Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Madeline - Anyone else sick of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Miss Judy

I have been following this thread for a few days and held back from posting as I could have lost the head with many of you heartless, selfish horrible people.

I am devasted over this little girl missing from her family, we all have our opinions on the parents actions but at the end of the day it's not going to help anything and they are paying for it tenfold but there is one thing all of us genuine decent people want, and that is the safe return of little Madeline to her family.

She is an innocent child, thank god for the coverage it is getting, there is no way she can be forgotten, she must be found and who cares what they do to find her.

You lot should hang your heads in shame and hope none of you ever become parents or have anything you love taken away from you. Obviously from your posts you haven't a clue about unconditional love for your child, support and hope for others.

Oh and remember if you see a child resembling her, sure keep walking, who cares, stay in your little bubble, she is only an innocent child. You make me sick and when you suffer tragedy in your life, don't go looking for sympathy or attention off anyone. That would make you a complete hypocrite as well as everything else you have already shown yourselves to be.:mad:

As a parent, I would loose my life if this happened to me and it is every parents worst nightmare come true, god help the McCann family.

To those of you supporting, praying and hoping for Madelines safe return, keep it up, she needs to come home poor little darling.

There is one very serious post back a few pages that I am very surprised was not removed, it's directed at Mrs. McCann and is absaloutly disgusting and in very bad taste, how someone can get a kick out of another persons suffering is beyond me. I felt physically ill when I saw it, totally uncalled for.

Alot of people have posted some very valid points that we are all too aware of and I do agree that she should never have been left in a position of such high risk, especially by her own parents. But sure we can go on about that but the fact is she is innocent and only a baby and nobody has a right to take someone elses child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

You going to do a similar post for every other child gone missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

robnubis wrote:
    The reality is she's dead.

Its one girl, there are worse things happening in the world, for example 2 kids getting shot in China today...

i think its basically a ploy to get people watching certain stations, its a human interest peice basically, something they know people will watch because its so sad...

So, would you be implying that certain media barons had arranged the abduction to increase their ratings?

I would of course support any family looking for their child and hope for their safe return. Who wouldn't??.

You see this is all bordering insanity the carry on of you saying it's because they are middle class etc. Cop on will you, remember the support for the Houlihans and the soham victims. Remember the support for the Bigley family, any family suffering such a terrible loss of a loved one deserves all the support they can get.

ANY child missing needs to have the campaign awareness everywhere to reunite them with their families.

So please don't ask me a stupid question like that, it breaks my heart to see any child suffering. I once saw two drug addicts hitting a small child who was unfortunalty theirs on the dart, when I rang the guards they told me it's not their issue. I was in bits, poor little mite was about 2 and nobody would help me to get him off them!!.

So maybe you need to open your eyes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Miss Judy wrote:
    I am devasted over this little girl missing from her family

Along with the obvious media aspect, this is the other main reason I posted.
    I mean, seriously, how 'devastated' area you?
    Are you sleeping well? Can you eat ok? Are you living you life just as you were before you heard this story? Now, why aren't you 'devastated' for all your fellow humans that are killed, maimed and slaughtered every day?
    If you were a close relation or friend, I'd understand, but this high degree of emotional attachment to someone unknown is quite scary and I refuse to make it, as I'd find life very hard to live if I had to genuinely care so much for billions of people.

I guess I can sum it up like this:
    If, god forbid, you had a lovely child and he/she died in tragic circumstances but it didn't make the news, would you be upset a person in London wasn't 'devastated' for you? Can you see my point now? Is that person 'heartless' for not caring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

robnubis wrote:
    The reality is she's dead.

the reality is , you don't know

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

You lot should hang your heads in shame and hope none of you ever become parents or have anything you love taken away from you. Obviously from your posts you haven't a clue about unconditional love for your child, support and hope for others.

she's not out child, she's not your child. you are not helping by wathcing sky news, you are not helping by posting on this website. You are only feeding your desire to know what is going on, you're being nosey to put it bluntly.
    I am devasted over this little girl missing from her family, we all have our opinions on the parents actions but at the end of the day it's not going to help anything and they are paying for it tenfold but there is one thing all of us genuine decent people want, and that is the safe return of little Madeline to her family.

