Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Does Donegal Have So Many Fatal Road Accidents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Just get everybody to live in one giant city in little boxes. That's how other countries handle their road deaths sure. Nobody lives anywhere other than cities and nobody uses cars to get around I hear. Only cyclists should be allowed to travel independently of public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,440 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

That’s nonsense, and while you’re being facetious about a serious matter, the reality is far more concerning.
    Rural villages and towns are being deserted, left to fall into ruin. Garda stations are closing, and once-thriving local businesses like butchers and bakers have all but disappeared and ambulances take hours to attend to scenes. Meanwhile, the obsession with having a half-acre plot forces people to drive absolutely everywhere. This, in turn, fuels rural obesity, as people only visit outlets where they can park right at the door, then heave themselves inside. With driving increasing exponentially, road fatalities inevitably rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,680 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ok, so i guess you are telling me that if we all lived in Dublin city or county Dublin, we'd be better off?

Yeah, cos there's hardly many cars on the roads in and around Dublin.

No, that's not what I'm saying, you’ve come to that conclusion yourself. What I’m actually pointing out is that if rural villages and towns were properly repopulated, instead of being shunned, and if fewer people insisted on living in isolated areas that force car dependency, our roads would be far safer. As much as you want to focus on Dublin, this thread is about Donegal and while Dublin certainly has a lot of cars, it’s still statistically safer than Donegal when it comes to road safety, on a per capita and per kilometre basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭timmyntc

None of this is unique to Donegal.

Bad planning, ribbon development, car-centric planning is evident all over Ireland, from Dublin to Donegal and Malin to mizen.

How does this pertain to Donegal specifically? The thread claims there is some uniqueness to Donegal dangerous roads but stats show it is not the case and Donegal is infact midtable in terms of road fatalities per capita.

Whilst Donegal was mid table in my snapshot stats from 2023 it has consistently ranked among the counties with the highest number of road deaths over the years, and has even broken records at times. Anyone who travels to Donegal can see it firsthand. I personally find the poor driving to be far more obvious and in your face there than anywhere else in the country. It’s not just statistics, it’s something you see on the roads. The reckless driving, dangerous overtaking, and high speeds seem to be part of the local driving culture, making it stand out compared to other regions.

Bad planning has a lot to do with it, it's not all down to idiocy.

Post edited by John_Rambo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,680 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Do you want to start a discussion on the design, quality and quantity of roads in Dublin compared to Donegal.

Because if you do you might find yourself arguing against your own points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

They do

In Dublin we have a lot more to contend with. it’s constant decision making, one way systems, trams, cyclists, pedestrians, crossings, junctions, lights, stop & yield signs, roundabouts and a dynamic changing city. The road quality isn’t great either, there are ramps, potholes, and a lot of traffic and distractions everywhere, so you’re always scanning, reacting, and keeping your focus tight.

In Donegal, it feels more open, but it brings its own challenges, the roads are clearer and there’s more space, some are twisty with blind bends and gradients that can limit visibility with the added risk of farm machinery etc… So I tend to drive to the conditions. I drive as if I'm going to meet a cyclist around each corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭timmyntc

it has consistently ranked among the counties with the highest number of road deaths over the years

Source?

It’s not just statistics, it’s something you see on the roads

Eh? Are you saying personal anecdotes > statistics? What kind of backwards ass logic is that? Stats trump all else because they are objective. And per capita, Donegal is not the highest for road deaths

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2025/01/02/donegal-one-of-worst-counties-for-road-deaths-in-2024-rsa-1/

Who told you I said Donegal was the worst? Look at my list for 2023… Someone asked me to talk about Dublin v Donegal and the driving conditions and the obvious skill disparity so I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,256 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

You'd be 1/6th as likely to die in a road crash, so there is that.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

It's not unique to Donegal, no, but the county has been destroyed by one-off housing to a unique extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

Stats like this just goes to show how safe the average Donegal drivers are, who manage to pull the numbers down so much despite the moronic, late-night knucke-draggers that cause so much of Donegal's carnage and despite the awful roads.

In other words, if you're not travelling in a boy racer's car or not traveling on rural roads at 2am at night, Donegal is a very safe county for driving in.

Maybe you just drive like a granny and it just seems from your perspective when everyone is overtaking you, that everyone else is a dangerous driver. Maybe you're the dangerous driver unable to drive at the appropriate speed forcing others to overtake in order to get by you?

Has someone forced you to overtake someone in the past?

I usually stick to the speed limit unless I’m on private land, the Autobahn, or Mondello with something worth opening up. I’m not into slow driving for no reason.

Maybe I drive like a granny in your eyes. Or a grandfather. Or maybe like a parent, with care for who or what’s on board and with respect for fellow road users and the communities I’m driving through. Some of the vehicles I drive are big, and with that comes real responsibility.

No one is ever forced to overtake dangerously. That’s a childish fallacy. Any experienced driver will tell you the responsibility for a safe overtake lies entirely with the overtaker. If you grew up sharing roads with agricultural vehicles, you’d already know that.

It's a fair question, and that's my answer. So tell me, how would you describe your own driving style? I assume you're a young boy. Don't be bullied or forced in to anything on th road.

Reading between the lines then, it seems I was right. Drivers like you cost the economy god knows how many millions a year in lost time in services and deliveries.

My time and the work I do is important, so if I need to overtake some dawdler , that's what I do.

Not only are the drivers in Donegal safe as your stats have shown, they are much more efficient and a good boost to the economy not seeing themselves stuck behind some nervous Norman on the road and willing to overtake when the need arises as evidenced by your anecdotes.

Post edited by nearby_cheetah on

Totally immature post, and your next one is even more stupid.

Cop on before you kill yourself or someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

Donegal is pretty lawless. From the ejit pulling straight out in front of me at Clar, to the drunks hitting the roundabout at Drumlonagher, I have seen loads. Driving a motorcycle, two up, through the gap and a bloody sheep walks out in front of me. The lack of gardai and checkpoints is a serious issue and it does need to be tamed. Then there was the car full of women coming home from the Bosco after a night of bingo. A boy racer wiped them out overtaking, on the top of a hill, on a continuous white line. He was on company insurance for his dad's quarry. He had form for crashes.

Did you hear the one about the garda who was out, but his speedgun was dead. He sat in his car with it stuck out the window, while surfing facebook. Did I mention the loopers from the north who fly down the N15 as they know they are pretty much immune to the gardai? At rally time in Letterkenny, I remember the shenanighans that went on. Was a few years ago, but every post pubescent lad was a rally driver and drove like such.

In general, the gardai need to have a serious campaign of road enforcement. They need to go mad to calm it down. Many a moon ago, I used to work in a bar in Donegal Town. When the gardai raided it after hours, an offduty gardai used to hide in the ladies. Mad stuff. Sadly, like everywhere else, garda numbers and insufficient.

Sheep on the road aren't exclusive to Donegal, a lot of roads in Conemara aren't fenced.

I'm a motorcyclist too and been all over Ireland and most of Western Europe but I do avoid Donegal, once was enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

I'm a sales rep driving through Donegal and Derry for 6 years, as well as all of Connacht and the border counties.

1. In 6 years I have NEVER either seen a roads policing Garda car checking speeds, or stopping traffic. The only time I have ever been stopped in by the RSA, dipping for diesel.

2. Donegal has a massive "boy racer" modded-car culture, more so than any other county. Go to the McDonald's and Tesco carpark in Letterkenny at any weekend and you will see the worst and most dangerous driving from around 11pm to 2am or 3am. Many are NI reg cars, ripping up the area before they scoot across the border towards Derry down any one of dozens of little roads.

