Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 djsk

Gen:FX wrote:
    Ok Ladies & Gents... (I'm still alive Jay & Derra ;) )
    I've been a busy bee, as they say... hehe.

Here's a special preview of the next installment from the posse at Rejuvenation - The lads are out to git' yiz.... Top Stuff. :p

R3.jpg

WATS STORY STE. ANY NEWS? BACK ON RHYTHM WED 6-8
    SK

DamienS wrote:
    Hello Everybody,

I just want to say thanks to you all for keeping the old school banging tunes alive. Having been caught in a haze from 1994-98, and like the rest of you all, owned a pair of 1210's in your bedroom, i appreciate all the effort you have put in to this thread. I found it a while ago, and never posted, but after reaping the benefits of all the downloads, i thought i better at least say hello.

I used to hang around with Pressure and Mark Kavanagh, and played a few venues myself including the Tivoli, and numerous country venues before falling out with the lads, and losing interest i suppose......it was hard to beat the Ormond, the Waterfront and the relevant parties that always followed.

I currently work in IT, and am going to have an ftp server in place so if you do feel the need for sharing data, without all these 3rd party sites and applications, i'd only be too happy to provide a free solution. I have a co-location with an 8mb leased line into it, so it should not be an issue with reasonable traffic throught the site.

I suppose i'm passionate about the music of that era, and would like to gather every mix tape from all the big Dj's (and all of us who were massive in our own bedrooms) and share it amongst others who will fall over this thread in searching through the net.

let us know your thoughts, as i'm a genuine Dance music lover.......

Damien

alright DS. welcome bud. do u hav a SoulSeek ID? If so ill add u to share files. have loads of stuff sharing with the lads, Jay, Kev, Derra etc!
    Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭KEN.G

KEV....OLDSKOOL
    Flyer as is but with Ed headline

Looks savage Caf another master piece :D

Preview on the 15th Sep:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

Ok Ladies & Gents... (I'm still alive Jay & Derra ;) )
    I've been a busy bee, as they say... hehe.

Here's a special preview of the next installment from the posse at Rejuvenation - The lads are out to git' yiz.... Top Stuff. :p

R3.jpg

Nice one Caff. Glad you're still on the land of the raving :D Giz a buzz when you get a min. I'm getting pressure about that site you said you'd do for me, if you haven't got the time to do it that's fine just need to know buddy. Anyway, not sure about the art in the flyer. Bit sacraligious for me dude. I think you can make a flyer look good without dissing JC with it. Not sure who's idea it was but I don't likes it. Anyway everyone to their own...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 DamienS

Gentlemen,

working on the ftp server as we speak. Will hopefully have it ready tonight.

shall we warn all the Internet Service Providers worldwide about the sudden increase in uploads/downloads???

keep you all posted...

djsk, i dont have any accounts on sharing programs, but am hoping that we can generate our own sharing through the ftp server.

DS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

Here Ken I Hope Ed's Going 2 Bang It Out,eddie's Not Really In2 Playing Old Stuff But Il Make An Apperance Havnt Been Out In A While Need 2 Let Da Hair Down Ken Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭KEN.G

DUB1 wrote:
    Here Ken I Hope Ed's Going 2 Bang It Out,eddie's Not Really In2 Playing Old Stuff But Il Make An Apperance Havnt Been Out In A While Need 2 Let Da Hair Down Ken Lol

Jasus Marc whats the craic havnt heard from ye in ages.

You missed Thyme right down you street and a savage night aswell.

I'm sure Ed will run amok. hope you can make it in dont forget the fancy dress:D

Flyers gettin better by the hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

DamienS wrote:
    Gentlemen,

shall we warn all the Internet Service Providers worldwide about the sudden increase in uploads/downloads???

keep you all posted...

djsk, i dont have any accounts on sharing programs, but am hoping that we can generate our own sharing through the ftp server.

DS.

looking forward 2 this cheers Damo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

JCarey70 wrote:
    Nice one Caff. Glad you're still on the land of the raving :D Giz a buzz when you get a min. I'm getting pressure about that site you said you'd do for me, if you haven't got the time to do it that's fine just need to know buddy. Anyway, not sure about the art in the flyer. Bit sacraligious for me dude. I think you can make a flyer look good without dissing JC with it. Not sure who's idea it was but I don't likes it. Anyway everyone to their own...
    Holy lampin fook Jay! sacraligious, - it's a graphic, zeros and ones at the end of the day, it's what you make of it, it's suppossed to invoke a feeling - been halloween and all that. :( - You must have missed it first time 'round, as it is a revamp of an old Gravity flyer from 1995 (I'll stand corrected on that date though, ask MW for the exact date)- can you imaging the damage that may have been done done if '**I was asked**' to put the king of Islam on the flyer...... Now thats a fooken scarey thought :eek: . - C'mon Jay, your pre-edit message read - great line up, great artwork. - what's up???? - The aul' 5 point star from the Asylum never stirred you ... dont shoot the messenger. :confused:

PS: Everyone to their own. (True saying, though I tend to favour science fact, - / that sounds-looks like a snipe in text format Jay, but it's not - you know me inside out ye' bollix :-) xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

this thread just gets better and better :D
    good man senan another exclusive from ya yet again with tracklisting and all, love it :)
    cheers lads for all the other uploads floating around the last couple pages :cool:
    good man caf , good ta see ya alive and kicking :)
    there be plenty of enchanced tripping on your night daragh and ken with the fancy dress goin on :eek: :)
    welcome aboard the board damien , what is it exactly your working on , how does it work , bit lost on that one m8 :D
    have just got a couple of mixes meself from the asylum that hasnt been uploaded yet so watch this space and they are not from the usual crew of dj's either :D :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

derra, casper didn't always put the correct names of tunes in the tracklistings.

