Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Lads any of you having problems with mediafire at the minute.
    I'm going to have a straightner with dis laptop:mad:

What kind of problems are you having with mediafire?
    You may have a virus on your laptop.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

bmooney wrote: »
    WHATS THE STORY M/8 U HAVE MAIL[/quote

I'am trying to sort out something for tomorrow,
    the Miss's is giving out she has to mind the kids,:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

never have any prob with mediafire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

senan s wrote: »
    never have any prob with mediafire

When they're updating the layout of their site and stuff, it can stall and play up.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 dayo41

Here is side B of the tape you wanted with the wishdocta on it.....this is the first Rave tape i got way back in 1991 off a mate from milltown called Daisy in the OLYMPIC.....loads of samples from films & famous people in there.....The running man, The Life of brian, The Warriors, Malcolm X.

http://www.mediafire.com/?1nsq6jbfiej

cheers for that dude have just listen to it some really old stuff on there f***in ace thanks again

cheers dayo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

hoping to make this later , anyone off the thread heading in ? gonna be something special in radio city tonight i reckon ..
    saw x-ray many moons ago in kellys , his first time dj'ing in a club in Dublin as well so am sure he will bang it out ;)
    derra wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bmooney

whats the story derra yeh me luke /raver ro/and a few more going in going 2 b a savage nite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

From Lucan myself Seany, knew a good few of the Lucan lads who used to go, Burchill, Dotsy, Carlo (RIP). Remember we used to be getting the first bus home on a Sunday morning with our legs cramping up. Savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

bmooney wrote: »
    whats the story derra yeh me luke /raver ro/and a few more going in going 2 b a savage nite

good man brian , hope to see yas in there , is that raver ro as in mr merrick ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭antoinb

can remember coming out of sides b4 the asylum opened and walking to Lucan meeting and catching the first bus home to Leixlip.
    Nothing like a disco Biscuit for that extra bit of stamina :)
    bohsboy wrote: »
    From Lucan myself Seany, knew a good few of the Lucan lads who used to go, Burchill, Dotsy, Carlo (RIP). Remember we used to be getting the first bus home on a Sunday morning with our legs cramping up. Savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Am suppose to be going the tivoli but am very tempted to go into this. And its not mr merrick derra, the other ro :D may see you in there mna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Ye am having nothing but cr.ap from mediafire.....when files are fully loaded sometimes doesnt verify & sometimes saying error with file but only to find it OK in my files:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Nice one BMOONEY, LUKE G & DERRA. Deadly night in Radio City and Saturday. Went in with a gang of 14 and then back to a gaf in Tallaght. Only bad side was one of the brother in laws had a knife stuck up to him in the jacks by some muppet because he (brother in law) wouldn't take a yoke off him for free!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Yeah plenty of streak of piss wannabe little shams floating about alright,was good buzz at start plenty of elephant paw and all,got ****e at end,wasnt mad bout yer man x-ray,left early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Nice one BMOONEY, LUKE G & DERRA. Deadly night in Radio City and Saturday. Went in with a gang of 14 and then back to a gaf in Tallaght. Only bad side was one of the brother in laws had a knife stuck up to him in the jacks by some muppet because he (brother in law) wouldn't take a yoke off him for free!!

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

wha sure ya were'nt in da asylum.:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

It goes to show you that you can go to all the oldskool nights you like but it will never be the same as the glory days!

There was a few similar incidents man,plenty of scuffles now that i seen, think a lot of people at these nights semm to think they have somethin to prove by goin on like that, and that they'd be letting themselves and their mates down if they dont start throwing their weight around.... it ruins it for the lads that put these nights on, and for everyone else that pay their 15 quid at the door and can't even relax ...

Luke G wrote: »
    think a lot of people at these nights seem to think they have somethin to prove by goin on like that, and that they'd be letting themselves down if they dont start throwing their weight around...

