Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

1311312313314315317»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,295 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You've seen the cost of CoE's and full time staffers right?

This whole talk of "philoshopy" is rather annoying to be honest……………

You train and teach all your players throughout the county the core skills. Its all there already (and on the varioous GAA coaching and learning courses)

https://learning.gaa.ie/GaelicGamesPlayerPathway

At the moment you have lots and lots of volunteers (who may or may not have gone through one of the coaching courses) and who may or may not be aware of these skills and methodologys.

The better you deliver this training and the better the atmosphere the more likely you are to bring through players who are adaptable to play whatever "philosophy" the managers at the top levels have in place at the time.

The best and only way to improve and co-ordinate this is to have dedicated coaches assigned to clubs to co-ordinage with the volunteer coaches/train them and perhaps go into the national schools to promote the game and take some training sessions etc.

That is literally the best use of limited funds for a county and always will be.

Extra pitches in some far off location from most of the county is no good to the majority of clubs or indeed players in the county.

You're senior setup is eventually gonna benefit from THAT alone and the counties that do that best tend to get the best results. Now, some counties end up with freakishly good players - generational talent if you will - which also helps…

As for the blue book - lots of counties have similiar - they are essentially around core skills and built in or around the player pathway model - generally no need to reinvent the wheel unless you want to rebrand it and make it look "different".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭HBC08

Seriously?

If you can't understand that no COE and no regular training pitches is a bad thing I really don't know what to tell you.

I know lads on the panel who haven't a clue on Monday evening where they're training on Tues.. in a senior inter County set up.

Thats junior club team stuff.

The COE is a massive massive cost and it's pointless without the grassroots support. I am not saying its a bad thing - just that it shouldnt be a priority for a cash strapped county board with significant income issues when there are cheaper and more beneficial ways to improve the numbers and standards of players coming through.

You're concerned that the Senior team don't know where they are training? That's a problem within the Senior team setup - it's not like there's no suitable pitches in the county………god knows theres enough of a backroom team there to co-ordinate logistics.

The COE benefits the elite of the game, you need to keep a pipeline of well coached and motivated youngsters moving into adult club football to have a conveyor belt there for the Senior teams. It shouldn't be a priority when the funds can be spent better elsewhere.

This obsession with "CoE's" is beyond me………..perhaps as part of a wider sports campus but jaysus they make little sense on any level when you have things that should be higher up the priority list.

Just listened to the Mayo News pod there.

The county board are being attacked by fairly shocking abuse, intimidation and threats.

I'm glad they've decided to go public with this.I had an idea of what was going on but I'm glad they put it on a big screen and let everyone see for themselves in detail.

They decided to not name the individuals responsible but said it was mainly 2 people.We know one of them is that bitter cowardly coont in London but who is the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

I'm guessing it would be a journalist that's been fairly vocal about their concerns. But I don't know for sure.

I don't like the way all this is being handled, I get the feeling Croke Park were there to to scare any of the clubs from questioning any of the going's on and push back on any of the statement. Its not a good situation to be in, who would want to do any job on the county board as a volunteer!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭crusd

One thing with the COE model is it gives a focal point for the development of coaches as well as players. Twice as an underage coach, now living in Galway and with a Galway club, I have been at courses in the Galway COE at Loughgeorge. Whereas with some clubs with resourcing and time issues running these can be difficult. But the club will regularly send out "course on topic x at Loughgeorge on Saturday 20th messages". What I noticed when I first became involved is that from the club coaching officer and juvenile chairman and some of the more influential coaches in the club there seemed also to be a unity of purpose. And after attending a couple of courses in Loughgeorge I realised this was no coincidence. Galway are now actually looking to build a new COE jointly with the GAA, LGFA and Camogie association. Will they have two before we have any??

A COE doesn't just benefit the elite. It actually helps the game from top to bottom, if run correctly. Now, if I'd actually trust the Mayo Co board to run it correctly is an entirely different question.

You are aware the Connacht CoE is available for this type of thing in Mayo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭crusd

Its available for all counties in Connacht. Its closer to Galway city than Achill or Belmullet

I can tell ya now, there's nowhere in east Mayo close to Achill or Belmullet.

