Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

pvt.joker wrote: »
    And so it starts all over again!

Good for us who are waiting on PCT's etc to know that the dreaded "freeze" was only a sales tactic by HQ to get us to sign up for May intake eh Haz? :)

We can relax and enjoy the summer now :cool:

Yeah. Hindsight is a pain in the hole. Imagine the consequences of hq's actions. I could have dropped everything and lost a holiday and business and I would be sick as a parrot now!! Doesn't bear thinking about. Here's to a great summer though! :D

check your PM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Haz33 wrote: »
    check your PM

Thanks for your help Haz33;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Lady Jay

Hi everyone

This is my first post ever (so very new to this and hope im in the right place!)

I want to apply for the new garda recruitment drive, only prob is i failed maths in my Leaving Cert, since then iv done a fetac cert and also a diploma and am just finished 1st year of my degree, will any of that meet the entry requirments or should i just forget it and re-sit my maths next june?:confused:

Any words of wisdom wil be greatly appreciated

Lady Jay wrote: »
    Hi everyone

This is my first post ever (so very new to this and hope im in the right place!)

I want to apply for the new garda recruitment drive, only prob is i failed maths in my Leaving Cert, since then iv done a fetac cert and also a diploma and am just finished 1st year of my degree, will any of that meet the entry requirments or should i just forget it and re-sit my maths next june?:confused:

Any words of wisdom wil be greatly appreciated

We can all have a guess at this here Lady Jay but I reckon the only one with the answer is Garda HQ. Ring them and tell them what you have and ask will this suffice? I have always found them approachable when I ring them.
    The number is (01) 6661644.
    Best of luck with it and let us know how you get on!

Jeez that was quick!

Will do that, thanks for the number:) Ill definitely let ye know how it goes, fingers crossed

Lady Jay wrote: »
    Jeez that was quick!

Will do that, thanks for the number:) Ill definitely let ye know how it goes, fingers crossed

That what we're here for.
    (it's not that we have shag all else to do, Promise!) :D

ha, im in the right place so;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Chris007

Hi all! I'm thinking of applying for the guards and i just have a quick question; As a Dub what are my chances of being stationed back in Dublin? Would it be less than others from around the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭goouch

DAISEY
    Tried to mail you back said you changed settings wont let me mail you!!!!!!!!
    so every1 excited about it all???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

Im from the north and dont have a pps number. I cant register on public jobs!! anyone help me out??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭horse1

hi all,

just applied ther. the second time so hopefully i get lucky this time round. best of luck to every one that applied

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭horse1

Im from the north and dont have a pps number. I cant register on public jobs!! anyone help me out??

ring public jobs. tell them ur problem. they should help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭woohoo

goouch wrote: »
    DAISEY
    Tried to mail you back said you changed settings wont let me mail you!!!!!!!!
    so every1 excited about it all???

Oh very excited!!! You? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 daisey

goouch wrote: »
    DAISEY
    Tried to mail you back said you changed settings wont let me mail you!!!!!!!! it should be ok to pm now goouch :D let know if you have any problems with getting through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭horsecrap

some say-joining the gardai, completely changes your personality and friends etc. if thats the case, im not sure thats the career for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

horsecrap wrote: »
    some say-joining the gardai, completely changes your personality and friends etc. if thats the case, im not sure thats the career for me.

There is some truth to it probably. But to some extent, it would be the same with any job really - I work for a big US corporation, and it often amazes me to see to what lengths people will go to get their promotion to a Team Leader. And how much they change after they got it.

But obviously, GS would have much bigger impact on your life. That's why I'm glad that I didn't join the police when I was 19 or 20, but only doing it now, when i'm 28. I believe that I'm more mature now, worked in few different areas, I've seen the world a little bit, and all this will go a long way in GS.

When you join the GS straight after school, GS is all you know, so it's hard to get perspective imo.

