Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 jayflood

derra wrote:
    welcome aboard the board jay :D
    here is a few flyers to give ya more goosebumps :cool:
    http://www.divshare.com/download/1080485-81d

Where are you (and everyone else) from? I'm from around dorset st.

Pick a year, pick a month and I'll send you a tape. Send me an email with your addresses.

WRECK THE GAFF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 jayflood

Kev. wrote:
    I know Tango well,Ill ask him about ya;)

By the way, I also have the tape where the 3rd floor of The Asylum went up in fire when Tango was playing. And the tape from Frenchies in Blancherds Town when Coatse, Ed Case and Tango played when it was raided. I was the one with a walkman in the DJ Box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Howdy girls and boys,..... I was let out for the weekend... lol :rolleyes:

Here's another old vid from that oul' shower NR:GEX - Popcorn & Tayto :) - Again, this is back in 1992 @ Studio 53 North Dublin. Rember lads, this was back in the day when only rich folk had a computer, all the stuff you hear in this vid is coming from the sampler, and warrens fingers. We had no sequencer - it was all done by hand and ear. The tune is in Demo state as you hear it, so dont go takin' the piss. We sampled Guru Josh and try'd (note that word try'd) some of Mick W's vocal (Get an E, Get A Rush, Get A Move On). We never played this one live, though maybe we should've. Dunno. ahhhhhhh beautiful stuff. :p
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~rebuzzdefuzz/video/smokethemofo.wmv

Yo! TOPSOFF - Leave that PM you sent -with me, I'll need to rattle a brain or two, I dont know it of hand. BTW- NR:GEX is the band, group, outfit, whatever you wann'a call it.... There was no such thing as nr:gex 2,3,4 and all that jazz. NR:GEX (Live & Direct) was our name for the Live PA sessions [CAF, Warren, Pat & Mick] using the samplers and computers, (asylum, sides, ormond and the rest...) and nrgex1 was when Mick W was playing solo as a DJ. - I take it that you mean the solo DJ gigs ???? - gimme a shout.

Yo! Derra - 12+ Gigs ready to post - (I'll do it monday, promise ;)
    Yo! Ken-G - See you monday - No panic. :cool:
    Yo! Jay-C - Ger-up the garden ye' pup - Who own's ye ??? :D
    Yo! DJSK - (I have a new number, I'll call ye mid week):)

Now that's me done and dusted for another month, ... tehe. Going to do a squeeeekey clean install of XP, so should be back here next spring. :(

All the best lads -

PS- Welcome to our house Mr Flood. . . yip, sure do remember the robot, it was awsome, great marketing gimmick, - it beats a flyer anyday. - Altern8 did the same trick if i'm not mistakin'.
    PPS - I always kept the hi-Score on Robocop on the 3rd floor. Even though the machine was only borrowd from across the road ;) Thank You For Your Co-operation, Drop-it, :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

_Brian_ wrote:
    Sorry ,I can't find katana anywhere and I can't remember what it sounds like :o
    The copy I used to have was red with yellow katana written on it :(

Anyone got it?

this what you looking for :

KATANA AKA DJ Randy - Erotmania, 1993, Downtown, DTR1059 - Original Mix.

http://www.mediafire.com/?e2bsdoxlmln

****ing quaility love it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭KEN.G

jayflood wrote:
    By the way, I also have the tape where the 3rd floor of The Asylum went up in fire when Tango was playing. And the tape from Frenchies in Blancherds Town when Coatse, Ed Case and Tango played when it was raided. I was the one with a walkman in the DJ Box.

Alright Jay welcome to the board.

Sound like you have a lot of tapes there blokes would kill for but if you ever get sorted with the tape to PC recording that Ffrenchies with Coatse, Ed and Tango that would be savage.

You after anything flyers or tapes this is the place, just let us know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

jayflood wrote:
    You know Tango? How about Kim, Biffo, Christian Coatse, Laro & Charlie Malone, Shane Coatse? Where're you from?