find me a post in this thread where someone wished the child was not safe, go on.
    She is an innocent child, thank god for the coverage it is getting, there is no way she can be forgotten, she must be found and who cares what they do to find her.

i'm sure many people care what they do. That's why the police have procedures and we have laws. The media is supposed to have professional ethics, but we hardly expect that from sky.
    Oh and remember if you see a child resembling her, sure keep walking, who cares, stay in your little bubble, she is only an innocent child. You make me sick and when you suffer tragedy in your life, don't go looking for sympathy or attention off anyone. That would make you a complete hypocrite as well as everything else you have already shown yourselves to be

If I do see a child resembling her, I will keep walking because the chances of it actually being her are ridiculously low. Also, nobody is suggesting that her story should have been kept from the news completely and if that is what you gathered from this thread I pity anybody that depends on your intelligence and reason, what is offensive here is the out and out rape of this story. It has been plastered everywhere, purely for people to show what lovely, kind caring people they are. It does absolutely nothing to help this child, policework and luck is all that she can rely on now. A picture here and there, semi-regular updates and a fair coverage of this and ALL adbuction stories would be the ideal here, not this faux-entertainment to keep you and all the other suckers glued to their television just waiting, second by second for the next bit of gossip, speculation or bleeding hearts.
    You see this is all bordering insanity the carry on of you saying it's because they are middle class etc. Cop on will you, remember the support for the Houlihans and the soham victims. Remember the support for the Bigley family, any family suffering such a terrible loss of a loved one deserves all the support they can get.

I'm pretty sure the children of those people weren't abducted from a holiday resort with babysitting facilities available, where they were left on their own while the parents had dinner.
    ANY child missing needs to have the campaign awareness everywhere to reunite them with their families.

this is exactly what we have been saying, but it is certainly not the case. The problem is that there are so many children who are abducted every day, who decides which one is more newsworthy?
    So please don't ask me a stupid question like that, it breaks my heart to see any child suffering. I once saw two drug addicts hitting a small child who was unfortunalty theirs on the dart, when I rang the guards they told me it's not their issue. I was in bits, poor little mite was about 2 and nobody would help me to get him off them!!

well, aren't you a wonderful person. I don't see what this has to do with anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Miss Judy wrote:
    I have been following this thread for a few days and held back from posting as I could have lost the head with many of you heartless, selfish horrible people.

Oh and remember if you see a child resembling her, sure keep walking, who cares, stay in your little bubble, she is only an innocent child. You make me sick and when you suffer tragedy in your life, don't go looking for sympathy or attention off anyone. That would make you a complete hypocrite as well as everything else you have already shown yourselves to be.

As a parent, I would loose my life if this happened to me and it is every parents worst nightmare come true, god help the McCann family.

To those of you supporting, praying and hoping for Madelines safe return, keep it up, she needs to come home poor little darling.

There is one very serious post back a few pages that I am very surprised was not removed, it's directed at Mrs. McCann and is absaloutly disgusting and in very bad taste, how someone can get a kick out of another persons suffering is beyond me. I felt physically ill when I saw it, totally uncalled for.

Alot of people have posted some very valid points that we are all too aware of and I do agree that she should never have been left in a position of such high risk, especially by her own parents. But sure we can go on about that but the fact is she is innocent and only a baby and nobody has a right to take someone elses child.

I honestly think there is a high chance you are either

A: a bit unbalanced
    B: a very false person

I doubt there is anyone posting here who doesn't agree that this is a sad situation. It is everyones preference that the girl returns home safely
    Miss Judy wrote:
    I am devasted over this little girl missing from her family

I really wonder if you either have

A: never been really devasted by anyone/any loss in your life
    B: are devasted by everything in daily life, and break down if you realise you are out of milk etc,

I don't say this trying to be funny. I can see that this situation is a very sad one, but to say you are 'devasted' makes me think you are using the word lightly.

Will you be crying 3 months time every day if this child is not found, 3 years time? In 30 years time, will be be a factor in your daily life?

I don't think you really understand what devasted means.

I would fully understand if you were this devasted by the loss of someone you knew.

