Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭wildwillow

We do need to frequent local shops as far as is practicable. Their commercial rates and wages are a large benefit to the community. Many employees prefer part time local work. Local village shops are also great on keeping an eye on vulnerable people and will often notice if someone has been absent or changed their routine.

Of course they may be more expensive or unable to stock everything. This is where Amazon is useful. Sensible shopping and a bit of thought is what is needed. But we will rue the day when they have disappeared for lack of customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Saw another lad I know died, ex work mate only 42. Sadly we’d lost contact. He loved his smokes and seeing on his SM years later he still has a cig in hand in 90% of photos, even his pic on rip,ie. A good dude. Hilarious, easygoing yet was bullish regarding looking out for his mates and had a nice rapid droll distain for assholes be they bogey colleagues, clients or bosses. Reliable like that. TA itself is we never reconnected down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Got a awful near miss in work earlier, and it's hitting home now how close it was.

I was waiting to turn right off a busy road right at 'school run/work traffic' time. Just ahead of me there is a roundabout with cars zooming down off that coming towards and I'd obviously have to wait my turn. Obvious as anything it was intention to turn right. In my rear view mirror I suddenly spot a car careening into someone's lawn to avoid hitting me. They were lucky there wasn't a brick wall for themselves to crash into and if they did hit me, I'd have cannonballed into the oncoming traffic.

My initial surprise turned into a few expletives when I realised what happened, and now a bit shook. First time I have 'almost' crashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Sib got a message to go for his bloods tom am, he's changed dr and he was confused about which doctor it was from.

He made one phone call to check that the new doctor had his records, which was then followed by me having to make or take another three calls while trying to remember his medical records.

He's gone for a sit-down as "all this talking on the phone" has worn him out. TA2, he's sitting down and left me his phone to answer while he is sitting down; TA3, it's a POS phone. I bet later on that he'll still not have a clear plan in his head for his appointments next week.

The same guy has a lot of opinions on how phone's arnt work!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

It’s not a hate for squaddies or Irish people in the British military . I have had many relatives who fought in the raf and royal navy in world war 11 .

Whether he was actually happy about his ‘ nickname ‘ is irrelevant , he didn’t have a choice . He was getting called Paddy because he was from Ireland .
    My annoyance is that in this day and age it’s still happening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When the time is going so fast that ever other day seems to be bin day.

Watching the day time quizzes , and the obscure things I know have came up on questions , which means if I ever get on the chase they won’t come up again .
    And I’ve deleted the episode of eggheads I haven’t watched yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

People always forget the silent 'f' - it's fElon Musk.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA the amount of times I have seen Irish people refer to the Taoiseach as Michael Martin instead of Micheál Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

'Another lane won't work.' Maybe it won't in the long term, but I'm bloody driving to work today!

There's a stretch of dual carriageway that I drive on days I have to go to the office that has a limit of 120k, but most of the time you're lucky if you can do 90k. A lot of times it'll come to a stop in the middle of nowhere for no sodding reason (probably a phantom jam caused by a lane change and/or idiots ahead). If there's a tractor doing 60k god help us - we'll probably manage 62k because nobody can deal with it.

All this disappears when the road goes to three lanes. Suddenly traffic spreads out and speeds up - seems obvious the whole road should be three lanes, doesn't it?

And even if it doesn't work long term, at least it might work for a while. I mean, it's a response you don't get anywhere else. If an area needs more water they don't refuse to put in a bigger pipe. They don't say putting in a bigger pipe will only increase demand. They don't say we can't put in a bigger pipe but we'll deliver water by train... ...but we haven't built the railway yet. Also the station won't be anywhere near your house so you'll have walk twenty minutes for water.

They're never going to build a third lane so I'm just ranting. They're not delivering a sodding alternative either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Computer tech jokes in YLYL. It's all greek to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

"It's all geek to me" was right there for you man!

