Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's wrong with Lukes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Am I correct in thinking that the toureys all begin around the 9:00 mark in Dublin? Why not start them a little eariler, say 7:00? That way the cash games get started earlier!

Otherwise if they are not getting the punters in the scrap them.

Here's a few ideas that i've seen in 1 of 2 cardrooms here in Linz (only 250k people). Money is from the jackpot money - 1€ collected from all pots over 15€ or so at 1/2.
    Twice a week on days when there are no tourneys. from 0:00 to 24:00 high hand jackpot - 600, 300, 100 - both hole cards must be used.
    Every Sat 9pm - Mon 1am - win a pot get a ticket for a draw. Draws begin at 9pm on Sun and are every hour until 1am. People get drawn for a HU game where the winner gets entry to EOM 215€ game.

A few half-interesting ideas using the jackpot money can easily bring in punters.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

drop a few leaflets into yer neighbours in the FAI, Im sure those fkrs like to gamble and it's only next door(ish). I will probably play the 200 game on Frida if I decide to opt out of the big SE one......

btw lay off Tommy or i'll kick the shte out of ye all (or maybe just the smaller ones amoungst yiz)

I love Tommy .

I shall have to kill Tommy now. now who bloody ELSE do you love?

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

YULETIRED wrote: »
    I shall have to kill Tommy now. now who bloody ELSE do you love?

I love you too Willie:D

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

who says that out of the 40 or 50 players theres not 10 fish among them lol

I laugh when I read comments like this. Affiliation to boards doesnt guarantee proficiency at the game of poker, it doesnt even guarante competence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Blob Gilb

Only been twice to CHL and finished 3rd each time. So I certainly had a great time ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

YULETIRED wrote: »
    drop a few leaflets into yer neighbours in the FAI, Im sure those fkrs like to gamble and it's only next door(ish).

Btw, the FAI moved to Abbotstown about 3 months ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭mormank

do you really think that if you set up a place with 40 or 50 regulars who are all perceived to be good players that fish would walk in. dont u think it would be a bit intimidating?? i mean i wouldnt go there regularly. maybe the odd time for a gamble and to see the expression on ppl's faces when they saw the cards i re raised them with... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

semibluff wrote: »
    lol

Anyways as regards the "problem" of lukes, we'l all agree that its down to numbers that others arent attending. Jackpot is kept afloat (imo) by the drunken fish, which brings in the players.
    Se was very slow to take off, until a few randomers became regulars, and this number grew - coupled with drunken fish (due to location again) you always get a good game there.

So how can lukes get these players in?

If it were me, i would go straight to the fish, or better put, the taxi men. They collect them from camden street, from temple bar, and from all over the place. When some drunk asks for a casino, at a guess id imagine that lukes is NOT the first place they refer.
    Go to every taxi rank, base, and put an offer to the drivers. For every player/players they drop off, they come to the front door with them, and get a token (it may be worth a tenor, or a 5er - up to management). It will be an incentive for them to drop off a typical gambler to lukes instead of somewere else, and when this starts to fill the place , ther is no doubt that they will get poker players sniffing aroung trying to rid them of their money.

This may be taking advantage of the drunks/randomers - so what IMO.

The taxi men will now have tokens or vouchers that they can only cash in by playing the house games or poker, and this will also bring in an influx of them. There are 100's of these in the city, and should be used. Obv nothing stopping any other casino doing this either !

Also, approach the chinese's in the town, with special nights - offer all the games they play, and offer a buffet also (supplied by one of them, very cheap) and perhaps give them one off bets, and try and get a regular night going, and the poker will improve with this.

These are just two ideas that could help with numbers -

Lack of games, and strong field are the two reasons i havnt frequented CHL's much - but i would love to see it take off.

GL

Donal
    This actually sounds like a really good, easily implemented idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

that taxi drivers one is a great idea.

as far as I know the chinese don't play in that building because there are ghosts there, not sure what you can do about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Yeah, the ghosts bothered me at first. But you get over it.

Getting supersticious would be unlucky anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

RoundTower wrote: »

as far as I know the chinese don't play in that building because there are ghosts there, not sure what you can do about that.

The chinese rent the 3rd floor once a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Macspower

Ok some great Ideas here so far...

spoke to John and Paul Fox in CHL last night about this....

I have a few ideas opinions please?

All the ideas mentioned sound very good.... Lukes has everything going except for proper marketing IMO... but I'm not sure are there rules regarding advertising of private members clubs/casinos?

anyway I have offered to do some car/van stickers for them and some signs FOC....

To take it a step further I would be willing to do car window stickers FOC as well... would you boardsies put them on your rear windows? i can do a range of inner/outter ones with a range of colours... I know Paul Fox (Cuban Son) will supply me with CHL's fonts etc etc

suggestions on text for them? They cant be too big....

Also I think CHL needs a better website and I know the existig one was only intended to be temperory.... with Lukes permission would anyone here that is good at that kind of thing provide their services FOC and design a nice looking/functional site with a few pages... then perhaps CHL's would market it a bit with some PPC google adds or something.... they cant be expensive for something like dublin casinos?

Instead of talking about it lets do something about it while we can...

My 2c worth.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

RoundTower wrote: »

Easy

ghostbusters-poster-c10281195.jpeg

This is the 3rd floor in lukes

ghostbusters_1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

bohsman wrote: »
    The chinese rent the 3rd floor once a week.

thats because the ghosts are only on the first two floors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Im only readng this now.

I would love to play in Lukes place but as my poker travels are seriously curtailed these days I need to be selective and go where the action is. I went into the Fitz the other night for the 1st time in months and was very happy with some very very soft cash games. This is obviously currently not happening in Lukes therefore the players will stay away until it gets some juicy cash tables going.