Actually, if you wanna email me its jayflood1976@gmail.com (i don't know the boards policy on posting email addresses, so my apologies if this gets deleted)

i bought a few tunes off biffo, if its the same chap, one of them was delorme "beatniks"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

aceberg wrote:
    this what you looking for :

KATANA AKA DJ Randy - Erotmania, 1993, Downtown, DTR1059 - Original Mix.

http://www.mediafire.com/?e2bsdoxlmln

****ing quaility love it.:D

Linky doesn't work for me ,the download page keeps failing.:mad:

Thanks anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 deegan

You were right Jay, and here I thought we were the only two left. Haha I’m shaking. This is great. I can vouch for Jays for 400 tapes, well not anymore cos I have about 50 in my car and 50 more in every lying around the tape player in the house. I don’t know what to say. Just reading this blows my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

good man jay , say them flyers brought some memories back for ya alright, especially photo of ya in action on the floor :D
    from bray meself :)
    cheers caf , look forward to receiving them discs , 12gb:eek: :) holy jaysus ,gonna be a busy man sorting them out , can't wait , cheers :)
    welcome to the board deegan , two of yas stateside then , assume yas know each other yeah:)
    sounds like yas have some collection between the pair of yas , will drop ya a line via email jay if ya fancy sending over a couple and i will throw them up:)
    kev. done a good clean up of the whole thread a short while back , so probably best if yas download all the mixes available and yas sort them out rather than posting whats already up on the board ??

dj Sarah Colohan live in the Asylum 19/9/93
    njoi folks :D
    http://www.mediafire.com/?6eumelnt9v1
    yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeaaah wreck the gaff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 deegan

ha ha I cant believe theres a photo of Jay on here. yeah derra were both stateside. I ran into him 2 years paddy's nite, a little out of it that nite but he manage to charm me with his collection of tape. He blew me away actually but couldn't believe what i was hearing.
    We sleep, eat and breath The Aslyum, I know that sounds sad but we never got over it. I left in 95, he left around the same time. Did it go anywhere after that? Cos everytime i go home all i here is So it 70's & 80 music.
    Ah well, he derra i'm listening to this sara colohan, one of my favorites on here. Jay you have to listen to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 saracolo

Hey....
    so many people talking about the Asylum etc - thats so good! - Ive been rambling on about the place for years to people who just look at me like Im mad! (well suited to the place then!) - they just dont get why i loved the place so much - It was dangerous, dirty and really basic, totally raw.... but the music was amazing -i felt privillaged to play there, more so than any other club because it was so real. and totally full on! Looking back i was a brave girl.

I wanted to make a documentary about the place - for so many reasons but in particular because it was history in the making when the managment did time for Drugs etc.
    Sadly Eamon who opened Asylum died a couple of years ago - he was an amazing character.
    Other notable ones were:
    Chinese Charlie who owned a take away in Dundalk and would drive down every sat to the club, with all his staff...(covered in tattoos...)
    Desperate Dan was the guy in a suit and dickie bow conducting an imaginary orchestra - by the mens loos..nuff said...
    The Buzzer - John Dodds - flipping pancakes and hanging out the washing..
    Craner - i think from Dundalk who would dress in costume every week, donald Duck masks etc.
    i really could go on an on...
    the membership cards... ah yes! BP fallon came a couple of nights to take photos - i brough him round introducing him to all the regulars - he took lots of photos frmo early on 93 ish...

Thanks to Warren for seding on the recording of 93 to me! I actually felt quite emotional listening to it here at breakfast on sunday morning - back in 93 i would have still been in the Assylum - it didnt shut till 11am for quite a long period.

I would like to give club SO a mention - it was my home - before Asylum. A big hello to anyone who was a regular at SO - Moon something - what was the name of Johnas and Dave Hales club - ? Its where i started to DJ... a night called Girls Girls Girls with Emily... must be 92? 93?

i saw some footage on Ormond Multi media in 99 but woudl love to see that Documentary on The Asylum that RTE did - with Eamon in his suit chatting away, loving every minute of the attention!
    thanks for the memories.....

