Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Tipperman wrote: »
    Hitman

3 balls in the Strokeplay I can never see happening as it would slow the whole comp down but I take your point... Cork lads have a tendancy to be good gamblers and the rumour was that a certain Cork fella put €800 on a fella to win his match.. Crazy stuff... I have never backed myself as I could jinx myself but I know a lot of my friends etc have won a lot of money on me over the weekend especially against Skinner and James Carroll where I was the underdog in those games and the lads pounced on the odds... I think it does add to it in fairness once no one gets stung in the end....

i know one of them who had 300 on me against jim judge and another who had 200 crazy money if u ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

What kind of prize money is on offer in National tournaments? If any?

Draupnir wrote: »
    What kind of prize money is on offer in National tournaments? If any?

There's none, but i think in the near future that will be idea, i think prize money is the way forward on all competitions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

i know one of them who had 300 on me against jim judge and another who had 200 crazy money if u ask me.

Oh I do, I do, I do..

It on in my on club but I don't be practicing over there that often but I should be able to make it.. We have some very good locals over there and with only 5 to qual it will be tough if I wasn't to play well... Lakeside is tough at the best of times so I would say -8 might make it... If you do double figures, your sure to make it but anything can happen on the day....

Where ye at.. Ye normally have about 12-15 quals... Tullamore will be lovely when the time comes... I really want to make it

It really has to be, surely there are some big companies (Eircom, ESB, Waterford Crystal types) who would sponsor national tournaments and inter counties.

Oh I do, I do, I do..

It on in my on club but I don't be practicing over there that often but I should be able to make it.. We have some very good locals over there and with only 5 to qual it will be tough if I wasn't to play well... Lakeside is tough at the best of times so I would say -8 might make it... If you do double figures, your sure to make it but anything can happen on the day....

Where ye at.. Ye normally have about 12-15 quals... Tullamore will be lovely when the time comes... I really want to make it

Were at RGSC, fine course i say if u break the hundred mark u will qualify as its 18 to qualify, i would love to qualify myself, havent qualified in 6 years for it

It really has to be, surely there are some big companies (Eircom, ESB, Waterford Crystal types) who would sponsor national tournaments and inter counties.

There are a lot of complications if we were to receive money...

1. Amature status is gone
    2. PPUI will lose grant money from Irish Sports Council I think, so that will be a no goer...

Also if you are to do that in fairness, the inter and junior grade would suffer greatly and we can't have that.. They are the back bone of the sport as there are way more of those players that Seniors but there isn't enough big competitions for them ie there should be an Inter and Junior All Ireland Matchplay...

The NEC at the presentation looked for anyone with positive ideas on marketing the game and seeking sponsorship to come forward.. I think this was a good idea as there may have been someone at the comp over the weekend who would love to get invloved or know someone who that potential to drive the game forward...PR is a huge aspect of the game and it is a pity that we can't get a spread about the Matchplay in one of the National Papers and that is wats need to move the game forward in terms of PR & Sponorship...

We need to have all the comps at National & Prov level sponsored but this is not the case which is sad to see...

Were at RGSC, fine course i say if u break the hundred mark u will qualify as its 18 to qualify, i would love to qualify myself, havent qualified in 6 years for it

Break 100 there and you could be top :).. That place is tough when the wind blows... Good tough course with brilliant finishing holes....18 to qual, jaysus I might transfer:cool:... You'll qual alright just have to keep the momentum of last wend going and keep the concentration levels at their highest as 16 and 17 could wreck your round:confused:

I dont know the in's and out's of the amateur situation that well, I'll take your knowledge on it. I definitely think there should be a junior and inter variant of each All Ireland competition though, any reason why there isn't?

Well in fairness they do have the same system in the All Ireland Strokeplay... I remember playing a Munster Matchplay in Collins in 2004.. That same year the Inter & Junior had their grades playing on the same course but unfortunately a lot of players from both grades failed to turn up and it looked terrible so i suppose they shot themselves in the foot.. Also b4 players failed to turn up there were a lot of BYE's anyway which suggest lack of entries and competitions can't be seen to loose money... I know the Leinster and Munster Matchplay is back this year but with no Inter& Junior and I can see the reason why but it is not the way forward.. They should have the same outlets of comps as the Senior player....In Scr Cups I believe it is awful for Inter Junior... They pay €10 in comp to enter and then play for 1 prize where as a Senior pays the same but plays for 4 and more if there is a team prize.. Not all Clubs have opens before the Scr Cup like in Dublin but they do suffer.. I know I got it passed at my local club that Inter & Junior have their own Scr Cup on the same day as the Sen.. They both play for the same prizes and they are €150 for the winner, €100 for 2nd, €75 for 3rd and €50 for F18 and it has become a better success from the Inter & Junior entry level... If all clubs did that don't hold opens did that it might improve their entry level to the scr cup

Scratch Cup is basically were a club has an open competition without any handicaps involved right? I dont think they have one at my club but it sure sounds like fun and would be a great way to compete against guys on a level field and get some bragging rights!