I posted in a thread recently that I think its about time Lukes got a fair crack of the whip and have tried to organise the odd random cash game there but it just never happened often enough.

Too much competition in Dublin competing in too small a market. Obvious reasons I would say.

Numbers are seriously down in the SE these days and I was surprised at the number of previous SE regulars that I saw in the Fitz the other night.

Why not have a boardsies tourny there like the ''grudge match'' that Gholimoli organises in Lukes now and again. Or organise a boardsies once off cash game and maybe players might stick around.

The above ideas are only to try support Lukes place with regular players but new blood is still required. I found the fitz the other night was full of students too. Poker is massive around the colleges these days so why not someone still attending college and involved in poker begin to suggest Lukes place as the place for their tourny's etc.

I ll play there every time if i know that after I donk off my tourny chips I can hop straight into a cash game.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Conbro wrote: »
    I laugh when I read comments like this. Affiliation to boards doesnt guarantee proficiency at the game of poker, it doesnt even guarante competence.

Completely agree.

I also think the taxi drivers idea is a great one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Interesting that a few people mentioned the intimidation from ignorant regulars as a factor. I think it's a point that is overlooked too often and someone who some of the more experienced and thicker skinned players think is a "character" is probably just a complete dick. He's certainly not an attraction and he would probably do enough to ruin plenty of players nights and convince someone who could turn out to be a regular not to come back. That's -EV for any card-room.

A few months ago I had a guy in a club with his hands round my throat after I had stood up for a young guy he was threatening. Nothing was done about it. If I'm a regular in that club I'm worth several hundred € more in rake than most players but I'm hardly likely to go back much when some imbecile is threatening me.

Anyway, that's just one of a combination of reasons that Luke's could be struggling, with a lack of marketing being the one that is almost always the main reason. Add to that the layout of the building and the increase in standards set out by the competition, particularly the SE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Conbro wrote: »

Some Donk wrote:
    Fold.
    I'm sure everyone and there mother will dissagree with me but the amount of times I've been minraised in the last few weeks, less than 10% of them have been anything but monsters.
    Set or made straight imo. That being said a shove may get bottom set to fold but I dont think so.

I agree :D

NickyOD wrote: »
    He's certainly not an attraction and he would probably do enough to ruin plenty of players nights and convince someone who could turn out to be a regular not to come back.

One of the reasons I started playing poker regularly was the great atmosphere in the Jackpot. The management never let players who were...ahem...characters ruin the game. "Fish" is a good example. The absolute value but a could ruin the atmosphere in any room in seconds. Trippie may disagree about a certain surly bus driver but mostly this is how I've found the place.

I've become a regular (the value too I might add) because I enjoyed the atmosphere of live poker and certain players can definitely ruin that. I am as thick skinned as any but I don't enjoy playing with certain players in the room and obviously I am not the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Yeah I think the Jackpot has the best atmosphere which can help attract alot of new players to come back regularly after their first time which can build up a core of regulars, it seems to be the best club at getting new people through the door but that's just my assumption really. Good cash games help too, as does having tounaments like mondays and thursdays and a 1/1 cash game again to attract people not used to playing live much, but I just enjoy playing in there...Even when Keiths playing...

Slash/ED wrote: »
    Even when Keiths playing...

Ah here... Am I really that bad?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

Lads to Make a point to the agrument, I Love tommy to bits and think he has to be taking with a pinch of salt as there is no malace involved, he is just a little loud which is not everybodys cup of tea,

also for anybody that feels they are to embarrsed to come in because they have not been in rece ntly, that is not the Case i Speak for everybody Involved with Cool Hand Lukes, we would be delighted to see each member of the poker community whenever you would like to drop in and see us,,

Regards Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭a147pro

is Tommy the chap who used to have a tash, always wears tracksuits, think he used to turn up to the fitz in his security uniform while he was supposed to be working. Regularly deals for tables he is at. For all ins sometimes deals all 5 cards then gets you to turn them individually out of order.

His son cannot take a beat to save his life? Is that Tommy?

If so I've always found him loud, for the most part hillarious but entirely unthreatening.

Maybe its a different chap though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

a147pro wrote: »
    is Tommy the chap who used to have a tash, always wears tracksuits, think he used to turn up to the fitz in his security uniform while he was supposed to be working. Regularly deals for tables he is at. For all ins sometimes deals all 5 cards then gets you to turn them individually out of order.

His son cannot take a beat to save his life? Is that Tommy?

If so I've always found him loud, for the most part hillarious but entirely unthreatening.

Maybe its a different chap though?

No your right, same guy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

lukes has by far the best tournament structures in dublin top notch food
    and while i am not racist its nice to have some irish staff and quite easy on the eye excluding mick owen paul luke etc as for tommy i think hes savage crack and should be on commision as an atraction only problem with lukes is lack of value in the cash games but i think that can be easily sorted with a bit of marketing and posibily hiting some drunks over the head outside the fitz
    and wheeling them around the corner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I'd agree with Jayminator.

The odd night I do get into town for a game, I want to know there will be a few cash tables going. I pm'ed Oscar one night before I went in to see if a game would be going at 8.30. To be fair to him, he said it wouldn't start til later (he could have said ya to boost numbers), so I went on to the Fitz. That was a while ago though and things have prob changed.

I will drop in over the summer though and would like to give some support if something is being organised here.

Macspower:- I'm not sure I would put a sticker up on my car (for any casino for that matter). There are a few issues I would have with it. Security is one, ie you might be targetted. Work is another, I just wouldn't fancy coming in late some day and they all say "oh casino again last night" when it could have been the pub :)