Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Promotions Thread *Please read post 1* (*Mod Warning Post #3947)

1155156157158159161»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Big Damo vs Rene Dupree OTT championship

Sammy D vs Jay I Quit Match

Balor & JD vs The Social Elite

Martina vs Raven Creed OTT Women's championship.

Michael Oku vs Aigle Blanc Money Match

Scotty Davis vs Liamoo

Charles Crowley & The Sem vs BDE

Charlie Sterling vs Ilija vs Santos vs Adam Maxted vs Grado OTT European championship.

Eugene and Suicide are scheduled for the Belfast show. Maybe they show up at the Dublin show. Could see Eugene getting involved in the Crowley & Sem vs BDE match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭rizzla

Eugene still have the same gimmick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

Has anyone got a ticket or two for tonight's OTT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭jo187

Was at the show last night, quick run-through.

Big Damo vs Rene Dupree OTT championship: noting match. Less then 5 minutes. Shame the world champ does not have better contenders/storyline going into such a big show.

Sammy D vs Jay I Quit Match: No hype video.for this so a lot of people didn't know the stuff with Jay sister. Could not see much of this due to crowd brawling but once in the ring it was good.

Balor & JD vs The Social Elite: The main event. The lads were great and place went nuts. Phil Tracey and Paddy M did run ins at the end of the match to tie the story together.

Martina vs Raven Creed OTT Women's championship: a lot of brawling outside could not see much. In the ring it was clumsy. Raven wins by putting Martina through a table. It was turn into a tables match so not the best way for a new champ to win.

Michael Oku vs Aigle Blanc Money Match:

Match of the night overall, obvs Main event had the atmospherebut this was the best wrestling match. Oku manger was great fun.

Scotty Davis vs Liamoo: went to the toilet.

Charles Crowley & The Sem vs BDE: noting match. think this is Sem third can he trust his partner storyline, that never goes anywhere.

Charlie Sterling vs Ilija vs Santos vs Adam Maxted vs Grado OTT European championship: Grado was great fun in this match. Corvin was added late to this match. I don't know why kings of the north don't get booked in ott anymore and corvin has had a stop/start push as a single wrestler. Thought he might win here, but lost fairly quickly. Charlie took the belt.

Loco rumble set for the stadium for February. Hopefully OTT can build people/storyline going into that show for the women, tag and world title scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Officer999

I see Martina ended up in hospital but seems fine. Wasn’t at it, but you can see from the OTT Instagram footage that the ref is calling for help after the final table spot where Raven Creed wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

She's lucky it wasn't a broken neck. Missed the table and looked like she landed head first when hitting the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Not looking great for Martina.

Get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭xpletiv

Lads, my mate The Scoop is wrestling in Alternative Wrestling Worlds Rumble and is up for vote for first 5 in (which he wants... Exposure/the craic). Be champions and give him a vote on Facebook? IRELAND REPRESENT!

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/N5Ue2b41awG2gSo6/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Some impressive names announced for the OTT Rumble in Feb.

I used to be a die hard monthly OTTer. Not so much now but every couple of months they have a show that really grabs me.

Taking a look at it. I think the indie scene has really refreshed a bit and there is a new crop of talent that could bring on another world class run.

I've been out of the loop and had completely forgotten ZSJ is the IWGP world champ. Would be great to see him pay a visit to OTT again.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

OTT announced a big show at the ambassador March 22nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭montyrebel

was hopeful when it said over 18s again but already down to over 16s now, not the original ott sadly, still catering to the kids and family market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,016 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

I am far from an OTT defender but an over 16s show is hardly catering to the family market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Joey why do you love OTT so much and feel the need to constantly defend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Should change his name to beakerjoe-tt at this stage.......

Beakerjoe-y Carbaray was right there

My thoughts on the OTT show from Saturday night.

It was the first show in the newly reopened Ambassador Theatre.

