Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dispute with mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭The_Macho_Man

I notice that there are a lot of people blaming Beasty for getting themselves banned for breaking the site’s rules.

I’d say there’s a fair few lads in Mountjoy expressing similar sentiments, blaming the Guards instead of themselves when they get caught robbing grannies or assaulting a rival drug dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,345 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Musk isnt a candidate.

A poster has stated they were sanctioned for 'rapey Don' so the idea only side is being sanctioned doesnt hold water.

Similarly seems like posters from both sides being hit for link dumps and uncivil posts.

I'm not convinced about the new CA rules, especially that warnings dont expire.

I cant reconcile the reports here with how they were announced eg as permitting 'more robust debate'.

And there is obvious capacity issue, which either needs more mods or as Ive suggested shunt some threads to Politics or AH.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I didn't say only one side is being sanctioned, I'll quote myself from earlier

I've still got a feeling that those on the 'left' are more inclined to report posts like that from the other side, while those on the 'right' wouldn't bother/ don't see the need to and any bias in moderation is due to that imbalance

I'm sure I've made that point in feedback threads going back 10 years, but the new rules seem to be bending to the ways of the "silent majority", if you could call them that, rather than the other way as some would claim

Well, it seems to have been implied by: "Guess which got sanctioned..."

Others on thread have claimed similar.

Regardless, it doesnt stand up to scrutiny based on the reports on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,394 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If everyone could stop with the sad imported left and right bollíx the site would instantly be 25% better.

I reckon you'd be able to guess which got sanctioned and which didn't, and by inference which got reported and which didn't, and which side was doing the reporting

Based on previous info, only reported posts are actioned.

So how can you guess which side is doing the reporting if 'rapey Don' was also sanctioned, on the same thread?

Well I mean, it's a handy shorthand, I'm sure I wasn't using the terminology 10 years ago when i was raising the issue back then, but it was the same issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Do only reported posts get sanctioned?

Why didn't you report the post?

Which side was doing the reporting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭The_Macho_Man

Two cheeks of the same arse, as dear Oscar put it.

I browsed through a few forums and there’s so much of the endless “woke/PC brigade” nonsense on this site.

It’s often pointed out that the average boards.ie user is much older than other sites, and there’s definitely a certain strain of “I don’t need no education” anti-intellectual contrarianism common with Irish people aged 45 and above here.

I’d imagine most of the most virulent “anti woke” posters here have heavy drinking habits, a diet rich in salt and sugar, and they haven’t been told “no” by anyone in decades.

Grumpy from aging and their bodies falling apart from years of neglect, they take out their frustrations on certain minority groups and poor BEASTY for telling them to cop on.

He needs more moderators to help.

Yes

The refrain from mods is always "if you have an issue with a post, report it" I didn't have any issue with the post. I don't think anyone should face a ban for it.

If you can guess which post got actioned I reckon you can guess which side was doing the reporting... (Camel; the 'left')

Only reported posts get sanctioned? You sure about that?

So you are complaining that a post you didn't bother reporting didn't get sanctioned, when you claim only reported posts get sanctioned. You don't see any problem with that?

The "left" 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

We have no idea what's being reported and what isn't.

Given the sheer amount of complaining from some on the graveyard thread I highly doubt their claims they don't report anything.

I'd say it's a case of what's good for the goose is good for the gander, if you can't beat 'em, join 'em.

People are being banned for nothing, and I don't think it was the "vocal minority" who wanted it this way

I can read you the quotes of them saying they wanted people banned.

Banned for nothing? or banned for thread spoiling and the like?

I'm not complaining it didn't get sanctioned, I didn't particularly want it sanctioned, I'm pointing out where the perceived imbalance in mod actions may be coming from, with a concrete example.

Of course you are complaining.

That you didn't want it sanctioned isn't really relevant

If you have "concrete" examples then it isn't perceived now is it. Are those examples as concrete as you claim?

People aren't being 'banned for nothing' they're at worst being banned for a new set of rules that are being poorly conveyed and not fully worked out (ie. shifting linkdumping to include image dumping etc).