We're you 'devasted' a few weeks ago by the shooting in the U.S? Are you feeling the loss everyday? Or has SKys recent coverage changed your focus?

whiskeyman wrote:
    I mean, seriously, how 'devastated' area you??
    Very much so actually, I have cried buckets over this, it's terrible. I mean seriously, how can you get so worked up because of a certain world I used??.

[/QUOTE] Now, why aren't you 'devastated' for all your fellow humans that are killed, maimed and slaughtered every day?[/QUOTE]
    I do find it very upsetting the state of the world we live in but now I can't be in bits over everything that happends in the world or I would be an emotional wreck.[/QUOTE]

[/QUOTE]I guess I can sum it up like this:
    If, god forbid, you had a lovely child and he/she died in tragic circumstances but it didn't make the news, would you be upset a person in London wasn't 'devastated' for you? Can you see my point now? Is that person 'heartless' for not caring?[/QUOTE]

How dare you be so nasty and attempt to hurt someone like this, did you NOT READ THAT I AM A MOTHER, and I really don't want to think about anything ever happening to them so thanks for that comment. You really are a star bending over backwards to justify the loss of a child being trivial. The only point I can see is that you are another freak, sit back down in front of your brain dead playstation instead of upsetting people and being so inconsiderate. It's baffling how shallow people are!

I would move heaven and earth to protect my kids, and in a case like this the media is needed to hightlight it and generate as much awareness as possible, anyone is touched in cases like this and it's a very emotional issue.

Miss Judy wrote:
    I do find it very upsetting the state of the world we live in but now I can't be in bits over everything that happends in the world or I would be an emotional wreck.
    My point exactly... so why am I so cold hearted not to care so much about this one story?

Miss Judy wrote:
    How dare you be so nasty and attempt to hurt someone like this, did you NOT READ THAT I AM A MOTHER, and I really don't want to think about anything ever happening to them so thanks for that comment. You really are a star bending over backwards to justify the loss of a child being trivial. The only point I can see is that you are another freak, sit back down in front of your brain dead playstation instead of upsetting people and being so inconsiderate. It's baffling how shallow people are!.
    It's baffling how some people take things out of context too.
    I said IF anything were to happen to your child (and a 'god forbid' for good measure). And you never did answer my following question either.

I'm not going to stoop so low as to use personal insults by the way.
    Maybe you should realise how many people agree with my point of view and question that.

That's right, attack the people that post things in the correct manner, that feel genuine sympathy for that family and hope for the best.

Imbalanced??...hilarious. I would suggest that people that posted horrible things on this quiet sick actually. Worst of all, alot of posters found it funny.

False??..defintaly not, just a concerened parent that wouldn't wish this on anyone. I know alot of people really upset by this, and you accuse me of being bad???. It's touched everyone and attacking someone who wants the happy ending makes you out to be the imbalanced fake.

You really didn't read the original post correctly did you??...if you cannot listen to other peoples viewpoints then don't come on insulting people. There have even been jokes cracked about it here, sick!

Tragedies happen everyday here at home and throughout the world and we don't always get to hear about it, in this case it's everywhere which I can't see as a bad thing, anything to help find her. She is not the first child to go missing and won't be the last, but hopefully this case will highlight the dangers of leaving any child unattended for any length of time is wrong.

I just find it very difficult seeing pictures of her, it's very upsetting to think of what's happened to her!. Quite a normal concern for a person you know!

Miss Judy wrote:
    if you cannot listen to other peoples viewpoints then don't come on insulting people.
    Miss Judy wrote:
    You really are a star bending over backwards to justify the loss of a child being trivial. The only point I can see is that you are another freak, sit back down in front of your brain dead playstation instead of upsetting people and being so inconsiderate. It's baffling how shallow people are!.

Touché :rolleyes:

Miss Judy wrote:
    That's right, attack the people that post things in the correct manner, that feel genuine sympathy for that family and hope for the best.

Imbalanced??...hilarious. I would suggest that people that posted horrible things on this quiet sick actually. Worst of all, alot of posters found it funny.

False??..defintaly not, just a concerened parent that wouldn't wish this on anyone. I know alot of people really upset by this, and you accuse me of being bad???. It's touched everyone and attacking someone who wants the happy ending makes you out to be the imbalanced fake.

You really didn't read the original post correctly did you??...if you cannot listen to other peoples viewpoints then don't come on insulting people. There have even been jokes cracked about it here, sick!

