Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

_Brian_ wrote:
    nice one jay ,seeing the label again is cool:)

Jay ,a quick question ,I'm chancing my arm here because I can barely remember a record I had back then.

Basically it was a 3 or 4 track 1993 UMM (Italia)record ,C*Y*B,white in colour with black track listing on one side and the large UMM on the other.

Can you remember it?,it's wrecking my head that I can't remember.

Anyways ,thanks again for the tune;)
    Take it easy.

this could be it , the tune off presures wanted mix is it ?
    c.y.b...now, wasnt released on a label according to this but UMM was producers label alright..
    http://www.discogs.com/artist/C*Y*B
    1st tune on list :D

here ya go cyb..now :)
    http://www.divshare.com/download/1957464-d47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

DUB1 wrote:
    Alrite Jay A Big Thx 4 All Da Effort U Put Into U/l All Ur Mix's I Havnt Been On In A While Da Woods Mix Is A Pure Asylum Mix:d I Hav A Live @ Sides Wit U & Mick But Da Sounds ****e On It Well Its Gud 2 B Back A Big Hello 2 Senan,ace,derra,phil And Every Else 4 :d

is that you mark.well if so hows tricks.was wondering were ya got to.everything well.

yeah jay is putting up some great mixes there.a nice kinnda change to the aul mick walsh,pressure,and ed case stuff.

anyways we probably won't hear from ya for another month now.lol

derra wrote:
    cheers for the access to your files on soulseek jay c ,sean and aceberg :)
    good man mark , how ya keeping ? happy birthday to ya even if it was on sunday !!:)
    brian, i will up that lemon project -peppermint lounge tomorrow for ya, dont know what the other tune is on it though that your after as discogs has it on 2 different labels :confused:

http://www.discogs.com/release/75145

http://www.discogs.com/release/101879

wheres caf gone ta :):confused:
    10.jpg

i'd say it's the fishy mix he's on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 djsk

aceberg wrote:
    i'd say it's the fishy mix he's on about.

Hi Lads. here is Pepperint Lounge Fishy Mix for anybody lookin for it.
    Sean

http://www.mediafire.com/?7ljuj14loyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

aceberg wrote:
    is that you mark.well if so hows tricks.was wondering were ya got to.everything well.

yeah jay is putting up some great mixes there.a nice kinnda change to the aul mick walsh,pressure,and ed case stuff.

anyways we probably won't hear from ya for another month now.lol

YEA ITS ME ACE & LOL @ won't hear from ya for another month now.lol[/QUOTE]
    NAH IM BACK :D

DUB1 wrote:
    YEA ITS ME ACE & LOL @ won't hear from ya for another month now.lol
    NAH IM BACK :D[/QUOTE]

hey back with a vengence i hope.:D

and here ya not the only 1 on the missing.have'nt heard much of senan latley either.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

djsk wrote:
    Hi Lads. here is Pepperint Lounge Fishy Mix for anybody lookin for it.
    Sean

http://www.mediafire.com/?7ljuj14loyp

Nice one for that ,I was calling it the tropical mix for some reason :D

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

_Brian_ wrote:
    nice one jay ,seeing the label again is cool:)

Jay ,a quick question ,I'm chancing my arm here because I can barely remember a record I had back then.

Basically it was a 3 or 4 track 1993 UMM (Italia)record ,C*Y*B,white in colour with black track listing on one side and the large UMM on the other.

Can you remember it?,it's wrecking my head that I can't remember.

Anyways ,thanks again for the tune;)
    Take it easy.

Hi Brian. If I find the track I'll U/L it for you ok. Might have to yoink the vinyl off Mick Walsh and rip it though :D

CYB-SnakeBit.jpg

Here's one I yoinked off Micko Morrison. Classic...

Jambo - Drumattack feat. Sharon D. Clarke

http://www.mediafire.com/?7j11xtyq9mu

Jambo-Drumattack.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 mickam

JCarey70 wrote:
    Hi Brian. If I find the track I'll U/L it for you ok. Might have to yoink the vinyl off Mick Walsh and rip it though :D

CYB-SnakeBit.jpg
    hey jay man whats the story i have that tune over here if you want to u/l it give me a bell ok man...........dont forget you have something to do for me secure........

mickam wrote:
    hey jay man whats the story i have that tune over here if you want to u/l it give me a bell ok man...........dont forget you have something to do for me secure........

Well speak of the divil, Text me in the morning early, say 11.30ish :D and I'll buzz over to you. Keep forgetting about it. Head like a sieve and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

long shot here lads,

anyone got that tune of M.Walsh newborn

It goes like this...
    Just another two to make me feel like your mine
    Ive got to sing it to you

thanks in advance

Kev

ps anybody need the tape ill put it up on mediafire

Kev. wrote:
    long shot here lads,

It goes like this...

thanks in advance

Kev

Yeah put up the tape and let us know where the track is on it, twud be better hearing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 mickam

Kev. wrote:
    long shot here lads,

It goes like this...

thanks in advance

Kev

hey kev i think thats lavina jones sing it to you on vc records if so i have it here and i will give it to jay to u/l for you ok .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 DamienS

Hello Everybody,

I just want to say thanks to you all for keeping the old school banging tunes alive. Having been caught in a haze from 1994-98, and like the rest of you all, owned a pair of 1210's in your bedroom, i appreciate all the effort you have put in to this thread. I found it a while ago, and never posted, but after reaping the benefits of all the downloads, i thought i better at least say hello.

