Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2025 - Mod warning in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,464 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

If they are so liked, why was any coverage of them accompanied by a recorded audience ? Graham Norton said the reaction was 'mixed' despite what we heard at home. Surely a country so loved would not need this gerrymandering of the coverage ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,562 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Do you understand what racism is?

prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism by an individual, community, or institution against a person or people on the basis of their membership of a particular racial or ethnic group.

Lol indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,951 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

No I do not, I find it unequivocally a bad thing anti-semitism is on the rise, so you can knock that **** off now thanks.

Also that's not want the survey shows.. but you've shown you can't read a simple sentence now so that's hardly a surprise.

You forgot your "Irish people are racist" sig this time btw. Too busy rushing to try call someone else a racist to post your own racist **** I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Put It In H

Just want to say I'm delighted at how well Latvia did in the semi, coming in 2nd place in a televote with a very unusual song (and quite early in the runnning order) is a great achievement. Shame the public didn't give them as much love last night, though their jury score was very respectable.

Three countries, including Ireland, getting the same # of points is unusual; not sure that has ever happened before? Joint second-last is obviously disappointing but at least she shares the pain with two others. I'm surprised Georgia even got that many points tbh, I thought they would be rock bottom for sure.

Montenegro got 12 from Serbia (not a surprise) but nothing at all from anybody else! 😲

And poor Australia finishing 11th for the second year in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Well done, you have cast aspersions on the reading comprehension on the people foolish enough to engage with you.

You are going on my list, I recommend @suvigirl to put you on hers.

Israel, Israel, Israel. Your obsession with Israel Is un-Real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Racist ffs.

Utter scutter. I'm opposed to the slaughtering of innocent children at the hands of the Israeli government and the IDF. They are scumbags of the highest order and they deserve every bit of bad karma that will come to them.

The fact you want to distract from that by calling me a racist says more about you than it does about me. Horrific that you'll sit there and defend the maiming of innocent children just because they live in Gaza.#

Who the f*ck are the racists now?

If someone is going to misrepresent me and accuse me of stuff I didn't say you bet I'll question their comprehension.

Flounce away there pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭purplesnack

You still don't see it? No point engaging with this shite

What does that have to do with the Eurovision entry?

It seems that posters can't seem to treat Israeli people in a fair way. Screams racism

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I think Eurovision is coming to, or even at, another inflection point like it went through in the late 90s. Back then it was clear the event had outgrown its setup and was feeling stale. We dominated in the 10 year period from 87 to 97 winning 5 of those 10 years. It made sense then to admit the Eastern European countries and shake things up. It revitalised the competition.

Now we’re at a point where the future of the competition is in some danger again. The public vote revitalised the competition for a good number of years but it’s now maybe its biggest Achilles heel. 2022 showed that if you get enough sentiment the public vote can push a song to the top of the board. You still need the juries but provided you do reasonably well there, it’s all to play for.

Additionally there is no guarantee those voting ever listened to the songs, just the assumption they did. Purely IMHO the entries that were deserving winners were France, Italy Switzerland, and maybe Portugal. I thought the r French sing particularly good. I also liked Denmark it was a banger and she put in a great performance. Most of those songs fared poorly in the public vote. It seems terrible that the work those artists put in is acknowledged by juries but basically ignored by the public. There is something wrong with this.

I feel we’re at the point the Eurovision is starting to die again. It feels like a top heavy tree. Instead of solving the underlying problems it’s basking in its own reflection and living off past glories year on year now. Look at last nights interval act. I loved it but it was Eurivision giving itself a big pat on the shoulder. There was very little of Swiss culture in the interval.

I’m finding it harder to be enthusiastic about the competition now. It feels like the organisers have forgotten what the event is at its core. Worse, it’s veering into a political showcase and this is down to public voting. I don’t believe for a moment the UK deserved 0 public points. They simply were not the worst entry on the night. There were no stinkers for sure but they were not that bad to warrant a skip.

I don’t know how to fix this. It’s the EBU’s show and their mess at this stage. Martin getting sidelined with the presenters uttering “good to go” is another sign that things are getting away from the EBU. It’s only a matter of time before they end up in a very precarious situation if they don’t start a discussion about the current issues and try out some changes. .

Because it's arts-washing in its purest form.

Israel have been advertising this woman as a survivor of October 7th, and failing to mention that she is a former member of the IDF which is currently maiming and slaughtering innocent children because they are Palestinian.

They've flooded the internet with ads begging for votes before the competition.

I'm not going to have you call me a racist for a country trying to use a contest that's about unity and togetherness to wash over the slaughter of innocent children.

You might be ok with a country killing innocent children because they can, but I'm not.

You go ahead and throw your terms around. I'll come back at you even harder and make sure you are firmly put back in your disgusting, child-killing supporting box.

