Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's wrong with Lukes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

funnyname wrote: »
    Looks like there's going to be another club opening in Dublin soon.

Derek Kelly is going to open a club under the Gutshot name.

http://www.gutshot.com/bforum/showthread.php?t=27194

Interesting. For this to work, at least one of the other clubs will go under.

Regarding the OP, Dom's post sums it up for me as well, even though I'm not playing much these days anyway. But I've always contended that Luke is one of the best in the business in Europe, so hopefully numbers will pick up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

a few points:
    • If another Gutshot club opens will the existing relationship with Gutshot/Lukes remain?
    • I cannot See PPP getting into bed with Lukes as they seem to be friendly with the SE, ie Sats/Xmas Cracker etc
    • Guaranteed tourneys may not be the answer, winners didnt last long despite offering great tourneys, obv not exactly the same situation but the point stands imo
    • The Building front needs to be improved to make it more attractive
    • Local advertising is needed to attract punters

It is my preferred choice on my infrequent dalliances in Live poker so I hope it succeeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

The General is worse than Tommy.

"You min raise me I.....all in"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I lost a monkey in the cash game in Lukes last night.

Seems like a nice place, i will definitely play in there again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Killme00 wrote: »
    I lost a monkey in the cash game in Lukes last night.

I hope he didn't set the alarm off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I hope he didn't set the alarm off.

No, Luke gave him a banana and promised to look after him for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 carryonlaughing

DeadParrot wrote: »
    Also a very good point.
    But with the capital involved in establishing a new premises that is tailor made for his needs, he might do well to stick where he is, build up the clientèle and then move to more attractive premises
    hi lads i was just reading this thread. tell me is lukes place in the old merrion, i used to play in dublin a lot years ago in the merrion and the fitz but havent played there in five years, imo luke is the best floor manager in the buisness. ps its good to see tommy hasnt changed, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

latenia wrote: »
    If you saw this guy, believe me, you'd keep your mouth shut. .

lol

Anyways as regards the "problem" of lukes, we'l all agree that its down to numbers that others arent attending. Jackpot is kept afloat (imo) by the drunken fish, which brings in the players.
    Se was very slow to take off, until a few randomers became regulars, and this number grew - coupled with drunken fish (due to location again) you always get a good game there.

So how can lukes get these players in?

If it were me, i would go straight to the fish, or better put, the taxi men. They collect them from camden street, from temple bar, and from all over the place. When some drunk asks for a casino, at a guess id imagine that lukes is NOT the first place they refer.
    Go to every taxi rank, base, and put an offer to the drivers. For every player/players they drop off, they come to the front door with them, and get a token (it may be worth a tenor, or a 5er - up to management). It will be an incentive for them to drop off a typical gambler to lukes instead of somewere else, and when this starts to fill the place , ther is no doubt that they will get poker players sniffing aroung trying to rid them of their money.

This may be taking advantage of the drunks/randomers - so what IMO.

The taxi men will now have tokens or vouchers that they can only cash in by playing the house games or poker, and this will also bring in an influx of them. There are 100's of these in the city, and should be used. Obv nothing stopping any other casino doing this either !

Also, approach the chinese's in the town, with special nights - offer all the games they play, and offer a buffet also (supplied by one of them, very cheap) and perhaps give them one off bets, and try and get a regular night going, and the poker will improve with this.

These are just two ideas that could help with numbers -

Lack of games, and strong field are the two reasons i havnt frequented CHL's much - but i would love to see it take off.

GL

Donal

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

very good ideas there Donal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Macspower wrote: »
    Was in Lukes last night.... woderfull structure yet again.... 2 tables which wasn't too bad for a tuesday night and plenty of Craic at the tables..... Tommy was to my right all night with his usual banter which I found completely harmless.... (I have to say this or he will throw me down the stairs as believe it or not he is reading this thread.... much to his ammusment)

BTW .... brag... I took it down after dogging a fellow boardsie

Wp Mac. At least you put my chips to good use. Wont hold it against you lol.

I play the vast majority of my poker in CHL's and it is always, win or lose an enjoyable experience. I really do think that advertising is the main issue as the tournaments are probably the best around. I will always recommend it when Im asked by customers about a casino.

