Deposit return scheme (recycling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,186 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I 'd like to see all the machines working properly too.

Just while I have you there, were you suggesting removing the deposit in your post that I originally replied to quoted below?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,348 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The deposit malarkey is just pissing people off. It's another hike in prices that people don't need, and coupled with the fact that the machine usage is so unwieldy and there's been no provision made for people with limited mobility, etc, it results in a scheme that's, basically, unfit for purpose, but a nice little earner.

The other day I went back with an empty 8 pack of Guinness cans, which now costs me an extra €1.20 (that's no joke of a price hike BTW). There were no dings in the cans and the barcodes were clear. 3 were accepted and the rest were rejected for some reason. I asked the guy behind the counter what the story was and he just rolled his eyes and said "sorry, there appears to be a lot of rejections". He was clearly as unhappy about this shite as everyone else is. I brought the 5 rejections home with me and put them in the green bin, where they were always being put in the first place, before this nonsense.

Stop pretending you can't see how shambolic this whole thing is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,819 ✭✭✭✭kippy

A few things I don't understand.

Why has three been a move recently to ensure the plastic bottle caps remain on plastic bottles?

You mention that the materials have been segregated from contaminants. What are these contaminants and why was this so difficult to achieve with traditional domestic recycle bins?

These items are shredded on collection and I assume washed thoroughly to remove any liquid remnants from the materials anyway. What type of contaminants would not be removed using these processes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This is what it says on the Re-Turn website. Check with whatever source you got the information about the caps. I don't know anything about that.

"I already recycle through my Recycling bin, why is this being
    brought in?

While all consumers should use their recycling bins for mixed dry
    recyclables, we would ask that consumers return their plastic bottles and
    cans to participating shops and supermarkets to redeem their deposit.
    The separate collection of these plastic bottles and cans guarantees a
    high quality recyclate material is returned and recycled and there is no
    cross contamination. The introduction of Deposit Return is a proven
    method of increasing recycling rates, with great success in a number of
    other European countries."

So, is that a yes ?

Do you want to do away with the deposit and keep the machines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

IMG_5886.jpeg

ouple of lads did well on the ground at croke park earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

If the machines just accepted any can or plastic bottle that had a barcode instead of having some in or out of scope it would have all balanced itself out over time with the non returns that a deposit was taken on being unclaimed. The messing about with in and out of scope has ruined it. If someone had even stockpiled 1000 cans they would have got a whole €150, hardly going to break the finances of the scheme and you could count on your hand how many people could have done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Seemingly this is the picture taken of him on his way back home….😯

image.png

😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I can imagine the howls of protest from the retailers. Being forced to install and upkeep machines with nothing in it for them. The scheme pays for itself, and the retailers get a small bit of money per item for doing their work. Re-Turn makes no secret of the fact that non redeemed deposits are part of the funding model.

Howls of protest from the taxpayers if they were asked to fund the thing instead of it being self funded. And I wouldn't blame them for just putting everything in their Green Bin.

Either machines that work or stop robbing people.

The deposit thing is a joke that puts money into a commercial venture. It's not an "incentive", it's just another extra cost for a lot of people who were already recycling their cans and plastic in their green bin, which they also pay for.

I wonder where he'll dump them when half the contents of that bag are rejected.

These on a lower wage know how to value their money and get the most from it. The issue is more with the unwaged, who have never had to work in their lives.

Ive stopped buying bottled water.

Doesn't really answer my questions but thanks for the effort.

Sunday is my day off. I will see what I can do during the week.

I don't get the logic of either things to be honest, it would be interesting to see what Return would say of asked directly but we all know their lead time on answering queries asked of them.

This needs to be €2, not 20 cent. 20c won't make a blind bit of a difference.

I've always believed in thriftiness and good budgeting myself regardless of income.

We have full employment now and depend on immigration to staff many areas of the economy.

Many of those who have never worked never will for one reason or another.

It's a societal issue rather than a recycling one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Where's this full employment you talk of? Dublin? Cork? Arrogance I'm seeing.

There's many places around the country where there is feck all employment opportunities. Particularly in parts with recent substantial growth in population. Tourism related jobs evaporated, what's left competing with subsidised refugees etc.

The alternative is to head to the cities and look for work there but you know what, rents are prohibitive. The final alternative is to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,721 ✭✭✭jj880

Sure Re-Turn is going great for Re-Turn. Why mess with a winning formula.

1. Start low so people will still pay.
    2. Jackpot.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I've no time for Re-Turn, it's a shocking system and should be scrapped until they can do it properly. Especially while we pay for recycling bins at our properties.

But the volume of non reusable coffee cups sold daily in Ireland is ridiculous. People should either stop and enjoy their coffee in an actual cup, bring a reusable cup, or pay an exorbitant and punitive fee for a non reusable cup.

The problem here is the stupidly large American style coffees that most people consume in Ireland. Look at how they drink coffee in Europe, it's not half a litre of milk in a cardboard cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,721 ✭✭✭jj880

Agreed. I was japing about how all this circular economy nonsense is similarly geared toward gathering up money instead of the environment. Either ban the offending material / charge a proper levy / implement the RVM system properly.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Ban the material is the easiest solution, nail on the head. We have tetra pak for milk and juice, yet still sell those products in plastic bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭nachouser

I met a friend for lunch earlier in Terenure, it was a cracking day so I decided to walk. I bought a vit-hit along the way and, guess where it went? Into a bin in Rathmines. Am I supposed to go into a random spar along the way or whatever and try it and get a ticket and then go to the till to try get 5 5c coins back? Or should I have brought my empty bottle with me into a restaurant and then brought it back home with me. It's a daft scheme:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭LastFridayNight

I think it was already established the plastic isn’t even economically viable to recycle. It wasn’t viable before this scheme, still not viable now. From a purely environmental point of view, we need people to stop using single use containers period.

I think we need a splash of dish soap in each can/bottle. That’ll put a stop to it.

There's plastic and plastic. The only in scope plastic for the scheme is PET Beverage Bottles. Which I read is economical to recycle, having about 7 generations of life. The metals in scope for the scheme also appear to be economical. I read that it is 90% cheaper than virgin to make a can from recycled aluminium.

This is just stuff off the internet which I read at face value. It would indeed be a nonsense to separate the in scope containers from other waste if there was no economic reason. HDPE / other plastic Beverage Bottles, and aluminium and steel food cans are out of scope.

The EU member states have agreed some big things for the banning of various materials. Under pressure from China in part, who want to stop taking our waste for processing. 2030 is the year to look out for.

We need to stop using single use containers but there is no indication that people are prepared to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

I buy water in 5 litre bottles and any alcohol in glass bottles which go to one of several glass banks in town and no stupid scanning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,336 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

This scheme is not designed to stop the use of one-off plastics. It is a scheme designed to put all the costs on the consumer and blame them. It was brought in to ward off any possible legislation that could have changed the type of containers the likes of coke and water use as that would hit their bottom line.

This makes it look like something is being done, without having to really do anything. The upside is that they (Re-turn) know that there will be millions of containers not returned through the scheme, which helps pay for their scheme. You and I, who already pay for their product, are now having to subsidise their environmental obligations.

I have no problem with the idea of the scheme, it works in other countries. But it fails to deal with the actual issue. That of containers bought while out and about not being recycled. Instead of this nonsense, the producers should have paid a levy to get bins everywhere. No need for barcodes. I don't need a barcode to return glass at the bottle bank.

They, the producers, are placing this product on the market. I, as a consumer, have no option if I want to buy the product that to buy it in the containers they have opted for. That is their choice but I am being the one made pay for it.