Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

March Referendums

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭agriman27

I think there’s something more to this referendum, I think it must be the EU pushing for it as an example case to change EU law because they know the Irish are a soft touch for accepting rules and regulations…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭StevenToast

RTE wont know how to report on this if its a No No....

Probably put it down to a low turnout....

At least we wont have those cringe scenes from Dublin Castle....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Oh that got in in the “low turnout” narrative before lunchtime

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Couple of things I felt was that the government weren't really pushing it. To me it seemed like some FF/FG agreed to in order to form the government with the Greens, but their heart wasn't really in it and shied away from it as much as possible.

The other thing I noticed, and more worryingly, is that any articles I seen linked or headlines for were coming from not so center publishers like Gript or The Ditch. Very few things for yes were making it through or seemed to have the same profile. And the only social media **** I have is this or Twitter, and I don't be into far right or far left scutter and following mad lads and lassies

• Registered Users Posts: 18,209 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Look like No/No

Dun Laoghaire breaking 50/50 on both referenda which is a horrendous sign for the Yes vote. They need to be in the 70's in constituencies like that to win.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 8,783 ✭✭✭893bet

88-96 percent No in “working class” areas in Dublin.

earky days but I suspect a strong defeat

• Registered Users Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Voted NO/NO. Don't know anyone who voted yes to the first referendum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

That doesn't count - the voting was held yesterday - we'll have to revisit?

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Hyland17

It looks like it is well beaten according to RTE early indications. I hope it is. Problem being what will the Government do after this? If the minutes from the AG are released they will have alot to answer for. I hope they take the hint and call an election. Dunno who to vote for. Maybe a few independents who seem to be in touch with reality

• Registered Users Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

McDowell on radio said they should go back to the fundamentals and start getting them right.

too much time wasted on this kind of crap and people homeless- farmers not getting paid-Garda moral at an all time low and people leaving the force.

but it will be “the people didn’t understand and want to stay in the dark ages.”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

I love it and if the government think this hammering is a once off the can forget about it. Roll on LE and GE people are raging with them this is the start of it. Unless they start tightening up on the real problems facing people, health service, housing mess and the real elephant in the room the money being made of the back of refugees/IPAs closing old folks homes and hotels to accommodate this money making scam.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭alps

• Registered Users Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭enricoh

Wonder how much of that vote was to do with immigration there?, a lot of them areas unrecognizable in the last 20 years.

I'd say sinn fein will be doing a lot of soul searching after this, those areas would be sinn fein heartland- lot of votes looking for a new home methinks.

I don't get why this referendum should be a reflection on happiness in the government. Like, if the government were doing fantastic and everyone was happy, would ye vote yes then? I know some clowns would use it to "send a message" but sure, let's be honest, that would be a stupid thing to do. On the other side, if the government were doing shite, woeful unpopular and then held a referendum guaranteeing everyone 50k minimum a year, free health and utilities, would people vote no then in protest at a **** government? Ya have to take these things in isolation. The elections are the place for sorting the government and sending them messages.

On my drive this morning there was a FF senator on Newstalk going on about how the No side were naughty with factual incorrect posters up and were being dishonest. She even said it was so bad that the head of the electoral commission came out and said they were lying and to quit it. And that move was unprecedented. Until Brenda Power, who was also on the radio piped up, and said that Catherine Martin, she of RTE debacle fame, wouldn't delete a tweet saying the referenda were about womens' place in the home. This despite the same head of the electoral commission taking her to task over that bullshit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭kk.man

I couldn't see the merits to the wording of the referendum at all. I saw what they were 'trying' to do and it was legitimate. They were never getting a yes with the most ambiguous wording in the history of referenda since the foundation of the state.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

“Just when you thought they were dead and buried, the average Irish voter responds to fake opinion polls and Govt propaganda.”

https://x.com/seanoseireland/status/1766405857678376993

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Delighted to see NO/NO going through.

hopefully that’s it put to bed.

€23million wasted

For a government to loose two referendum votes simultaneously really calls their fitness to govern as a group into question. I don’t think it’s happened before but open to correction

the lesson to learn from this is if your going to fcuk around with constitutional changes, you better word it clearly and make it meaningful to people

• Registered Users Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's a great day for democracy. Isn't it great to live in a country like this that the people collectively, still have more power than their ruling elite. A lot to be said for a strong constitution. I remember years ago a great history teacher telling us that Ireland had a very solid constitution, as it was modelled by DeValera on the USA one.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

This tiny blue area dominates the print and broadcast media in Ireland. And politicians of all parties dance to their tune

From https://irelandvotes.com/

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 11,164 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I don't know if that is a fair statement although I agree that the Dublin set are the tail that tries to wag the dog. I hope they realise now that the dog is in control of it's tail.

Dun Laoghaire (so far) are the only constituency with a slight "yes" vote (50.29 to 49.71%) for the "Family Amendment". The same constituency voted down the "Care Amendment" 57.79 to 42.21%.

The wish washy wording of this Referendum was never going to do it for me. My first time voting was in the 8th Amendment in 1983 and so far as I can remember the wording of other Referendum after were fairly straight forward - as in, any eejit like me could understand and there wasn't any ambiguity. Thankfully us Citizens of Ireland have made our voice heard - we will have to wait to see if the Government is really listening.

As an aside - Jumping through the hoops of the Nice and Lisbon Treaty's referendums was a joke at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Jb1989

As Brian said, 23 million was spent on a wasted referendum, not the first money wastage and will never be the last, voice listened to or not.

Look the €23 million was spent within the economy so technically it wasn't wasted. Having said that I wonder how €23 million could have upgraded derelict houses in rural towns and villages throughout the State to provide homes.

There's many problems with housing in this country, but money isn't one of them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭green daries

Ya I agree. As funny and all as it is its not funding that is the problem. its actually nearly everything else you could possibly think of that is causing the housing issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭endainoz

If the USA constitution was strong it wouldn't have been amended 27 times! Of course people have more power that the ruling elite, that's the whole point of voting isn't it? I'm not sure what your first sentence means, would it not have been a great day for democracy if the results went the other way?

The country has spoken anyway, the right leaning crowd of lunatics on twitter will hail this a "new awakening" of Irish people and paint it as a major victory. I'd love to know how much this vote was influenced by people that actually knew what they were voting for as opposed to going against it purely because of their hatred for the government.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Well the referendums were hardly defeated form a hatred of the government, as it was the very same people that voted in the government in the first place.

As for the USA constitution being strong, the fact that the people were empowered to make 27 changes to it, is proof of it's fit for purpose. It was designed in the first place with the provisions to allow the people to make changes to it. Try changing the constitution in Russia or China.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Naillers

Commentary in one of the papers this morning

"For one example, the proposed addition of justifiable social and economic rights in the Constitution, a campaigning goal of some NGOs, maybe looks a bit different now. Future governments will tread these steps with more caution."

Might be a benefit of the strong No votes this time round....

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

27 changes in over 200 years vs Irelands 32 changes in less than 100 years. I'm not quite sure where you are going with the statement but it's not very apt.

Also I love the way people are very into giving labels to a choice. Because I said no I am a right wing lunatic. Well boohoo, I guess I can partner up with ISIS now.

I voted no because it looked wrong on all counts. I did not vote no as a protest to anything. My parents voted no for the same reason. The 95year old man in the house I have didn't go to vote at all because "you'd want to be a barrister to understand the words".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Interesting that it's the biggest no vote ever. More than divorce or abortion at a time when the influence of the church was still huge and obviously strongly against both.