Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Bullshit bureaucracy. Making an application for something today I had to provide confirmation of my PPS number and address. Grand, I thought as I recently got a letter from Revenue with both the PPSN and my address on it. Ah no! Foolish me. I was told with a straight face that separate documents were required as evidence of the PPSN and address. I give up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

An Post making you fill out a form to buy literally 20 US dollars due to "anti-money laundering" rules has to be the worst. I don't think anyone is laundering their ill-gotten millions 20 quid at a time, lads 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,451 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Compost bin is already 90% full with leaves that have blown into drive way …next collection 10 days away.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,632 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I have mislaid /lost / had stolen my mobile phone . It’s the calendar on it with medical appointments that pisses me off most . I can’t look for appointments and not turn up 😡

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

You never know... those laundrettes usually have money changing machines and they do take a 20 note... I mean, that's how money laundering started, isn't it? 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,647 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Our life is so connected to our phones now, aren't they?

Perhaps it's on some sort of Google calendar? I'm not sure. Maybe you can login on a laptop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Ha, guess who I was dealing with? An Feckin' Post!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Pile-ons on businesses' social media. Right now there's a health insurance company (and it's actually not a company I'm a fan of at all, so I don't have a horse in this race) getting it in the neck for not covering an individual's specific cancer treatment. Firstly they can't discuss an individual customer - that would breach GDPR, secondly - his health insurance policy doesn't cover it? That's standard stuff - no wrongdoing.

I managed the social media for a company for years - it was ok at first but then became appalling. People can be such idiots, liars, bullies... and so quick to believe pure sh1t without the full story. Including people you'd expect to be sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭The_Macho_Man

Perhaps the insurance company believes that the patient is simply “denying their biology?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Archeron

One of my neighbours has a Christmas tree with lights and sparkly ornaments in their garden.

Too soon man, too soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,748 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

People leaving an empty kettle in the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

The ESB.

A gust of wind and thousands without power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Toilet brushes . . I think I'll nearly have to do some sort of a practical demonstration as no one in my house seems to have a clue how to use one without leaving it all clogged up with toilet paper and shite. And It's always left to muggins here to go in and clean up the revolting mess . . ew 🫣

Online stalking. People pretending you're something you're not (and they actually sharing the same view as you) just to harangue because they've a weird fetish for targeting people online to be vitriolic towards. Although that's not very trivial.

That CGI Livia thing on The Sopranos - lame.

Yeah I love Christmas but get Halloween out of the way first.

The ESB doesn't cut the power - it's the weather, and it's far more than a gust of wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

It's not that type of thread. ^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Logged into Boards to check the Enoch thread and I have alot of the recent posters on ignore - so the last few pages are blank. Waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I heard Christmas songs on in a shop today 🤔

There's something comforting about being around someone who understands your need for silence & space. You don't have to fill the air with words or explanations, they just get it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,632 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

found it down the side of the cushion , phew . The thing is I’ve no connection here . It was only the beeps from missed messages that alerted me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭ThePentagon

When you squirt a bit of liquid hand soap on to your hands to wash them. You put your hands under the running water for a second just to make them wet enough to form a lather. The entire glob of soap slides off your hands into the sink and down the drain. Bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Fireworks already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭apache

Going on round my way the past month. I hate them and it distresses the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Slight medical emergency in the office last night, but nothing major, person needed to be comforted while someone else got the car to get them to casualty.

When we got the word all was well, we sat down as a group for a cuppa and time to update other colleagues(so the person in question wouldn't have to answer endless questions when back tomorrow)

A student mentioned in public how calm I was and how they couldn't have handled it as well, to be comforting I said well I had old parents and I grew up in a business where things like ppl seizing/falling/and sometimes having miscarriages wasn't that unusual(usually on bank holidays) one then said "Well that's what you get for living close to an abortion clinic" OMG I didn't realise I look like I was in my teens in 2018 when those were first allowed in Ireland.

But honestly ,it's more that a ta that a person who wants to work in the community doesn't know how to handle basic medical emergencies, doesn't know a miscarriage from an abortion or the impact of aged parents on teenagers!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Tradesmen !!

Yes I'll call out this week and have a look at the job, then proceed to ignore all calls and texts when they dont turn up

FFS just tell me you dont want the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Micromanaging fcking bosses - if you wanted done it your way DO IT YOURSELF!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭sporina

the new eco friendly packaging on pocket tissues (tesco) - falls apart after a while in handbag.. grr..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Just fired off an email to a company to make a minor complaint/commnet about their product. Its a US company who I have contacted in the past. The reply I got back was sorry thats not our product. TA that I'm an idiot.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Or worse, when you take the day off work for them to then not turn up because they are ''held up on another job''.

Another job that they had also booked on your supposed timeslot.

Then when trying to look through your work calendar to reschedule, they act like you're the difficult one that's dictating times 🙄

There's something comforting about being around someone who understands your need for silence & space. You don't have to fill the air with words or explanations, they just get it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,778 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

people in jobs who change things for the sake of change especially where the change ends up being counter productive and makes things difficult for others who have to live with it.

If you’ve nothing to do that’s productive, no problem, go buy a crossword / wordsearch book, solitaire, print off reports if looking busy is a must but if it ain’t broken...leave…well…alone.