Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Lot of holding going on for sure, Cillain Hackett's jersey was tested all night. Yeh acknowledged they're short a few but so are the Bridge, 4/5 regulars as well and wouldn't have near the depth of the Boro.

Thomastown appear to be at their ease here against Comer.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Marrooned

ye Chaz but we have to blood them quickly which isn’t ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭WibblyWobblyWonderman

Dunnamaggin 1-24 v St. Martins 2-12

Game of 2 halves, affected by a strong breeze out in Tullaroan. In the first half SM started very strongly with two early goals and looked tigerish all over the field. Brian Byrne had a great battle with Joe Fitz arc full back and kept him quiet. Shane Kinsella and Donal Shore were sweeping up ball midfield. Sean Hunt and Brian Cody looked dangerous in the forwards. Dunnamaggin looked rattled, especially up front, and looked to still have a few cobwebs to blow off after their game against B&Ws last week. 2-09 to 0-10 at HT to SM.

2nd half was a different game. Dunnamaggin looked a different team in the 2nd half. Totally dominated proceedings. Eoin Kearney dominated, as he did in the first half, along Pierce Costello in the half back line. Ray Cody in midfield got on a lot more ball. Ross O’Neill in the half forward line knocked a few over and Joe Fitz in full forward took control of his battle with Brian Byrne. Dunnamaggin moved the ball well, but their defensive unit in the second half looked impressive and if they can maintain that, they’ll be tough to beat. Special mention to Noah Cahill who came on corner forward and scores 3 points I think. Small in stature but plays well above his size.

SM will take positives from their 1st half and you would’ve questioned why they’re one of the favourites to go down, but their 2nd half probably answered those questions. They only scored 3 points in the second half and looked like their backs were hitting the ball against the wall with how quickly it was coming back down.

I’ll be interested to see how Dunnamaggin fare in the rest of their group games with Mooncoin, Tullogher and James Stephens still to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭neverbet

Don't need to be a Co Board apologist to have a different opinion to you. That carry on has been going on for years. Doesn't make it right but blame lies primarily with clubs in my opinion, and posters are welcome to agree or disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Great victory for glenmore over ballyhale. They'll be thrilled with that and will give them a good lift going to the next few weeks. They seem to have 1 or 2 young lads coming into the team every year like Jason Cody and dollard.

Ballyhale maybe not as good as they looked v the bridge. Henry will question the hunger and appetite for the battle when the going got tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nippy corner foward

Great win for glenmore and billy reid and alyward to come back but not many will remember this in a few weeks time. Glenmore have added a few good young lads but we must remember its the 2nd round and Glenmore were at home. Shamrocks will be at the business end when they get lads bedded in and everyone back. Huge coup for henry getting david herity involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Could Herity and Shefflin be getting together early with an aim of slipping into the county job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Village87

Surely only one reason Henry came back to the Shamrocks job and that is a stepping stone for the Kilkenny job. Looks like Herity will be on his coaching ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭lob it in

One thing I've noticed in the first two rounds so far are the crowds that are at the matches absolutely unreal,and then you'd wonder why the support for the various county teams is not as strong as it once was.

A pity this Saturday that Tullaroan/Ballycallan and Dicksboro and O loughlins are clashing I'd say alot of people would have liked to see both those matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Cost a factor I'd imagine, 1 of worst decisions from GAA in recent times is charging for u16s for the national league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Takeyourpoints

The 5 euro in definitely helps for getting crowds to turn up. While I still go to county matches the price is definitely putting me off traveling to away games and any more price increases I might have to stop. I'm a club before county man and being able to go to four club matches for the same price as one Allianz league match is great. From talking to other people, they hold a lot of the same sentiments.

Agreed regarding the two matches at the same time. Tullaroan v Ballycallan on Friday evening would be a great way to start the weekend and give everyone a chance to go into the park to watch a battle between two of the favourites on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭mercury16

Henry obviously was the better player, but when it comes to mgmt, coaching, selecting, …. Has Herrity the better record ?

Either way, don’t think Henry should get the kk job, I don’t think he’s suited to it. An amazing player, one of the best ever, but that doesn’t translate to mgmt, which requires difficult skills and abilities.

Crowds are absolutely amazing, it beggars belief. Having these matches in August is great also, real summer weather. The split season is great for club followers.

All kinds of talk at the matches last two weeks. Names like tommy walsh,mick fennelly,eddie brennan,richie power and henry getting involved in u17 and u20 We really need to try get them lads involved imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭JohnCougar

County Board meeting tonight, what are the chances on Derek Lyng being given another 3 years??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭jamesbond2022

He ll be given 2 years with option of a 3rd and selectors to be announced in a few weeks time or some sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Nedflanders02

My guess is that nothing will happen tonight, which would in turn all but confirm Derek is returning and he will be ratified at the October meeting when the U20 and minor managers are in place, I think they will all positions will be ratified on the one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭droppingball

Give me the club games before the inter county every day of the week. Allianz league is totally experimental pre season tournament and leinster is a joke.

Majority of the club matches have been full blooded affairs and they all matter. Great coverage from clubber and the radio coverage is much improved meaning interest is higher than ever.

All clubs have very professional set ups now and clubs playing good brand of hurling. Seems to be pundits who complain most about split season and they are ones who benefit most. Club players are key to whole association and deserve a good crack at things. Although 4 games in a rownis probably a bit much the players seem to relish it.