I think semibluffs idea about an offer to taxi drivers is a good one. Free €5 bet for every punter they drop off who signs up. And as stated if the real players know there are drunken fish in the house they will come to take full advantage.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

If this forum supported CHL it would make a big difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

very good ideas there Donal

yep very good ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Hyzepher wrote: »

Why should this forum support CHL or any other business?

If Luke as the right product and service he'll get players, its not about supporting someone just because we like them.

I've already mention my problems to Luke about CHL and I'll lists the disadvantages and advantages.

Dis:

1. lack of players
    2. Late start to nearly every single game.
    3. His prize money is always to top heavy and he normally pays to many.

Adv:

1. Luke.
    2. Place is nice, chips tables etc.
    3. Excellant food.
    4. Price is reasonable
    5. Good dealers

So if you look at the above points, the main problem is players, so what causes this:

1. Too many casino's
    2. Lack of Advertising
    3. Lack of money between players
    4. Online poker
    5. Location etc.

I don't know what Luke can do to keep the buiness going, but I don't think the gaming floor is that popular either. If you dont make money on the gaming floor and have a good income from the poker rake, it wont last as a buiness. The market place will determine you will be around in 2 years and at the moment I think it will be the Fitz and the SE.

Please remember, the SE took nearly 2 years before the numbers got to a decent level. Luke might need to attract new players to make this business work.

I really wish CHL the best, but the numbers will have to improve. That means offering something to get people in outside the norm.

This is a problem for all the casino's in Dublin at the moment.

semibluff wrote: »
    lol

Anyways as regards the "problem" of lukes, we'l all agree that its down to numbers that others arent attending. Jackpot is kept afloat (imo) by the drunken fish, which brings in the players.
    Se was very slow to take off, until a few randomers became regulars, and this number grew - coupled with drunken fish (due to location again) you always get a good game there.

So how can lukes get these players in?

If it were me, i would go straight to the fish, or better put, the taxi men. They collect them from camden street, from temple bar, and from all over the place. When some drunk asks for a casino, at a guess id imagine that lukes is NOT the first place they refer.
    Go to every taxi rank, base, and put an offer to the drivers. For every player/players they drop off, they come to the front door with them, and get a token (it may be worth a tenor, or a 5er - up to management). It will be an incentive for them to drop off a typical gambler to lukes instead of somewere else, and when this starts to fill the place , ther is no doubt that they will get poker players sniffing aroung trying to rid them of their money.

This may be taking advantage of the drunks/randomers - so what IMO.

The taxi men will now have tokens or vouchers that they can only cash in by playing the house games or poker, and this will also bring in an influx of them. There are 100's of these in the city, and should be used. Obv nothing stopping any other casino doing this either !

Also, approach the chinese's in the town, with special nights - offer all the games they play, and offer a buffet also (supplied by one of them, very cheap) and perhaps give them one off bets, and try and get a regular night going, and the poker will improve with this.

These are just two ideas that could help with numbers -

Lack of games, and strong field are the two reasons i havnt frequented CHL's much - but i would love to see it take off.

GL

Donal

Are you a taxi diver with a gambling problem???? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

thinking of taking up taxi driving . . . but you wernt too far off

lol

Ollieboy wrote: »
    Why should this forum support CHL or any other business?

If Luke as the right product and service he'll get players, its not about supporting someone just because we like them.

Sure it is. If numbers are the biggest factor holding CHL back then why not support him by playing there. Surely it's in everyones interest to have a number of popular and busy casinos.

By no means support CHL exclusively - I'm not saying that. But i'm sure this forum could make or break any new poker establishment - so why help out?

If they are providing a bad service or poker experience then they've lost an opportunity but at least give them a chance to succeed.

Sure it is. If numbers are the biggest factor holding CHL back then why not support him by playing there. Surely it's in everyones interest to have a number of popular and busy casinos.

By no means support CHL exclusively - I'm not saying that. But i'm sure this forum could make or break any new poker establishment - so why help out?

If they are providing a bad service or poker experience then they've lost an opportunity but at least give them a chance to succeed.