sara c
    xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

ya keeping well gar :D , cheers winnie(slim) for letting me download it off ya otherwise it would of rotted away :eek: :)
    sarah glad ya enjoyed the mix by ya back in the day :cool: hope ya stick around and tell us your memories bout the club , as mine are bit faded but not forgotten :)
    assume by your post mr .kiernan told ya bout the mix bein posted , be nice if himself stuck around and told us what he thought of the club that meant so much to us all l :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

that bleedin rapidshare only allows you to download one flle every few hours unless you've a premium account, any chance of someone sticking them on sendspace or a free uploader,cheers

jonny68 wrote:
    that bleedin rapidshare only allows you to download one flle every few hours unless you've a premium account, any chance of someone sticking them on sendspace or a free uploader,cheers
    www.bigupload.com is only site i can think of that will accept a file of that size , dont know how long files last on it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

was in mad rush when posted that!many thanks to slunk for orig.upload:D

Slunk wrote:
    A thank you would have been nice mate :rolleyes:

Nice one derra, I dled that mix by sarah on NI.

deegan wrote:
    ha ha I cant believe theres a photo of Jay on here. yeah derra were both stateside. I ran into him 2 years paddy's nite, a little out of it that nite but he manage to charm me with his collection of tape. He blew me away actually but couldn't believe what i was hearing.
    We sleep, eat and breath The Aslyum, I know that sounds sad but we never got over it. I left in 95, he left around the same time. Did it go anywhere after that? Cos everytime i go home all i here is So it 70's & 80 music.
    Ah well, he derra i'm listening to this sara colohan, one of my favorites on here. Jay you have to listen to this.

nice ta have threads like this to bring it all back ta yas , did for me anyway :) great mix of sarahs there alright , any mixes available from the asylum for sharing sarah !!?? there is loads of mixes in the previous pages there , just have ta dig them out !

yeah the scene exploded after the asylum deegan ,ya had the ormond muti media centre which imo was a great place to go, the temple theatre , the temple of sound , those 3 clubs would of been the ones i mostly went ta :)
    the red box , the kitchen ,temple bar music centre , the waterfront opened back us as columbia mills (probably be corrected on that :confused:)there is couple short videos of the ormond on youtube worth lookin at , and on google there is a brilliant olympic ballroom video, will edit this later with links for them yeah..
    there was loadza places to go and few more be mentioned by other users here , , big events in the point , then ya had and still have events like planet love where there is a few tents with different genres of dance , gets very confusing with all different types they have out now :confused::) stayed out of the scene meself for few years around y2k, just go to the odd oldskool nights the lads off this board organise now which do be brilliant :D the internet has renewed alot of peoples interest in the old scene like yourself and jay and scene it is now which is still buzzing , but havent personally been to clubs like the vaults or other clubs that is happening now, dont wanna get totally caught up again in the scene if ya know what i mean , but the likes of pressure , dilly , mick walsh, warren k , jay carey,ed case ,thyme, and of course mark kavanagh are still on the ones and twos , more some than others, probably left few out there but have a serious hangover here so lol:D have a good read through the whole thread there , some great reading innit :)
    the olympic ballroom video on google
    http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=the+olympic+ballroom

the ormond , short videos, just work from that link
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3852470894400832876&q=the+ormonde&total=311&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

not to be missed !
    derra wrote:
    reactiveOCT.jpg

dj ed case 'eternity' 1995
    http://www.mediafire.com/?a1xjxgiylbs side a

http://www.mediafire.com/?6mgbvsy4bjb side b

mick morrison 'labworks pt 1' recent oldskool mix of classics

http://www.mediafire.com/?3zs2295ctil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 topsoff

Gen:FX wrote:
    Howdy girls and boys,..... I was let out for the weekend... lol :rolleyes:

Here's another old vid from that oul' shower NR:GEX - Popcorn & Tayto :) - Again, this is back in 1992 @ Studio 53 North Dublin. Rember lads, this was back in the day when only rich folk had a computer, all the stuff you hear in this vid is coming from the sampler, and warrens fingers. We had no sequencer - it was all done by hand and ear. The tune is in Demo state as you hear it, so dont go takin' the piss. We sampled Guru Josh and try'd (note that word try'd) some of Mick W's vocal (Get an E, Get A Rush, Get A Move On). We never played this one live, though maybe we should've. Dunno. ahhhhhhh beautiful stuff. :p

Yo! TOPSOFF - Leave that PM you sent -with me, I'll need to rattle a brain or two, I dont know it of hand. BTW- NR:GEX is the band, group, outfit, whatever you wann'a call it.... There was no such thing as nr:gex 2,3,4 and all that jazz. NR:GEX (Live & Direct) was our name for the Live PA sessions [CAF, Warren, Pat & Mick] using the samplers and computers, (asylum, sides, ormond and the rest...) and nrgex1 was when Mick W was playing solo as a DJ. - I take it that you mean the solo DJ gigs ???? - gimme a shout.

