If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Inter-Provincial Series showcasing new rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,190 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Could they not just kick the free backwards to a player outside the D? then shoot for a 2 pointer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 howdo1992

I like the 3 up 3 back rule I think it opens up the game and is probably enough on its own to bring in. Maybe keep the tap and go to, everything else can be scrapped.

One thing is the keeper shouldn’t be allowed to go beyond the half way line and be an expection to the rule. If that’s stays it means all teams will look to have outfielder in goal as they will essentially be the an extra unmarkerd player who can’t be tracked. Teams would be at a massive disadvantage if not having a keeper who was comfortable on possession and carrying ball up the field.

A lot of the Ulster players/analysts on tg4 seem to be giving out about the loss of defence and physicality. I think a lot of 1v1 defending was showcased very well and loads on interceptions were happening. Reading the game well would be extremely important skill going forward for a defender. I thing the blanket defence actually took away from the skill of individual defence and the art is lost really, so bringing this back to the game would be a huge plus in my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Downlinz

The new rules make me excited about the sport for the first time in a long while.

Hard to know if they'll produce high intensity close encounters or just further amplify the gap between counties but at the very least it'll be a spectacle to watch.

Do ye think 15 a side is the right number of players or would 13 or 11 be better?

I think 15 is too much, less would make it a faster game and a better watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭HBC08

Dublin Mayo in 2017 was the best final in a generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Id rather watch an uncontested kick pass than a handpass; the handpass as previously mentioned reduces the margin of error in transitioning the ball , the game needs to enlarge this margin to create the opportunity for turnover and hence excitement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,551 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Last week in Clare a fella was doing keepy-uppies and no one came near him.

The style of pass isn't what's making teams pack the 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭crusd

some of the greatest scores in the history of the game followed successive hand passes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭Robson99

The 3v3 looked fine last night..but come first round of the league teams will have a sweeper back or two if the GK is coming forward ...so wouldn't get too carried away with it just yet....its very hard to read much into last night's games ...they were like testimonial games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭sliabh 1956

Mrs Sliabh not a great GAA fan still reminds me to this day of the cheapness of that Jersey she found it the most funny thing she ever saw on a sportsfield. Of all teams to be playing with weakened material the Aussies were not the ones.

Some idiot presenter on off the ball thinks the Ulster keeper did really well last night and there is nothing wrong with the goalkeeper playing outfield, I give up. 🤦‍♂️ saying that half the off the ball lads are idiots.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Is it penalties if a match finishes a draw?

Should try out the hockey style shoot out with the player running towards the keeper for a laugh, if it reached that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,201 ✭✭✭threeball

Most club games have no official umpires just a lad from one of the clubs who doesn't want to be there half the time. Ref pays no heed to them on anything anyway bar calling a score and even then they might disagree. I

Rugby maybe , successive handpasses are an attempt to ensure and retain possession , teams are forced to pack the 21 to contend with this , the ball then moves around the arc till a half opening to score arises or dispossession leads to a regroup …more dispossession would lead to more turnovers , breakouts and a more mobile game changing the need to pack the 21 . rugby is a possession game and if you want to watch a physical slow moving game fine ,I want to watch a fast moving game with turnovers and scores and less encumbered by rules .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,080 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I didn't have an opportunity to watch last night's matches, but here's a question for those that did and highlighted Morgan helping Ulster to hold onto possession late in the game.

Would it be enough to specify that the goalkeeper can only gain possession in the oppositions 45 (outside of his own box) as opposed to the opposition half ?

That way a goalkeeper could still contribute to join an attack or kick a point, but being used for piggy in the middle work becomes a lot tougher to maintain and higher risk.

The early hand pass game was great to watch. It was very much an attacking game based on passes to forward moving runners. But teams still lined out in the conventional 15 positions. Limerick Vs Kerry were some of the best games I was ever at in either code (despite the results 😢)

It was 15 behind the ball that killed football not the hand pass. I am absolutely certain that limiting the hand pass won't change the current park the bus defensive tactics.

He did really well and was the most creative player on the pitch executing excellent kick passes and a long range score. If a player has the skill to execute as Morgan does there is nothing wrong with it. The problem has been teams using the keeper to recycle possession and keepers coming forward who don’t have the skill level.

One fact to be reminded of is the accepted view on boards dues not always accord with reality

The piggy in the middle effort that has been mentioned here a few times, that is anti football and he was to blame for it last night at that time, they were going to try and waste the last few minutes at that crap, the crowd started to boo and rightly so. the goalkeeper must be banned from being more than 5 yards from his goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭maximus15

Still think a shot clock would beneficial to stop the boring holding possession, to run down the clock .

If Morgan wants to display his amazing skill in the middle of the field then there is a position ready made for him to do that. The position he is in is about keeping goal not showing skills in the midfield. The clues are in the names of the positions.

if a team chose to utilise a player differently so be it. It’s thier choice. I do think it should be allowed for one of the 3 up players to be permitted to track a keeper going into the opposite half in the new rules however. In that scenario it’s only the rare player like Morgan who would do it as they won’t be the extra man

Have you ever watched or played football. 5 yards😂

good one. 🙄

I played for 20+ years by the way.

I wouldnt agree because, it only adds 2 more players to the half of field being attacked which isnt wanted. The whole reason they made the 3 players rule is to create more space, why did they do that? because the majority of fans dont enjoy a crowded field which results in slow boring play.

if they dont ban the goalkeeper coming out, I will just walk away from the game altogether, switch to Hurling.

I think it very much goes against what they are trying to do with the "3 up" rule.

A keeper going forward in soccer is fine because the team takes a huge risk letting their only ball handler away from goals. In football the risk is much less so football needs to legislate special restrictions on the player who gets special privileges.

Or just go back to the pre 70's system of having the keepers in team kit with little protection.

TThe handpass was introduced to speed up the game and it worked briefly , however it is now primarily a means of retaining possession while not scoring .Packed defences are a result of the finessing of the handpass leading to a zero sum game ...long periods of boring meaningless possession ...few turnovers …few scores .

TThe new rules are an extension of this philosophy while I hope they work I remain to be convinced

most goalkeepers don’t have the skill set to live in that company. Even the ones we see up the pitch regularly in the current game only prosper when they are the extra man. You would find that almost no keepers would come up where they aren’t an extra man so would be a non issue

The hand pass is a tool used by teams looking to hold possession, it’s not the cause of teams looking to hold possession. You see more space in these games and in this scenario the hand pass will act as a tool to aid transition to attack. Team should always have an option to recycle possession and not be forced into launching 50 50s. I think the new rules shift the balance away from possession for possessions sake and towards utilising space. A full season would be needed to evaluate fully

when did a keeper ever stay 5 yards from goal? Ever closing down a player coming through 1 on 1

its way easier to just ban the keeper from entering the opposition half or playing far from his goal. they should go back to perfecting the art of saving goals and kick outs.