I know what you meant and people here do support the casino industry in Ireland, the problem is with oversupply. Thats the main problem at the moment. I think Dublin as only got room for 2 active casino, if you split the market more by opening more places, it results in nobody making money and downturn in numbers.

can antbody tell me if lukes place is in the old merrion

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

can antbody tell me if lukes place is in the old merrion

it sure is

tks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

We didn't break the CPT :(

I don't think well meaning posters such as Hyzepher or Dev are doing Lukes any favours by saying people have been disloyal or aren't helping Luke out. I know a lot of people on here have tried to support the place but at the end of the day we're playing poker to make money not to help out. You shouldn't be made feel guilty about it. All things being equal I'd support Luke's over anywhere else. I await the day when all things are equal.

Until then I'll call in on occasion but it won't be my number one destination unfortunately as a working stiff looking for a gambling fix isn't going to be happy waiting for hours to play a shorthanded game against nits, shortstackers and the proprietor himself in a ROE game I don't really want to play. :( I think a marketing push for the fishes is required and if that is successful then a critical mass will be reached and the problems go away. If this isn't done no amount of help or one-off drives will do it imho.

Ollieboy wrote: »
    I know what you meant and people here do support the casino industry in Ireland, the problem is with oversupply. Thats the main problem at the moment. I think Dublin as only got room for 2 active casino, if you split the market more by opening more places, it results in nobody making money and downturn in numbers.

I think over supply is a worrying factor but I've seen no evidence that we are anywhere near full capacity. maybe the tournament numbers will be hard to maintain but I feel that's because they start before the pubs close. A lot of money is made in the cash games and on the tables due to the influx of post-pub customers.

It was interesting to hear that the Gutshot plan to open a poker room in Dublin. I went onto their site and there were some comments comparing the Dublin scene with the current London Gutshot - they seem to feel that a Gutshot poker room can provide a new experience for the poker player. afaik they don't plan to have any gaming tables but I could be wrong.

Their point is that poker in Dublin isn't player focused enough and they can provide a product that will be a winner. I feel that we have that winner in CHL already and given a chance we might see a club akin to the Fitz in the early days.

ollyk1 wrote: »
    We didn't break the CPT :(

I don't think well meaning posters such as Hyzepher or Dev are doing Lukes any favours by saying people have been disloyal or aren't helping Luke out.

I am most definately not saying that people have been disloyal. I am just making the point that this forum has the capacity to change the fortunes of CHL and make it into a place where you WOULD be happy to go. It's not all about playing there 5 nights a week but simply promoting it through word of mouth out in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

I think you'll find that a lot of members have tried to/do support CHL. Admittingly, we haven't all got together to play there every night for a week or anything but we do try to support them. Again, it goes back to a numbers and timing thing. Anytime I've been in there, the tourney has never started less than 45 minutes late. One night, I was sitting there for an hour and a half waiting for the tourney to start :eek: - I will keep dropping in from time to time and hopefully it will get better numbers, more prompt starting times and better cash games afterwards

ive been looking at all posts on this thread, and the one thing that everybody seems to have in common is that. 1 luke is a good manager, and 2 the numbers are down in tounrnaments and cash games. what if 40 or 50 boards poker players got together rented a place and get luke to manage it, take no profit only lukes running costs. we wud all be sure of some good tourneys and cash games and the rake wud be very little. what do ye think it could work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

I completely agree on the incentives for taxi drivers idea. The more taxi drivers coming to casinos the better imo from my experience!

If Tommy is a reg in CHL that would put me off going in there tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

ive been looking at all posts on this thread, and the one thing that everybody seems to have in common is that. 1 luke is a good manager, and 2 the numbers are down in tounrnaments and cash games. what if 40 or 50 boards poker players got together rented a place and get luke to manage it, take no profit only lukes running costs. we wud all be sure of some good tourneys and cash games and the rake wud be very little. what do ye think it could work

If we have 40-50 boards players playing all the time, the question still remains, where do we get the fish from???? We play to make some cash not just pass it around the same 40-50 people...

true but numbers attract numbers, the fish wud come if there was constant action in the room. who says that out of the 40 or 50 players theres not 10 fish among them lol

did the fitz not start that same way, wasnt there about 20 merrion players got together and opened that

that was one of the main reasons why the merrion closed