If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭blackcard

Fair play to Danesfort. Loads of heart and a lot of skill. Great to see how much it means to their supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭droppingball

Serious win for Danesfort, Daire O Neill was exceptional, Des Dunne and Murphy also excellent. The two minors that came on finished the job for them and Anthony Ireland Wall was dangerous throughout.

Adrian Burke had them humming on the perfect day. Had a good balance to the team , village will regroup and come back. Not easy to not be tested all year and get punched on the mouth on the big day. Thomastown had it for a few years. Their day will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Dunnadude

Well done Danesfort what a mighty display. Delighted for Adrian Burke brilliant win just shows what a team can do with hard work and pure belief in themselves great day for the Parish Danesfort

See you next year in the intermediate championship James Stephens 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Could well have the scenario next year of Village 1st team playing against OLG 2nd team at the same grade. Mad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Village87

Lack of character and composure when the pressure came on hurt us. Going to be very hard to get out of it next year, i do believe and most teams seen today they have nothing to be fearful of. Lot of them older players have been average for years and the younger players have not stood up at underage inter county level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Formosa

The easiest year to get out is the first year, you are right, it gets harder from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,244 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Congratulations to Danesfort! I've been in teams in situations like the village this year, where you spend the whole season beating teams and thinking you're great lads altogether, then get shellacked when it matters by a team that is ready when you're not. You can tell yourself all you want that you're not getting complacent, but it's hard to keep sharp when it goes that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 nippy corner foward

The importance of a strong half back line cant be under estimated.its the spring board to most winning teams. Kk have looked at the same half back line for the last 4 years and its not good enough. Danesfort camogie win definitely helped the mens team. Daire o neill has being very good the last few years and needs a proper look on the county team. That was as good a intermediate final that was played for a long time. All the pressure was on the village a bit like cork at county level. Danesfort learnt from the gowran match that their backs could be got at. They nullified cian kenny and tore into every tackle. They got the few lucky breaks and anthony ireland wall was very good. A very good underage player who has plenty of ability. For the village and eoin larkin its a very dissapointing defeat. Maybe if brassil and macdermot were fit they would of helped but when the game was in the melting pot they had no one to put their hand up and do something inspirational. Danesfort turned it into a dog fight and responded every time. They couple of young lads they brought on were electric.we all knew it wasnt going to be straight foward for the village and next year you'll have battle hardened teams like tullogher,gowran,lisdowney,mooncoin and they will get nothing handy but if they can get brassil and macdermot back they will still be the team to beat. They will be bitterly dissapointed today though. Star studded management team but well done to adrian burke a very good manager. Danesfort are doing a lot right. They will enjoy the next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Fair dues to danesfort. What a performance. I've nothing to do with the club but I was buzzing watching it. Absolutely fantastic game, the defending from danesfort was incredible. Dunne and o Neill, Diarmuid phelan were heroic. Anthony ireland wall classy forward too

The last few minutes were surreal, like when a keeper goes up for a corner in soccer and noone stays back. The young subs had 50 yards to run into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭jonniegoogle

The beauty of sport. Savage display from Danesfort and plenty of talent for Mr Lyng to look at. O Niell and Dunne were immense plus Ireland also.

I'm currently eating my humble pie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Bluesman21

Sorry can't resist this after your humble pie comment

1000039600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭The_Ghost

Brilliant Brilliant Danesfort. What a performance what a win, as mentioned the half back line was brilliant! Fair play to all. I really hope they can, this time go on a run in Leinster. For the village, young side they will 100% be back. Look rathnure got relegated in Wexford, first time ever last year, harshly done over in All Ireland semi final and are in the county senior final next week in which they’ve a good chance. I can see the village going a similar route, keep them all together and this loss hopefully will make them even better. Was a great game. Next weekend will also be great, Will OLG catch fire or Will ballyhale do it again. It’s the game we all wanted as a neutral in fairness. I think OLG have good matchups for the ballyhale forwards and their forwards inside have the pace to hurt ballyhale but could anybody back against them. TJ must be 18 years playing senior now at this stage and who’d back again them.

