If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

The other goalie scored one in the same match as well, three points scored from puckouts in one game is crazy. It must have been a gale of a wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭robwen

1000006900.jpg

Schedule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Just looking at the results of the minor hurling last night, I don't agree with how you only get 1 shot and you're out.

Yet clubs are playing league games all summer, some of which are meaningless. Surely it would be fairer to have less league matches and then give teams a 2nd chance when championship comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭JohnCougar

The whole underage league and championship needs to be overhauled. There used to be a shield competition for teams knocked out up to quarter finals in previous years. Some teams that are playing this week or next week have had no game in 3/4 weeks since the leagues finished. The intercounty development squads U14, U15 and U16 should be finished by the end of July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭KK36

The Development Squads should finish on the same weekend and the All Ireland. It's either a split season or not. This would allow more time to run a championship either on a group format or maybe some sort of a back door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I wonder is it ran later into the summer so families aren’t on holidays this time of year possibly and all kids and coaches are available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Senditinlow

To be fair I know our Co.Board (along with others) suggested finishing squads in line with All Ireland series but was rejected by Croke Park. Common sense rare in GAA circles I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Village87

I think it works well, plenty of league matches most groups have 8-12 teams in them. Trying to organise championship in August is a nightmare with holidays. At least when they are back to school they wont be away and championship is on then. Lot the lads up to age get game time with adult junior teams in August also. Is there any point in a shield!, not much interest out there for it by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Sir Chaz

One championship game is not good enough to be fair. All U13/14/15/16/17 hurlers who lost games this week are now finished club hurling for the year, having not had a game since July. That's a ridiculous state of affairs. Only the best U18 players will get time with their adult teams, but they are the exception rather than the rule. There needs to be some link between league and championships so that the earlier games are meaningful, and get the dates out early so people can plan their holidays if they wish to avoid missing games.

Seeding the championships via league form would also make the shield competitions fairer, and more attractive. Some clubs might turn their noses up at shields but it's valuable game time for young players for their clubs, and for most clubs is the only realistic chance of some level of success in terms of winning something. I believe they have been done away with which is a bit of a shame.

As usual with Kilkenny Bord na NOg the way shields were run was nothing short of farcical over the last couple of years with huge unnecessary gaps between games. That probably left a lot of people disillusioned and underwhelmed with the idea, but if run right they can be very worthwhile competitions, especially for the weaker teams. Placing a bit more value and structure on them might also stop some of the codology that goes on with some clubs trying to get decent teams played in lower grades.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 nippy corner foward

Dissapointing to see noel doherty leave after a few weeks taking the suspension into consideration but derek was absolutely adamant his right hand man peter o donovan stay on board but not everyone was overly happy with this. Hopefull eddie and niall bring something new to the table. Michael rice never played in goal in his life so its bizzare he has spent the last few years as a goal keeper coach.puckouts and movement has being shocking at times. As mentioned here a few weeks ago henry will be ratified as u20 coach next week. Rumours of herity joining him but also talk of noel dohertys man sean kelly joining him. It will be interesting to see who gets the u17 job or more importantly mick fennelly job. There was talk mick fennelly wasnt getting the funding from the county board which would suprise no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭jimmythesulk

The big 3 will know have had outside coaches. Only a matter of time before this changes to managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Marrooned

something tells me Michael Rice played in goal underage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Tullaroan v Bennettsbridge

Shamrocks v Erin's Own

Clara v Lisdowney

Dicksboro v Ballycallan

Glenmore v Mullinavat (Shield)

OLG v Thomastown (League)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭kentu

Conor Fogarty not hurling with Comer this year or is he injured??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭blackcard

Amazing to see Boro in the bottom two. Don't think they will have it too easy against GB, who have been competitive in most matches. Lisdowney will still be favourites for the drop. OLG left a number of players on the bench, hoping it might leave the Boro in the bottom two? Bridge were poor, not scoring from play until 40 minutes. Tullaroan should fancy their chances of beating them. Shamrocks should beat Comer and Clara beat Lisdowney

Post edited by blackcard on

Good win for bennettsbridge over o loughlins. Themselves and tullaroan should be a cracker after last year which went to extra time if I remember correctly.

