Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭neverbet

Thank you, doesn't appear to me that there is as much sitting on hands as people would have you believe. It appears jobs that require expertise are being delegated to the right people. If only those that sit on the ditch and criticise would do something/ anything constructive to help. It's on us all, not just Them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Lets hope they take their time and interview a wide selection of people even if some of them are not interested. Feedback is required. I would hope anyone interetsed in the jobs at underage would be attending matches. Re the senior is interesting that they could not say if Lyng is staying or if they have offered him anothe rcontract. This will only lead to more speculation. If he has agreed to stay on its best to say he is staying on and maybe just say he is working on his backroom team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I would have my doubts about the current CB set up but in the chairman's defence he did say that he new committee was put in place as they had the expertise in these areas where he didn't, the committee is made up of people from a corporate, construction, planning, legal and finance background and I'd be far happier to see people like this in charge with developing this project than volunteers trying their best. Also, the chairman said something last night that led me to believe he definitely reads this thread so at least this is a bit of positivity towards him 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,354 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Re Thomastown.

And then they became Senior champions soon after.

So did they do that because of Henry's input for the year, or did it show what Henry should have done with them?

Angles, it depends on your own angle..

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭JohnCougar

When Brian Cody was appointed in 1998 as manager he was 44/45 years of age. The only senior managerial experience he had was with James Stephens and getting them to the 1996 Co. Final against Gowran which they should have won. Henry is 46 now and has more senior managerial experience than what Brian Cody had when he took over. I think Henry will be a great Kilkenny manager in time and will bring in the right people with him.

If Liam Cahill can go to Waterford for 2/3 years and is then welcomed back to manage Tipperary, surely people here will have to get over the fact Henry went to Galway, to allow him back into the fold here.

I would have no problem with Shefflin managing any KK team. I am not sure he would do a better job than Lyng. But as you say the backroom team is just as important if not more than the manager himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Village87

Agree completely, all was not rosy in the camp before he led Shamrocks to 2 club all Irelands, which is an amazing achievement. His trainings are apparently excellent, one thing he did say on the last Sunday Game which i was happy to hear was that he was giving Cahill loads of credit for his vocals and passion on the side-line, something Kilkenny badly need, some passion on the line. It is all very subdued Minor, u20 and senior last few years. He is a good speaker has a bit of character and will surround himself with the best. His Galway team put up a massive performance v Limerick in his first year. I would give him the benefit of the doubt the last few years in Galway as they are literally a bunch of donkeys. I would love Henry to step in at u20 try win an All Ireland and potentially move up to senior.

I would have no problem if he became senior manager. Be better if he took over the U20 IMO as i think he would be inspirational to that team. I think one of Lyngs biggest negatives is the sideline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Have to say I'd agree wholeheartedly with this. If we're doubting arguably the greatest leader on a field we've ever produced, and the most decorated hurler of all time, then it's all a cod. Brian Cody in his pomp wouldn't have solved the car crash that is Galway hurling.

The idea of Henry and Tommy going in with a hugely important group of 20's for the next couple of years is massively appealing. I'd argue it's a more important job than Senior is at the moment given the talent that's there and God knows we will need all of it over the next decade.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭kentu

On the Shamrocks do they have many more to come back I wonder??

Talk of Joey Cuddihy but not sure of full story there. Adrian Mullen it seems has to be minded with his injury, hopefully he gets back in next game or 2. His brother Darren is home from Australia too but maybe his body breaking down so much is stopping a return, a lovely player to watch, would be great to see him back where possible.

Wouldn't rule out a County Final win obviously but they are not at the level even depth wise compared to 4 or 5 years ago. Some of their forwards would struggle to break on a lot of other senior teams imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Rebelside

Cahill may not be a good comparison. Prior to going to Waterford he had been underage manager for 6 years, winning minor, U21 & U20 All Irelands. He had also been a selector on a previous AI winning minor team. No matter what happened he had serious cred in the bank in Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭kk.man

I don't know about Cahill v Shefflin comparison. The last word before the restart of second half in the all ireland was Shefflins. He said no way are tipp going to win the game with a two man full forward line. They did and won it well. Cahill thinking outside the box in both all ireland and semi brought Tipperary their all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I see the junior A final is down for Sunday between carrickshock and tullaroan. Carrickshock playing st lachtains in the intermidiate on Sunday also. Surely that won't happen.

