Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

well heres hoping for the second or third week in August - im out foreign for four days on a stag do and im the bestman!!

hopefully its that quick:) enjoy ur stag bud!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 becks4bucks

ill be rightly up the swaney if i get the last week in august - one positive - we have plenty of time to prepae

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

how many in the first batch been called for interview?

I around the 280ish mark and havent heard anything on an interview date yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

sfhawke7w wrote: »

i know some one here said they were around 190 and got called last thursday. All you can really do is hang tight, no easy i know!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

had been relaxed until i seen someone around the 260ish mark say they got a date for interview, so was just wondering what number had they taken ie the first 250 or the first 300.

anyway the longer have to wait the better, gives me more time to prepare for interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

sfhawke7w wrote: »

Hey,

Got placed around the 50 mark, have interview on the 17th of July. So if they are starting on the Monday. That means they are doing an average of 14-20 a day. So you shouldn't be waiting that long, saying that tho, I say they won't be having interviews everyday. But I say you are definately talking mid-end August.

Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

i think its 400 per batch?? the prep course mentioned 400 for something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭horseydevine

Howryez,

You'v probabbly heard this question millions of times but how do you actually go about joining the gardai..? Iv had a interest since I was knee high ha..Also my mate's da is in the guards and drives the president and ministers, how do you get a position like tat??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 bossco

Howdy,

has anyone heard if there is going to be another recruitment drive this year.... its seems the goverment is gearing up for a few cut backs this year ?
    i repeated my maths in my leaving just so I could get in, get my results in Aug !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Howryez,

You'v probabbly heard this question millions of times but how do you actually go about joining the gardai..? Iv had a interest since I was knee high ha..Also my mate's da is in the guards and drives the president and ministers, how do you get a position like tat??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated..

You have to apply through http://www.publicjobs.ie and then go through a quite lengthy recruitment process, details of which you can find in the FAQ section on http://www.garda.ie. Once you're in, you have to spend 3 years as a uniformed member, and after that you can apply for a position in a specialist unit,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

lads i had to repeat my leaving cery Irish this yr

so im out of the loop for when the garda siochana are recruiting

when is the next date??

and im 50/50 in terms of doing somthing like a security course to get me in

do alot of people do courses to get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

new here too and wondering if anyone has any clue as to when the next cycle might be?last one opened in may so is it every three months? Or is the unstable economy going to affect this? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭controller

poconnor16 wrote: »

new here too and wondering if anyone has any clue as to when the next cycle might be?last one opened in may so is it every three months? Or is the unstable economy going to affect this? :confused:

Nobody here can answer that for sure. The past couple of years they campaigned four times a year. However, nobody can be 100% certain that they will campaign again in August but it has been said that there will be another campaign this year however, that's not 100% fact. The procedure is to register your interest on the PAS webpage and they notify you when the campaign starts that way you don't have to keep checking. You can choose to be e-mailed or have a text sent.

In the meantime it's never to early to start preparing!

shakin wrote: »
    i think its 400 per batch?? the prep course mentioned 400 for something!

Between 400 - 500 people get through each batch.

lads i had to repeat my leaving cery Irish this yr

so im out of the loop for when the garda siochana are recruiting

when is the next date??

and im 50/50 in terms of doing somthing like a security course to get me in

do alot of people do courses to get in

I don't know anything about security but being involved in a community organisation is of great help at interview. Giving of ones free time for the good of the community would be a great thing to have to discuss at interview. It displays the kind of character you are that you appreciate the community you live in and are willing to give something back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭coolkidd

Well folks, just reading through this forum here and its good to see you are helping and supporting each other through the stages, best of luck to ye all. I am thinking of applying myself and i was wondering if anyone knows when the next recruitment drive is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭danteXXI

So once that email comes in from Publicjobs, what comes next?

danteXXI wrote: »
    So once that email comes in from Publicjobs, what comes next?

You will be given a phone number to ring and book your aptitude. The line is open for a limited time so I'd advice anyone to ring on the first day in case the places fill up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

coolkidd wrote: »
    ...I am thinking of applying myself and i was wondering if anyone knows when the next recruitment drive is?

Nobody knows for definite ... going on past-drives their should be one in August but I personally don't think their will be one until Sept/Oct ... I'll be re-applying at the next one meself (whenever it's on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Nobody knows for definite ... going on past-drives their should be one in August but I personally don't think their will be one until Sept/Oct ... I'll be re-applying at the next one meself (whenever it's on)

Yeah there is no set pattern to this, just have to play it by ear.

