Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mass stabbing event in Sydney - **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,506 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Stop and search is racist. It's also pointless in this situation.

If it wasn't then drug related stop and search in London would target white people in suits around the London Bridge area or around Bank which are absolutely drowning in cocaine.

Only my black friends have been stopped in London. None of my equally drugged up white friends were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭yagan

I think it's becoming accepted that lone wolf attacks are terrorism if they're rooted in radicalisation inspired by online messaging.

I remember reading about jihadi Jane being labelled an Islamic terrorist, when in fact she'd had never had never been in a mosque before travelling to Ireland.

She'd been motivated by YouTube videos of children suffering under Israeli brutality.

The media lost interest in the jihadi angle once there wasn't a religious aspect and that it showed ordinary "white" people motivated by others sufferings.

I loved there for a few years.

They're not as strict as people think. Illegal immigrants have been granted residency if they do regional work for five years.

Plus an Indian colleague told me that there's a whole reference industry in India that give false testimony for Aussie immigration when references are being checked.

Interestingly Aussie immigration never checked our Irish references even though it was advertised that that would happen for our sponsorship visa.

They talk a tough talk but their immigration system is full of holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,072 ✭✭✭jackboy

Because it is generally done with ignorance and vitriol. We have seen in Ireland ludicrous suggestions that men need to be trained not to be violent and even that men should need a licence to go out in public. This type of narrative dominates rather than a serious discussion of practical solutions.

If anyone thinks that nonsense will make women safer good luck to them, they are dreaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,080 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

No it doesn't mean that. Men are dangerous, to themselves and to women. Arming dangerous men is a bad idea. If you develop a test for identifying the non dangerous ones, we can reconsider that.

Women OTOH are the ones who are victims of men, and the main reason there are fewer female victims is because there are already many places where women limit their own freedom and just don't go there already - don't go out running at night, don't walk home on their own etc etc. If women took the freedoms that men do, there'd be far more female victims. So the number isn't an excuse - quite the opposite.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Musicrules

You missed this part of my post:

'Before anyone says it, I'm not saying all men are potential mass murderers, I'm saying that all mass murderers are highly likely to be men.'

We have seen in Ireland ludicrous suggestions that men need to be trained not to be violent and even that men should need a licence to go out in public.

You do realise that that comment was made ironically? Precisely because nobody would take such a suggestion seriously, but women have often been told not to go out alone?

That you've turned an ironic comment into a "narrative" is itself deeply ironic.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

Why won't it work? Give women the opportunity to defend themselves and others. 99% of violent assaults are committed by men. It seems obvious that we should arm those who are far, far less likely to commit these assaults.

Because they are usually the same people targeting all Muslims when they discuss Muslims, so they assume everyone else thinks like they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,028 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Women are dangerous to children, I am sick of hearing stories about children suffering and dying at the hands of women. Women need to be targeted now and measures put in place to control them, if even one more child dies then society has failed.

Perhaps we should give guns to kids though, that is one option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,072 ✭✭✭jackboy

I am pretty confident putting tens of thousands of tasers out in public will only make things worse. Same would be true for guns or knifes.

There could be many more Lucy Letby mass murderers on the loose simply because people think women aren't capable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

It is very strange. I honestly don't know why some other men get defensive when a discussion about violent crimes committed by men comes up. But that attitude is holding back the fight against it. You see it on this thread, it's as if some are saying it's natural for men to be violent so there's nothing that can be done. I don't think this sort of violence is an innate trait in men. It's not natural for a man to stab a load of women and a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭sameoldname

Look, I'm not getting into a gender wars type thing here but I will say one thing. I think you're looking a this from an entirely single gendered point of view. Do you think the average man doesn't also limit their own freedoms to keep themselves safe? Plenty of places I would never dream of going on my own or even as part of a group and I'm pretty big. I'm also missing part of a tooth because of an unprovoked assault in my home town. My closest friend who lives in Dublin has been mugged 3 times over 20 years, the last one he was knocked unconscious. Men are not exactly sitting high and dry here.

Most men understand exactly what women fear when it comes to violence because they fear it too but we haven't figured out how to keep ourselves entirely safe so it's kind of irritating when somebody screams "What about women?!". It affects us all, so lets start from there maybe?

Let women police it and come to the aid of other men and women!

Got any numbers for that? Because I think you'll find that, at best, children are killed in roughly even numbers by parents - and that the main reason women figure in such unusually high numbers in this crime is because women do the vast majority of child care.

Once couples separate, men are responsible for about 70% of child murders.

So no, women are not more dangerous to children than men.

If we have to put up security systems, detectors, body scanners in our pubs, restaurants, shops, places of work that would be the biggest indicator that multiculturalism and mass immigration will have failed.

I'm all for controlled and managed immigration (not the shitshow we have now) and that type of scenario would be unacceptable to me.

It would be a complete erosion of our freedom and safe living standards. It would create incredible amounts of paranoia aswell. What next big walls and gates around our semi-d houses

Just NO.

I grew up with all that. It was grand.

I mean, sure, it's far nicer not to need it - don't get me wrong! But as an alternative to being stabbed randomly? I'm happy to go through a security check at shopping centres etc in that case.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,278 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It seems to be a regular occurrence in various countries that a perp who carries out such attacks is known to the police. You'd think that the police would keep better tabs on those people, but I suppose that's down to resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Exactly .

Black man ..must be an immigrant or Muslim ..Terrorist .

Affluent neighbourhood ? ..Jewish someone said ...repeated as fact .

Its very touristy area that's why it's affluent , and with loads of young Irish people staying and living nearby.

Loads of families around there and here up the walls with worry absolutely don"t need this nonsense FB /Insta style posting.

Just heard one of my lads and friends are safe thank god .This is their locality .

Wait for the facts why don't ye which came out pretty soon .

Local , known to the police ..not terrorist related .

I do wonder what exactly this means, yeah. If it's like the young woman who was stabbed in England last week, her husband was "known to the police" because he was the subject of a restraining order based on previous violence towards her. I wouldn't be surprised if it was something like that in this case too.

We're not there yet and don't need to get ourselves there. Stronger immigration controls, stronger policing, a functioning legal system, better services and infrastructure, better integration of migrants.

It's an admission a place is a kip. Bad for business, tourism and everything else.

It's certainly not grand to me. I guess your view is different as it was your normal. That's OK. We'll agree to disagree.

I don't think it's normal, or good. I just think people wringing their hands about it when we already have so many equally intrusive controls on our freedom is a bit odd. It's as if the stuff they're used to is grand, but anything they don't have experience of is unbearable. Personally I find the level of controls around travelling abroad far more of a pain than opening your handbag when you go into the cinema.

I agree it'd be better to go back to being safer - but can we?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Why are you getting so offended on the behalf of violent men?

Worse than what? Some men use knives, guns, their fists etc now anyway. They already have weapons, let non violent women stop their threat, like the woman in the case in Sydney.

How do you know her name but not every mass murdering male?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭HBC08

Yes I'm familiar it's not water tight but it's as tight as possible and the vast majority support it.

My in laws are Australian,they genuinely couldn't believe what's happening in ireland the last couple of years.

Anyway,this is a bit off topic so best leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,523 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It's a white dude called David Irvine appaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,961 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

It's an innate trait derving from testosterone. Human civilisation has only been possible to a great extent because a large enough proportion of men have been able to rule their biological urges/handicaps with their mind. Those who have not managed this less than small trick have been problematic to society and women since before we mastered fire.