If it does the Co. board deserve every bit of criticism they get. I mean, what's the mad rush to play these games off as quickly as possible? Not even mid August and pitches will be in great condition for another 6 weeks at the very least.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 terracedgarden

Just had a look over all the senior venues and Glenmore were the only team to have a home game. This was v Shamrocks. Home and away agreement perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Madness there seems to be no type of foresight when setting these fixtures it’s the best time of year for hurling and there in a savage rush to run everything off players are going flat out 4 weeks in a row a lot of players would be involved in junior panels and there senior teams panels and playing 2 games in 3 days never mind 2 games in the one day

Plus I’d say some refs are doing 3 games in 3-4 days also

Not sure why it all needs to condensed so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Rega

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭neverbet

Bunch of donkeys, you may live to regret saying that. In fact there's no need for it. They will still be our biggest challenger in Leinster in '26. Respect for the opposition has always been a given in this county. Fact is the Henry experiment didn't work in Galway, no silverware with what was considered at the time a golden generation of young talent. However that is in the past ,and they like us have moved on. If Henry is appointed our under 20 manager for '26 best of luck to him and his management. I have said on this forum numerous times the under 20s imo is where we will find the talent needed to bolster our senior team for the next few years.

Post edited by neverbet on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

No wonder there's so many injuries with the amount of games. Lads playing 3 games in 7 days is a recipe for disaster especially with the physicality of hurling nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭mercury16

firstly, Henry and Lyng are no Cody or Cahill.
    Cahill before he became an I recount manager had managed u derange teams to all Ireland’s and more that that, won all Ireland’s when till had the weaker side. ( the cork vs tipp U-20 all Ireland)
    our lads are lucky to get an all Ireland when they have by far the stronger side.

Cahill is closer to Cody in mgmt style and temperament and in the modern game that’s what’s needed in a manger. This is professional and elite sport in everything but name.

Regarding Henry, yes, he did it at his own club, but lads were there before him and done well too and there as well after him and win as well. The players at that club and the players own drive won a lot of that.
    When he went to another club or team that had good players what happened, eg Thomastown and Galway? He’s not the man for this.
    Neither him or Lyng are, they both want to be, there both great servants to kk, as players, but managing sides is different and they don’t have it.

For Henry to have any chance of it, he should be made manage development sides, then minors, U-20s only then seniors. He should have to earn the right for the job. You don’t earn it by letting kk there when they come calling and going to another county and then saying you have that experience from another county and look for the senior job. Nope, back to the start with ye.

Lyngs time is up, I hope to God he sees that. You don’t get this job because you’d like to keep going, when you have been there for three years and the team have not won it and regressed. Time to look elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 nippy corner foward

The county board would seriously have to be questioned if derek was allowed to stay on because he wants to despite the team regressing.Derek has full backing of the county board. He would of being told to step down if they werent happy. Unfortunately this is where the problem lies and why poor underage managers were re appointed. Any lads ive met at the clubs matches all think its stale and very predictable. Eddie brennan would generate a bit of a stir but definitely the backroom needs a shake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Marrooned

talks about splitting the city into a fourth club , that’s alright but if it’s the western environs then it seems only the Boro would be split and that’s hardly fair. No mention of splitting the city when Loughboy was built in the eighties or Lintown east of the city in the 2,000’s. If it is done will the new club be provided with a home seen as they are struggling to provide the county with a training facility.

I'd disagree that Henry had it easy coming in as Shamrocks manager in 2018, he came into a situation that could have turned toxic very easy and he deserves a lot of credit for helping to smooth. It's easy to look at the success that came after and say that any one could have done it but when you look at the team Henry took over it was a very young team with 7/8 players under 21/22. In his year with Thomastown they were very unlucky in the semi final against Glenmore and should have had a penalty at the end if that game to win it. In his time with Galway the first year they played well and were very unlucky to lose to Limerick in the semi final, the second year they should have won the Leinster final but for Cillian Buckley's last second goal, they ran out of steam after a good first half against Limerick in the semi final but not a disaster of a year by any stretch. Fair enough his last year with Galway didn't go well but when you look at how Galway were under O'Donoghue this year I'm not sure all the problems were on Henry's side. I think if Henry is interested in taking over the U20 team next year we should be delighted that someone of that stature and caliber is interested in helping develop our younger players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Village87

I would prefer Henry to Eddie big time, Eddie could not beat Westmeath u21 in championship and the whole thing was a fiasco, the set up, free takers calling player out on twitter. Let Eddie keep talking in the papers and doing his club and media gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

It's not the western environs it's the Boro (as you know) and I think that type of wording is very important to dispel. When I looked at the clubs back in 2016 based on my map of the clubs. The Boro had the smallest population by quite a margin of the 3 city clubs.

James Stephens 10,753

OLG 10,062

Dicksboro 7,584

The catchment area for the clubs is a bit different

OLG 22.95 sq/miles

James Stephens and Dicksboro, practically equal at 12.96 sq/miles each.