Thats it Luke its all about image for these ass.holes that just want to be seen at these gigs & that they are somehow hard men because they are going to an old skool gig:mad: they missed the point of a Rave completley, Its not about posturing & image its about mass connection through music, the collective anticipation of the next build up or break in a tune to unleash the energy in the place which in turn brings a feeling of Euphoria & acceptance of people because you are all buzzing together:):pac::P:D;)....probably going to offend some folks here but the same dip shi.ts that are all about image at these gigs & not the tunes & the buzz are probably driving around with neon lights under their cars with 50 cent blaring thinking they are 'straight outta compton' & are probably plucking their eyebrows & waxing their chests before they go out......WAN.KERS !

I could not have said that better myself man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

aceberg wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek::eek:

wha sure ya were'nt in da asylum.:D:D:D

Never seen trouble once in The Asylum, most of it is negative propaganda!
    RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Yeah plenty of streak of piss wannabe little shams floating about alright,was good buzz at start plenty of elephant paw and all,got ****e at end,wasnt mad bout yer man x-ray,left early

You wanna see the place for the Olympic night there a while back, place was full of them. I remember talking to you RAVER808 a couple of times. It did get very heavy at the end alright. Really heavy trance, didn't stop me gettin a mad buzz outta DERRA though:D

Never seen trouble once in The Asylum, most of it is negative propaganda!

I must have been on some great trips if it is all propaganda chief cause i seen some serious sh.it in there i aint never seen exept in the likes of a tarantino movie:mad:....i sh.it you not....i did see two people get hurt severly in there....one was stabbed right in front of me just in front of the cool pop bar & dropped to the ground & i just walked in on the after math in the fellas jax of a fella with his whole side of his face sliced & blood on the tiles on the wall....i wont go on about the bad sh.it anymore but beleive me its not a fairytale....if you didnt see anything like that you are fortunate as i would have preferred not to have....but it shows how mad things were back then cause i had no intentions for even 1 minute of leaving the place them nights or not returning to the place & the impact of it faded very quickly into the rest of the night....MAD TIMES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

I have to say imo, if anyone is going to organise a proper old skool night, it has to be by invite only! only for the people who where there! i have been looking at some of the vids on YT the last few mounts and it seems some of the old skool nights are turning into a nacker feast:mad:

btw,very well said theasylumkey :)

I have to say imo, if anyone is going to organise a proper old skool night, it has to be by invite only! only for the people who where there! i have been looking at some of the vids on YT the last few mounts and it seems some of the old skool nights are turning into a nacker feast:mad:

btw,very well said theasylumkey :)

Yeah a lot of the time the places do be full of them, but what we all forget is that any of the current of previous clubs are known as top or legendary venues to anybody like everyone on these boards who are into dance music, but to anybody else who aint, they're known as places that you'd get battered or some kinda trouble in, that's what a lot of us forget,

Don't mean to rub anyone up the wrong way but we're in dublin here and the place is full of little hard men like that, that will ruin it for everyone else... Don't think the "it's cool to do coke," thing is helping either.....as it can make people wanna batter each other

If they are gonna organise somethin tho you certainly wont be reading it on the likes of this, as what you an i are writing now is probably already in every garda database in dublin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

1 word, Coke

as SEANYBOY1 was saying about the bro in law was sum scum there on sat i got a pint ****ed over at me dont think it was at me was ment 4 sum 1 else then a bloke got a smack of sum bloke just little hard men on the white get them on there own diff story then ****ing **** them selfs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Went to an oldskool gig in radio city about four months ago. Was my first time back at a "rave" in about six years. Left after twenty minutes. Got threatened in the toilets and all sorts of scum running around. A well known drug dealer was in a corner with his cronies with powder openly on a table in front of them.

I've been to the asylum and other places, but sorry, not the vibe I want anymore. Was never like this before.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Well it seems my suspicions about these nights have been confirmed. It's a pity that there's so many scum going to these events but I always thought there would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

its the same with everything even a poxy football match u get scum,shouldnt stop you goinin to a rave to have a wee stomp:)

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Well it seems my suspicions about these nights have been confirmed. It's a pity that there's so many scum going to these events but I always thought there would be.

it happens everywhere a m/8 got a knive pulled on him in break 4 the boarder on sat nite over nothing

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Yeah have to say the same for me... puts me completely off going to these nights when I hear about the little scum w**kers that end up in there. F*cked if I'm getting a knife stuck in me - by invite as has been said is the only way. Down the country, private land... buses... hmmm :pac: