Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,768 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

this ‘shorts’ bôllocks that seems to have infested YouTube. Everywhere on there. What’s the actual point of them ?

Aimed at people with remedial attention spans ? YouTube wasn’t broken, not nearly, stop tinkering with it, twats.

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My 70+ year old father's refusal to slow down.

Has been in A&E twice within the last few weeks with minor knocks and injuries due to not minding himself and wanting to do everything all the time. Apparently because he knew a lad a few years ago that dropped dead a week after retiring, he's afraid of it happening to him.

Don't remember him being as clumsy/accident-prone before so I suppose that's a TA in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

TA at the mystifying passage of time. Christopher Nolan's Batman Begins is 20 years old this year. When Batman Begins came out in 2005, Back To The Future was 20 years old. Batman Begins still feels like a much newer movie today than Back To The Future felt in 2005.

Also, Michael Keaton's Batman was released in 1989 which means that Batman Begins is now an older film today than Batman was when Batman Begins was released.

All that is factually correct and yet doesn't make sense to me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,796 ✭✭✭4Ad

Passage of Time.

People saying Life is flying by etc..

Doesn't fly between 9.30am and 12.00 any day at work…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭thereiver

Shorts is a rival to tik tok .I think it designed for people who don't want to watch long videos eg 30 minutes plus.

Ta the new snow white use,s cgi dwarves how long til Ai is being used to replace extras in films alot of actors rely on being extras to get started in tv shows

Ta there's less AA games being made .theres more remakes being made to reduce the risk of investing in a new franchise . Games like the last of us cost 300 million plus to make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Smartphone changing to dark mode seemingly without any input from me, and taking me ages to figure out how to reset it back to normal display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,371 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Same here.

Less landmark events \ milestones in life \ things aren't as new to you… time passes more quickly if it is same old same old. At least, that's according to the pop science article I read on new scientist :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭Comhrá

When I retired some years ago, my main worry was anticipated boredom and finding the time dragging. In reality it's the very opposite. I find the years are really zipping by, and I feel the time is still filled with things to do.

Post edited by Comhrá on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,026 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The term "Wild swimming" and the wänkers who do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Charlo30

Extra bonus points if they do it during a strom and have to be rescued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,710 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Photos of the shop selling the winning lotto ticket.

I just feel sorry for the staff having to jump up and down with a bottle of champagne and balloons.

Then going back into the shop working and their face been splashed all over the news.

It must be very hard for them to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Me too, but I like dark mode, mine has turned super bright.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Are the phones in light sensitive mode?. I have mine set on a sliding scale I adjust as I see fit. Recently though I feel like the darkest mode is brighter than it used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I accidentally changed something when I was manhandling my phone, ho hum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Deregos.

I've this awful unconscious habit of cupping my crotch with my left hand while reading. I keep trying to stop doing it, but as soon as I'm relaxed and reading, I realise my hand is back down there again. Not sure why I do it, must be a comforting thing.

At lunchtime I got charged €19 euros for a plate of carvery food in one of my lesser visited local pubs.

It was really nice tasty and fresh food and a very sizeable portion that I seriously enjoyed and just about finished.

But seriously, their desserts are now €7.50 too so…. two drinks a main and dessert a shade under €40. Basically a la carte prices for the privilege of queuing up……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,132 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I like getting a receipt when buying most stuff, why can't payment cards be hardcoded with one of 3 choices selected so the cashier will see when they complete the transaction.

I don't want a receipt.

I want a receipt.

Ask me if I want a receipt.

this irish football team. 🤌🏻 All over Bulgaria, cruising, but the Irish miss 2 sitters and butcher 2 other excellent opportunities . Bulgaria go down the other end of the pitch, our lads with a demonstration of ‘ how to fall asleep defending a corner’ and we are losing 0-1. They’d drive you demented. The naivety of this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭blackvalley

In recent times I’ve searched online for information about “ solar panels “ and “ hearing aids “ in separate searches and since then I’ve been bombarded with adds for both on every website I visit . It’s very irritating 😠

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

TA is live in a house in the local village , roughly a mile ( or less ) north of the border . Despite having an Irish phone signal depending on which war they wind is blowing I can't get a FTA tv signal , which means I'm geoblocked for alot of RTE and other stations . The is no reason that I can see why I can't get one .

When I moved in he everything was stripped from the house , including light bulbs .I need to have a look in the attic to see that they didn't cut the aerial

a girl I follow on tiktok. She engaging, harmless, funny, yet very eccentric and sometimes annoying which she has been ‘honest’ with people that it’s all because of ADHD.
    Tonight however she’s really off on one, the camera is frequently at an angle that is showing quite clearly two nostrils full of white residue… which I think now might be more of an explanation for the ultra hyper off the head dancing around her kitchen and the about 1500 words a minute craic… whatever but 🤪

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Ah, yes. The glitch strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,026 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Going into work today is my trivial annoyance. Not that I had to go to work, but the actual entering into the workplace. It was a lovely crisp March morning, slightly nippy on the bike, especially since I didn't wear a jacket but as soon as I go in the doors to the building…BAM!!, a big wall of heat, in stark contrast with the cool morning air from outside.

That can't be healthy for you…

They made a big deal about the village being connected to high speed broadband .

Except it doesn't work half the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

TA today - **** boards ads talking shite like look who Cliff Richard is married to and Lulu’s shite house in Maidenhead and Jack Nicholson living in Maidenhead - guess which part of the world I’m in this week. If you are going to show ads, and I wish you wouldn’t, at least let them have some semblance of truth.

1. tool who shoulder checked me in the shop as I’m stood at a shelf…a walking oddball with his face inches from his phone which he was holding up, filming stuff or broadcasting himself. No apology, just on he scuttled..It’s a shop, not the Louvre, at 7pm it’s full of people, no need to be filming / photographing anything, 🔔 🔚

2. 12.45am & got a silly and bit grumpy message on tiktok as I’m not watching a certain live, pfffft.