Tragedies happen everyday here at home and throughout the world and we don't always get to hear about it, in this case it's everywhere which I can't see as a bad thing, anything to help find her. She is not the first child to go missing and won't be the last, but hopefully this case will highlight the dangers of leaving any child unattended for any length of time is wrong.

I just find it very difficult seeing pictures of her, it's very upsetting to think of what's happened to her!. Quite a normal concern for a person you know!

I haven't attacked or insulted you, and I standby everything I have said.
    No one here would wish this on anyone.

If you are not false, you are unbalanced, It is one or the other I fear.

I have fully read and understood your viewpoint.

I am not a psychologist, or claiming to be, but my best guess is that it would likely benifit you to see someone regarding counseling, or to switch off sky news.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

The only point I can see is that you are another freak, sit back down in front of your brain dead playstation instead of upsetting people and being so inconsiderate. It's baffling how shallow people are!

pot: wassapt my nigga?
    kettle: sfa, yourself?

You are only feeding your desire to know what is going on, you're being nosey to put it bluntly..

Em how is that possible??. Nosey is a bad trait in a person, concern and hoping for this all to be over definatly isn't nosey. So what if I stick the news on later to see what the latest is??.

Drop the taking the piss aswell. It's being going on long enough here and half the time I can't understand what crap people are on about it's weird and not at all to do with the topic.

I personally don't understand why all the other abductions are not as high profile as this, it's because it happened somwhere it shouldn't have really. Family resort=safe in most peoples eyes, it's put me off anyway.

I just think the negativity here is bad, of course there a lots of other stories that should be the top story and not just briefed on. Also think this could be a massive step to help other families and organisations out there with the outpouring of support financially, it will keep people informed and wanting to help instead of it being left closed.

The longer Madeline is on the cover and seen, the better chance the family have of getting her back, we hope!.

Right, arguments over, sorry if I lost it a bit...:o .

The-Rigger wrote:
    I haven't attacked or insulted you, and I standby everything I have said.
    No one here would wish this on anyone.

If you are not false, you are unbalanced, It is one or the other I fear.

I have fully read and understood your viewpoint.

I am not a psychologist, or claiming to be, but my best guess is that it would likely benifit you to see someone regarding counseling, or to switch off sky news.

In my opinion, you are to be ignored.......but all I can say is thank god you are not in that field. Imagine the rise in mis-diagnosis!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

Just because I would love to see that child back with her family I need councelling???. Get a life man!.
    You have no right to pass judgement on someone like that. Just because what you want to see on the news isn't on it, what does that make you??. An opinionated bully perhaps??. Then again, not my area to make an assumption like that!;)

Miss Judy wrote:
    In my opinion, you are to be ignored.......but all I can say is thank god you are not in that field. Imagine the rise in mis-diagnosis!!!!!!!:rolleyes:
    I honestly have no clue what that last bit means, but I think you are been hypocritical, I thought humour regarding the subject was barred? Or you genuninely would like me to be dead in a field? Either way, you are been hypocritical again, congrats.
    Miss Judy wrote:
    Just because I would love to see that child back with her family I need councelling???. Get a life man!.

Because you are 'devasted'.

Either you need a dictionary to look up the word, or you do need help.
    Miss Judy wrote:
    You have no right to pass judgement on someone like that. Just because what you want to see on the news isn't on it, what does that make you??. An opinionated bully perhaps??. Then again, not my area to make an assumption like that!;)

I don't have a problem with what is on the news. What is wrong with having an opinion? I am not a bully, I just told you some truths that you didn't want to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

why does everyone assume it's a tragedy, she was taken from parents who were neglecting her, she is probably in the hands of someone who will care more for her than her parents did, she probably has her own play room all to herself now with a playstation 3 even,

MooseJam wrote:
    why does everyone assume it's a tragedy, she was taken from parents who were neglecting her, she is probably in the hands of someone who will care more for her than her parents did, she probably has her own play room all to herself now with a playstation 3 even,

I'd say she is far more likely deceased.

The multinationals are helping out now, to show how much they *care*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Phoebus

MooseJam wrote:

Oh yes I'm sure if it's a rapist they'll buy her cuddly toys and ice creams... If they truly cared any bit about her they would have taken the 2.6mil, given her back and knobbed off somewhere.