Obviously the population in the Boro will increase with the amount of houses being built on that side of town In reality it will only be catching up with our city rivals. The Boro will likely not see an increase in playing numbers for at least 10 years. Many of the people moving into these houses will have home club allegiances and it's only with the arrival of children who might go to the CBS/Pres or Canices that the numbers will start to filter into the Boro.

I'm helping out with the U7's in the Boro at the minute we have 15 young lads the Village and OLG both have 30+ at the same age group. This is only a snap shot and can be flipped on it's head depending on different years. I would say the city clubs need bigger numbers as there is more distractions and a lot of players are lost to other sports and activities.

As I said before if you look at a town like Portlaoise it has one club for a population basically the same sizes as Kilkenny. The difference is the country clubs boundaries come much closer to Portlaoise as far as I know and also many players from the town play with the country clubs.

Rather than trying to set up a 4th city club at huge expense, in a location that already has allegiances and history with it's existing club/clubs in the city. Trying to raise volunteers and establish a culture and passion for the club would be very hard. I think it would make more sense to allow city players to more easily move to the surrounding clubs- GBC, Threecastles/St Lactains, Conahy, St Martins, Clara, Bennettsbridge, Danesfort.

In reality (cost wise) to set up a 4th city club it would have to be a good distance from town, similar to the James Stephens facility on the Kells Rd or even further. If kids have to be driven that far from town anyway why not go that bit further and use the existing clubs resources, dressing rooms, pitches etc.

Of the clubs mentioned above Threecastles would be a prime candidate to get a lot of help. They have room to grow their pitches are relatively close to town (as are Danesfort and Clara) and of all the clubs their the one that struggles most for numbers.

Trying this before spending many millions "creating" a club where few will want it would make more sense. Threecastles have a great history and a passionate group involved and more support somewhere like that would make more sense to me than making a 4th city team.

I think the backroom team is key to any success and unfortunately Derek's backroom team have not been good enough over the past three years with even TJ questioning the quality of training sessions at times. The level of fitness, athletism, speed and coaching levels in our group is way behind the likes of Tipperary and Cork. Even looking at Kerry in the football, David Clifford, Joe O'Connor and Gavin White looked like supreme athletes compared to our players.

100% correct here on a 4th club in the city. There is no appetite in the city for a 4th club and the only ones that bring it up are in pubs and who don't volunteer in any club. All three city clubs find it very hard every year to get people to volunteer and coach at underage levels.

The idea of allowing players from the city clubs going back to their parents club or the clubs mentioned above has to be looked at in order to help these clubs survive in the future. I say this because of the lack of housing being built in Graigue Ballycallan, Threecastles, Bennettsbridge, Conahy, Clara, Castlecomer will have an impact on playing numbers in these areas and more in the years to come.

Just to clarify what was said at the meeting on Monday, there are no plans to start a new club in the city, the comments around the 4th club were in connection with the data they had where they expect the population of the city to increase by 10/11k over the next 10 years and that they felt maybe a discussion with regards to a new club should be had, in fairness to them they did also say that a discussion regarding allowing players in the city with connections to country clubs be allowed move out and play with them also and a discussion around changing bye laws etc to account for this. I think the report is their to start having these discussions with clubs/stakeholders now and start planning now rather than wait till there is a problem further down the road.

IMO for KK to win an all ireland with the current squad of players available we need to have the best sideline. I personally dont see that with the current manager or anyone being linked with the job either. This applies to all grades. Tipp won the AI this year on the sideline. We can all talk a good game like Shefflin on the Sunday Game but can he or anyone else deliver is the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭lob it in

Thomastown we're six points down with one minute to go when the penalty incident happened hardly a penalty to win it.Glenmoe hurled Thomastown off the field that day if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭droppingball

Glenmore hurled us off the field that day but it was back to three when that free should have been given, they were 6 down but had reeled them in a bit. Glenmore more than deserved the win though. We had struggled at centre back for years and the balance was off with where lads were playing. Henry changed the mentality in the players and actually brought in Noel Doherty and Sean Kelly who were the difference makers in the end along with the u21 team that won were exceptional.

Henry being announce as Galway manager before that match was a nightmare when it came to timing. It would have been interesting to see what Henry would have achieved if he had stayed on.

Gut feeling is Noel Doherty was the ideal man to get the minds right after a disaster few years and Sean Kelly couldn't have drilled them any better. It took Sean Kelly 18 months to get them playing the way they play now, using the ball the right way and staying cool but it's a good brand of hurling.

Not sure if you could write Henry off on just Thomastown is the point. The choice to take on Galway was a risk as they can be a basket case. There is a slight tail on the Ballyhale team now so it is a more difficult job than you would think. Injuries could effect that panel more than most of the other front runners as panel depth is not there.