Its a fantastic facility. If the Mayo county board aren't making use of it, and it being in the county for coaching training, that's an organisational issue.

I've been there for various training courses over the years.

Again, I can see the benefit of a CoE or "Building with a few pitches around it" that is for the sole use of the CoBoard and Senior teams however in an environment where the costs for same are not realistic when you consider the debt the board are in, there are more and better ways of spreading the resources. My own take is it needs to benefit all members/players or as many as possible and the only way to do this is via on the group quality coaching and promotion.

We have a serious habit of over complicating a lot of things and in fairness there are a lot of people out there employed in roles whose main purpose is to over complicate things but we need to continue to focus on quality coaching and maintaining interest in playing the game.

We also need to appreciate that there can only every be one All Ireland winner in a given year. An arms race by the other counties just because the AI winner that year has X,Y and Z in place is just silly…….

Bohola is also closer to Lough George than it is to Achill or Belmullet funnily enough! Achill and Belmullet are at the extremes of the county. You're not going to get somewhere thats close to them and central in the county.

Galway city is closer to Castlebar than it is to Blacksod and a better road to it too for example!

I can assure you, Mayo as a whole are making use of Bekan. Multiple clubs use the fitness testing facilities, the county board run underage county wide blitz's there the last 2 years. That's just the stuff I know about!

I would expect so....but the general feel from the other poster was that it wasn't available to Mayo to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Westernview

You're obsessed with arms races and elite only facilities. Neither is true despite your determination to believe otherwise.

The connaught COE is under big demand from all connaught counties. The Bohola proposal is a bit too far east but is still only 15mins from Castlebar and 35 from Ballina and westport. The first thing that's needed before any Directors of football or club coaches is pitches. I predict that the COE will end up being just pitches anyway and nothing else will be built but for years but it will provide the vital pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭irishgeo

They will paying to use it.

Their COE would be free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭irishgeo

It would be free to use for mayo county teams

It won't be free to build

Yes I am. Because I see first hand the amount of money being spent on the elite leve - whether you like it or not, they are the inter county teams. I think a lot of it is complete waste and I think the GAA and county boards are forgetting about the basics - particularily in Mayo. You said it yourself about standardised coaching methods, some kind of a plan etc. The plans and coaching methods are already there - the professionals to training and implement them at club level aren't.

Every club in the county has at least one pitch - some more. Pitches aren't the issue. If the county players haven't a pitch to train on two nights of the week with all the pitches in Mayo, its not a pitch availability issue……..

We are all looking for better facilities but the Co Board are deep in debt, spend smaller money on more impactful interventions for the moment. Better use the resources that are there already and there are plenty.

It wont be free to build or maintain.

You'd want to have a serious CBA done on something like this versus better use of facilities already in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

Listen to Ah Ref for an alternative to CoE, which sounds logical, and a hell of a lot cheaper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Westernview

Anyone I've spoken to involved in GAA clubs say that they don't have enough pitches to accommodate their own teams not to mind the Mayo team training 2 or 3 times a week. Thats just the senior team. There are so many underage and adult teams to cater for now, even in smaller clubs. Having the Mayo teams going from Billy to Jack isn't the way to do things. You need to have a proper location for all the backroom team to work from. Moving training gear, cones, balls medical supplies, food caterers etc around to different places is just not a professional set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

While it's not being particularly well made, he does have a point. If Mayo GAA are in all this debt, how exactly is a new COE being paid for?

The last big outside benefactor the county saw was treated with an attitude of "let's rinse the gombeen for all we can". And everyone in Mayo gaa is dealing with the consequences ever since

Now he certainly seems like a gobshiite. Doesn't change the fact that he was seemingly plaumaused with nonsense and it's hardly an appealing situation to future benefactors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Anyone else think we might get a right hammering on Saturday? I think we'll struggle at MF and get penned in for long periods.

Yeah, that's what I'm expecting!

I fully expected it but now think with everything that's gone on we might get a performance. Tyrone winning against Donegal probably works in our favour.

If there's any pride in the team I think we'll get a reaction, don't know if we'll get a result up there though It's certainly more interesting now than in the direct aftermath of the Cavan game.