Agreed and you are right but one thing it does is improve your game as you have to play well over 36 like any qual or national to be in the prizes..

I understand what you mean, in my club competitions thus far (and even in practice) I struggle to put a full 18 together, sometimes having 2/3 bad closing holes to ruin a good score. I think its to do with concentration and thinking too much about how good the score will be instead of finishing the job.

I'm putting -3 front nines together with +4 back nines and vice versa at the moment, particularly in competitive play, but really I think its all about practice and working on concentration levels.

Something else I'd be interested in hearing more about would be the international competitions I see mentioned on the FIPPA website, are these at a higher level than Irish national championships?

Is there an actual world championship yet? Strokeplay or matchplay? I'm talking about an individual competition rather than the Team World Cup and Euro Championships which I am aware of already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Ah I know the Gluepot very well Gerry, I used to have a beer with Harry up there the odd time, very funny guy!! Haven't been in since I got thrown out for streaking accross the lounge, I was very drunk, I woke up in my front garden that night!!

How did you guys get on at the tournament the weekend.... I had an awful dose, I couldn't even get up to see it!! Was ragin' had my hang sandwiches made in everything!!!

I dont know Harry meself.Do i know you or do you know me?

Something else I'd be interested in hearing more about would be the international competitions I see mentioned on the FIPPA website, are these at a higher level than Irish national championships?

Is there an actual world championship yet? Strokeplay or matchplay? I'm talking about an individual competition rather than the Team World Cup and Euro Championships which I am aware of already.

No there isnt Draupnir, but there are International strokeplay opens in Catalonia, France, Italy etc, which are nearly always won by Irish players as we are the best in the world at the game.But in the future, a World matchplay or Strokeplay would be unbelievable, but can never see it happening because of travel.They would need to offer big prize money to entice players to come over, and as Tipperman said that mightened even be possible.What would be possible would be a World Matchplay with only the National Champs going from each country? (both strokeplay and matchplay).PPUI funding maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

There are a lot of complications if we were to receive money...

1. Amature status is gone
    2. PPUI will lose grant money from Irish Sports Council I think, so that will be a no goer...

Also if you are to do that in fairness, the inter and junior grade would suffer greatly and we can't have that.. They are the back bone of the sport as there are way more of those players that Seniors but there isn't enough big competitions for them ie there should be an Inter and Junior All Ireland Matchplay...

The NEC at the presentation looked for anyone with positive ideas on marketing the game and seeking sponsorship to come forward.. I think this was a good idea as there may have been someone at the comp over the weekend who would love to get invloved or know someone who that potential to drive the game forward...PR is a huge aspect of the game and it is a pity that we can't get a spread about the Matchplay in one of the National Papers and that is wats need to move the game forward in terms of PR & Sponorship...

We need to have all the comps at National & Prov level sponsored but this is not the case which is sad to see...

Hi tipperman well played last wknd!
    Congrats have to go to murphy the mans a legend and a nice guy to boot i remember dropping my bankcard down in st.stephens in the all irelands a couple o yrs ago an he was out behind me and well basically payed my wknd!

Regarding the money situation would we still lose our amateur status if we were to receive vouchers as ya wud in scratch cups, opens...etc Surely if a club can fork out a €300 1st €150 2nd in prices in scratch cups,surely then the nationals should be able to top that sort of prize as it is the one prize everyone wants(but cant get coz of dat damn murphy lad:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Cheers for the kind words DT

Needless to say one has to wonder what a player has to do to get over the heavy finishing line... I do believe I can do it but you certainly do need the little bit of luck to get that win under the belt... Hopefully it might not be too long more

Dublin players in my opinion were a little unlucky with the draw.. I know myself I had 2 very very tough games against Dublin players in which was very lucky to have pulled thru... Dublin players are not far off but they way the Inter Co Team is chosen up there is a little difficult for young players coming thru as it very hard to get passed the oldguard when it is a Picking System and this stops younger players from getting valuable bigtime experience etc... I mean how could Paul Nolan be left off the Inter Co Team last year!!! Experience counts for a lot... I remember getting to the quarter finals of the Matchplay in 1997 when I was 16 and the next time I got to the quarters was last year... The standard is very high but unless you are competing in the Prov/Nat comps on a regular basis I feel that your game has to suffer in the long run;)

Best of luck to all the competitors in the Strokeplay Quals this weekend.. It will be most interesting to see who quals for Tullamore as I know Kingdom will certainly fancy his chances of doing very well there come the end of July:)

Regarding the dublin inter county team how in gods name mr.nolan didnt get in there ill never no but im sure he'll be there this yr but its the same thing yr after yr like we had the leinster champ 2yrs ago and yet he didnt even get in the dublin team yet gets a trial for ireland!!! Someone please explain this to me coz i sure as hell cant think of an explanation!