From the start, OTT stated you must be there for this, and something big was going to happen. With the WWE house show in Belfast the same night, there was a lot of talk of some WWE names showing up.

The tickets were pricey; it was 110 all in from Ticketmaster for two general admission seats. I believe the first three rows and stage seats cost more.

It’s quite a lot when the only things announced were the usual OTT crew and ex-WWE guy Elias.

They had two mystery opponent matches. Trent Seven vs. blank and Sammy D vs. blank.

OTT had confirmed that it was Peter Dunne vs. Sammy D in a hype video, the week before.

Honestly, I only got the tickets at the last minute, as I was afraid something big would happen with the way OTT was hyping this thing up.

Getting to the venue was grand as a city centre location. The queue was well organized, and we even got in before 7.00 pm, as this was when doors were advertised to open.

We got in and got the fourth row, so we had a pretty good view of the action. If going again, I would go for the stage as I think it is the overall best view of everything.

There was no screen. Often OTT will have a giant screen at these events, showing hype videos, promos, backstage stuff, etc. I found this to be a loss on the night.

The seats were terrible to sit in. They were all tied together so you were squeezed right beside the person you were sitting next to, and seats were small and not pleasant to sit in for three hours.

For 50-euro seats, you expect a little better.

We start the show with Aonghus hyping up the new venue, saying this could be the new city centre home for OTT; we wait and see about that.

He also kept saying something special in the air, and tonight is the night for it to happen.

Again, seemingly implying something huge was going to happen tonight.

We started with a six-man tag. Whichever team wins, it straight away becomes a triple threat between the winning team.

I won’t go through all of it, but the losing team had Robbie X & Micheal Oku. I would say I don’t see the point in flying those lads in and paying them to do ten minutes of a six-man tag.

I think Cian, a new OTT lad, won. This sums up a problem with the whole night. He won, and that was it. It wasn’t a number one contender match; it had no stakes or build.

Next was Charlie Sterling vs. CBL for the euro belt. The match ends in a count-out and was just a setup for Charlie vs. Santos at Scrapper mania.

We had Trent Seven vs. the first mystery opponent. I thought this might be a WWE name or at least a big surprise. It was Adam “flex” Max, something like that.

Lad had been knocking around OTT for years. It is hardly worth building up a surprise opponent for it just to be that. They had an alright match, but again it just felt flat and didn’t mean anything in the end.

I think it was the women’s match next. I don’t know the two that were involved in the match. Again, a video beforehand might have helped or let the talk a little bit to hype it up. The winner was Myla from Belfast (I think that’s her name; she’s been around for a while, but I don’t know her.)

After she wins, Myla attacks the other girl, and Raven Creed (OTT women’s champ) makes the save. Both grab a mic and go back and forth with each other, and this sets up a match at Scrapper Mania.

I don’t understand; why not announce this match as a number one contender match?

Have both girls say why they want to win, have Myla heel up to the crowd and call Raven a worthless champ, give the fans something more to invest in, and explain Raven coming out to make the save.

Instead, the match played out to mostly silence as the girls were not well-known and there were no stakes.

The contract signing was next, and to say this was a highlight shows what a weak show it was.

B Cool & Damo come out to sign for the title match at Scrapper. It was what you expected. Be cool being funny, Damo not taking him seriously, and things get out of hand, and B Cool is put through the table.

We hit the break, and there is a nice area upstairs for wrestlers to sell their t-shirts. I don’t drink but they were charging 7 euro for a can of Heineken. That seem a lot to me.

Elias had to cancel, and there was talk about his replacement. People were speculating who it could be, as he was set to wrestle Man Like Dereiss, who was walking around the building all night with his little table to sell merch.

Back to the second half, and Dereiss comes out. Who is the replacement? Renzo Rose.

I like Renzo, but again, a letdown.

You had Agnus announce at the start of the show that Elias was not going to be there. At that time, you knew Rose was the replacement; just say it there to avoid people getting their hopes up.

