Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

That's being reported alright. Whether that's a genuine back up plan or just posturing I don't know.

Definitely wouldn't want to be paying the rumoured £40m for Martinez but we can't be going forward with the 2 stooges and Heaton who is seemingly not an option.

Late loan for Martinez would be the only way I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,894 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Do you win games with XG yet?

Our "most threating" attacking trio yielded no actual goals.

I'm shocked people want to try and get real goals to win real games.

United and Spurs linked to Conor Gallagher from Athletico, for £45m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Seattle

No but it's a strong indicator of the team's trajectory.

Are you one of the people who'd be delighted if we got 9 points out of 9 with fluke goals whilst creating few chances, and ignore the xG? And think we're on course for a great season?

Teams with poor underlying numbers invariably get found out in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Seattle

The debate about Sesko is a complete red herring when talking about this team and where it's going.

Last season I was worried about our ability to create chances and score. On the evidence this season so far, I'm not in the least bit concerned about this.

What I am concerned about is the team's complete inability to control a game for 90 mins. We are dangerous but our play is too chaotic and open when we're at our best. We then inevitably crash & burn and look vulnerable. This is the thing that needs to be focused on, not obsessing over Sesko's minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭17togo

We'd just have to do everything possible to not give away any corners or free kicks from around the box! 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

The little lad was awake extra early this morning so passed the time and watched the game again.

Mount is going to be very hard to drop for Amorim if he's fit. He was the best player on the pitch in the first half and there were a number of very good performances.

I said it yesterday but you will do well to find a team play better football so far this season than we did in that first half. We were very good.

Injuries disrupted the shape and press in the second half and Casemiro (who was very good in first half) just couldn't cover the ground anymore.

Their first goal is on De Ligt in my opinion. He found himself at left back and was too eager to get back to centre half. The ball was on his side of the pitch and when he vacated the space it left the winger with no pressure to deliver the cross. If he just trusts the players inside him then that goal doesn't happen.

Second goal a mess again from keeper. Just go sign a keeper today/tomorrow and pray he's competent.

Fingers crossed that Cunha and Mount are not serious as feel they could really hurt City with the way they play and press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,220 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We started this transfer window with 3 big issues.

Unable to control games

Unable to score goals

No faith in the goalkeeper

Its perfectly fair to worry that the goalscoring part of that list still hasn't been addressed, as yet again our expensive new striker has not hit the ground running and OG remains our our top scorer.

All we heard last season was that things were actually fine but we just needed to score more goals. So quoting Xg figures is all well and good, but you can see why it sounds a lot like more claims we are actually playing well but just need to score more goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Looks like Bayer are going to be quicker than Ineos to realise that Ten Hag is a fraud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Weren't they having a joke at our expense during the week? And then they go and sh*t the bed yesterday.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Presumably Slovenia have 2 games in the international break, which will mean 2 starts for Sesko. That will be a big help for his fitness / match fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There's a difference between not being able to control games and giving up stupid goals that are easily preventable. We are in the latter category this season IMO. We controlled large parts of that game yesterday and against Arsenal but we gave up soft goals. At no stage were we under the cosh in either game. That's why I'm confident we can start to stop those errors because theynare a fixable problem (new GK helps massively here) rather than being overrun constantly which would indicate a tactics or system issue.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭thefa

I think it’s honestly a bit unrealistic to think we’re going to control games for full games. See even the most elite teams struggle to do this in various sports. There’s always momentum swings. Even look at a game like Liverpool letting Bournemouth back into the first game of the season or even again against 10-man Newcastle.

For me it’s taking advantage of when we are on top which just isn’t quite there yet and definitely wasn’t last year when we were on top in games. Then we give away higher quality chances and let other teams back in or let them have a lead they can defend. Then a less than strong mentality can kick in!

Definitely positive signs alright but a bit more quality/luck with the finishing will go a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭thefa

Know it’s only burnley and all but it’s nice to have a Sunday with 3 points in the bag, no misery from a united loss/stress from uncertainty of what’s about to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Jesus not even time for the German version of Mitch to want him sacked!

Screenshot_2025-08-31-12-20-49-013.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,491 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I really wouldn't want Martinez signed, he makes loads of mistakes himself and wouldn't do a whole lot in terms of inspiring confidence tbh.

Looking at his stats from last season he someone managed to outdo Onana in terms of errors leading to shots and their save % is pretty similar.

I get it, if he is seen as a steadier pair of hands to what we have on corners and crosses but would have hoped we would be doing better.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Amorim mentioned that Sesko was cramping up after playing the 90mins against Grimsby and that's why they put him 10th in the shoot out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Caustic

The most over ratted goalkeeper in the league it's quite amazing what a world cup will do for a player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭howdydoo83

Lindelof off to Villa

Theres only about 24 hours left (doubt we'll be doing Business 2am - 6am) so while overrated Martinez would still be an instant #1 and with his huge ego and being a WC winner I don't think he'd be overwhelmed by Old Trafford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I think getting the lads (Antony, Garnacho, Hojlund) means we 100% get a GK and CM tomorrow.

I don't really care that much who, obviously the guy should be well scouted and tick all the boxes the club are looking for, but beyond that, just get two bodies in and we can concentrate on having a good league campaign.

The 3 points were huge yesterday, would've been a difficult hole to climb out of otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,271 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Selling Garner is going to bite us in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Last few games watching baleba now since we were linked to him. Definitely don't see a 100 million pound player there, has be caught in possession a couple of times this game and in other games I've watched. Also think he was out of position for that city goal. Marmoush was on his own where baleba possibly should've been covering.

I know he's young and the spotlight is on him a bit now, but it would be on him 10x times if he was at utd. So probably good we didn't agree to that fee.

Romano and others now reporting Villa in for Lammens.

So I'd say highly likely that we get either Lammens or Martinez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,491 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

He's been shite alright by and large, whether it's that he's unsettled with speculation I don't know but definitely playing below the level he was showing last year.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

@StringerBell what counts as errors leading to a goal though?

If Onana fluffs an easy save, that's an error. If Bayindir flaps at a cross, that's an error.

But do the multiple instances of Onana pushing a save back into danger count as errors if they score from the rebound?

Seems both of them want to join us while Villa will keep/sign the other one.

Do we want potential or established #1?

Yeah possibly, I'll be honest I didn't pay any attention to him last year. No doubt there must be potential there with all the experts raving about him. But if his form has dipped because of the speculation then he'd struggle with the pressure at utd. An extra year playing at Brighton is probably best for whoever manages to buy him in the future.