I used to hang around with Pressure and Mark Kavanagh, and played a few venues myself including the Tivoli, and numerous country venues before falling out with the lads, and losing interest i suppose......it was hard to beat the Ormond, the Waterfront and the relevant parties that always followed.

I currently work in IT, and am going to have an ftp server in place so if you do feel the need for sharing data, without all these 3rd party sites and applications, i'd only be too happy to provide a free solution. I have a co-location with an 8mb leased line into it, so it should not be an issue with reasonable traffic throught the site.

I suppose i'm passionate about the music of that era, and would like to gather every mix tape from all the big Dj's (and all of us who were massive in our own bedrooms) and share it amongst others who will fall over this thread in searching through the net.

let us know your thoughts, as i'm a genuine Dance music lover.......

Damien

DamienS wrote:
    Hello Everybody,

I just want to say thanks to you all for keeping the old school banging tunes alive. Having been caught in a haze from 1994-98, and like the rest of you all, owned a pair of 1210's in your bedroom, i appreciate all the effort you have put in to this thread. I found it a while ago, and never posted, but after reaping the benefits of all the downloads, i thought i better at least say hello.

I used to hang around with Pressure and Mark Kavanagh, and played a few venues myself including the Tivoli, and numerous country venues before falling out with the lads, and losing interest i suppose......it was hard to beat the Ormond, the Waterfront and the relevant parties that always followed.

I currently work in IT, and am going to have an ftp server in place so if you do feel the need for sharing data, without all these 3rd party sites and applications, i'd only be too happy to provide a free solution. I have a co-location with an 8mb leased line into it, so it should not be an issue with reasonable traffic throught the site.

I suppose i'm passionate about the music of that era, and would like to gather every mix tape from all the big Dj's (and all of us who were massive in our own bedrooms) and share it amongst others who will fall over this thread in searching through the net.

Damien

Welcome Damien and thank you for your comment. I'm in IT myself since 97 so I know a little a bit about how FTP works. Used Smart FTP before and got loads of stuff that way from various quota and non quota FTP sites. Send me a PM with your e-mail address and we can get started. I will FTP out all my music if you like. Share the wealth and all that. Do you have much stuff yourself? :cool:

mickam wrote:
    hey kev i think thats lavina jones sing it to you on vc records if so i have it here and i will give it to jay to u/l for you ok .

yeah x c lent track that.have that mix also meself.

oh i love these old skool sites there superrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

mickam wrote:

lovely Mick thats the one alright,if you could put it up that would be brill

Ill put up the tape later,up to my nads at the moment;)

http://www.mediafire.com/?4pigyxd

Alchemy

this is a stomper

enjoy Kev.

http://www.mediafire.com/?dordo5l8jgw

mick walsh- Newborn

I think its one of his best

Kev.

DamienS wrote:
    Hello Everybody,

Damien

Welcome Damo

Enjoy the thread

im sure you will

JCarey70 wrote:

CYB-SnakeBit.jpg

Here's one I yoinked off Micko Morrison. Classic...

Jambo - Drumattack feat. Sharon D. Clarke

http://www.mediafire.com/?7j11xtyq9mu

Jambo-Drumattack.jpg

Thats the one jay ,I can still picture that tune spinning around :D

If you see mick morrison ,ask him is there any way of getting the clockwork double pack onto vinyl. The good ones off it;)

_Brian_ wrote:
    Thats the one jay ,I can still picture that tune spinning
    around

There is one record that I never knew the name of and haven't heard it
    since 97. In 97 it was a classic and had been out for at least four
    years or more.

It was between music for the masses ,visions of shiva ,real classic tune

I'd pay money to have it .

Here's both :D

Visions of Shiva - Perfect Day

VisionsofShiva-PerfectDay.jpg

The Floor Federation - Music for the Masses II

FloorFederation-MusicfortheMasses.jpg

_Brian_ wrote:
    Thats the one jay ,I can still picture that tune spinning around :D

If you see mick morrison ,ask him is there any way of getting the clockwork double pack onto vinyl. The good ones off it;)

Spoke to Mick M. Said he'll dig it out and dust it off. Will try and get them ripped for you. I presume that's what you meant??? :D

JCarey70 wrote:
    The Floor Federation - Music for the Masses II

FloorFederation-MusicfortheMasses.jpg

Nice one Jay.
    I couldn't find the masses on mix.org.

I don't know the names of a lot of stuff ,thats my biggest problem . I can remember labels and records ,but not names.:o

*** NEW MIX of OLD TUNES by DJ M&M AKA MICK MORRISON 09/07 ***

Ok lads here's the latest from the Mick Morrison Finglas City vaults.

Hold onto your butts :D

DJ M&M AKA Mick Morrison - Labworks pt 1

Micko-Labworks1.jpg
    Photo taken and edited by Jay Carey

Nice one jay ,it's the third track on that mix .
    The loud trancy mix :D

Thanks Jay for your recent uploads

Quality;)

What a cracker of a last tune on that tape Mick;) ,finally a DJ who plays what the croud want:D

Cant wait for part 2:)

Brilliant Mix,Fair play to ya

We want more.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Ok Ladies & Gents... (I'm still alive Jay & Derra ;) )
    I've been a busy bee, as they say... hehe.

Here's a special preview of the next installment from the posse at Rejuvenation - The lads are out to git' yiz.... Top Stuff. :p

R3.jpg

Great line up Caff
    Just a quick question,Do they play old skool or new?
    good to see you back