Duplicate Post now deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭lob it in

Agree ref the radio coverage before covid KCLR use to only broadcast the semi finals and the finals in Intermediate and Senior and the Junior final only.Now its wall to wall coverage which is great, in fairness to the Kilkenny community radio station they have always had great coverage and forced KCLR to up their game.Clubber is a great service also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

For context for 2 adults and 2 kids to go to a national league game in 2017 cost €24, in 2025 it was €50.

And teams aren't taking it seriously now either, and then a bad leinster league, any wonder it's a hard sell these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 NJoyKkGAA

Agree. Shefflin was, few can deny, a great player for club and county. Getting better on media and suited to that. Not sure if suited to county. Didn’t work out in Galway. No prior county experience at underage. Maybe starting with underage is way to go. Don’t think now is his time whether or not Lyng stays or goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Jaysus lads Galway are a basket case and I wouldn’t be judging him on that I think he’s ideally suited for either the minor or the U20 roll. I’m sure he would surround himself with good people. On the myth that he inherited a great Shamrocks team , I don’t think he did. If you go back to all the trouble they had with that U21 team then it should become clear that it was far from a winning team at that stage.

Talks of eddie brennan being added to the senior backroom and henry to be appointed u20 manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Yeah nobody wins a club all Ireland without being a damn good manager so he deserves credit for that. But it is pretty clear that Galway went backwards under him, and you can't take credit for the good without taking flak for the bad. Galway isn't all on him, though, and a bounce of a ball in the wrong direction is all there was between him and a leinster championship that they definitely could have built on. Not sure what people in thomastown think of his stint there. Given what happened after, you'd have to say anything other than a win at intermediate was not a success, but it's not always that simple.

I would say though, if he wins the county with ballyhale again you couldn't say he just lucked into it, the team is not what it was a few years back, as formidable as they still are.

Still, Brian Hogan for me should be getting more mentions as a potential kk manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭mercury16

if he won with Thomastown I’d have given him a lot more credit. But he didn’t, and he had the best intermediate side around by a distance.
    He might in time be a very good No 2, but he’s not a manger in my opinion.

However, one thing is for sure, Lyng’s time as kk senior manager is up, the team have regressed under him. Not just talent wise, but sheer fighting spirit that all Cody sides had has fallen away under him.,The last two all Ireland’s … we could have won had we not fallen away mentally, in games. That is solely down to him.
    if the county board renews him, it says a lot about the county board we have. Time for them to go as well.

We all know how poor the county board have being. The state of the dump as a training facility is also on par with the worst in the country hence why kk often have to go to cw to train.Theres no point complaining about spending money when it should of being done 10 years ago.The re appointments of poor managements and chairmen isnt the fault of the people that are nominated. Its more often just convenient.Where else would you see a senior manager allowed to stay on because he wants to. Kk clearly regressed and only molloy and stephen donnelly have being introduced. We wont find a more passionate kk man than derek or previous underage managers but alot of them just havent being good enough.Derek has full backing from the county board this bit i know. We wont see it but a huge root and branch is overdue. The kk hurling pod had it that eddie brennan is going in as a foward coach. Its a big few weeks for pj and co but the talk around the club matches was some of the former greats are getting involved with underage teams. Henry with the u20 and names like mick fennelly,richie power and tommy walsh involved at grades aswell. If henry does go in with u20 then its very possible himself and herity could be involved with the seniors in a few years time. Herity linking up with henry at the shamrocks was a suprise. The kk senior job is still an attractive job but im not in favour of managements staying on with little competition. A review on the last 3 years will tell anyone this team has regressed and very little added. Eddie joining the seniors would generate a bit of a buzz along with henry at u20. Was anyone at the county board meeting last night? Nearly want to be appointing underage managements now so they can see some club games.

The dump is a big problem. Most of the intense County training is now done between November to March, we do not have the facilities to accommodate this. The dump gets waterlogged when it rains leaving the pitches unplayable for large parts of winter. It must be costing the county board a fortune paying Carlow to facilitate our underage and senior teams during winter. The dump also has poor facilities for video analysis, catering, meeting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Nedflanders02

All that was said re the U20/U17 jobs was that they are in talks with people but nothing finalised yet, as expected nothing mentioned with regards the senior job. The main things last night, in fairness equally as important managers positions, was that they have set up a new infrastructure and finance committee tasked with developing the new facility in Dunmore and the continued upkeep and enhancements to Nowlan Park, this committee is headed by David Beirne and will report back to the management committee and the county board every 3 months to outline progress, plans and any difficulties faced. The other thing from last night was a report from the demographics committee, which was very interesting about the numbers in clubs, challenges they're facing for both an increase and decrease in numbers and the infrastructure (or lack of) for clubs and schools. One thing that stood out for me was that there is 2/3 new secondary schools planned to be built over the coming years but there is a good chance of there being no gaa pitches included in the planning and building of these schools. Also a talk that will be need to be had for the setting up of a 4th club withing the city, on the western side of the city. They are planning to have a demographics report issued every year with the scope of the committee widening to also include football, LGFA and camogie. Every club has been issued with their own demographics report and to be fair seems like a fairly detailed scope of work undertaken by the committee. I'd have been as critical of the CB as most here but in the committee's that have been set up and undertaken by people not in the CB the work has been top class, hopefully in time some of these people may look to go for the top job in the board also.