Yo! Derra - 12+ Gigs ready to post - (I'll do it monday, promise ;)
    Yo! Ken-G - See you monday - No panic. :cool:
    Yo! Jay-C - Ger-up the garden ye' pup - Who own's ye ??? :D
    Yo! DJSK - (I have a new number, I'll call ye mid week):)

Now that's me done and dusted for another month, ... tehe. Going to do a squeeeekey clean install of XP, so should be back here next spring. :(

All the best lads -

PS- Welcome to our house Mr Flood. . . yip, sure do remember the robot, it was awsome, great marketing gimmick, - it beats a flyer anyday. - Altern8 did the same trick if i'm not mistakin'.
    PPS - I always kept the hi-Score on Robocop on the 3rd floor. Even though the machine was only borrowd from across the road ;) Thank You For Your Co-operation, Drop-it, :rolleyes:

Thx GenFX. Yep your right. The tapes I had were all called NRGEX1 although I can't remember the titles. High Times indeed. I must have been his solo gigs so. I bow to your superior knowledge GenFx. And thanks for taking the time to reply. If I get my hands on that tune I’ll be one happy little ravebot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

derra wrote:
    ya keeping well gar :D , cheers winnie(slim) for letting me download it off ya otherwise it would of rotted away :eek: :)
    sarah glad ya enjoyed the mix by ya back in the day :cool: hope ya stick around and tell us your memories bout the club , as mine are bit faded but not forgotten :)
    assume by your post mr .kiernan told ya bout the mix bein posted , be nice if himself stuck around and told us what he thought of the club that meant so much to us all l :cool:

LOL ONCE AGAIN TIS MIX I GOT OFF WARREN IN DA DJ BOX & DERRA WINIE GOT IT OFF ME DA WARREN SIDE IS VERY,VERY LOW IL HAV 2 FIX IT AND SARA WELCUM 2 DA MAD HOUSE & I KNO WAT U MEAN BOUT RANTING & RAVING BOUT DA ASYLUM R.I.P.IV BEEN DOING IT 4 SO LONG WHEN TELLING STORIES BOUT DA PLACE PPL LOOK AT ME LIK I HAV 2 HEADS HAVNT BEEN ON MUCH L8LY :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Biiiiig thanks for the memories, im not an asylum head but im from than generation, i came close a lot of times to goin in but heard some bad stories about the place and it put me off at the time.... It turns out that the gal i married was a big asylum head (shes from ballyer) and she used to get the last bus into town with her sister who was only 14 r 15 at the time, imagine doin that now! I didnt realise how much i liked the music until i grew up, i got hooked on XL recordings Chapter 4 album.....still a classic - every single track on it anyway iv downloaded most of the music posted and some of it is crackin.

My old hunting ground was Grouchos, class place, nice and intimate with a really sound mix of people and kick a_ss tunes. I was in college at the time and worked part time in McDonalds and one of my mates was a barman in buskers, we used to work every friday night and buzz in after work at 1.30am and finish up about 5.30am, dont know how many times i "came up" while workin in the kitchen as i couldnt wait come 12.30am, funny times. I went to the Ormonde Multimedia a few times as well and i was actually asked to leave one night (the bleedin cheek), I was standin at the front of the stage buzzin off the DJ and taught it was my duty to get the crowd goin.... ****in hell when i look back it was funny coz i was off me chops and I had the crowd hoppin (well i think i did haha) few mins later a bouncer asked if i had a coat ticket and told me to come back next week, i remember droppin a speckled dove earlier and only later found out months later what was in the ****in thing! I have one very vivid memory of being in there one night and this is a long shot but there was this group of about 5-6 people who came out on stage in silver jumpsuits (like astronaut suits) and they all played electronic drums/drum pads and it was absolutely AMAZING but dont know who the hell they were???? any takers on this 1???

