Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I think you are being over-optimistic in thinking that Mayo will beat Tyrone in Tyrone. What real evidence is there that Mayo have the skills, scoring power, strength to defeat Tyrone. Going into these matches, I think we can be blinded by the green and red mist, and the feeling that Mayo being Mayo will turn it on when needed. But I feel that right now we do not have that kind of team that will just put together a performance that will get us over a certain line to move on to a further round. I think the team seems very mentally fragile. And yesterday's performance and result will just have put another nail in the coffin.

I hope I am wrong, but I do not see them beating Tyrone or Donegal, unless the last round of matches (against Donegal). Both of these teams will be looking to top the group, to avoid having that 2nd v 3rd play-off, and give themselves an extra rest week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭ethical

Yes,supposedly JH.

I'd be worried though,(with the present crowd anyways) that they are putting more emphasis on mathematical ability and stats and science rather than on raw guts and courage and skill,which seems to be totally taken out of some of our lads who had it in spades once upon a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,610 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I can see what you are saying about being contenders, but it`s not as simple as Donegal going well this year due to the new rules. Donegal were very unlucky last year not to win Sam playing under the old rules.

With all the selectors and backroom staff nowadays I believe that county management teams assemble a panel of the 30+ most talented players in a county at the start of each year. Where they go from there is then down to management to devise a game plan they belive will get the utmost out of that panel and get the players to buy into it. A good county manager will often find that the talents of a player are being under utilised at club level with him being used as a work horse in a position for the clubs benifit when he has more to offer in a position that suits his talents better. For Jim McGuinness I know of a number of players where he has gone to their clubs asking them to use a player in the position he sees him most suited too that have not just benefited Donegal and the player, but often his club as well.

Mc Guinness Is a very good tactician, he can often spot a weakness that others haven`t and exploit it - Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final, Derry first round of last years championship etc. - but his real talent is not unearthing some new gems that previous management missed. It`s in taking two squads that were going nowhere in 2011 and in 2024, moulding those players to better use their talents, and getting the whole squad to buy into what he was doing.

In 2011 when he came in he straight away eyed up Tyrone, the then masters of Ulster, as the team to defeat if Donegal were going to win Ulster. He achieved that, and got the name of being a manager of a constipated team by mirroring Tyrone and making Donegal difficult to score against. They then went on to be laughed out of Croke Park as well as being relegated from Div 1 that year. Neither McGuinness nor the players gave a toss about either. The payers had the second most important medal to Ulster footballers in their pockets and knew they were over half way where they wanted to end up as All Ireland Champions. With their defensive structure in place they quietly worked away at their attack in Div 2 out of the headlights and blew every team away in the championship to the extent that they recieved 8 All Star awards and the 3 nominations for player of the year all being from Donegal.

For me anyway it is not as simple as moving from playing constipated football to playing to the new rulesand hoping it will work out. It`s about putting in place a structure that will get the best out of every player and getting the players to buy into it totally. To totally change your structure while playing in Div 1 is a difficult ask, especially with a team that may be somewhat demoralised. I have said before here if you are going to do that, then you are much better doing it in Div 2 under new management, and away from the headlights. If you want to point at McGuinness and Donegal as a demoralised team that found it`s mojo that is where they found theirs in both of McGuinness terms of management, and something I have no doubt, with the talent available too them, Mayo could easily emulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Westernview

Is there any evidence that Horan or any other former manager is chomping at the bit? Sounds like the usual rumour stuff that rears it's head when things are not going well.

Can't see what he would do a 3rd time that he didn't the first 2 times. Unless people are just happy for him to come in and raise the standard and maybe win a connaught title?

That actually seems like a reasonable target now but I can imagine the teeth gnashing again if he fell short of the AI again. Nah it needs a new face, someone in the mould of Horan version 1 but ideally an outsider with an AI medal or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I’d be one to normally give players and managers the benefit of the doubt but I think this crew has run its course now. It’s difficult to see where the next management crop will come from and of the 4 management tickets we had available for selection last time around, the one selected was still the most competent and attractive. That hasn’t changed.

I’d be in 2 minds about going down the route of Horan 3.0 but given its likely that again would be the best option. The point of him being part of the FRC is well made and another string to his bow. It really would depend on who else he could get to join him on the management team.