The parents made a mistake. So what - everyone makes mistakes. Think about how crap they feel right now. Look at it from their perspective.

Stop thinking you rule the roost and go and buy a heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Didn't see this thread, don't ask how.

OP you're not alone in this!

I don't like the way Sky News give a detailed report of the search or police leads it is basically telling the kidnappers whats going on. Can't believe they're getting away with this after what happened with Holly/Jessica.

And secondly if people care so much about "Maddy" then why not care about everyone else missing?

And lastly, I know people are frightened of the possibility of what could be happening to the girl (murder, etc), I know it reminds them of their own children and they hate to think of being in the same situation BUT why not care about all the other bad stuff happening in the world that could also happen to their children 24/7 and make video montages and chain mails for it?

Oh and I'll "go buy a heart" and maybe some newspapers? Maybe common sense for the parents? Maybe some for sky news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

ntlbell wrote:
    Why do you feel compelled to tell us you have a daughter of the same age?

What has it got to do with anything? You can relate to their pain more than someone who doesn't? it excuses the fact like lots of other sheep around Ireland and the UK are getting caught up in hype that the silly news papers and sky news creates?

The point is people go missing every single day, it's not a rare occourance, one case doesn't deserve more press coverage than other.
    It's not about being cold hearted or not showing some compassion with the familiy.

An idiot eastenders/corrination st watching moron harping on about the pain the familiy must feel why enjoying the over all drama being sensationalised by sky != compassion

I think I love you! ALL us "anti-find MADELINE" (not maddie) posters, are not saying it's not sad or tragic.

What we are saying and 99% of you are not understanding is that THERE ARE OTHER CHILDREN who need help/ attention too. What is so special about Madeline.

The media is COMPLETELY OVER SENSATIONALIZING this story to the extent that she's become "Our Maddie". I never met the child ffs! Her return will have no effect on my life. Or yours.

The media is doing this to get viewers and sell paper and make money. Over hyped, over exposed and over played. THAT is the point. Tired of the nwes, but not saying we hope the child doesn't turn up.

Whytf can't you people see that?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Double post. Stoopid slow boards.

Sky News just had an interview with someone who was questioned by police (some computer 'expert').

They cut to an ad-break, then rerun the interview straight after the ads.

:eek::eek::eek:

Literally 3 minute gap and they re-run the whole interview.

I know it's meant to be 'The News every 15 minutes', but that's taking the p!ss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

The travel company was charging 12 euro an hour.

Im on that cash roughly. A doctor must be on at least 30. The wife another 30. So we are talking about a couple who in their working day take in a min of 60 euro an hour, who were not prepared to spend 12 minutes wages (about 1.50 of my hourly wage equivalent) to mind their children.

I hate these moaning pair almost as much as whoever took her. Only it would be bad PR the police there must be tempted to slap them with neglect charges for their whinging about the investigation.

I have to concur though, while I dont object to the coverage, the style is getting on my tits. The other day they interrupted the sports report for, wait for it, live footage of some police cars leaving the main suspects flat. You could tell by the look on his face when they came back that the sports guy was like "eh, what the fcuk was that for?". We are getting to the point of interrupting the weather because someone has turned on a light in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Or when they cut into another report to tell you that nothing has changed since the last time they cut in to tell you that nothing has changed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

for people who whinge so much about Sky News, why are ye all watching it???
    One would almost think you need to find something / anything to complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

vorbis wrote:
    One would almost think you need to find something / anything to complain about.
    I don't have a problem with Sky News, I do have a problem with the Madeline McCann channel though.....so I keep looking in the hope that maybe Sky News will be back soon.We can only hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

vorbis wrote:

Personally I don't watch it myself but there is always someone who turns it on.

lemansky wrote:
    I don't have a problem with Sky News, I do have a problem with the Madeline McCann channel though.....so I keep looking in the hope that maybe Sky News will be back soon.We can only hope.

They get like this don't they?

We renamed the channel Sky War, during the Iraq conflict, It's not that neither case are newsworthy.

It's just how they would run an interview with a fly that once crawled up a wall within 50 yards of someones house who is remotely linked to any case, if they could get the interview.