Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Dromcill wrote: »
    Well done HITMAN. That was great scoring by your team. Should be good fun at the finals. I am expecting some crazy low NETT scoring. Whats the Lucan course like?.

Ye it was quite blustery for the morning players, the afternoon got the best weather, Lucan's a fair course some tricky holes it be all down to the putting ,hopefully the weather is good, well will u be up for the weekend now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

well done hitman.expected one of the home teams to qualify easily though.Hard course to play if you don't know your way around.
    Who did you play with ?

Wigertoods wrote: »
    well done hitman.expected one of the home teams to qualify easily though.Hard course to play if you don't know your way around.
    Who did you play with ?

Eoin and JR, myself on JR are played reall well in gusty winds, Eoin been playing a lot of golf so was finding the distance hard, hopefully with the leagues the interest comes back.

4 out of the 4 got through
    7 from glenville
    3 from Lucan
    5 from RGSC
    3 from Old County

Thats what it look like when i left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

Thanks for the advice guys, really appreciate it!! I spent the weekend looking for courses, haven't played any golf since I was last in Tramore and that windmill on the fourth got the better of me... Do any of you guys give lessons?

By the way, I found a bag of clubs on adverts.ie 50euro http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=49814 would these be of any benefit for a beginner?

Draupnir wrote: »
    I guess it would be easier if we had our own forum, but would anyone have the time to explain the scoring systems for the different competitions and how they are actually played, eg three players on a team in a scramble and how they score etc.

I am going to post in feedback now to request a forum or sub forum as I think we are more than busyenough to justify one

Here goes
    Scramble :

In the scramble all players pitch (in this case 3 person team).The team will then decide which ball they will use for the next shot and the other two balls will be discarded.All players will then play the next shot from this position.This process will continue until the ball is holed.the team handicap is obtained by dividing the combined handicap by the number of players in the team (ie total hindicap/3).
    The scores for the 36 holes are added up to get the gross score and then the handicap is subtracted from this to get the nett score.

Strokeplay:
    Each stroke is counted for each hole.all strokes are added at the end of each round.If the competition is over 36 hole then the score for each round is addded also.This score is called the gross score.Subtract the players full handicap to get the nett score.

V par:
    The par for each hole in p&p is 3.
    If the player has a two or better this is classed a +.If the player has a 4 or more this is classed as a -.At the end of the round all the - are subtracted from all the - to get the score result (this sounds complicated but it's actually quite easy).Example +5 would mean the player had 5 more + then -.In Vpar the handicap allowence is 3/8 of you full handicap.

Stableford:

In this game the handicap allowance is 7/8 of the players handicap.
    here points are awarded depending on the score of each hole.
    points are as follows

par (3)= 2 points
    bogey(4) = 1 point
    birdie(2) = 3 points
    Eagle(hole in one) = 4 points

all points are added up at the end of each round.

Scotch Foursomes:

This quite a popular game on the p&p circuit.
    This is a two person team event whereby both players pitch.The best shot is determined.The other member of the team plays from this position.players play alternative shots until the ball is holed.Handicap allowance is 3/8 of the two players combined handicap.

These are just some of the main types of scoring games played and this should be enough to get any beginner started in the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

HITMAN, our team will have to start making plans to travel up to Dublin for the National Scramble weekend. I see that the finals are down for the 10th and 11th May and that it is on two different courses. How does this work. Any recommendations on accommodation for the finals on those particular dates.

Well i take it you be travelling up on friday so u be there for 2 nights

This how it works

Everyone 72 teams will play Lucan on the Saturday 36 holes, 36 of them will make the cut for the Sunday to be played in RGSC. 36 holes will played that morning, this will be cut to 18 teams who will play a final 18 holes to be the winner.

If you dont make the cut will u stay on saturday night and go on the beer, look around clondalkin or so, that will be have access to both courses, if you make sunday it be only up the road if u stay there, if anyone has a better suggestion please let dromcill know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Wigertoods

Stableford:

In this game the handicap allowance is 7/8 of the players handicap.
    here points are awarded depending on the score of each hole.
    points are as follows

par (3)= 2 points
    bogey(4) = 1 point
    birdie(2) = 3 points
    Eagle(hole in one) = 4 points

all points are added up at the end of each round.
    I saw your quote here and it dosent mention the handicap player shot points eg
    par (3)= 2 points with shot =3 points
    bogey (4) = 1 point with shot = 2 points
    birdie (2) = 3 points with shot= 4 points
    Eagle (hole in one) = 4 points with shot = 5 points

Yeah sorry about that.
    I wasn't taking everybody else into consideration here.
    I play off scratch so I never have to worry about where the shots come into play.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Yeah sorry about that.
    I wasn't taking everybody else into consideration here.
    I play off scratch so I never have to worry about where the shots come into play.
    no worries mate you just forgot yourself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

The season is just starting to get going, the national scramble to kick of the year in Loughlinstoiwn for the qualifying event, its going to be to hard out there to qualify as the course wouldnt be played much by outside players, the home course has 4 strong teams participating so be interesting to see who gets in.