3. Dismal infrastructure. It's a nightmare to get from A to B. Roads are atrocious, barely a straight stretch anywhere. Any place you'd expect to see a squad sitting up to catch the speeders, are empty. Vast stretches of mountainous, boggy, forested areas, with no facilities, shops, petrol stations etc, so everyone drives fast to get to their destination. Try travelling from Moville to Killybegs, for example. It practically wears you out, and I drive for a living.

4. You are likely to meet a massive Artic Truck, Tractor, Combine Harvester, Silage cutter, Sheep, Bus or oil Truck at any corner up the smallest of roads. I blame the sat-navs. Taking inexperienced foregin Truck drivers up booreens up over the mountains where a truck has no business going because the have shortest distance set up, rather than fastest route. You wouldn't believe how many trucks I see stuck in ditches because the soft verges have collapsed. It's nuts.

5. They don't give a shite. It's weird county. Parts of it consider themselves to be more akin to the North than the South because they are so far removed from Dublin, from a Civics perspective. It literally is the Wild West! Many have a deep contempt for the government in Dublin and to be honest, judging by the way they're forgotten in many ways, I don't blame them.

Sorry for the late reply, was in Mondello all day. You should go some day if you're in to cars, speed, motor racing and engineering.

Overtaking is perfectly legal when done properly, and I have no issue with it. In fact, when driving a larger or slower vehicle, I regularly pull in to let faster drivers pass.

I always try to give people the benefit of the doubt, but if your driving reflects the same immaturity as your posting, then we have got a serious problem. Unless you are in a genuinely life saving profession such as a doctor, nurse or paramedic (which I seriously doubt) you do not get to act like your time is more valuable than anyone else's.

It is time to cop on, grow up, and act your age. This kind of attitude is exactly what contributes to the ongoing issue in Donegal, with reckless behaviour from young men and sadly from older men like you who should know better. We have all seen it. We have all been on the road with it. And unfortunately, we all read about it in the news far too often.

Grow up.

Try travelling from Moville to Killybegs, for example. It practically wears you out, and I drive for a living

This is nonsense, the main roads in the county are of a decent standard.

If roads like this wears you out, you need to re-consider if driving is a good career for you.

image.png image.png image.png

like your time is more valuable than anyone else's.

But it is. And if some dawdler is happy enough to dawdle on, then their time can't be that valuable, so that's why they get overtaken.

If you find yourself being overtaken and other drivers seems to be always speeding from your perspective, maybe it's because you are not able to drive at the appropriate speed for the road yourself.

You did.

it’s something you see on the roads. The reckless driving, dangerous overtaking, and high speeds seem to be part of the local driving culture, making it stand out compared to other regions

And as your stats show daytime drivers of Donegal are extremely safe to pull the numbers down in spite of the late night, rural problems.

So it's not likely there is much in the way of reckless driving, therefore it must be your own perspective.

Post edited by nearby_cheetah on

I didn't. Clearly, you didn’t read the post properly. When I say dangerous overtaking, I’m referring to situations where I’m already safely driving at the speed limit, and the overtaker is either speeding or choosing an unsafe spot to pass. That's why it's called dangerous.

Once again, read the post properly. The stats I mentioned cover just one year, Donegal continues to hold records for road deaths.

Based on your poor attention to detail when reading posts, I’d say it likely mirrors your driving. You fit the stereotype of a typical Donegal driver; immature, careless, unobservant, unskilled, and inexperienced.

So let me try understand what you are saying…

The stats show that Donegal drivers must be much safer than other counties to keep the county down the list despite the well known problems late at night.

But according to you, they're all crazed maniacs.

Which is it? You can't have it both ways, which is why I suggested it was just you.

Read the post again, really carefully. That stat was for one year only. 2023.

Have a look at 2024, Donegal was one of the worst counties for road deaths!

See, your opinion is driven by perspection. You can't square the circle I have presented.

If the average Donegal driver displayed the behaviour you think you see, the county would be far and a head above others, considering the late night culture it has.

But it's not.