You’d wonder if Horan himself would be interested mind as coming to the end of his tenure last time around there were plenty that couldn’t wait to see the back of him. I do feel there’s an element of parochiality in some of that negativity too but it’s hard to ignore it at the same time.

Are there any other managers either inside or outside the county that would be interested in the role, that would be of suitable quality?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭hugeorange

I think people still imagine this squad to be the same as the 2010s group who could pull things out of the fire, even though most of that group are well gone now and their replacements are not remotely of the same standard, neither physically nor mentally.

As per the Cavan game, I'd like to say I was shocked but I wasn't. They're a mentally fragile group and when they lost the Galway game, I felt their race was run for the year. When McStay, Rochford etc leave, which I'm sure they will, whoever takes over will have their work cut out for them. I think we're in for a few very bad years and probably a drop in division next year as there is no obvious managerial successor that I feel would make much difference. I think some people have convinced themselves that McStay will get the sack and a new manager will be able to pull off some drastic changes and have us competing for Sam. I'm not so sure. Certainly they're capable of more than what was on display at the weekend and they look like a group that have downed tools, but they are also a limited group of players anyway, in my view. Lots of skills issues within that squad and a lack of strong personnel options in a number of positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I think we have plenty of players good enough to have us competitive at the QF/SF stage every year with one big exception - we're short a dominant ball winning midfielder. A good management team should be able to work around that deficiency though

That's pretty much what I've been saying for some time. About 4 or 5 new high calibre players needed regardless of who takes over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Whestsidestory

James Horan ,seriously ?... everyone can see we need a complete change in our style of play and some are suggesting bringing back a manager that was so tied to his ideology that he refused to take any sort of second opinion that may have helped in landing a All Ireland. Has everyone forgotten 2021, I certainly haven't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Horan had his chances and while he did an unbelievable job to shape us into a serious outfit, I just cannot see it working out with version 3.0 ….He would have to go back to the drawing board and re-do what he did in 2011. Has he the drive for this, does he believe the players are there……he would definitely improve us but I am just thinking he didn't get over the line back then, will he now as he is older, drive could be tempered off as I felt that in his second stint…. he laid down serious markers when he came in at the start but when he returned, he seemed more layed back.

An outsider might be what we need now. I would like to see a manager(young) come in who has won an all Ireland as a player and shown some promise as a manager…. only time will tell I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Throw in time for Tyrone v Mayo is 7pm which isn't very suitable I can imagine for many Mayo supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭eastie17

JH can’t come back unless he has learned to surround himself with good voices who he will listen to.
    hes too stubborn and walking around by yourself on the sideline when an all Ireland final is on the line is no good to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

It Is well within Mayos capability to scalp either Tyrone or donegal, beating both is a stretch however. It will be a long summer in Mayo without Croke Park to look forward to.

Not enough credit being given to Cavan, who were the width of a post away from promotion to Div1 this year and are as good or better than the likes of Roscommon, Meath, Louth at this point.

The championship jeopardy we all craved is here, but of course GAA will dismantle for 2026. A pity I think.

Didnt realise that those details had been announced yet - Sat evening I presume? Was hoping it'd be Sunday, unlikely I'll make the trip so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,274 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The championship jeopardy we all craved is here, but of course GAA will dismantle for 2026. A pity I think.

That's only a result of the draw, that a lot of decent teams got lumped together in Groups 1 and 4.

They are dead right to change it.

Minors play Offaly in the quarter final after they won Leinster yesterday evening

When and where is that game? Could do with a win after the last week of losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

It's planned to be the weekend of the 7th/8th of June for those QFs, but no details confirmed yet on where (neutral venue) or the specific date/time on when.

(With Semi-Finals on 21st/22nd June & Final on 5th/6th July.

Leinster Winner [which would be us if we beat Offaly] vs Munster Winner [so winner of Munster Winner vs Ulster Runner-Up] for the semi-final draw if we get that far. You'd expect Kerry to come through there, a couple of outstanding talents coming through for them. Gearoid White was close to the minor POTY last year and progressing strongly in his second year at the grade)

Kerry v Cork Munster Final is on Friday and Tyrone v Cavan Ulster Final is on Sunday, so a chance we might not hear much until those games are decided and they can make a call on venues for all 4 games for that weekend. The Tailteann 2nd/3rd place playoffs (with 2nd having home advantage) also on that weekend, so might make finding the venues that little bit slower than usual (personally I'd just restrict the choices to counties competing for Sam, but not sure if the CCCC would be as keen to speed up the choice as we might be).