Looking very much like a lisdowney graiuge ballycallan relegation final. Ballycallan have close in every game but hard to see them beat dicksboro.

As far as I know he won't hurl because a Buggy involved in management. Disgraceful carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭hogans heroes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Or maybe you don’t know enough about it to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 nippy corner foward

I was also told conor and the buggys dont get on which is a pity because comer have some nice young players coming. Conor mcmahon is surely worth a look and michael brennan and jack buggy are both hurling well. To be fair to the boro they have being cursed with injury and lads away. You throw tom kenny,aidan nolan,bill sheehan,harry shine and a few more into that team and its a different ball game. Patrick lacey is a nice hurler and we've a couple of decent u17 teams the last few years so hopefully henry can do something with them at u20. With the hard ground and the matches coming so fast teams have lost some important players to the dreaded cruciate. Great to see adrian mullen get 20 minutes today and eoin cody doing well out around center foward. The standard of hurling hasnt being great but its absolutely vital derek lyng goes after some fresh faces and trusts them .its being so predictable the last 3 years and we could probably pick 13 of next years team already. Peter o donavan and michael rice woukdnt exactly set the heart racing so hopefully eddie ans niall corcoran are let work with the panel. It would be great to see a improvement with s&c but the money probably iant in it.Kk desperately need a 6 and deegan is not a defender.Hopefully eddie donnelly can be persuaded but its absolutely vital new players are tried. Kk public arent excited by the re appointment especially after the last 2 semi finals. Same mistakes over and over and no improvement or players found.how many times do we have to get bet in big matches with deegan making big blunders.just shows how weak the county board is. Obviously we will always support kk but its depressing enough.We're at absolutely at nothing with the likes of billy drennan.If lads cant do it for club they definitely wont be able to do it with county. It will be intresting to see will glenmore be able to continue their good form because they look to have a few players who would be a help to kk.theres a few players down south like oisin knox who drserves a go.

Another strong mullinavat performance. For a team with no co senior panelists they are such consistent team.

Should have had the game won at half time. Missed 2 goals and some awful wides. Ger Malone and John Walsh excellent as usual. Paul Cody impressed for clara but conditions didn't suit Rory glynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

The Fogarty Buggy thing is well known a long time. Conor played away while he was involved with the county but that's no longer there. He has his gym equipment business as well so I'd imagine he's flat out with that. He's 35 and has emptied the tank for Comer the last 20 years. Owes nobody anything.

I know and I agree he doesn't owe anybody anything, but I also don't think anyone on here can call it disgraceful behaviour without knowing the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭neverbet

Fully agreed. I understand Conor Fogarty was in the US for the summer and may still be there. David and Tommy Buggy have managed Comer many times in the past and Fogarty was as always one of their leaders on the field. One poster can't help himself , posting in ignorance.

I always think these petty arguments are all about ego. Imagine thinking you're too big to play for your club. I'd say the same if it was my own club. I'm surprised at fogarty to be honest.

Just get out there, stop sulking and play with the lads you've played with for years

Yeah but you’re guessing it’s all about ego … and how do you know who’s sulking?… again you know nothing about it.

If you knew anything about Conor Fogarty you’d know ego has nothing to do with it.

I’m’ not surprised… I actually have no skin in the game here. I know the Buggy’s and have no problem with them at all.
    But I also know Conor Fogarty and IMO one of the most authentic men of integrity that you could meet… a real hard man on the field, no sneaky dirty cheap shots .
    If I was to pick a man to go into the trenches with he’d be up there… a real warrior.

Then you have the keyboard warriors on here hiding behind their anonymity thinking they’re in some way qualified to judge him on his behaviour or the decisions he makes without knowing any of the facts.

Fair play to Comer for avoiding a relegation battle, they had a few injuries and some players making themselves unavailable. On the Fogarty subject, I believe Lyng gave him the phone call last year that he should retire, and it did not sit well with Fogarty, he thought he had more to offer, if that was the case why did he not prove Derek wrong with the club this year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭droppingball

Village you loved to have a go off him when he was playing but the man is now retired. Can you not leave it there, beginning to sound personal now.

I have no skin in the game and don't know any fogartys or buggys or any of the goings on in Comer but why keep it going when we have read all about what you have thought of him for a long time now.