Kerry4sam I haven't been talking to you in ages. How are things going for you. Did you ever get your feedback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

So i think i had a bit of a calling over the past week

Working as a trainee accountant for the past 9 months and while i like accounting, its just too hard a job to qaulify for with all the exams, weekends spent in college and ****e money!

Just wondering, and sorry for being ignorant, but once i join publicjobs how do i become informed of when the garda recruitment becomes open again? And how often do the aptitude tests take place?

Shurwhynot wrote: »
    So i think i had a bit of a calling over the past week

Working as a trainee accountant for the past 9 months and while i like accounting, its just too hard a job to qaulify for with all the exams, weekends spent in college and ****e money!

Just wondering, and sorry for being ignorant, but once i join publicjobs how do i become informed of when the garda recruitment becomes open again? And how often do the aptitude tests take place?

They will send you an email ( or text if you selected this option) before the next recruitment drive. the site will update itself to include the latest recruitment and you work from there. No one really knows when the next one is though it is likely to be before the end of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

controller wrote: »
    Nobody here can answer that for sure. The past couple of years they campaigned four times a year. However, nobody can be 100% certain that they will campaign again in August but it has been said that there will be another campaign this year however, that's not 100% fact. The procedure is to register your interest on the PAS webpage and they notify you when the campaign starts that way you don't have to keep checking. You can choose to be e-mailed or have a text sent.

In the meantime it's never to early to start preparing!

Thanks Controller!! Keeping my fingers crossed then.....todays talks in the Dail should prove interesting......

Haz33 wrote: »
    ...Kerry4sam I haven't been talking to you in ages. How are things going for you. Did you ever get your feedback?

Haz mate can't complain at the moment :D received my feedback and lost out bu a few marks, but what i thought was my strongest actually wasn't and i was shicked with that ... It was helpful though and will benefit next time round no doubt ...

You all set now? What's the reaction been like for you since you got received that most-sought-after confirmation :D ?

Haz mate can't complain at the moment :D received my feedback and lost out bu a few marks, but what i thought was my strongest actually wasn't and i was shicked with that ... It was helpful though and will benefit next time round no doubt ...

You all set now? What's the reaction been like for you since you got received that most-sought-after confirmation :D ?

Yeah it's all excitement here. Looking forward to getting stuck in now but anxious about leaving the wife and kids during the week. It will be a big move that will take a bit of getting used to for everyone but it will all be worth it in the end.

Glad your spirits are still high and you will be well set up next time round. Best of luck with it. Have you anything planned for the summer (if you can call it that)

Yeah it's all excitement here. Looking forward to getting stuck in now but anxious about leaving the wife and kids during the week. It will be a big move that will take a bit of getting used to for everyone but it will all be worth it in the end.

Glad your spirits are still high and you will be well set up next time round. Best of luck with it. Have you anything planned for the summer (if you can call it that)

Thrilled for ya Haz esp considering the crap surrounding the May in-take :rolleyes: ... everything does work out in the end eh ;)

nothing at all planned for the 'summer' ... it will come and go before i know it was even here ... i'm all set now for the 2nd week in september to complete my final year in college (took that year out to travel 2years ago and my local sgt advised me to complete it and re-apply for An G.S. at the same time...and who am i to second-judge a man of that experience ) ... I've 1main-aim and i'll be damned if i don't complete it :D

Thrilled for ya Haz esp considering the crap surrounding the May in-take :rolleyes: ... everything does work out in the end eh ;)

nothing at all planned for the 'summer' ... it will come and go before i know it was even here ... i'm all set now for the 2nd week in september to complete my final year in college (took that year out to travel 2years ago and my local sgt advised me to complete it and re-apply for An G.S. at the same time...and who am i to second-judge a man of that experience ) ... I've 1main-aim and i'll be damned if i don't complete it :D

Good for you! Your head is well screwed on. We will see you in uniform in no time!

I just got word that their won't be a recruitment drive in August as has happened in previous years but that they are looking at October/November as the next recruitment drive ... just a heads up for people interesting in signing up at the next available opportunity

Good for you! Your head is well screwed on. We will see you in uniform in no time!

here's hoping anyways ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Just a quick question about the apptitude test, whe it eventually comes round,

Can I do a pre test course to gear myself up for the actual test,

or

What is the best way to prepare