The match ends in a DQ when Rose hits MLD in the balls. Jay comes out (he's injured), and they may or may not have a match at Scrapper, if Jay is still injured.

Second match on the night to end in a non-finish to set up a match at another event. Plus, a contract singing, it's like an episode of WWE TV without the star power.

The main event was Sammy D vs. Pete Dunne. It was cool to see Pete, and of course, they had a good match. After the match, the social elite attacked the lads, and Trent Seven made the save, and all three did the HHH water spit, and that was it.

I like Pete, but given the ticket price and the hype, he does not justify it, and sadly, the rest of the show didn't help to justify it either.

I’m pretty sure I paid around the same price to see Judgment Day at OTT in the stadium less than six months ago.

A bit disappointing overall, and OTT is going to try to make the Ambassador work; I think they need to figure out a better plan. As I assume, this was their big shot at the start to try and make it special.

I thought it failed, but the OTT Facebook group loved it, so maybe the faithful will show up no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭offalyguy25

You'll probably need to give them a little time, if this was the first event in the ambassador, it will have been testing the waters in some way, and I'm sure the venue doesn't come cheap either, hence the price of a can of Heineken, but it's Dublin we're talking about here, so everything is inflated,

OTT has been on a bit of a high lately, I was at a couple of shows last year, such as Scrapper and the 10th Anniversary, and really enjoyed them. Wasn't able to make it to this one, or Loco Rumble, for various reasons.

I think losing Elias was a blow, but of course that couldn't be avoided and on short notice, so probably difficult to get a "big name" replacement in a short space of time, but Renzo is a cracking talent, and wrestles quite a bit elsewhere also,

In terms of pricings for tickets, OTT are possibly the largest promotion in Europe, definitely Ireland, and with venue price, and every other cost factored in, it's probably fair price overall, and it's nice to support promotions such as these, as they are usually the ones that develop the stars of tomorrow, that we will see in WWE / AEW eventually,

We all like to go to WWE events, but WWE do not need our money,

Well worth giving the likes of RCW / Hard Knox and others a try too here in Ireland, as a lot of the wrestlers appear at their events, in different "personas" and so on,

I think Wrestling in Ireland in general is quite good, and I only got into it last year, it's just difficult to make it to all the events at times,

But fair play for giving your honest opinion and review of the event, i'll check it out on the OTT on demand service during the week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Rambling Ricky Rhodes

OTT are NOT the biggest promotion in Europe, please have some general knowledge and sense. Rev Pro get attendance in the thousands for their Anniversary shows, run regular shows and have link ups with AEW and New Japan. Arguably WXW are bigger but I don't follow their business model and the German market is fractured along geographical lines.

However, I do wish to commend your point that wrestlers adopt other "personas" in other companies in Ireland. For instance, known Abuser Scotty Davis gets an push in OTT, but Hard Knox can "debut" Scotty Molloy, which is handy to get around google searches and WWE tryouts.

Scrappermania cancelled after Cabray, having delivered a procession of WWE jobbers, genuinely thought Jinder Mahal was enough for the audience.

That reply, specifically the last sentence, genuinely made me chuckle.

He's never been a draw in WWE, Id go to say he's an anti draw.

A little harsh. Jo had been working on a name/s as he stated in the video and it had fallen through.

A thousand tickets were sold but he knew he needed a name to help draw the rest.

Made tough choice to postpone the show and wait till he can deliver a bigger name.

I don't think Jinder was positioned to be the draw for the stadium show. Also won't really call the judgement day jobbers.

It really, REALLY speaks volumes that Joe is now reliant on "names"

How little faith does he have in Barry winning the title if he "needed" a WWE jobber to show up.

Joe, you're never getting Becky. Give it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭rizzla

Saw Fight Factory have booked Rich Swan for their show in may. Gonna head to my first fight factory show it seems.