Story of my life! Skyball in front of an open goal 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

That I spent (wasted) at least half an hour this morning looking for an important legal document. Went through several thick folders of stuff I'd had open recently and found nothing. Eventually I remembered - it was on the photocopier.

Wake me up when it's all over.

"Infamous GAA Catfish controversy"

What the **** and also ... I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Things that have annoyed me today so far:

"Why don't you have your own house(EVERYONE I know has their own house)" response to me saying it was hard to keep up with house prices in my band was met with rolled eyes and "FGS, you should have just asked your parents for it)

"I don't know why you are still here, too lazy I presume", when I told them that my inability to remember information + my inability to read my own handwriting(therefor useless in new situations or exams)

"We remember what we want to remember"

"Well if you wanted that new job, you could have MOVED"

Holy crumbs, this from a superior who is both a teacher and part of the HR team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tell me you come from a normal/wealthy home that monied their way out of any issues or had a supportive nextwork, without saying you have a privileged background!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

At least it is better than Mehole which is a real lowest common denominator Trump-esque nickname. I really don't give a damn about calling Micheal Martin names but the morons who use that nickname are basically insulting the Irish language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The heroes in work meetings who extend said meeting by ten minutes asking questions. Always the same lads who have handy numbers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Fellas who wear short legged chinos and shoes with no socks….think Dublin Footballer Philly McMahon

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The amount of people who will just sit at a table outside somewhere to eat and drink stuff they clearly haven't bought there will never cease to amaze me. And it's not just an Irish thing, I saw it loads in Norway last week too. It's just so, so rude.

Permanently negative and grumpy posters, every post they make seems to have a snarky tone or is being borderline insulting to another poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,201 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Wtf is this Dubai Chocolate shite thats seems to be everywhere

I haven’t been sleeping great , took my tabs at 12 after wordle and headed to bed .
    I woke up at 9pm .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭New Scottman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Charlo30

Work colleagues who try just a bit too hard to be everyone's friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Tried some last weekend. £8 for a small bar so fcuk right off immediately (I did not buy it). Chocolate tasted like hersheys shite, pistachio filling was fine, nothing spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Mobile phone companies websites that can't adjust a valid phone number to their requirements.

An Post 087 123412345 isn't good enough it has to be 08712342345.

You're a FU cking communications company just how difficult for your cheap web designer to put in code that accepts all the common forms of use for a mobile phone number.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭galwayguy85

Teenagers and those in their twenties who absolutely CANNOT hold a smartphone the right way up.

1. Having it in ‘speaker phone’ mode walking down the street means it has to be held like a slice of toast in front of them. This can obstruct their vision.
    2. The oftentimes creates the necessity to put where the main phone speaker is (typically one of the bottom corners) up to their ear to hear whomever they are speaking with, so, in essence, they are effectively turning it upside down. Also done when listening to voicemails etc. Just hold it normally ta fcuk!

The reason that this has become popular is from shows like The Apprentice, where the contestants do this to make sure the audience hear the two-way dialogue (as the boom microphone is out of the shot). Conversing like this otherwise brings little to the party.

Boils my piss. The same for wireless ‘earbuds’ etc. They have a time and a place. Windy days ain’t one of them!! The mic picks up too much noise

When I were a nipper starting out with my first mobile, it was the Nokia 3210. The was only one way to hold it right, and that was between your ear and your gob!

Post edited by galwayguy85 on

The bank of Ireland app doesn't copy the decimal point ... maybe they fixed it..must check again ...

So you'd be paying 123.45 and it'd would paste in 12345. So, instead of paying someone 123 quid you could be paying them 12 grand.

Imagine a financial app NOT copying the decimal point.

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

People with really croaky voices either permanent from smoking or people who just refuse to clear their throat.

It was mystifying to me that Marian Finucane had such a long career as a radio presenter considering the croaky voice she had, she sounded horrific, couldn't imagine anything worse than having to listen to her for an extended period.