Anyway I spend about 3 nights reading all the posts and found it a real throwback, I was thinkin im just a sad old b_astard who was clingin on to his youth but im not a lone....rave on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 saracolo

I spent ages looking over all the mails on this thread - its great to see so many people still so amazed by early 90's Dublin - it really was a great time, not just cause it was 'our time' (i know this cause i just did some work at planet love this year and i thought it was terrible - ) Mind u they were playing Age of love, slam positive education and a few more classics in the VIP area so i danced for an hour or two remembering the first time i ever heard them... I was sober as a judge - working and driving so... been a while since i did that!

I still buy a few records and have managed to hold onto most of my oldies from circ 93-96 (dispite all the mad parties when u inevitably leave a few behind! hate dat)
    My list of clubs went
    Olympic (orbit wiht Dave Hales and Peadar)
    Sides (Hunky Dory with Liam Dollard and me and emily down stairs)
    Club So - my favourite ever.
    then Asylum.... and suitably, that put an end to it for a while! never really had a regular after that -

Will defiately have to come to an oldies night soon! In the mean time its Del La Soul on Thursday, Dans La Sac (check out Thou shalt always kill on u tube if you havent see it before) and my current favourites Mode Selektor in Ambassador. Those germans.. what would techno lovers do with out them eh?:D
    s

well sara, here's a night ye should head out to on saturday the 10th of Nov, and of course this saturday in Radio City

untitled-1.jpg

Slunk wrote:
    A thank you would have been nice mate :rolleyes:

Nice one derra, I dled that mix by sarah on NI.

an don't forget were you's all got it from, Flametop, who is keeping a very low profile these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 lizzyitis

saracolo wrote:
    and my current favourites Mode Selektor in Ambassador. Those germans.. what would techno lovers do with out them eh?:D
    s

Modeselektor are sweet as Sara. Really into them Duoteque, Marc Romboy & Stephen Bodzin of late. You should check out DJ Bone in Rogue on Friday, arguably the best techno (if not dj) dj in the world. The man is smooth as......... :D

Think I might have to frequent one of these old skool nights myself. Even just to see if everyone can keep up with the dancing.

Great to read the posts of late! I haven't been posting, just reading. Flash backs indeed!!

LizzyX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 lizzyitis

Gen:FX wrote:
    The tune is in Demo state as you hear it, so dont go takin' the piss. We sampled Guru Josh and try'd (note that word try'd) some of Mick W's vocal (Get an E, Get A Rush, Get A Move On). We never played this one live, though maybe we should've. Dunno. ahhhhhhh beautiful stuff. :p

Jasus Caf, I fear what other footage you have, honest to god!

Think Snacker is the star of the show though! :D

LizzyitisX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

I HAVNT BEEN ON MUCH L8LY OR U/L ANYTHING IN A WHILE SO HERE A FEW MORE ASYLUM MEMORYS
    DJ COMPUTER LIVE IN NIRELAND
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fawkl3e1sbm
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fzvmdvixwjt
    I KNO ITS NOT LIVE IN DA ASYLUM BUT I LOST MY COMPUTER @ASYLUM TAPES MANY MOONS AGO & DJ COMPUTER WAS 1 OF MY FAVS

DJ TIN TIN @CIRCUS,CIRCUS N.IRELAND
    http://www.mediafire.com/?bgzlbdl2ja5
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5hvz6bcdzin

TIN TIN WAS ANOTHER GUEST DJ FROM ENGLAND WHO PLAYED DA ASYLUM ANYWAY EVERY BODY ENJOY DA MIX'S EVERY TRACK ON EACH MIX WAS PLAYED IN DA ASYLUM :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 dayo41

lads i'd just like to say thank you to you all for posting all them mixes an keep it up, for a long time i thought i was da only one who looked back to da good aul days down at sacville pl but now i know i'm not alone, hopefully i see you all @ radio city on sat cant wait.......Resect!!!!!!!:eek: