http://www.divshare.com/download/1436939-587

http://www.divshare.com/download/1549328-f4c
    http://www.divshare.com/download/1549327-480

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

the only interesting thing would be you leaving that front door :D

ya might break me some day senan.:D:D:D

or ya might not,i might just remain a recluse.:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

My take on this mullarky,is that yeah there were afew scumbags there on Saturday,but in my opinion these werent real scumbags,just a gang of middle class silver spoon fed surburbanites who like to throw on a ben sherman shirt and think their scumbags on the weekend at a rave,these are just little c*nts who if ya put a baseball bat to their knees would cry a river of tears and call for Daddy,

If you want to see scum,go to Popcorn which does be on a Sunday afternoon,full of the biggest crowd of scumbag,dirtbird **** stirring flith and bottom feeders Ive ever encoutered,all still going from coke fuelled two day benders,all you get is a fight every two minutes,puke,****,birds kicking **** out off each other,Hell on earth

After being to popcorn,anything else is like a tea party

Cant blame the lads who organised it,they have best intensions,not their fault you get the odd streak of piss dickheads whited out of it turning up,

What I noticed on the night in question is that the northies who turned up didnt interact one bit on the night with anyone or the vibe at all,but sat out in the smoking area all night until Xray came on(just goes show,times dont change),Xray who in my opinion is an arrogant **** who abused the poor black guy in the jacks for no apparent reason,id never go see that pric.k again.

I had an good night in general,thought Senan S and bloke afterwards were quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Haven't been on for a while, been busy growing the family:D

Anyway, sounds as if these old skool nights are a bit of a pain in the hole for trouble, nothing worse than little pricks causing trouble.
    Felixdhc wrote: »
    I weigh about 5 stone more than I did then :D

Join the club, I used to be as skinny back in the day with sucked in cheeks, not a pick on me. Used to hate gettining up on a Sunday morning/afternoon, the folks were always into a family dinner on a Sunday - a big plate of roast spuds, beef etc. I couldn't eat a bit of it but now I would have seconds:pac::pac:

Out of here for a few more days, talk later.

Cheers,
    Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

NovaGSi wrote: »
    Haven't been on for a while, been busy growing the family:D

Anyway, sounds as if these old skool nights are a bit of a pain in the hole for trouble, nothing worse than little pricks causing trouble.

Join the club, I used to be as skinny back in the day with sucked in cheeks, not a pick on me. Used to hate gettining up on a Sunday morning/afternoon, the folks were always into a family dinner on a Sunday - a big plate of roast spuds, beef etc. I couldn't eat a bit of it but now I would have seconds:pac::pac:

Out of here for a few more days, talk later.

Cheers,
    Mick

Mmmmm the traditional roast leather (beef), was in the same boat meself. And every few minutes 'You have wild eyes, what where you up to last night?':eek:

To be honest all in all the nights I have been to in Radio City have generally been very good which is why I have kept going back again, tanx to the likes of SENAN S who for my money is well better than that xray thing. I don't think that it's a theme, as in regular gangs of scum at these things.
    On a lighter note one of my mates dropped a 'something' on the dance floor and this fella from Wicklow was down on the ground like a Truffle Pig looking for it, it was gas. He was well gone, talkin crazy talk he was, had to get away from this mad thing. He was biggish with a blue shirt, anyone kop him?
    The next gig will be another success with Dublin based DJ's and hopefully there will be no trouble and as for popcorn RAVERRO808 you just explained what I already thought as I know this rasher I used to hang around with years ago who goes there (x gear head who re-invented himself as a 'raver')and would fit your description down to a 'T'.