senan s wrote:
    derra, casper didn't always put the correct names of tunes in the tracklistings.
    bit silly putting tracklist side of inlay card up then wan it :confused: lol
    will let soulseek decide :D
    fancy a few beverages in sackville place later lol

derra wrote:
    this thread just gets better and better :D
    good man senan another exclusive from ya yet again with tracklisting and all, love it :)
    cheers lads for all the other uploads floating around the last couple pages :cool:
    good man caf , good ta see ya alive and kicking :)
    there be plenty of enchanced tripping on your night daragh and ken with the fancy dress goin on :eek: :)
    welcome aboard the board damien , what is it exactly your working on , how does it work , bit lost on that one m8 :D
    have just got a couple of mixes meself from the asylum that hasnt been uploaded yet so watch this space and they are not from the usual crew of dj's either :D :cool:

leave us in suspence then........

Lads,

server is live, you can PM me for username and password.

feel free to upload and use for exchanging files. Any abuse will be met with a clip 'round the ear and an IP ban from the server.

Damo.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

DamienS wrote:
    Lads,

server is live, you can PM me for username and password.

feel free to upload and use for exchanging files. Any abuse will be met with a clip 'round the ear and an IP ban from the server.

Damo.:cool:

what password and username is that then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I was uploading about 8 tunes there and they all died.
    Time outs:(

The parts uploads are coming up ,they need to be deleted. I think the pounds and penz one is alright

Brian,

i think you're on eircom, and the uploads will kill you as max you'll get is 256k. try do them 2 at a time, it will reduce your overheads, and work faster

Damo.:(

Holy lampin fook Jay! sacraligious, - it's a graphic, zeros and ones at the end of the day, it's what you make of it, it's suppossed to invoke a feeling - been halloween and all that. - You must have missed it first time 'round, as it is a revamp of an old Gravity flyer from 1995 (I'll stand corrected on that date though, ask MW for the exact date)- can you imaging the damage that may have been done done if '**I was asked**' to put the king of Islam on the flyer...... Now thats a fooken scarey thought . - C'mon Jay, your pre-edit message read - great line up, great artwork. - what's up???? - The aul' 5 point star from the Asylum never stirred you ... dont shoot the messenger.

PS: Everyone to their own. (True saying, though I tend to favour science fact, - / that sounds-looks like a snipe in text format Jay, but it's not - you know me inside out ye' bollix :-) xxx

Sh*t. Sorry Caff. Will reply in full in a PM. Keep this stuff off the boards and leave the thread to what it was intended to be about. i.e THE MUSIC!!!

I got them few uploads up ,they're done about 5-6 years ago ,not bad quality and as far as I'm concerned they're good tunes.

_Brian_ wrote:
    I got them few uploads up ,they're done about 5-6 years ago ,not bad quality and as far as I'm concerned they're good tunes.

I've just listened to some stuff I've uploaded ,on a different machine (Downloaded) the sound is kak.
    it's all hollow and flat :(

DamienS wrote:
    Gentlemen,
    DamienS wrote:

keep you all posted...

Looks good Damien. We just need to fill it up for you now :D

For those who don't know this is an FTP (File Transfere Protocol) site and to connect to it you will need an FTP Software client (I recommend Smart FTP: http://www.download.com/SmartFTP-Client--32-bit-/3000-2160-10028635.html?part=dl-SmartFTPC&subj=uo&tag=button) Once downloaded and installed you will then need to enter the IP address/username/password into the relevant fields and click connect or press return. This will bring up a Windows Explorer type view of what Damien has shared out and you just take it form there.

Damien I suggest you create an 'Upload' folder for us to upload stuff into then on a daily or weekly basis you can copy in form there to your main folders what you want and discard what you know you already have. Make this the only folder that we can write to. It might help to keep things tidy for you as more contributors come online.

Lads I can't give out the IP address, Username or Password publicity. You'll need to PM Damien to request it.

Tip: If a download or an upload fails half way through then just restart it and choose the "Resume" option and it will continue with no data loss.

Why would the quality of sound drop after uploading ,do the mp3 have to be a specific bit rate ,to survive transfers ?

Brian,

the ftp process will not change the format or quality of the files. it is merely a protocol that is used for transferring large files between sites.

try check the file sizes, and make sure they're the same size. FTP will not alter the quality of music.

Damien

No worries ,I'll check it out . Great site by the way ,not something I'm use to:)

DJ ASPHEX LIVE IN THE ASYLUM 94
    http://www.mediafire.com/?9fnddwckz9j SIDE A
    http://www.mediafire.com/?74xrkyk5mcy SIDE B

cheers for login details etc . damien ,will be great to have a site containing all tunes/mixes/flyers from the good oul days :cool:
    downloaded that client jay c suggested and will have a go later at uploading a few tunes :cool:
    am sure i will have a few questions :confused::)

Guys I have uploaded Mick walsh earthrunner

Enjoy!

Kev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

senan s wrote:
    Casper Dec Mix 1995
    Wicked Senan, You don't have any other of his monthly ones?

reactiveOCT.jpg

dj ed case 'eternity' 1995
    http://www.mediafire.com/?a1xjxgiylbs side a

http://www.mediafire.com/?6mgbvsy4bjb side b

mick morrison 'labworks pt 1' recent oldskool mix of classics

http://www.mediafire.com/?3zs2295ctil

Kev. wrote:
    Guys I have uploaded Mick walsh earthrunner

Enjoy!

Kev

AHEM! AHEM! and who ripped it from tape??? urs truly..
    Good Man..