Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It's a sensory reaction to certain stimuli, most often sound. There's whole YouTube channels dedicated to it. Food bloggers on Insta have started whacking up the audio on stuff like cutting into crusty bread/slicing charred meats etc for the same effect.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

TA 1: Wardrobes bursting with clothes and nothing I want to wear.

TA 2: Going out for lunch and being served cold food.

TA 3: Even bank holiday weekend fly by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭The_Macho_Man

Cold food is a disgrace, particularly if you have to wait a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Bebop

When the driver in front of me in the Q is looking at their phone, head bent down, I can almost hear the sound of tapping keys…

then the Q starts creeping forward and I’m stuck with my arse is still over the stop line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Everyone and their granny is tapping their disgusting fake long nails on everything they touch these days to get on the ASMR train. It drives me nuts.

The longer you have to wait, the more likely something will be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,724 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I bought another pair of runners that I don't need!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭blackbox

Idiot drivers with no lights on at dusk - or driving thinking their parking lights are enough.

Idiot drivers with their lights on the automatic setting so their tail lights don't come on in poor visibility unless its actually dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

The price of plant pots! Just checked Amazon for some clear 5 or 6 inch orchid pots ffs 5 euro each! You can buy an orchid in a pot for that money.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Reminds me of the runners I bought ages ago to go running in. I should just call them walkers.

Those nails are a TA in themselves. Awful, awful, awful looking yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Lately my tablet browser is flagging certain words suggesting that I’ve misspelled them when it’s apparent that I haven’t. I used the word ‘ unrelatable ‘ in a post as I am here and it’s underlined in red. I try and work out how I’ve misspelled it, even by going to the online Oxford English but letter by letter, it’s correct but flagged on this browser as otherwise…. 🧐. Quite trivial, but annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Might it be suggesting a grammatical error rather than a misspelling? It might be suggesting to use a comma or some other supposed improvement.

I wonder how many other people looked it up?

OED states :

Fewer than 0.01occurrences per million words in modern written English

So its used on average one word in one hundred million words written.

Maybe the dictionary just didn't bother with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

At the start of October, I made an appointment with my local medical centre to get my bloods done on Friday 29 November. I get them done every six months.

Was woken early this morning by an automated text reminding me of my bloods appointment for today 29 October.

Could not go back asleep. And then took quite a bit of time to get through to the surgery to cancel it.

TA the use of the words "Bloods". OK its the rule rather than the exception but just sounds wrong to me, blood is a singular and you don't have more than one in your body.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

It's possible that either the browser's base language, or the keyboard, or one of those language settings might have been changed by default, perhaps during an update.

If you're on your laptop, look at the left hand corner of your taskbar, there may be something in there.

Post edited by New Home on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA when you sneeze so hard that you scratch the back of your throat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When you're doing something trivial in work and it's taking ******* ages because it's hidden and obsecured by layers of crap.

Check the language settings. If it's set to US English it will flag all sorts as being incorrect when, to you, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Smart arse politicians getting their mugs up on early election posters Public Meeting notices with nonsensical topics. Two in my area are supposedly about "Women in Sport" and "Careers in the EU", topics which are right at the top of issues that we need public meetings about. Eh, right. And of course, their mugshots take up so much of the poster you can't see feck all about where these important meetings are supposedly taking place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Poochie05

We don’t have allocated parking spaces in work, but I have a spot I like in one of the bays furthest away from the building. Gives me a bit of a walk and reduces damage potential from careless doors. Someone has been parking in this very space for the last 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,649 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That I’m looking at plasma cutters , even though I don’t need one , it might do a trick or two .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,237 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bit my tongue

It's hurts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Deregos.

But the 'blood' and the Crips and the KKK' wouldn't have quite the same ring to it.

My TA is Apple airtags. I don't own an iPhone, my kids all do though and it turns out the Airtags will only work if they're within ten meters of an iPhone. Which is okay if you live in a city, but pretty useless if you've lost one somewhere in the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,912 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I've given out about seeing food deliveries on E-Scooters around town here , but I take it back. Tonight I saw someone with the Just Eat delivery bag on their back, on a bike, no lights, not even a shiny reflector ffs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,649 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That I’ve bought alot of things on Amazon . But ever since I fell over the coffee table I’ve mislaid them all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

IMG_20241030_055148284.jpg

Is it yeah? I'll get out of the queue so.

Those fcukers love that sort of thing. Saying "Go to gate" on the app before the incoming flight has even landed.