Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I dont think the present Managerial team have the appetite for what Cahill has done in Tipp. Its also easy for us to look at Tipp but no one gave them a chance at the beginning of the year. IMO for KK to progress we need to possibly find 8 or 9 players that can start or put a massive amount of pressure on the 1-15 players on the pitch from the bench. The current 15 starters against Tipp are a mature team that failed to get over the line. The majority are probaly at their peak while TJ and Eoin have been great servants but their time is probably up. Hopefully Tj will stay on. Whoever is manager next year will have to deide whether to stick or twist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Village87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I think maybe Derek assumed that few of his u20 all Ireland winning brigade would drive on and take a few starting places on the senior team but for whatever reason it hasn’t happened through lack of them not getting enough chances or being more patient with them or them just not progressing as players to the required quality

The current 15 are the ones who more often than not deliver for there clubs every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭KK36

I Don't think any of Clara, Conahy or Muckalee come in to the ring road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Takeyourpoints

Could be waiting a while to implement the ring road rule, still a long ways away from being finished! While I agree that some lines could be redrawn, I think the ring road rule would be difficult to implement. Danesfort, Clara, Threecastles might benefit as they're probably the closest to town and people could go either way, especially Village people with their pitch on the kells road, but if I'm living just outside the ring road in Kilkenny I'm not going to travel 15-20 minutes out of town to Ballycallan or Muckalee when i have a city club 5 minutes down the road and much better roads out to them.

What could work is just that the lines between the bordering clubs and city clubs can be blurred where players that are on the edge of 2 or 3 club borders can make a decision. At 18 or 19 if they are considering giving up they could transfer clubs with the agreement of the original club. Far from perfect but might be better than outright telling people what club to play for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Marrooned

No they don’t KK, that is what I am saying that they should be coming in to the ring road using that as a boundary for the city clubs.

When they do finish the ring road it will be state of the art just like the new Dunmore project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭neverbet

Agree fully with that, same appears to be the case with this years 20s, Garret, Vereker, Kelly, Hickey, Lyng, Neary ,McEvoy ,Glynn etc all leading lights for their Clubs from the games I have seen. Murphy and Bolger still out injured. Mark Dowling and management definitely played the best available to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭KK36

I was 9 stone with jet black hair when the ring road was started. Maybe you might do me a favour KK exhume my body and reinter it in Dunmore.

Well I saw Kelly and Glynn play this year and they were very good alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Village87

Mcdermott out for another few weeks and Lahouf is showing up welll when introduced. Not starting due to disciplinary issue with management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Senditinlow

Mossy had a massive 2nd half for Tullaroan as did Gearoid Dunne. Graig seemed to go long all the time, worked well in 1st half not in 2nd. Some so called big names didn't turn up McEvoy & Corcaran in particular. Highly entertaining match though. Graig in a bad place now

Tullaroan are some warriors. Even with the players gone they still managed to come from behind and win in the end. Ballycallan went long in the first half and profited from it but in the second half when they had the wind they stopped doing it which was strange. Mossy had a very quiet first half but was immense in the second. G Dunne and Dylan Simpson got some important scores. For Ballycallan, Tom Dunphy and Conor Flynn were the best. Billy Ryan had a penalty saved with the last puck of the game. Tullaroan will be happy and probably will still finish 2nd in the group. Ballycallan have a score difference of -4 after the three matches showing how close they have been. A few pucks of the ball and they could have been in a very different place. At the moment looks like they will be in relegation and could be in trouble, but depending on results for Comer and Mullinavat they could yet escape. Looking forward to a grandstand finish to this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭blackcard

OLG always had the advantage against the Boro after an early well taken Luke Hogan goal, led by 6 at h/t. Boro hung on in the match thanks to Timmy Clifford. Cillian Hackett was well held. Huw impressive again. Even when beaten, he has the pace to recover. OLG will be slightly dissappointed with their performance. Kevin Murphy subbed after scoring 3-3 the previous week. Owen Wall came on as a sub but was subbed himself. Kerryman did well. Boro don't seem to have the firepower

Missed the first 10 minutes of this match when Clara scored 1-5 and they still led by 8 points at half time. Jack Buggy scoring a soft goal. Conor McMahon and Conor Delaney had strong second halves as Comer clawed their way back. They were agrieved when the ref didn't give advantage as they scored a goal but a late Jack Buggy point secured a win.

