Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Does Donegal Have So Many Fatal Road Accidents?

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

He was doing 140, at least, and overtaking when other cars were approaching.

There was another car doing the same speed directly behind him performing the same dangerous overtaking manoeuvres.

I was wondering if they were road raging or racing each other.

You'd sadly expect it from young lads but this guy was closer to pension age than this teens.

Of course if you gave the guards dash cam footage of this they'd do **** all with it.

A young boy after dying in Donegal recently because of shite like this. Lads like this should be battered.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Thats fair. If anything, good surfaces on roads often leads to much faster driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,218 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

In Donegal, it's not just the motorists...

A man who galloped to his local shop on a horse and cart to get cigarettes while drunk has been fined €250.

Danny Connors (49) of Canal Road, Letterkenny, Co Donegal, had been ordered last April to complete a safer driving course after he appeared before the local District Court having being stopped while drunk in charge of a horse and cart at 8.55am on June 20th, 2021.

The court heard he was 3½ times over the drink-driving limit.

Gardaí observed him swaying on the road, Sgt Gerard Dalton said. When ordered to stop he told gardaí, “F**k off, I’m not stopping.” When eventually stopped, he was arrested for an offence contrary to section 6 of the Road Traffic Act, 2010.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.