Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The accelerating fall in Sinn Féin support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Train station nearly a direct walk across the road, with major bus routes. Plenty of shops/restaurants etc in the area.

It's the perfect location for high rise. People as well living in them won't have a massive need for a car becuase they would be close to work if in the hospital, even if further in city etc they have excellent public transport lnks

F**king disgrace these are getting blocked.
    Next year when students can't get a spot the people that blocked it will be crying

The leader of the opposition shouldn't be allowed to block it. She is doing it for political purposes, the worse the housing crisis is, the better for Sinn Fein. As I said they have been doing it for 10 years now. Disgraceful that anyone would make excuses for what they are at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

These particular kids were 10 and 11 years old. They werent political at all. They just have "Karens" on the brain the last few weeks. MLMD on TV in the morning was the very definition of one, so they jumped on it. No malice intended from them, but I thought it was hilarious and understand 100% why their child brains stuck MLMD down as the definition of a "Karen".

I know the SF bots and employees are having to use a lot of their daily work time in this thread defending MLMD or doing a bit of whataboutery etc, and I apologize for SF having to spend money on this thread, but I just thought it was a very funny event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭celt262

Did you decide yourself to call her "Karen McDonald" but though it would be better to say the "kids" made it up so you wouldn't sound like a 12 year old?

Ah, a typical SF style response. Its always finger pointing, whataboutery or a rant about something unrelated to divert from the thing being discussed.

I will be calling her Karen from now on though. It was an inspired nickname I thought.

Seriously, You cant understand why kids might call MLMD a Karen? There is not a better definition of a Karen to be seen in Ireland, probably the world at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,927 ✭✭✭HBC08

Shes always come across as particularly dislikeable but it seems to be ramped up the last year or so.

I'd be willing to overlook that if her her party were a viable alternative but its apparent to a growing number of people that they're not.

It's a real damning indictment that there is such anger with the present government but the main opposition just aren't an option.

Their refusal to comment on the immigration situation in particular has been their downfall,its also the reason therell be a record number of independents in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,305 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Plenty of kids on Boards then. The "Karen thing" gets used far too regularly here.

As for Mary Lou, she's has always been a moaner, even before Karen was a thing. It eventually turns people off.

The emperors cloths have fallen off alright. How an opposition party to the current shower could be falling in support is crazy. I suspect poster above is right though. They are terrified they might actually have to govern, so are scuttling their own party for the upcoming election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭celt262

I'm no SF supporter just laughing at lads thinking things up in their heads that they think are funny and worth posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Uninspiring leader of a single issue party whose stock in trade is mud slinging.

Rarely do I hear anything out of her that is not negative or a dig at someone else. Tiresome.

it's the background/advisors PR, researchers,... She is advised that.. This, that, or the other negitive thing is trending about FG or Simon Harris make sure to shoe horn it on to every interview no matter what the interview is about.

I think she is not the worst to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭foxsake

SF are in trouble , they forgot their base voters and chased the 20/30s middle class vote a lot of the twitter hero/progressive crowd.

the truth is that crowd fit really Greens/SD/Labour easily.

They didn't learn from when labour tried this 20 odd years ago and lost their base.

It takes time before the base lets go their allegiance so for a while SF had a loyal base and attracted new voters

But now the base SF voters have realise new SF is a barrell of sh1te and are looking elsewhere

Gerry Adams is to blame , he ruined a nationalist party by handing over the leadership to a flake like Mary Lou.

Not only did I think it was funny. I thought it was totally on the money too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,503 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Ultimately, housing of this density is needed in these areas, as time goes on, the low rise around it will be knocked and turned into high rise, as the alternative, urban sprawl, is a disaster. The sooner we realise this and get them built, the faster we'll get accommodation back to affordable levels.

MLMD is just playing the populist/NIMBY vote here.

The planning system is rotten to allow these type of objections, the politicians, MLMD in this case, pushing it are rotten as well and completely and utterly hypocritical if they talk about solving housing. This example is proof positive that Mary-Lou, if in power, would make the housing crisis worse for people and lead to even higher accommodation costs for everyone.

People tend to vote for the party, SF had a number of very poor candidates in the last election who didn't expect to get in, in one particularly egregious example, Violet Anne-Wynne built up a large rent arrears and was an anti-vaxxer, she resigned from the party mid-term.

Very few to none care about NI nationalism here, if SF had stayed in the past like that, they would have stay as a half dozen TD's fringe party a bit like PBP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,982 ✭✭✭✭walshb

SFs policy is just one big moan. It’s all they have ever offered. No intention whatsoever of leading and governing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I don't think the tide going out on SF is down to MLMD alone but she can be 'irritating' sometimes to listen to (like a teacher scraping a blackboard with their fingers).

