Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Kingdom wrote: »
    Draupnir, what condition was the course in>? Hope to make their open this year, its a fine course when its in decent condition.

We have the leinster qualifying there this year, its usualle ok cause of the tight greens hopefully i get my act together and qualify for more this year, was 10 for 11 last night in compo and finished 11 was a good score but was playing easy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Southside @DCBS

Round 1 Match 1 Robert Ingram Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 2 Dave Redmond Old County V Mark Brown Loughlinstown
    Round 1 Match 3 Gerry Greene R.G.S.C. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 4 Paddy Lowry Glenville V Christy Kane Lucan
    Round 1 Match 5 Joe Flanagan Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 6 John O'Keefe C.P.M. V Frank Ryan R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 7 Gavin Carty Lucan V John Lawlor R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 8 Christy Broe Old County V Fergus McGrath Glenville
    Round 1 Match 9 Frank Connolly Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 10 Fergus Kennedy R.G.S.C. V P.J. McCloskey Lucan
    Round 1 Match 11 John Cullen Glenville V Sean Harkins R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 12 Michael Purcell R.G.S.C. V Derek Healy C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 13 Phillip Byrne Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 14 Gerard Fitzpatrick C.P.M. V Tom Walsh Old County
    Round 1 Match 15 Darren Kane Lucan V Dave Hayden Lucan
    Round 1 Match 16 Stephen Power Old County V Anto Lynch Glenville
    Round 1 Match 17 Derek Courtney Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 18 George McGreal Old County V Graham Flanagan Glenville
    Round 1 Match 19 Leo O'Reilly Glenville V Andy Ryan Old County
    Round 1 Match 20 Johnny Price Lucan V Darren Thornberry C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 21 John Mahoney Jnr Lucan V BYE
    Round 1 Match 22 Tom O'Reilly Old County V Tom O'Reilly R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 23 Christopher Gallagher Lucan V Steven Keegan Lucan
    Round 1 Match 24 Philip Sweeney Lucan V John Crean Glenville
    Round 1 Match 25 Aaron Cuddihy C.P.M. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 26 Stephen Murray Old County V Darren O'Reilly C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 27 Brendan Condron Old County V Michael McEvoy Glenville
    Round 1 Match 28 Gary Healy Loughlinstown V Paul Courtney Glenville
    Round 1 Match 29 John Mahoney Snr Lucan V BYE
    Round 1 Match 30 Anto Gray Glenville V Anthony Malone Lucan
    Round 1 Match 31 Joe Donohue Glenville V Andy Lowe Old County
    Round 1 Match 32 Paul Pender Old County V Kevin McArdle R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 33 Justin Gill Loughlinstown V BYE
    Round 1 Match 34 Tom Bolger Lucan V Fred McMahon Lucan
    Round 1 Match 35 Mick Keenan Glenville V John Paul Bowes Old County
    Round 1 Match 36 Junior Smith R.G.S.C. V Paul McGreal Old County
    9 to qualify

Northside @ Erin's Isle

Round 1 Match 1 Anthony McGrath Ierne V BYE
    Round 1 Match 2 Tony Buckley Ierne V Trevor Heffernan Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 3 Jason Larkin Erin's Isle V BYE
    Round 1 Match 4 Greg Heffernan Erin's Isle V Liam Collins C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 5 Dermot Nolan Shandon V BYE
    Round 1 Match 6 Derek Courage Ierne V Charlie Egan Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 7 Paul Nolan Erin's Isle V James McLoughlin Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 8 David Roy Erin's Isle V BYE
    Round 1 Match 9 Jonathan Collins C.Y.M.C./L.C. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 10 Dennis Monaghan Shandon V Paudge Donoghue Ierne
    Round 1 Match 11 Alan Hanna Erin's Isle V John Hoey Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 12 John Coady C.Y.M.C./L.C. V Bernard Tester C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 13 Thomas Ryan Portmarnock V BYE
    Round 1 Match 14 Brendan O'Shea Shandon V Thomas Balfe Shandon
    Round 1 Match 15 Damien Wells Portmarnock V Brendan Edwards C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 16 Jonathan Gash Portmarnock V Patrick O'Connor C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 17 Gary Byrne Ierne V BYE
    Round 1 Match 18 David Faherty Ierne V Denis Beatty Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 19 Paddy Rowe Ierne V Noel Delaney Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 20 Wesley O'Brien Portmarnock V David Poole Portmarnock

5 to qualify.