A issue I'd have with Horan 3.0 is that the style of football he developed for Mayo was aggressive turnovers in the defense then hard running out of the back with support players following.

Many scores ended up coming from the half back line.

That may not be suitable in the new world.

We heard a lot about players being out on their feet from Jimmy McGuinness during the league.

On Sunday Martin Carney on the radio was imploring Mayo to kick a long ball into O'Shea every so often, as much to give the runners a break as anything else.

Is that running game sustainable in this day and age and going forward ?

Or is the game best played with fast ball kicked forward to the three forwards that you know are going to be in up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Is that running game sustainable in this day and age and going forward ?

According to James himself on the Examiner Gaelic Football Pod, no. Not even close.

Following the Mayo v Tyrone game in Castlebar he was quite damning on both sides trying to run everything (slowly, non-directly) through the hands. Both for the energy demands and the lack of efficiency it brings for scoring threat. A number of times since he'd have said the same thing, with a focus on it being a completely different game now but sides failing to look at the new opportunities available (at times I'd often wonder if it sounded like a job interview for a specific management role - though said while agreeing with nearly every word. Himself & Maurice Brosnan both provide some of the absolute best analysis around the game on the pod).

I wouldn't expect a Horanball 3.0, if it were to happen, to look too like 1.0 did. It'll need new answers to solve new problems.

Listening to James' comments on games/rules I'd expect it'd feature a more direct running game than we're seeing right now (the type of pods/clusters/support runners we're seeing Donegal/Galway/Armagh or Louth 20s doing) at times, but I'd expect it'd come with a much stronger focus on getting forwards into 1v1s quickly and very different movement/routes/vision/execution to enable that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭HBC08

Why would Horan be playing football from 10-15 years ago?

He was one of the main men in literally writing the new rules.I can't think of many better in the country nevermind the county to come up with ways to use them.

For one of the more reasonable posters on here that's a pretty naive comment.

In fairness to Horan, in his first term he probably went with the running style as he would have recognised the pace and athleticism of his back line as well as the limitations in the forward line. So he used the backs to bolster the attack. Where he fell down was in not making the right decisions 'in game' and seemingly not listening to advice as already mentioned by eastie17.

But he has done his stint twice on the line and i dont see him returning. Where he would be very effective now is as a director of football identifying the skills needed for the new rules at all levels and implementing coaching systems throughout the clubs and academys. But this won't happen while the county board finances are as they are, as it would have to be a full time paid role.

I'm not saying he will, I just pointing out that's what got him success before with the team he had then.

I suppose the big question that Horan has to ask himself if he was offered the job and was thinking about it, is does he see the type of player currently and upcoming for Mayo that can be competitive in this new world?

Of course this is all talk because the championship isn't even over and there is still a manager in place with a year to go on his agreement.

I don't always agree with Billy Joe but his piece to day is fairly on the money, particularly in relation to the big picture.

https://www.mayonews.ie/news/gaa/1805683/gaa-column-mayo-play-old-football-in-the-new-rules.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭spakman

He's right in terms of the senior team - no natural fielders, no kick passing, only one scoring forward.

But in fairness, those accusations can't really be applied to the u20s or minors. The fielding on those teams has been fantastic to see, and there is finally a team with more than a single scoring forward.

There's a mountain of work to be done, but it's not like there's nothing to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭crusd

We don't have the sort of traditional players there that are used to midfield and are going to fight tooth and nail for the ball if it’s whacked out 60 yards towards them.

Read that as "We don't have a player like my dad anymore".

On the article, I have been saying since February that McStay and Rochford have been coaching a different sport.

There is hope for the future alright but it's going to take years to integrate the new faces. IMO the next manager won't bring any major improvement until this happens.

The type of midfielder needed now under the new rules is harking back a bit to the old days in terms of power and competing aerially. But also more mobile and athleticism than those days. Players like Mattie Ruane haven't been coached in high fielding and they well may become less relevant now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

No thank you to James Horan.

His greatest weakness was his in-game management. Doubt he has remedied that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

I'd have horan ,andy as selectors but not as managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭spakman

Can't see Horan going as selector under anyone.