And don't get me wrong, I'm not criticising any young lads or girls joining - each to their own as they say, and good luck.

I remember reading somewhere "When you are in the job, you have to remember - you are not a policeman, you work as a policeman". I think it's a thought worth remembering.

I would say only if you let it. Some people turn into complete idiots when they get a bit of authority so if you dont want to change just be yourself at all times and you wont have a problem. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

ive heard it myself, oh they brainwash you in templemore! hope they arent right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭woohoo

Yeah some people can let it go to their heads! My friend thought she was robo-cop when she started but has calmed down a bit! since lol!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭soundlad

woohoo wrote: »
    Yeah some people can let it go to their heads! My friend thought she was robo-cop when she started but has calmed down a bit! since lol!! :D

it is a very respectful job but it should not change the person you are. hopefully we wil be like that someday too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭gazzaman22

Hi, im looking for enlightenment about joining the gardaí

Im a newely married man aged 28, was made redundant from my job of 8 years just last friday...
    I have a 3 year diploma in Computer Science from Dundalk Institute of Technology.

Can Any one tell me does a NCEA Diploma entitle me to a better starting off salary when joining the Gardaí?
    Also can anyone tell me as i have just bought a home...if i pass as a gaurd
    is there the possibility of being posted anywhere in the country? or am i wrong in making the assumption of being based locally because of my family commitments, I'm just wondering about this because my wife and i have just bought a house and are set up there...is there a chance i might have to relocte for some time?

Thanks all and any info you send will be greatly appreciated

Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Don't know about your diploma but regardless you'll be on student wages for 13months roughly 160 a week. which is a serious lifestyle change for anyone on a decent salary.
    If you've a house and a wife or kids anything like that... they'll take that into account, just put in a word with the employee assistance officer down the college, you'd be taken care of.

RE brainwashing...
    Yeah okay you may see a lot of things though a 'police visor' a car is now an mechanically propelled vehicle, a road is a public place... you notice more when you're in town, become more observant, instead of asking girls for thier phone numbers you as for thier date of birth ha!
    If anything, i think a career in An Garda Siochana enhances many of your social skills, sharpens you and makes you a bit wiser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

gazzaman22 wrote: »
    Hi, im looking for enlightenment about joining the gardaí

Im a newely married man aged 28, was made redundant from my job of 8 years just last friday...
    I have a 3 year diploma in Computer Science from Dundalk Institute of Technology.

Can Any one tell me does a NCEA Diploma entitle me to a better starting off salary when joining the Gardaí?
    Also can anyone tell me as i have just bought a home...if i pass as a gaurd
    is there the possibility of being posted anywhere in the country? or am i wrong in making the assumption of being based locally because of my family commitments, I'm just wondering about this because my wife and i have just bought a house and are set up there...is there a chance i might have to relocte for some time?

Thanks all and any info you send will be greatly appreciated

Regards

you will move up the salary scale two places but only once the first two years are up. anyone with a degree or diploma does. there is also always a chance that you will have to relocate to somewhere else but the are generally very fair when it comes to someone in your situation. hope that helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Celtic07

best of luck to all applying long but worthwhile process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭karlokarl

Hey guys, I applied today!! I'm in college at the moment though and still have another two years left to do.... I was informed that I could defer my entry for two years if I was successful in gaining entry. Has anyone else heard of this??
    Also, I'm going away for six weeks during the summer...will this effect tests/interviews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭gerk86

Alright lads, Im off to the U.S for the next couple months and am going for the gardai when I get back. Quick couple of questions. Is there going to be a recruitment freeze and how long would it last?

hate to come back only to be waiting a year for the next recruitment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭goouch

its guess work no one can say for sure if there will be a freeze or not and if so for how long no one knows (No way you could apply for this intake May????)enjoy U.S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

What language speakers are the most wanted in Garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭andrew1985

does anyone know do you have to have a euopean language at leaving cert level to become a garda????