Little to choose between a lot of the teams in this group. Thomastown will top, Tullaroan's 2 narrow victories should make them safe and after that it will be a dogfight

Shamrocks had a comfortable 14 point win over Lisdowney who conceded 4 goals to go with 5 last week. Lisdowney in a relegation fight with the loser of Glenmore/ Bridge.

Shamrocks had 11 different scorers and their movement was impressive at times. Eoin Cody at centre forward gets him more involved. Brian Cody scored 2-1. Niall Shortall took on his man more than normal. TJ set up 2 goals, his vision and touch for the first goal was sublime.

Concerns for Shamrocks are Joey Holden and TJ slowing down and their subs bench. Dean Mason mishandled to let in a goal

Lisdowney at least showed fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

This group is so tight. Clara have lost by 1 and 2 points and won by 2 points. Similar with ballycallan, probably should have won or drawn the 2 matches they lost. Hard one to take losing like that to their neighbors. Took a long time for thomastown to shake off mullinavat.

Village had a walk in the park ( no pun intended) today. Huge win for mooncoin coming from behind with 14 men to pip dunnamaggin. Their panel is getting stronger every week. Rower had to come with a late run to see off the fenians with eoin Lyng getting a good goal. They're not really firing though

Comer-Ballycallan and Mullinavat-Clara are basically relegation matches following yesterdays surprise win for Comer, although Mullinavat will likely stay ahead of Ballycallan if they finish on the same points due to their big win over Comer on the first day. If any team gets a result against Tullaroan it could drag them back into the mix but they should be safe due to the remaining match-ups. At the moment, I'd have to fancy Mullinavat and Comer to stay out of relegation. I think Mullinavat have too much for Clara and Comer have the wind in their sails now compared to Ballycallan who just can't seem to get over the line in games.

Mullinavat will be kicking themselves after the last 2 games 2 big leads squandered they could very easily be in a very different position

Yes massive leads. Clara also lead going into the last 5 mins of the last two games so there you have 3 teams that will be disappointed to be in their positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kinghenry1

At the Tullogher ,martins game good win for Tullogher after a very bad first half.They bought on Marty Murphy after half time and the whole game changed after he goaled with martins having no answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭WibblyWobblyWonderman

Unfortunately didn’t get to watch much this weekend really, but I’ll try catch up during the week.

Caught the end of Carrickshock and St. Lachtains only. Mick Rice and Eanna Martin were impressive off the bench. Carrickshock really benefited from Rice’s experience, had an air of calm about him and used the ball well. Martin stuck over 3 nice points and used the ball well also. Eoin O Neill apparently played well and looked good from what I saw. Young Franks looks to be a great bit of stuff too. SL looked a bit blunt up front today, Carrickshock defence was tenacious and really shut SL down. Can’t say anyone in particular looked impressive for SL, Brennan in goal and Kennedy centre back were on a lot of ball and probably were the better players for SL in my limited viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Looks like martins and b& w nailed on for bottom 2, with maybe fenians and lachtaíns in the other group. Carrickshock have made big strides this year. Rice and éanna Martin with big impact off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭conor05

Michael Rice is 41 and Eanna Martin is 39 fair play to the lads they must be very disciplined with their diets and fitness to still be playing at that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Shirleysrumbler

Apart from fitness ,Rice's stats have always been"Off the Charts".I saw some of his KK numbers C2009 to 11 . Most plays per game, highest percentage execution & above all both his plays and assists were most productive . He was way ahead of Henry,Hogan E Brennan,Cha,R Power & Larkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Interesting to see players like Eoin Lyng and Joe Fitzpatrick playing in the forwards for their clubs and doing really well, both really good hurler who played half back at underage for Kilkenny but maybe lacking a bit of pace for senior at half back would they be worth a try in the forwards for KK? They are both very skillful and good ball strikers and still very young.

I think lyng has been really good for the rower this year and definetly needs more league time next year not sure where you d play him though as you say pace might be an issue apart from beirne from glenmore most of the players showing up well in games have been defenders or midfielders which would be a bit of a worry for kk going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Shirleysrumbler

It's amazing that Dmaggin haven't produced an "OK" forward since Kenny O Shea(Arguably more Windgap than Dunnmaggin). Eoghan Lyng might be a tad slow OK.I doubt Beirne will commit to KK setup as he's probably destined for "Greatness" like his dad in the business world. Word around Glenmore was that to get his senior medal he might have moved to Boro last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Nedflanders02

It would be great if they could get Berine onto the panel but I know he turned down a call up last year because of the way things went when he was on the extended panel, Paul Cody of Clara is in a similar mindset also. Both, in my opinion, would be very useful additions to the panel.