Excellent draw, there will be a few fancied people getting knocked out I think,
    I can post up the other regions if anyone wants. They can be found @ ppui.ie ->downloads->draws

We have the leinster qualifying there this year, its usualle ok cause of the tight greens hopefully i get my act together and qualify for more this year, was 10 for 11 last night in compo and finished 11 was a good score but was playing easy enough

Thats will be a tough one Gary, its always hard to predict the cut in dublin.

Our qualifying is in Tullamore. William Buckley is in automatically. We have 8 to qualify.

On a purely philosophical note, I really think this will be one of the best years for pitch and putt in years, all the championships are in fantastic club/courses, the players are more evenly spread, if we can get even a modicum of decent weather we should be in for a corker of a year,

Ye i totally agree it be good to see other newcomers challenging the regular heads for titles

Southside @DCBS

Round 1 Match 1 Robert Ingram Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 2 Dave Redmond Old County V Mark Brown Loughlinstown
    Round 1 Match 3 Gerry Greene R.G.S.C. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 4 Paddy Lowry Glenville V Christy Kane Lucan
    Round 1 Match 5 Joe Flanagan Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 6 John O'Keefe C.P.M. V Frank Ryan R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 7 Gavin Carty Lucan V John Lawlor R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 8 Christy Broe Old County V Fergus McGrath Glenville
    Round 1 Match 9 Frank Connolly Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 10 Fergus Kennedy R.G.S.C. V P.J. McCloskey Lucan
    Round 1 Match 11 John Cullen Glenville V Sean Harkins R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 12 Michael Purcell R.G.S.C. V Derek Healy C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 13 Phillip Byrne Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 14 Gerard Fitzpatrick C.P.M. V Tom Walsh Old County
    Round 1 Match 15 Darren Kane Lucan V Dave Hayden Lucan
    Round 1 Match 16 Stephen Power Old County V Anto Lynch Glenville
    Round 1 Match 17 Derek Courtney Glenville V BYE
    Round 1 Match 18 George McGreal Old County V Graham Flanagan Glenville
    Round 1 Match 19 Leo O'Reilly Glenville V Andy Ryan Old County
    Round 1 Match 20 Johnny Price Lucan V Darren Thornberry C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 21 John Mahoney Jnr Lucan V BYE
    Round 1 Match 22 Tom O'Reilly Old County V Tom O'Reilly R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 23 Christopher Gallagher Lucan V Steven Keegan Lucan
    Round 1 Match 24 Philip Sweeney Lucan V John Crean Glenville
    Round 1 Match 25 Aaron Cuddihy C.P.M. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 26 Stephen Murray Old County V Darren O'Reilly C.P.M.
    Round 1 Match 27 Brendan Condron Old County V Michael McEvoy Glenville
    Round 1 Match 28 Gary Healy Loughlinstown V Paul Courtney Glenville
    Round 1 Match 29 John Mahoney Snr Lucan V BYE
    Round 1 Match 30 Anto Gray Glenville V Anthony Malone Lucan
    Round 1 Match 31 Joe Donohue Glenville V Andy Lowe Old County
    Round 1 Match 32 Paul Pender Old County V Kevin McArdle R.G.S.C.
    Round 1 Match 33 Justin Gill Loughlinstown V BYE
    Round 1 Match 34 Tom Bolger Lucan V Fred McMahon Lucan
    Round 1 Match 35 Mick Keenan Glenville V John Paul Bowes Old County
    Round 1 Match 36 Junior Smith R.G.S.C. V Paul McGreal Old County
    9 to qualify

Northside @ Erin's Isle

Round 1 Match 1 Anthony McGrath Ierne V BYE
    Round 1 Match 2 Tony Buckley Ierne V Trevor Heffernan Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 3 Jason Larkin Erin's Isle V BYE
    Round 1 Match 4 Greg Heffernan Erin's Isle V Liam Collins C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 5 Dermot Nolan Shandon V BYE
    Round 1 Match 6 Derek Courage Ierne V Charlie Egan Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 7 Paul Nolan Erin's Isle V James McLoughlin Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 8 David Roy Erin's Isle V BYE
    Round 1 Match 9 Jonathan Collins C.Y.M.C./L.C. V BYE
    Round 1 Match 10 Dennis Monaghan Shandon V Paudge Donoghue Ierne
    Round 1 Match 11 Alan Hanna Erin's Isle V John Hoey Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 12 John Coady C.Y.M.C./L.C. V Bernard Tester C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 13 Thomas Ryan Portmarnock V BYE
    Round 1 Match 14 Brendan O'Shea Shandon V Thomas Balfe Shandon
    Round 1 Match 15 Damien Wells Portmarnock V Brendan Edwards C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 16 Jonathan Gash Portmarnock V Patrick O'Connor C.Y.M.C./L.C.
    Round 1 Match 17 Gary Byrne Ierne V BYE
    Round 1 Match 18 David Faherty Ierne V Denis Beatty Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 19 Paddy Rowe Ierne V Noel Delaney Erin's Isle
    Round 1 Match 20 Wesley O'Brien Portmarnock V David Poole Portmarnock