Mod - This thread is not about Israel/Hamas, per the mod warning in the OP.

Post edited by The Black Oil at

Like most posters you cannot differentiate between ordinary Israeli people and their government. (Everyone was in the IDF)

You also cannot differentiate between a poster who doesn't hate all Israeli people and one who supports child killing. Keep on making those ridiculous comparisons, I think people shouldn't bring politics into a song contest and suddenly I support killing children. Good man, some reach there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Had to laugh when I saw an article on the rte website " Why did Ireland give Israel Ten points", apparently it's due to some form of psychological quirk like target fixation.

🙈🙉🙊

And she's happy to wear the flag of country committing a slaughter of innocent children in her name.

You've labelled me a racist, so I'll call you a supporter of the slaughter of children. That's the tag you've earned now by your disgusting labelling of others who are opposed to Israel's arts-washing of the Eurovision.

Nonsense. Time to calm down and realise that people who watch a song contest are not supporting child killers, unless the Eurovision entry has suddenly gone out murdering them??

Yet here you are calling people racist because they don't support what Israel is doing. Isreal is a state that was founded on an ideology, not based on race or ethnicity. You could convert to Judaism tomorrow and automatically become an Israeli citizen (if you wanted) based only on your religion. Your race or ethnicity would not have changed. Do you see now why calling people racist in this context is utterly ridiculous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,854 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

We have given them 10 points two years in a row now. Either we are not Anti-Israeli/Anti-Semitic/Racist as some posters claim or the public vote is dodgy. It can't be both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,112 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Nope. Discriminating against people based on nationality is also the same.

I have never called someone racist for not supporting the Israeli war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭mulbot

But they are not a particular racial or ethnic group.

Calm down, from the one who calls people racists because they oppose child killing.

Let me spell it out for you so you can understand.

Israel. Is. Using. The. Eurovision. To. Wash. Over. Their. Slaughter. Of. Children

How can you be so naive? You didn't even watch Eurovision because you've only started barking once it was over and it's to call people racists.

Don't comment on something you clearly know f*ck all about.

You withdraw your filthy remarks that I'm a racist and I'll consider withdrawing mine. Otherwise, you can go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭mulbot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Put It In H

A few years ago I probably would have been largely in agreement with you. For example I didn't support boycotting Eurovision when Tel Aviv hosted it a few years ago; at the time I thought it should be about separating the artists from what their country engages in.

The scale of what has happened to Gaza over the past two years has changed that drastically.

It is not about hating ordinary Israeli people, but rather being opposed to a delegation that represents their country on an international stage, and proudly waves its flag , while it is committing a genocide. I'd have much more respect for Israeli artists who refuse to represent their country at this time.

I really really really dont want to go down this rabbit hole but this irked me:

failing to mention that she is a former member of the IDF 

In Israel, everyone aged 16-40 is in the IDF. It's a fact of life. It's like being in the GAA here.

#Fun Fact. The car bomb was invented in Ireland.

Imagine how much it would suck, For Petes Sake, if people refused to talk to you because you are Irish and the Irish invented the car bomb that has been used to kill innocents? You didnt build one, trigger one, were not gleeful when it exploded. Just because you are from the same country as it came from, you are reviled.

I despise what is happening in Gaza, and I mostly blame one person. I don't lay all the blame on an entire country.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I don’t doubt some Israeli citizens don’t support what’s going on in Gaza. Here’s the thing though, the general man/woman/child on the street in Israel isn’t doing much to stop it either. If Micheál Martin was keeping himself out of prison by waging genocidal war on our nearest neighbour and annexing their land, I wouldn’t be standing idly by and neither would many Irish people. Ordinary Israelis could change their government if they really wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ConcertKing

If they came up with a much better song and singer than anyone else Israel would of won??? 🤣🤣🤣

But in the end I believe second place isn't the winner is it??? 🤣🤣🤣

Must be really embarrassing thinking Israel should of won when Austria very easily beat them!!! 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ConcertKing

Newsflash!!

If they won they wouldn't of come second!! 🤣🤣🤣

Sorry but according to some people here this posts qualifies you as a.. checks notes .. "hate filled, racist, terrorist supporting anti-semite"

I am reminded that the last time I posted something you did not like I got banned for 3 days, but here we go.

"Some Israeli citizens dont support". "The average man on the street isn't doing much".

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2025/5/3/israelis-protest-for-captives-against-netanyahus-gaza-war-expansion

That was 2 weeks ago. Israelis are protesting constantly and have been asking for a change of government for some time now.

You made some whataboutery about our taoiseach. If that were the case now, what would you do? Go to a protest. If MM wanted to cling on to power what would he do in response to your protest? Nothing.

Ordinary Israelis could change their government if they really wanted to.

Yeah, as easily as we could change ours.