Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

1338339340341342344»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,639 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Seeing the U 20 Final result tonight it`s difficult not to believe that is one we left behind us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

I watched the game and the score line should flatter the winners.

Anyway, any rumours as to who is back or who might be out for Sunday?

Do we risk Patton? Is Mogan fit enough for 70? What of McGonagle, McMenamin, McGee.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Mogan looked injured coming on last week and stank of having no other options due to injuries. He was moving around the wing half forward area and looked unable to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭agfasfos

Any idea about the attendance next Sunday, it's not being televised so I hope the Donegal supporters travel in big numbers, Cavan folk will be on a high after the Mayo match. Still can't figure out what would be the better result from our point of view in the Tyrone V Mayo tie. ?

The stand looked sold out on Wednesday but terrace available.

Only 1 result really matters, ours. But if Mayo can't win at the weekend it's hard to see us winning the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

McGee, McGonagle and NOD all out for Sunday. Patton named to start.

I was wondering why no NOD the last day.

We'll see if that team starts.

Caolan McColgan seems to have fallen way down. Club championship and then injury I suppose.

McColgan is back on the bench and a good option to have.

NOD was injured in the warm up apparently.

I think we should skip the warm up from here on.

All or nothing tomorrow now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Didn't think top of the table would be possible after last week, great result for us this evening. Now we need to take the opportunity presented by it.

Ball is back in our court but we need to see 2 good performances.

Actually it's not really.

I wish I was more confident.

As the only unbeaten team right now it`s in the Cavan court. That`s bound to give them a lift for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭agfasfos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,852 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Not quite? Beat Cavan and if Tyrone beat them (which you would expect them to) then Donegal would have 3rd on head to head if we lose to Mayo?

I said here after the Tyrone game that one of the major disappointments to me was that we lost to a poor enough Tyrone team, and their result tonight wouldn`t change my mind on that. Hopefully for us it was ust a blip and we can beat Cavan tomorrow, but their tails will be well up after tonights result.

After that I think there is a very good chance of Cavan beating Tyrone so if we were to win tomorrow and beat Mayo in the last group game we would top the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Feeling any more confident now? Pretty impressive response to the last day.

That was mighty. We were very flat until Cavan got Jim McGuinness involved.

Hard to see how Cavan can get any kind of result the next day. Assuming we can win of course.

Still, an excellent 2nd half. Roarty and Moore outstanding and Oisin still has it.

Playing on after the hooter to score that goal suggests they were told to take no prisoners in the 2nd half.

The reaction we all hoped for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Great win and 100% better performance by the team. Fair play to McGuinness in making the changes to the starting line up. Biggest improvement is how competitive we were for the kick outs. Adding numerical advantage to the middle third was critical. The fitness and energy levels were superb in the second half. The speed of transition was good although Cavan's resistance disintegrated midway through the second half. Looks like Mayo in Croke park as part of a double header. Hopefully McGee, Patton, and McGonigle will be fully fit. I wonder if Mogan and Ban Gallagher are still carrying injuries? They didn't look as if they were firing on all cylinders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Triboro

Who got motm?

Well, EBG just coming back from injury. And probably doesn't have the pace he used to.

Mogan not himself. But put in a good shift.

2 weeks now. Hopefully that helps a few.

SMM was very good in a limited time today. If we get McGonagle, McGee and NOD back it would be wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭piplip87

Lads a sickened Cavan man here but jesus that was a lesson in football today. Seeing Murphy in Brefini again kicking a score like his two pointer, you only have to applaud. Everything good about Donegal went through him.

To see one of the greats grace Brefini agian was a privilege.

Once again great supporters, good craic in Cavan Town pre and post match, the piper walking the terraces and in fairness the football ye played in the second half was incredible.

Go and win the fecking thing. Virginia will welcome ye back to Ulster as champions in a couple of months..

Ps beat Mayo and at least give us a chance to beat Meath or Monaghan again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

daire o'baoill is the biggest worry surely , finbar roarty and brendan mccoole are going to carry ye for years to come two superstars

Listened to the Ocean FM podcast there - far too much rambling by Martin Beag - but there was a clip from the McGuinness post match and he suggested all of Patton, McGonagle and McGee would be in the mix for Mayo. So, we'll see. Patton certainly looked ok yesterday but was only kicking from his hands.

Interesting also - he was clear that McColgan hasn't been injured. Dropped from squad. Good to see him back yesterday.

O'Baoill not really a concern for me anyway. Not injured as far as I know, not up to it.

The ceiling for Niall O'Donnell is higher and the likes of McGonagle and McGee more important for different reasons.

Most definitely. I was impressed that Jim had the steel to bench Dara and Oisin, and guess that he would have benched COD if NOD was fit, but the response from the trio after Tyrone was reassuring to say the least.

I just hoped Mulreany wasn’t as bad or worse, and he wasn’t. A great response psychologically from him after the results, where we were left with bereft of several of our high fielders.

I’ve found that the Donegal support aren’t hugely vocal at the best of times, but that is the loudest, most passionate crowd I’ve witnessed in all the years of attending matches. It was tense, box office, and definitely one I’d rewatch a few times had it been televised.

If I’m right in saying that we havn’t beaten Mayo in Championship since 2012, as they so often bully us in the physical stakes, the mental shot in the arm a win in the next game could provide the setup, may be invaluable heading into the latter stages.

We’re still light on the bench, and it’ll without question require bolstering further for next year, and I’d worry that our club scene is devoid of forwards that can win their own ball, drop the shoulder and consistently score.