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Regarding the dublin inter county team how in gods name mr.nolan didnt get in there ill never no but im sure he'll be there this yr but its the same thing yr after yr like we had the leinster champ 2yrs ago and yet he didnt even get in the dublin team yet gets a trial for ireland!!! Someone please explain this to me coz i sure as hell cant think of an explanation!

The only explanation i can give u there mr.jingle is that the county board ignore the leinster championship and go with the dublin and all ireland matchplay and strokeplay when picking there team, they must cause i got in when winning the dublin matchplay so its not right in my opinion

Absolutely shocking weather the last couple of days, this wont be doing anyones practice regime any good ahead of the Dub. Matchplay.

Anyone want to make a prediction for the Senior winner? If I was a gambling man I would put my money on G.Healy to meet the winner of P.Nolan -v- D.Courtney in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

The only explanation i can give u there mr.jingle is that the county board ignore the leinster championship and go with the dublin and all ireland matchplay and strokeplay when picking there team, they must cause i got in when winning the dublin matchplay so its not right in my opinion

Wouldn't say that's quite true.I'm pretty sure that winning the Leinster S/P is what got me on the Inter County team in 2003.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

Kingdom wrote: »
    Having said that with people moving more and more into the country and commuting times increasing, Pitch and Putt should be in a position to capitalise on that, in places like Newbridge, Kilcullen, Tullamore, the commuter belt. ...
    I think thats the problem though. As more and more people move to commuter belts they invariably have more of a commute. Up early & back late. Last thing they are gonna do is go for a game of P&P.

Absolutely shocking weather the last couple of days, this wont be doing anyones practice regime any good ahead of the Dub. Matchplay.

Anyone want to make a prediction for the Senior winner? If I was a gambling man I would put my money on G.Healy to meet the winner of P.Nolan -v- D.Courtney in the final.

I'd keep my money in my pocket if I were you Draupnir.
    The Dublin M/P has quite a habit of throwing up some of the most unpredictable results especially because it's only over 18 holes.A bad start and it's all over very quickly.

But sure there is no craic in that at all!

GerCPM wrote: »
    No there isnt Draupnir, but there are International strokeplay opens in Catalonia, France, Italy etc, which are nearly always won by Irish players as we are the best in the world at the game.But in the future, a World matchplay or Strokeplay would be unbelievable, but can never see it happening because of travel.They would need to offer big prize money to entice players to come over, and as Tipperman said that mightened even be possible.What would be possible would be a World Matchplay with only the National Champs going from each country? (both strokeplay and matchplay).PPUI funding maybe

I'd imagine that a sponsor could pay for each international matchplay and strokeplay winner's flights to a central country without compromising the amateur status? That would be some way to create an individual world cup. It would also be a huge way to get recognition for the sport.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Wouldn't say that's quite true.I'm pretty sure that winning the Leinster S/P is what got me on the Inter County team in 2003.

Well the man who won never got on it and i got on it when i won the matchplay - its a weird process leave it up to the board i say

I'd keep my money in my pocket if I were you Draupnir.
    The Dublin M/P has quite a habit of throwing up some of the most unpredictable results especially because it's only over 18 holes.A bad start and it's all over very quickly.

I agree wiger its a wdie open draw - i wouldnt want to predict the outcome

I have a sneaky feeling someone from CPM will go very very close if not win it and im not being biased...Cpm is a very tricky course, its abit like Loughlinstown, it favours homeplayers.You need to be playing it alot to know where you get the bounces etc, very small greens aswell, its not straightforward.The winner of the match down the bottom, Paul Nolan Vs Courteney will go far and if Paul gets to semis in Erins Isle (his homecourse) itd be hard to see past him but if Courteney wins it opens the bottom half up.Ive a tough opener, but get through that and ya never know.I fancy Hitman or O Reilly in top half.Just back from RGSC, course is looking well.

Well the man who won never got on it and i got on it when i won the matchplay - its a weird process leave it up to the board i say

I'm not arguing to the vailidity of this persons claim to a place on the Inter county team having just won the second biggest championship in the game.
    My point was to show the inconsistancies that the Dublin board leave themselves open to by their selection process.

I know who the person was and I felt he was really hard done by at the time.I also would have sympathy with other people who we all know should have played on at least one Inter county team but still await their chance.

I'm not arguing to the vailidity of this persons claim to a place on the Inter county team having just won the second biggest championship in the game.
    My point was to show the inconsistancies that the Dublin board leave themselves open to by their selection process.

I know who the person was and I felt he was really hard done by at the time.I also would have sympathy with other people who we all know should have played on at least one Inter county team but still await their chance.

Bang on with all comments there wiger - good luck on sunday are u out in the morning or afternoon