Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Luke G wrote: »
    Now that i seen this, im very suprised it wasn't in the weather fieldgazette & on the notice board in Ian Beales Caff,

http://underseacommunity.com/2008/07/17/the-asylum/

And i know SL2 Made an aul appearence in the asylum in the early days, so i think in this vd from 20 seconds that it is the asylum, i was on to the Man Himself Matt "Slipmatt" Nielson and am pending confirmation,who knows what we're missing out on LOL :pac::D;):rolleyes::cool:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDGQMwHjiO8

Had a look Luke and I doubt it by the hand rails in the stair cores.
    I cannot remember for the life of me who told me about SL2 in the Asylum in the first place Luke but it sounded great as they were supposed to have been dancing around the place with personal lazers, like todays lazer pens, which at the time must have been an unbelievable site in the Asylum, freaked I missed that one. But SL2 tracks went down a storm in the Olympic.

Luke you seem to be digging deep as in emailing Slipmat, have you considered a job as a P.I. cause I lost a dog in 97:D:D:D

SL2 - Way In My Brain
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2rxdzdxylxm

SL2 - On A Ragga Tip
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?yzddcygazde

SL2 - DJ's Out Of Control
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zczd0zjmtdl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Had a look Luke and I doubt it by the hand rails in the stair cores.
    I cannot remember for the life of me who told me about SL2 in the Asylum in the first place Luke but it sounded great as they were supposed to have been dancing around the place with personal lazers, like todays lazer pens, which at the time must have been an unbelievable site in the Asylum, freaked I missed that one. But SL2 tracks went down a storm in the Olympic.

Luke you seem to be digging deep as in emailing Slipmat, have you considered a job as a P.I. cause I lost a dog in 97:D:D:D

SL2 - Way In My Brain
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2rxdzdxylxm

SL2 - On A Ragga Tip
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?yzddcygazde

SL2 - DJ's Out Of Control
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zczd0zjmtdl

Gas man aint ya??????? w**nker;);););):D:D:D:D

Nah hes on youtube, loads of the old dj's and dance acts are on the sites, myspace, youtube etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Well done on the family chief

Cheers mate :D

but tell me what will you say when he/she is 17, 18 & tells you they are going into an all night Rave called the ASYLUM:eek:

Can I go??? I have my OAP card
    I'm more worried about when there are lads sniffin around:mad:

I think we must have all been like that back then as i earned myself the nick name 'Bones' cause i was so skinny which has stuck with me to this day:pac:

Fortunatley for me i never had to face the Sunday dilemma as we would have most probably have been in my mates flat on leinster road drinkin 2 litres watchin Resevoir dogs.........(check the links for a laugh)
    http://www.angryalien.com/0406/reservoirbuns.asp
    Or later Pulp fiction........
    http://www.angryalien.com/0605/pulpfictionbuns.asp
    & the closest we would have come to food would be half a forced bowl of chicken & sweetcorn soup only because we knew the human body is supposed to eat every now & again or if all the cash was to be spent on gargle & just busfare for the last bus to greenhills to be kept it could be toast with Dolmio & cheese grilled...mmmmmm:p.....hows that for an improvised pizza when cash is short

Food was deffo the last thing money would be used to buy, I used to think Lucazade Sport was a substitute for a healty diet:P Cider had to be good for, full of fruit, a 2L would deffo give you your 5-a-day!

Cheers,
    Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

adamstown1 wrote: »
    Please put me out of my misery,trying to i.d. a tune for ages. Female singer singing DEEPER LOVE....not c+c or aretha franklin..similar sound to Kinetic ,Golden Girls......

Might be this one chief?????...............

Echo - Drop
    http://www.mediafire.com/?vqayhkqiyug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Gen:FX wrote: »
    Asylumkey - Thats a nice lil' tape / set you posted,... that REALLY is from way back... ;) Excellent.

I'll dig deep into the box of olde tapes & dust some off & see what i can find:cool:......have some more old stuff on many blank sony/tdk/memorex tapes that will have to be listened to before i know whats on em.....
    Astrix ' n ' space / Watch your bass bins (I'm Tellin' ya).

Any one by any chance got the Altern8 gig that they done live from the truck in the car park at shelleys....i had it on tape many moons ago but guess what somone borrowed it from a party gaff we used to buzz in & never gave it back:mad: Hard to beleive that;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

Haven't heard this tune in years, 10 years or more, but it's been playing in my head for some time now, it goes like this,

in a Girls voice,

time to look through the light to find the right derection , change the lite,
    Na Na Na Na baby , Na Na Na Na baby,

not sure of the exact wording of the song,
    it's a house tune with piano in it,

I think near the end a girls voice says ,
    something for your mind, body and your soul

any ideas??????????????????????????????????

might be first life =be one of us very similar vocals and a savage sides tune

Lads any of you ever do 'Life Savers'. Well thats what I called them. These babies literally kept me going the next morning after the night before. It was either these or the glass pint of premier daries orange juice which would be swiped from a neighbours door on the way home.
    In fairness I would need it more than them:D:D:D

Life Savers My favs the one in the middle:D
    LifeSavers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭adamstown1

Echo - Drop

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssssssss !!!!!!!!!!!!

At last,thank you so much,you have made a 35 year old man very happy.
    Ive trawled HTFR and Youtube looking for this,i had an idea it wasnt called `Deeper Love`.