The reality is closer to an election voters assess the options more seriously, and SF is just not coming out well in that assessment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,982 ✭✭✭✭walshb

never got this. There’s holding to account and there is just plain obstruction. Opposition ALL the time should never ever be seen as good, the way it should be, natural way. Best way for people to govern and live is by collaboration. We have it arse ways. It’s really just one big game of us against them ALL the time.. and society cannot benefit from this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭foxsake

and they may well go back to that soon.

they've really damaged their working class base - are they really saying they can compete with the greens or SD for the trendy progressive vote? I dunno if they can

This is more of a reason

AS elections come around people do start to look at policies and what party has what policy

Sinn Fein policies have been a bag of cats for years now but they never got pulled up on them. Now people are looking at them and can see they don't add up.

Sinn Fein are running scared now and they seem to think putting Mary Lou and Pearse on every show possible, covering every topic while hiding the actual SF person who is supposed to cover that area, is the answer

Only time will tell, but seeing Mary Lou and Pearse with the gloomy/faux outrage act so much will soon become tiresome even to the hardcore SF supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,353 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Do you not know where Clonliffe Road is? It's not on the fringes that's for sure as if you really thought so .

One of the oldest terraced small red brick streets which backs on to Croker , and loads of apartments all around .

Apartments are not the problem. None if the rest if the development was until the developer got greedy .

It was an EIGHTEEN STOREY HIGH apartment block proposed in among the other blocks. That was the problem .

Still at it ?

I can do that too. ;)

It's a disgrace that a greedy developer would want to build an 18 STOREY high apartment block in a residential area surrounded by protected structures and two storey terraced houses !

If he had changed the planning app as advised by DCC planning to moderate the height of that one to a more reasonable level like the rest he would be building all of those apartments now .

Which I totally agree are badly needed , but not at ANY cost.

And it wasn't just 'an auld one in Foxrock' ( an ageist , sexist description which anybody in Young Fine Gael would be so proud of ) and a SF TD .

None of that matters if the planner is happy which they weren't . DCC turned that Tower down as they have similar in the city centre saying it was completely inappropriate . Couldn't even get through a fast track process .

Are you saying the judge who turned it down was wrong too ?

Judge agreed with the planner, the TD and the 'auld one from Foxrock ' ( such a nice description btw , typical of the thread )

But of course you know this and are using the thread to try to blame SF for this refusal .

Pretty clear that no matter who turns a planning decision down, SF will be getting the blame from FFG .

There are tds in every party blocking developments in their areas not just SF .

At least I can admit that ..because I am not shilling for any particular party .

That's right . A floating voter rapidly turned off by comments like those on this thread from voting FFG .

It is indeed a disgrace , that FFG have let us down so badly for housing that they are now so desperate they want the equivalent of the Ballymun Towers built in residential streets and try to pillory anyone that doesn't agree .

Astrofool with respect on this I disagree.

It will never be ok to plant a massive tower of that size in a low rise area.

Medium rise to 10 storeys high is all that has been built even in inner city areas so this was a ludicrous application .

In general I am supportive of more apartments to that level and higher if next to other high rise .Next to low rise and housing

I agree that the only political influence in planning should be to ensure the process is fair and moves more quickly

Ballymun Towers 😂

Do you know the biggest issue in the Ballymun Towers? a very interesting post was on reddit a few years back in terms of what happened from a resident. The PIRA flooded the area with drugs.

Sinn Fein put in a rejection, along with all the other rejection they put in against every construction site in ireland. It has nothing to do with the project, it is better for Sinn Fein to have more people homeless.

In terms of DCC, Sinn Fein took over DCC in 2014, huge article used to be on thei website how they promised to build more social units. They got a budget of 300m or 400m from the government. When they left in 2019, they had less units than when they started and had allowed over 40m in rent arrears build up. Evicted one tenant

Thats Mary Lou and Sinn Fein. So time to wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,859 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That's what people with a basic level of intelligence do, yes.

Unfortunately going by what I've seen on social media over the past couple of weeks, there's a sizable cohort of morons who think general elections are for electing a Taoiseach.

If we are talking about the same Clonliffe Road, it is 2.2km from the spire. 1.6km from St Pats College. And 1.3km from the Mater Hospital. Fantastic location for a multi storey development to house doctors, nurses, students and more.

Again, this thinking is part of the problem, this is an area that should be high rise, it's near the centre, near public transport, it's perfect for it.

And the objection is not to build high rise because there isn't high rise already in the area, it's an irrational argument for locations near the city centre.

Once one is built, others will follow.

plus excellent connections to public transport, you also have the Rotunda which is in walking distance and the LUAS.

It’s a perfect location and the area is crying out for more accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The way they misconstrue how Irish politics works just annoys me. You'd think we have a first past the post presidential system by the way they go.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,709 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I`m not a great believer in coincidence, but the SF voting intentions in polls were holding up well until the controversy on immigrants and especially asylum seekers started making the headlines. Whether that had the effect on their percentage dropping so much I have really no idea, But if it has, for a party of the left, then it make a bit of a sham of all parties and the media treating it as just being an issue for a rag tag rabble on the far right.

Could have had a few blocks of 10 storeys each going up by now with no problems .