Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

People who think they have an extra hour in bed every morning for the next five months - until the clocks change again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Having had a difficult week and heading into one even more difficult, I was happy to head to bed last night.

Finished my 7-night course of Balance Active, within half an hour I got signals that I may have a 24-hour dose of cystitis, it took three hours for the symptoms( I couldn't get downstairs to my secret stash of Cystropurin) to subside so got about 4 hours sleep!!

Now the boys are here doing things with glue and paint in the house, which gave me a sinus headache so I'm forced to take Sudafed just to survive till they leave.

This getting old thing is crap and expensive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(TA)

Post edited by Bredabe on

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,187 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

You can add more, I've set my right hand thumb, index finger and left hand index finger, pretty much every eventuality covered 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭Archeron

Been said before, but i think its important to say again..... Cryptobores.

Please just stfu about your investments and the latest technology involved and your insights into the future market.

I think a fair rule of thumb is that if you're not talking to another fellow cryptobore, the person you're talking to really couldnt give fewer sh*ts if they tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,471 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'm looking forward to the brighter mornings but the TA is remembering how to reset the time on certain appliances etc

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

My TA is every time we get a storm we get a power cut and when the power comes back there several appliances that need resetting.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Producers for a science-based drama series not seeming to have any kind of technical consultant familiar with very basic highschool level concepts.

No, you can't have a force of x Newton metres, Thats a torque.

You can't have one measured in pounds per square inch (its a US series) either. Thats a pressure.

Post edited by bonzodog2 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Minute cryptic . A head wrecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Deregos.

We were in a restaurant and the waiter kept scratching his arse . . It was so bizarre. We were trying not to laugh in his face.

Totally confused this morning by clocks going back. I have two clocks in the bedroom. One is an internet radio so I expected it to automatically update the time the other an ancient Roberts "satellite" alarm clock radio I remember always updates the time (never touched it in 10 years).

Anyway TA is neither of them updated automatically - or they did and I'm living in a time slip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭migrant

Governments who pss away taxpayer's money to attract data centres

That is a TA … wondering if it will auto update or not. I end up having to google current time or check my 'offline' analogue wristwatch to be sure what the time is then I can assess if auto update happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭apache

So annoying. It happens in a lot of the shops too and when you ask to see they get in a huff. Don't understand this at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,974 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The politest way I can think of saying this is awkward/annoying drunks in the chipper at night, invading personal space etc. Went in to order my stuff and brought a book with me to read while I was was waiting.

What happened afterwards was like a sketch from telly or a play

There was a couple there let's call them 'himself and herself" middle aged, obviously in some state of inebriation. "Himself" seem to take grave exception to the fact I had a book for whatever reason. Also the jumper I had on seemed to agitate him.

He asked me when I thought the world was going to end, I said "Maybe when Mayo win the all-ireland?". Said he "Mayo are never going to win the AI, etc etc". "Exactly" I said.

And eventually after a few minutes of listening to him, then he wanted to look at the book I had, and I explained to him what it was about. It was basically geopolitics in space, satellites etc, and mankind's curiosity with what is beyond earth from earliest times to now.

What I told him was the Chinese man who tied a lot of rockets to a chair thousands of years ago (blew himself up) and now has a crater named after him on the moon. And it was about satellites in space, and stuff like that. It took four rounds of explanation of that, and hoped he would leave me be then. Nope he was still leaning in on where I was sitting for while, nearly on top of me.

Eventually "himself" went off to the "eat in" section of the chipper while he was waiting (the building beside the part I was in, partitioned with glass).

"Herself" proceeded to have a conversation with me asking me "When do you think the world was going to end?" (It seemed to be the major topic of choice)

Pointing to "himself" in the partitioned area. "He thinks the world is going to the end in 10 years" stating it as if is a very likely fact. "As he reads bukes too".

I explained how that is unlikely, some people have been saying that for thousands of years and never happened. "Herself" seemed amazed at this, as if it was some new revelation and proceeded to tap the glass partition to get his attention.

"Himself" comes back into the main chipper area, where "Herself" explains "He knows, he has a buke' he is reading. "Himself" did not seem very happy about this at all (again) and eventually went back to where he was. I still had not managed to start reading any page, or even sentence, at this stage.

Opened the chapter "astro-politics" to try again. "Herself sitting beside me again then started to try and read the word "astro-politics" she got the "astro" part.

The next part go even weirder. "Herself" says "Are you alright in your life?".

I said "I'm grand". Say's she "Do you not think about the world ending, and dying?" "No" I said, "That's depressing". She's says "I do, buried my Dad last year".

Then I was thinking "What do I say here?", "Think of happy memories" instead was what I went with.

So now my TA is not only did not get the 20 minutes of peace, now anytime I open the book I was reading I will associate it with those two from the chipper, and wonder when the world is going to end!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,779 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

some people should have a mute feature that can be activated remotely. These neighbours….you could train a fûckin chimp to behave more civilly and easily.

This morning . I just wanted to chill, surrounded by some level of peace & tranquility.

I fell victim to constant uncontrollable guffawing, nonsensical screechy loud phone calls they make or take outdoors…roaring …“ eeeee haha ohh gawdddd, yeahhhh.. my gawdddd yeahhh hahaha “ , sod off back inside if you want to roar at people in your freakish oddball put on D4 dialect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Cooking videos that overdo the ASMR. Insta is particularly bad for it.

Well I worked out the the problem with the internet radio which has TAed me even more and for multiple reasons.

Firstly for daylight saving to work you have to set it to what seems to be off (not highlighted) for it to work.

Secondly the Roberts internet radio that cost £200 (in the kitchen) has exactly the same software and issue with the daylight saving feature as the internet radio in my bedroom that can be got from Amazon for under £40! I can forgive a cheap chinese internet radio thats £40 for not being perfect but a Roberts radio that is top dollar no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,749 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Bredabe

People(usually men) who smugly offer me unworkable and obvious solutions to common difficulties.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Match of the Day 2 being moved to midnight for some celebration of BBC2. Woke nonsense.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Bredabe luv . . I think the phrase you're looking for is mansplaining . . which btw is the explanation of something by a man, typically to a woman, in a manner regarded as either condescending or patronizing.

Not sure if you get what I'm saying but don't you worry your little head about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Good thing is I to watch 8out10 cats does Countdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,779 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

want to by a new pedometer having lost / mislaid my rather good and trusty old one.

Pick one on the website of an Irish sports equipment retailer, good reviews and reasonable price ….but only in physical stock in one of their stores in Dublin and nowhere near me.

In addition if I’m ordering online the pricks want €5 for delivery, delivery of an item the size and weight appropriately of a matchbox. So €16 → €21…

A match of the day 2 now is it? Some people are well off.

Give them 3 random games, one of which is 0-0 and one of which comes from outside the Premier League.

No highlights of other games.

Like the good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

The sheer volume of idiots on the roads yesterday. Hideous driving conditions, already multiple crashes, and they're just speeding by breaking the speed limit with no lights on at all. Basically invisible to all around them. Took me an extra hour to get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I just sat on a rock on the beach without first seeing that there was a bird poop on it. Now I’ve a big birdcrap stain on the back of my pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Not really trivial, but people with trivial problems telling you to pray to solve your big problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Charlo30

Went to take a jacket out of the wardrobe that I was going wear today only to discover that its covered in mold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I’ve, probably, said it before but stickers on books. The ones that don’t come off without leaving stickiness, or a load of peel, behind.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I've a TA that my wife can't see a book I've bought with a sticker on it without peeling it off. I don't care if it has a €1 St Vincent de Paul charity shop sticker on it just leave it alone.