Anybody looking for a trip down memory lane click the link....
    Thanks again Asylumkey.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭adamstown1

Whats the lyric
    . Deeper Love
    .Give her Love
    .Give me Love
    .None of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Lads any of you ever do 'Life Savers'. Well thats what I called them. These babies literally kept me going the next morning after the night before. It was either these or the glass pint of premier daries orange juice which would be swiped from a neighbours door on the way home.
    In fairness I would need it more than them:D:D:D

Life Savers My favs the one in the middle:D
    LifeSavers.jpg

They use to cure me years ago aswell SEANYBOY, befor all these Probiotic yogurts and Probiotic drinks came on the market,

adamstown1 wrote: »
    Whats the lyric
    . Deeper Love
    .Give her Love
    .Give me Love
    .None of the above

I would of said , Give Me Love,
    The lyrics are taken out of an old Dance tune I heard befor years ago.
    Cant remember the name of the tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭moany

Echo - Drop
    never posted before,enjoy reading this thread brings back a lot of memories
    dont want to sound like an asshole but the name of the tune is Taiko - ECHO DROP http://www.discogs.com/release/330273

moany wrote: »
    never posted before,enjoy reading this thread brings back a lot of memories
    dont want to sound like an asshole but the name of the tune is Taiko - ECHO DROP http://www.discogs.com/release/330273

I'am sure the guy's know that the name of the tune is Taiko - ECHO DROP,
    There just using the name of the tune ...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

Just spotted a post in the clubbing section there about favourite clubs etc and someone mentioned a club i was in once only and for years i thought i was going nuts trying to remember where it was or indeed if i was in it lol it was called the Underground. The reason i have a hazy memory of it is because that night i went into town with couple girls i knew and i was planning to go straight to the asylum but one of the girls was seeing this fella and turned out to be an idiot who dragged us all over the city to the dodgiest places for what i dont know or remember.This was new for me heading around these places.. But know i took something on the train, so i was in a heap goin around the place and i do remember walking along the street somewhere and hearing banging sounds coming out of this place, stayed for about an hour in this club before dopey boy took on his tour again. Ended up in some flat on Portland Row area in tatters at this stage and finally onto the asylum where i got a MB and straight over to the Bray crew for a hug lol only to discover these yokes were mental, had to go out side for desperate need of air and peace whilst coming up ,freaked out ta bits, worst experience that night outside the club like that lying on the ground bandjacksed, then i was freezing trying to get back in banging the door down with my waistcoat on only,then Pressure played some ****ed up weird trance that morning to top a weird night off. Asked the girls two days later when they got home where the club was couldnt remember a thing , they were blonde lol I may have been told before where the underground was i but cant for the life of me remember :confused: anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

The only club called the Underground I know of was directly accross the road from Sides.DC. You went in the front door and straight down a flight of stairs. The image below was over the front door. (Pretty sure I have a bit of video somewhere aswell.)

auglogo.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

The only club called the Underground I know of was directly accross the road from Sides.DC. You went in the front door and straight down a flight of stairs. The image below was over the front door. (Pretty sure I have a bit of video somewhere aswell.)

auglogo.gif

I thought that was just a cafe that played suitable tunes for Sides goers??

Cheers,
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

NovaGSi wrote: »
    I thought that was just a cafe that played suitable tunes for Sides goers?? Cheers, Mick

It proberly was at a later stage mick, - but was well known in the mid / late 80's. I was about 17 when I was first in it. (20+ years ago... yikes) - Though I dont ever remember going there during the sides.dc days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

auglogo.gif

Used to go the Underground around 97/98, always good for a lock in too once you got to know the people who ran it, was never really renowned as being a proper club but did have some decent nites there for sure.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭francois

jonny68 wrote: »
    Used to go the Underground around 97/98, always good for a lock in too once you got to know the people who ran it, was never really renowned as being a proper club but did have some decent nites there for sure.:)

My ex worked there...ran by 2 french lads, Thiery and Jaques they used to have coffee and hot chocolate served with whiskey in them-There were occassional nights there, sometimes running till midday

auglogo.gif

I remember that sign outside aswell..
    Never been in it,

Found this on a vinyl I have, Its a classic tune but a diffrent version, :confused:
    Some of you may never of heard it, :eek:
    See what you think, :D

Bizarre Inc - Playing with knives (the climax)

http://www.mediafire.com/?dq3wr5k6eco

This is my pet Bush Baby, the swine found my last MB. I was keeping it for a special occasion. Ah well....:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Found this on a vinyl I have, Its a classic tune but a diffrent version, :confused:
    Some of you may never of heard it, :eek:
    See what you think, :D

Bizarre Inc - Playing with knives (the climax)

http://www.mediafire.com/?dq3wr5k6eco

Thats one of my favourite tunes of all time & your right anytime I play it for anybody, they've never heard it. The more popular mix is the quadrant mix. This climax mix pisses all over it though IMO. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Thats one of my favourite tunes of all time & your right anytime I play it for anybody, they've never heard it. The more popular mix is the quadrant mix. This climax mix pisses all over it though IMO. :p

never heard playing with knives.what planet they living on.thet must be young bucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,323 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

The old Aslyum thread (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=268391) has gotten a bit too big and unwieldy so I'm opening a new one here. The old thread will not be deleted, and can be found at any time by clicking the link above.

Just a reminder to everyone to keep the content within reason (no offensive pics, no links to copyrighted material etc) and above all respect each other.

Enjoy...

This thread has gotten a bit too big and unwieldy so I've started a new Aslyum thread .....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57130859

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ah ya should of left the old one open. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

think il stick with the old 1,:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

i think we should have an oldskool sticky? what do you think Kev?

I think there is already enough stickies on the front page, too many actually. Also if oldskool gets a sticky, then every genre would start wanting one. There are enough posts each day on the asylum thread to keep it near the top of the front page anyway.

As an aside, I just realised how much the oldskoolers will hate a new thread. I'm expecting lots of posts abouthow this thread isnt as good as the old one, the Aslyum thread was much better back in the day, I remember when The Asylum thread was only one page long etc etc etc :P