5 to qualify.

Excellent draw, there will be a few fancied people getting knocked out I think,
    I can post up the other regions if anyone wants. They can be found @ ppui.ie ->downloads->draws

I got a nice draw here kingdom, courtney brother in the first i know he's an inter but as far as im aware he used to be senior but doesnt play that often, and then if i win there are two inters i could play in the next round, the final night be interesting, could face wither darren - arron or stephen , havent played DCBS yet so going for a practice next week hopefully

Hitman you have a good draw. I'd be surprised if you weren't playing on the last night for a place in the finals. DCBS is a tough course. Very open, greens are tricky. There should be more qualifying on there as its neutral. I'd advise practising it, cause if the wind blows well :D

Derek Courtney is in a tough draw, I'd say half of ireland is hoping he's knocked out!
    Did you see the Cork draw? JJ Walsh has Chris Scannell.

Jaysus thats a terrible draw for both walsh and scannell, i say courtney be up for it, casue the finals be in his place, have ur draw been done yet

Hitman you have a good draw. I'd be surprised if you weren't playing on the last night for a place in the finals. DCBS is a tough course. Very open, greens are tricky. There should be more qualifying on there as its neutral. I'd advise practising it, cause if the wind blows well :D

Derek Courtney is in a tough draw, I'd say half of ireland is hoping he's knocked out!
    Did you see the Cork draw? JJ Walsh has Chris Scannell.

Jaysus thats a terrible draw for both walsh and scannell, i say courtney be up for it, cause the finals be in his place, have ur draw been done yet

NB. look at the below information from PPUI, doesnt look like the two are meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Draupnir, what condition was the course in>? Hope to make their open this year, its a fine course when its in decent condition.

The course is in excellent condition, much improved even over when I last played there about 8 years ago.

The greens on the back nine were being cut when I arrived and I played three rounds, a +4, an even and a +1. As you can tell, it wasnt playing that hard but the greens were watered between my second and third round which really made putting harder.

I see that the senior leinster qualifying is there on the 27th, I'll hopefully head up to watch so if any of you guys are around for it I might see you there.

Picked up some Commandos on Elvery Sports online, I think I could use all the backspin I can get for the next few months!

Round 1 Match 1 Chris Scannell Collins V BYE
    Round 1 M
    atch 2 Liam Conlon St. Stephen's V Sean O'Sullivan Templebreedy
    Round 1 M
    atch 3 Nicholas Byrne Collins V John Walsh Collins
    Round 1 Match 4 Mark Mulcahy E.S.B. V William Scannell

That was the draw online on www.ppui.ie

Draupnir wrote: »
    The course is in excellent condition, much improved even over when I last played there about 8 years ago.

The greens on the back nine were being cut when I arrived and I played three rounds, a +4, an even and a +1. As you can tell, it wasnt playing that hard but the greens were watered between my second and third round which really made putting harder.

I see that the senior leinster qualifying is there on the 27th, I'll hopefully head up to watch so if any of you guys are around for it I might see you there.

Picked up some Commandos on Elvery Sports online, I think I could use all the backspin I can get for the next few months!

Theres a golf shop down the road from shandon, he's cheap and tell him u joined shandon he might be able to do u a deal on stuff - if u need directions let me know, he plays pitch and putt out of ierne in drumcondra mick his name is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Didn't have enough time for a few holes after work last night so went for a bash at P&P instead. Managed to get 36 holes in. 3 over for the first 18 and then 2 under for the second round.

RE Shandon: Draupnir, do you have to be a member to have a game or would i be able to drop round and pay on the night? Might head down for a game one night this week. Also, how much would it be?