Good luck to all

Also anyone else interested in pitch and putt let us know

Alright Gary, ya ready for de big match tomorrow.Great discussion lads..Fred left Cpm tank god.Hes an ignorant b*****d anyway, tinks hes de best since he made the Inter County team.He left coz he wasnt liked in de club simple as.He annoyed people.Hes stil a member tho nd only practices there...Why was the match changed from Cpm to Loughlinstown?Tough draw 4 me in National

GerCPM wrote: »
    Alright Gary, ya ready for de big match tomorrow.Great discussion lads..Fred left Cpm tank god.Hes an ignorant b*****d anyway, tinks hes de best since he made the Inter County team.He left coz he wasnt liked in de club simple as.He annoyed people.Hes stil a member tho nd only practices there...Why was the match changed from Cpm to Loughlinstown?Tough draw 4 me in National

Ger good see ur on boards, the match was changed by Breda by mistake then becuase ur 2 greens are not great Dar and myself felt that the match should be at home to us first, i would have perferred to play u's at home first to catch u's cold, cause u be hard to beat once u warm up. He be in the right company anyway we'll talked tonight about that dont want to be starting any fights online, i seen that but its all on the nihgt i got 2 inters myself but not going to take it for granted as they can beat u as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

The greens are starting to get very firm over the last week which makes stopping the ball on some pitch shots more difficult (eg. short holes with down sloping greens).

Do you guys change clubs/balls/swing technique for summer conditions. I use a 60 degree club most times of the year but change to a 64 degree when the greens are particularly hard. The ball I tend to use all year is a Pro V1 or Nike One Platinum.

The greens are starting to get very firm over the last week which makes stopping the ball on some pitch shots more difficult (eg. short holes with down sloping greens).

Do you guys change clubs/balls/swing technique for summer conditions. I use a 60 degree club most times of the year but change to a 64 degree when the greens are particularly hard. The ball I tend to use all year is a Pro V1 or Nike One Platinum.

I just tee the ball up higher and cut the ball quicker it usually works but hard greens down sloping greens ur aleays find that the ball lands different and will alwyas go forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 thebuyer

hi guys, I used to play pitch & putt years ago, only socially never had a handicapp etc. but i'd love to get back to the game.
    my problem is that i work most weekends so most p & p societys (pubs etc) are out.
    do any of ye know if the various clubs offer rounds for people to join in on during the week?
    i dont want to be going round on my own!
    thanks for any advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

Lads, will you post the results of the league matches into this thread?

Dromcill, Who won the Cork leagues this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Is the handicap system generally the same as golf, whereby a guy off scratch should generally shoot level par? If someone generally averaged around 5 under per round would he get a handicap of +5?

thebuyer wrote: »
    hi guys, I used to play pitch & putt years ago, only socially never had a handicapp etc. but i'd love to get back to the game.
    my problem is that i work most weekends so most p & p societys (pubs etc) are out.
    do any of ye know if the various clubs offer rounds for people to join in on during the week?
    i dont want to be going round on my own!
    thanks for any advice.

Hello

There's plenty of clubs play during the week competition, where about's are u from?, and i can recomment a few courses

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Is the handicap system generally the same as golf, whereby a guy off scratch should generally shoot level par? If someone generally averaged around 5 under per round would he get a handicap of +5?

In pitch and putt its different the handicap ranges are as follows

+3 to -3 senior grade
    -4 to -8 inter grade
    -9 to -15 i think junior grade

If a player is shooting -5 every round there handicap would be low wnough i say 3 to 6, the cut off we use s 43 nett which is standard nett and u break that off ur handicap, then the hcap is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Ger good see ur on boards, the match was changed by Breda by mistake then becuase ur 2 greens are not great Dar and myself felt that the match should be at home to us first, i would have perferred to play u's at home first to catch u's cold, cause u be hard to beat once u warm up. He be in the right company anyway we'll talked tonight about that dont want to be starting any fights online, i seen that but its all on the nihgt i got 2 inters myself but not going to take it for granted as they can beat u as well.

I dont wanna start any fights, you and legend were wondering why he went to Lucan.Just thought id give yiz de info on it..As for National, anyone can beat anyone in Dublin.Sure Courtney hasnt qualified in years, and hes on Dublin team every year

GerCPM wrote: »
    I dont wanna start any fights, you and legend were wondering why he went to Lucan.Just thought id give yiz de info on it..As for National, anyone can beat anyone in Dublin.Sure Courtney hasnt qualified in years, and hes on Dublin team every year

I meant if i say something dont want it getting back to lucan :D

Anyway ill see u later

About courtney - u need a player like hime he seems to bring the best out of players

In this event you people are playing in Dublin can people go to watch? where do I get a ticket? this might help me understand your mad game...:confused: and meet you crazy people!!

ive traveled to a good few matches around cork and i never need tickets (i dont think you need tickets to see these matches)They should be seats around the course or as long you are not in line of their play you can watch any matches! and dont cough so loud!:rolleyes::D:D

The next qualifying is on the 10th May in Lucan

The final 36 teams with in RGSC on the naas road, its free in and more the people watching the better it is

Cool, thanks for that, can I bring Mrs Bishcan, or is that frowned upon?

Of course maybe when ur there u can join lol

Thanks Hitman, I'll hold you to that, I'll even bring my balls just in case!! ;)

Where abouts are u from egor

I'm from a little village in Donegal originally, but i'm living in Dublin now, the wife loves it here, she can't get enough of Leo Burdocks!! and her mam is living with us, awful wench!! That's why I need a new hobby.. Anyway where are you from Harry?

I'm from a little village in Donegal originally, but i'm living in Dublin now, the wife loves it here, she can't get enough of Leo Burdocks!! and her mam is living with us, awful wench!! That's why I need a new hobby.. Anyway where are you from Garry?

Gary u mean lol

im from Bray play out of loughlinstown - i can recommend a few clubs in dublin if you like, what area in dublin