Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,754 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think its the default Vanilla option, kicks in every now and then

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

….

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

It's the report button. Vanilla must've made more changes and it's now showing there instead of where it was before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,117 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

IMG_4230.jpeg

new lens cleaner. The 500ml Coke for perspective…No wonder the cleaner was as I thought reasonably priced, its tiny. Got loads of cloths and wipes too in the bundle but jeez was mainly the spray I was after..have cloths. 🫤. Rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Is it me or does every Facebook friend suggestion seem like the unhinged profile pic of an escaped lunatic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Archeron

Went to get a beard trim this morning and when the barber was finished said 'now you have big long face, like a giraffe with a beard'.

He's a nice guy so may have meant it as a compliment but I'm struggling to see how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Facebook posts have become one big ad after another, now they expect me to wait and watch an ad before I can continue scrolling! I only use it to keep in touch/spy on a few relatives abroad, not sure why I bother

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Take it like this: he said you're a work of art, he compared you to a Modigliani.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,944 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Couples who think they've they've the best wedding ever.

They'll say the guests came up and told them how great it was.

It's something guests do at weddings.

They aren't going to come up to you and tell you everything was terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I was looking for a particular T shirt last night, couldn't find it TA

I was looking for something completely different a few minutes ago and there it was mostly hidden but it's a bright colour not hard to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

I remember back in the day when you first signed up to Boards @New Home. You use to play the 'Name That Art' game on the old Art and Architecture forum with Oblomov (RIP) myself and a few others before they deleted the whole thing. There was an awful lot of banter and creativity went into the making of that thread. Such a shame it can't still be accessed in some aspect. I'd love to be able to browse through its pages again.

That's a blast from the past... I had forgotten about it! Are you sure it's not just buried somewhere, rather than having been deleted? I'll see if I can find it again!

EDIT: Found it!

It was in CVPL. Unfortunately, most of the pictures are no longer visible.

There was a couple of young sparrows sort of hanging around my kitchen window. I put out a few crumbs now and again and they pick away.

Unfortunately some of the voracious local starlings have discovered them so the sparrows don't get much of a look in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭New Scottman

Inflexible work deadlines

I have to take Monday off to bring a family member to a rescheduled hospital appointment. My boss says "You can take it as a day's annual leave but I still want X report on my desk by Tuesday lunchtime"

So I have to do unpaid overtime this weekend to get the poxy report finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Used to have a Robin on the windowsill that would loose his mind over cheese bits. It was like Christmas and Birthday had come together. If you kept still he'd come in and hop around the kitchen floor picking crumbs. Sometimes you'd hear tapping at the window,yer man looking for more cheese.

Disappeared after a few weeks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

Yes, that was a later reincarnation of the original game. It never took off that well on the CVPL thread. We'd been playing 'Name That Art' as an offshoot of 'Name That Architecture' back from the early days of Boards.ie. The whole Art and Architecture forum was deleted to free-up some space on the servers, as far as I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭506972617465

People who refuse to acknowledge that the footpath isn't wide enough for four people: the world does not revolve around you. Random people should not have to step onto the road just to accommodate you and your girlfriend holding hands. Learn to walk in single file or FOff.

Deluded people - mainly girls - who act like they are supermodels or celebrities and treat everyone else like background characters - here's one for you, luv: you are not the main character. Put down the phone. Uninstall TikTok and Instagram. Stop performing for a non-existent camera and start living in the real world. Nobody cares about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,835 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That Coldplay big screen thing stopped been funny at this stage

(Pardon the pun)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,117 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Search option on the site of my local pharmacy chain is shot, blank screen for everything. Zero coming through the menus too. Boasting they’re the largest nationwide Irish chain of pharmacies, 115 in the country, well, 48 hours since i began checking, site still fûcked 💀

Boots on the other hand is working but if I go to the nearest one its about a 90 minute round trip when you factor in going there, parking, walking through the shopping centre to the shop, buying and getting out and home.

Healthcare retailer of that size and can’t run a website…. 🤌🏻

I actually really dislike it.

Yes, those people shouldn't have done what they did.

However those people have kids/etc and it's tough enough on them without the World making a joke out of it.

There's also the ones who think it's great for the divorce courts to have evidence and their not much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

They deserve it for going to Coldplay in the first place! Seriously though if they reacted more casually they might have got away with it. Also if people are going to have an affair isn’t it smarter to do so discreetly? Cameras everywhere these days. Hard luck they got caught. And it is now online forever which is the worst part for them. They are not short of a few bob so they will be alright long term.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Garage forecourt getting petrol (fairly busy) and I could see a fella casually looking at his phone in the space beside the fuel. I decided not to “beep” just because I felt benevolent and queued up behind another car. In the 10 minutes I was queuing yer man was still on the phone completely and utterly oblivious to his surroundings, and anyone else.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

I don't really care about them really.

I don't know what they were thinking tough being so public about it..

Neighbour whose wife still insists feeding seagulls. Loves loads of tacky ornaments in their garden. Rabbits, toads, badgers frogs, windmills, ladybirds, cats dogs etc..
    Himself obviously instructed by herself. Put six of the fecking things on the dividing wall with my front garden. It was not just the sight of the awful stuff on the wall, but the neck of it considering their past attitude. Never even asked me or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Their company sacked them apparently for unbecoming behaviour.

They really need better employment laws in the States.

How fashion trends change. A few years back if you went out in New Balance runners and socks pulled up you'd have been a grandad and now it's the hight of fashion.

1000030965.jpg

Bring back white Reebok boots and slouch socks or at least legwarmers!