Jaysus thats a terrible draw for both walsh and scannell, i say courtney be up for it, cause the finals be in his place, have ur draw been done yet

NB. look at the below information from PPUI, doesnt look like the two are meeting

It gets worse in Meath.... Downes, Farrelly, Wally Sheridan, Pat McBride, Damien Mullranney, all in the one group.

Our draw was done. Very straightforward draw, the only tough match potentially is Billy Buckley and Larry Maher.

As far as I know the two cork lads meet on the last night. I'll check again though,

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Didn't have enough time for a few holes after work last night so went for a bash at P&P instead. Managed to get 36 holes in. 3 over for the first 18 and then 2 under for the second round.

RE Shandon: Draupnir, do you have to be a member to have a game or would i be able to drop round and pay on the night? Might head down for a game one night this week. Also, how much would it be?

Good stuff graeme improving I see! :D

It gets worse in Meath.... Downes, Farrelly, Wally Sheridan, Pat McBride, Damien Mullranney, all in the one group.

Our draw was done. Very straightforward draw, the only tough match potentially is Billy Buckley and Larry Maher.

As far as I know the two cork lads meet on the last night. I'll check again though,

ye thats true i taught they met on the first night

Good stuff graeme improving I see! :D

Getting worse i think! Greens had been cored and heavily sanded so the ball was going all over the place. Really enjoyed it though, going back tonight to see if i can get 54 holes in.

I think its €4 green fee if you are with a member. Since I only joined there on Sunday I am not entirely sure of my privileges at this point, next time I'm up I'll have a chat with one of the more experience lads and if its cool with them for me to sign you in then by all means you can come up with me.

I'd advise just dropping up one evening that you want to play though, they are very welcoming up there and I am sure would allow you to play a round if you are thinking about joining, there was a very good crowd there last night with the good weather.

Draupnir wrote: »
    I think its €4 green fee if you are with a member. Since I only joined there on Sunday I am not entirely sure of my privileges at this point, next time I'm up I'll have a chat with one of the more experience lads and if its cool with them for me to sign you in then by all means you can come up with me.

I'd advise just dropping up one evening that you want to play though, they are very welcoming up there and I am sure would allow you to play a round if you are thinking about joining, there was a very good crowd there last night with the good weather.

Cheers Draupnir, i'll pop round maybe on Thursday and have a chat with them.

Just looking about those site links... Shandon Park is quite close to me. Only just down the road in fact. The one in Finglas is also close enough by, but there's not much info on it online.

Might head down to Shandon sometime soon for a game and check it out.

I take it only very few clubs are linked to the PP union? The likes of elmgreen and tolka valley courses (the only ones i know!) aren't listed anywhere.

There not part of the union alright
    www.dublinboardpp.ie this will give u information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭Trampas

Is Tommy still playing in Shandon?

He would take 2 practice swings and hit it on the 3rd with little or no stopping between swings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

Trampas wrote: »
    Is Tommy still playing in Shandon?

He would take 2 practice swings and hit it on the 3rd with little or no stopping between swings.

Yeah Tommy is still playing in shandon.Doesn't play in as many championships now but still well capable of scoring.

@Graeme/Draupnir
    To play in shandon as a non ppui member you need to be accompanied by a member of shandon and pay the green fees afaik.

Just looked at the meath draw.I think they're be a couple of new faces in Grenville representing the Royals.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Yeah Tommy is still playing in shandon.Doesn't play in as many championships now but still well capable of scoring.

@Graeme/Draupnir
    To play in shandon as a non ppui member you need to be accompanied by a member of shandon and pay the green fees afaik.

you are spot on wigertoods, you do require a member to play, if there is a member of the committee around they would be happy to show graeme around.

@Graeme/Draupnir

Cheers for the info! I'll head down sometime soon and have a look around...

Just looked at the meath draw.I think they're be a couple of new faces in Grenville representing the Royals.

Yeah I'd agree with that. Handy draw on the Northside as usual:D

Yeah it's probobly easier to get out the northside.:p
    I didn't get the worst draw but if I am to qualify all my opponents
    will be locals.

Wiger if u win ur first u better beat that little cocky **** from erins isle, heard he annoyed a few boys during the ierne open week

I wouldn't mind that we were/are all young once. Ierne isn't exactly impeccable itself when it comes to etiquette. There's a few bad eggs over there.

will be locals.

Yeah it won't be straightfoward for you. Are you playing much?