How old is Daire O'Neill ? and how is he not on a Kilkenny team/ panel ? Somebody with more hurling knowledge than me please explain ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭neverbet

Was a brilliant game,and best team won. The Danesfort goal cancelling the Village one with about 12 to go was the turning point, from there you could only see one winner. Danesfort played some great hurling with a real edge and all contributed, the captain full back, Des Dunne in the second half, Daire O'Neill all through ,Robbie Walsh and Anthony Ireland Wall were standouts. For many years the Village poster on here knocked the great Paul Murphy and how ironic that the KK legend delivered another exhibition of character and leadership, the type of character the poster now believes is lacking in his own team. I wouldn't be so hard on James Stephens. They were on a hiding to nothing this year with the expectations that were placed on them. They contributed to a great game and the breaks didn't go their way particularly a penalty call at a crucial point in the second half. That's how it goes some days. One final thing the atmosphere in the stands in the second half was electric compared to the past few sundays.

Yeah absolutely Paul Murphy had a fantastic year with that great half back line. I agree completely. Robbie Walsh at 37/38 absolutely immense also. No complaints, best team on the day with big characters got over the line .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Pretty sure Tj is playing senior since he’s 16/17 that’s over 20 years what a player

Was fionn Mahony or Cowley on last years minor panel? They're very lively and skilful.

I think him and Dunne were brought in after danesforts last intermediate win and think they were dropped after the Walsh cup or league

It was dereks first year I’m almost sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭The_Ghost

getting ahead of myself here as this week should be about Danesfort! But 20 years would be crazy, anybody know when he made his debut? Think the majority of people recognize him as the best in their lifetime now. Only player I’ve ever seen score 0 from play and be head and shoulders the best player on the pitch. If he goes next year he’ll be top scorer ever inter county and without seeing any stats I’d bet my bottom dollar he’s top assister ever too. if it’s a free taking comp next week ballyhale win. Should be a cracker and whoever wins will fancy Leinster! Wexford senior champions haven’t done much last good few years but martins weren’t fair off Na Fianna last year!

He scored 1-2 in the 05 county final but could have easily being playing or coming off the bench in 04 what a servant not many better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭JohnCougar

The beauty of sport and the bookies dont often get it wrong either. Danesfort were the better team on the day and should have being 5/6 points up at half time and they were excellent in the second half with their game plan for working the ball out against the wind. Danesfort were up for it and the Village could not match their intensity and the same players that bottled it against Glenmore last year bottled it again yesterday. Yesterday was the first real test all year and they could not cope. Well done to Danesfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭JohnCougar

Sport is a great thing at times, some odds on Leinster, Celtic, Liverpool and The Village losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Pennywise345

James Stephens were probably undercooked and not tested. Attitute is everthing and in county finals you can't go in presuming you turn up and win. Danesfort came to win and did. Great game. You would have to look back the last time and see were Dunne & O'Neill given a proper chance (I can't remember) they probably won't get back in.

I fancy OLG next week to cut loose and use their pace over Ballyhale.

You seem to have a fixation with certain posters and their opinions. Everyone here is entitled to their views on matches or players. After all, it would be pretty boring if we all agreed with each other.

Paul Murphy was fantastic this year for danesfort, I think everyone agrees with that. But it can also be true that he didn't perform to the standards expected for kk on certain occasions. Both things can be true, believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Truth be told1974

Current Senior clubs, length of time in the senior grade for 2026…

O' Loughlin's = 30 years
    Shamrocks = 29 years
    Erins Own = 18 years
    Dickboro = 16 years
    Clara = 14 years
    Mullinavat = 12 years
    Bennettsbridge = 11 years
    Graigue Ballycallan = 8 years
    Tullaroan = 7 years
    Glenmore = 5 years
    Thomastown = 3 years
    Danesfort = 1 year

Maybe i am being premature here but Daire O'Neill has to be nailed on at wing back next year for Kilkenny seniors, he has everything, pace, power, great in the air, great striker, ability to break tackle and use his pace to run up the line. Himself and David Blanchfield would be 2 excellent wing backs, Mikey Carey could revert to the full back line. I am starting to see light at the end of the tunnel here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Yes he was excellent yesterday but its also fair to say it was one intermediate match.

He has held this form all year. What does he lack that says he is not up to it. A great athlete also.