They wanted particular people banned that they perceived as a protected in-group with the moderators, which is a pure fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Seems this topic has a few strides in it then.

From what I can gather, there are rules but they are just not defined at all, link dumping can also be image related, something that is uncivil could also be sarcasm.

It is no wonder this site is dying slowly. How exactly can it be expected to have any traction when folks get banned at the whim of a mods mood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Polar101

These threads are absolutely hilarious. Now it's poor Beasty who, according to the usual suspects, is so burned out he only bans one "side" (I'm assuming the perpetually angry brigade). But there's never anything wrong with the people who post things that get them banned.

Why would any moderator on the site voluntarily want to mod CA? They'd have to be crazy to volunteer for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Rooks

The mob had spoken you mean. Downvoting just leads to echo chambers. I have just the place for you:

www.reddit.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,823 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Everyone has the right to reply here except when some posters think nobody who disagrees with them have that right .

Many of us have had warnings and threadbans in the past and none of us ever agree 100% that we are worthy of sanction until we cool the heels for a while , or for some , if ever .But after the recent feedback thread due notice was given that while moderation would be more hands off on current affairs , breaching forum rules would be treated very firmly , and there would be escalating threadbans without dispute resolution until the final 2 where a poster is in danger of a complete outright ban . This was not the outcome that most , either the right or the left or the vocal minority or silent majority , were looking for as I perceived that thread but that is what came of it . There were many asking for more moderation instead but others celebrating when that was not the result ...don't see many celebrating now .

So now as some have found , posters have more rope but now getting pernanently hung for the same offences that would have garnered a ban for a few weeks .

Mods with less moderation apparently but that same moderation leading to warnings that can't be overturned now .

However some here have been rowing in on , and some being just plain nasty about Beasty , an admin who has given up their time to keep the site going , and I think that is just bad form and " dvckish " behaviour . If he doesn't engage he is ignoring it , if he does he is similarly excoriated .

There are some here relishing an opportunity to put the boot in on a thread that he has already stated he cannot really engage and most fair people would lay off the personal cracks It is this childish and dvckish behaviour that causes rows and is ruining every thread , not posters having alternate views and not mods . Its not funny or clever just cringe .

The site needs more moderators or a rejig of current affairs / existing mods as con747 and odyssey 06 suggest above . And was suggested in the original feedback thread also . And didn't happen .

Would those who feel their posts have not been sanctioned appropriately not think now in retrospect , that having enough moderators, who have the time to read a post that is reported , and the posts leading up to it to see if others deserve sanction as well or instead , would be better than so called " hands off moderation " ... that is really just overworked and underresourced moderation relying on reported posts to regulate the forum?

Asking for less moderation when there are such widely different views, opinions and temperaments is not the answer . You can see how wideranging views are here even though it is just a small selection of posters .

On Frank's OP .

Although I whole heartedly agree that all rules need to be crystal clear to avoid confusion , as in the link dumping question . .there was a thread on this on feedback also.

I have always understood that dumping links without context was an offence ( using a link that has to be clicked to make a point instead of discussion ) or from dodgy sources although not sure if the latter carries a warning or should just be deleted . Don't know which if any applies to your post, OP so no judgement there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭nachouser

There's a whole other world out there that isn't CA threads. You should all familiarise yourselves with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,093 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Don't you know that people posting in those threads don't have opinions worth hearing, don't have the free spirit to have varying or contrary views on topics, aren't moderated and spend their time reporting each other's posts. Those other threads may have more traffic than CA but they're all wimps and should be ignored.

Or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Maybe he was referring to the real world Jim.

You know the one outside of Boards and the internet?

It's really interesting.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,104 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Just shut down the CA forum and any politics related sub forums - they really are just a recipe for disaster, if there is one thing guaranteed to create arguments its politics. Leave it to Reddit where you can all upvote someone who agrees with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

God no, the forum provides an invaluable service to the site. It keeps “certain types” distracted and away from, more, normal parts of the site.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dazler97

How can I be a mod ? I'd love to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭advisemerite

Definitely not the only one. I take them on the chin with a little chuckle and move on. They are definitely unwarranted though.