Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

Interesting to get her insight on it all the same. I suppose there was learning in it without googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Show was a bit meh!

The lady was very articulate but at same time didn't really give much away. There were times she seemed offended by some of the questions, which were all fairly neutral.

McSavage, don't know much about him. He didn't seem comfortable at all. There's a thing with some comedians a lot seem very close to depression.

I nearly turned off when Arthur came on....knew nothing about him other than Brian's husband and a dancer. Thought the interview would be a total over the top flamboyant fluff piece. However it was a great interview. He certainly has had an "interesting" life. His teenage years must have been so awful and scary. Fair play to him for getting through it and flourishing.

whats the worst that could happen, auditioning for fair city

Tommy: you could be on it!

I follow Arthur on social media, have heard his story many times but that was totally different, think it was just possibly without Brian his husband next to him interrupting or trying to be funny.

great song to end to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,036 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭Xander10

Was thinking the same after last night. Its become as tired and formulated as every other show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭spakman

It hasn't, for the simple reason that most other 'chat shows' (and I'm not sure Tommy Tiernan show falls into that category) just use the same 'celebs' who are in town to promote their latest book/film/show and they are answering the same questions they've been asked a hundred times, and it's all very safe and bland and shite.

Tommy still has guests like the first lady last night, and even Brian Dowlings husband (can't remember his name) who have an interesting story to tell that isn't related to promotion!

He could definitely do with taking a break from having other comedians on, the last two seem to have fairly serious issues going on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭Xander10

Well, he uses someone from his circle of comedian friends almost evert week. And everyone from Co Meath including his former teacher.

The guest might not be selling a book, what has become predictable for me is, I now can guess the paused question Tommy is about to ask.

And it does have its fair share of guests with a story of a lost limb etc.

What was refreshing has turned stale for me. Not sure I want to sit for an hour through it any more on a Saturday night. I feel if there happens to be an interesting guest I can catch it on YouTube if I want rather than sit through the whole show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭mattser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭riddles

McSavage whatever people know about him - he is at least a different strain of comedy. Terrible interview gained no insight at all. The show has run its course - it’s an exercise in counting all the obvious questions he fails to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Magown3

At a comedy gig years ago he called me gay in front of the audience and to me, that was the lowest rung of comedy and I've held a grudge against him ever since... until last night.

After that interview, I just feel sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Two really good guests last night. Arthur was just lovely and so was the first guest.

The middle guest was a dick. No other word for it. Jeez I do not like to think hiw is children are if he curses like that all the time. It's a sign of a weak mind.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Eibhir

You could apply that to, let me think 🤔 Though I'd leave out the word enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,016 ✭✭✭✭briany

Still the best chat show on TV. Amazing first guest. McSavage a bit flat, like he always has his guard up, and Brian Dowling's missus was fun. Even if I don't personally enjoy every guest, I'll still watch for the occasion where a nerve gets hit and a piece of very real conversation develops, which is what takes it above every other chat show currently on TV that are all just very surface-level and safe.

Everyone else can go watch Angela Scanon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

McSavage was very on guard and nervous, even from his introduction saying sorry. There's a reason the Late, Late didn't have him on for 13 years, too unpredictable I'd say. Dylan Moran is supposed to be difficult to interview as well, so he did about as well as you are going to do with those two

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Savage Eye is the best sketch comedy television program that RTE ever produced, and although that's a bit like winning the junior infants' egg and spoon race when you're 10, I still think it holds up. I don't know how much of the comedy McSavage actually wrote, but he performs his bits well. I can't believe he got away with doing the following (from the 'Racism' episode I think ,

Dublin taxi man: I'll tell ya, I don't have much time for all dese blacks...

McSavage: You think that's bad? I f&#* children.

Dublin taxi man: Ya wah??!

McSavage: Oh, don't get me wrong...They're black children

Dublin taxi man: Oh! Well, that's alright then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

It can’t be great all of the time - one of the guests on Saturday night was an awful bore, one was very average - it’s only an hour long show so that’s gonna hurt- last weeks show was good - it’s still one of the best chat shows around - but it’s hugely dependent on the guests playing ball.

I wouldn’t be calling for its retirement just yet. But I think Tommy could do some great interviewing if 1, he had a good guest and 2, more time with that guest.

Tommy has talent for interviewing - at least a hell of a lot more talent than any current host in RTÉ land and many previous ones- from day 1 this is and was the exact format of his show- if the shows guests had been engaging on Saturday night, I don’t think you’d be calling the format stale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

I did sit through an entire show, once. Got free tickets so said I'd see what he's like. Awful stuff. Just didn't do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,922 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Thanks but no thanks.

I'll stick with Pat Short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,955 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Who was the principal writer then? I don't know myself, although IMDB seems to say that it's David McSavage.

Series Writing Credits 

David McSavage...(24 episodes, 2009-2014)

John Colleary...(1 episode, 2012)

Patrick McDonnell...(1 episode, 2012)

Dermot McMorrow...(1 episode, 2012)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Butson

Tiernan loves the misery.

Whatever you think of McSavage and before him Moran, they are interesting and funny charachters but Tiernan, like Tubridy, just cant help dive into the negativity.

Such an over rated presenter. The format makes the show, not him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I always thought that McSavage show was rubbish or might occasionally raise a smile at best, from memory I think "Bull Island" was the best comedy skit show Ireland produced.

As others have said the "Savage Eye"/McSavage. He always seemed/seems very disturbed. Just disturbingly odd. I love the irony that no one accuses him of nepotism given his family connections in the media/politics. Is it because he presents himself as anti-establishment? His brand of "comedy" is more the "edgy" student demographic and now he is pushing 60 and past it.

As for The Tommy Tiernan show. When I saw the list of people on it (I did not watch the latest episode) I honestly assumed it was a wind up. McSavage and Jason Byrne... Jayus. Always odd to interview. The only joke I ever found funny from Byrne was the one where he used a Venetian blind as prop and pretended to be an "Irish mammy". He was also in an undercover prank programme I seem to remember which was OK.

As for Tommy Tiernan he is a way better presenter IMO (in this format) than he ever was/is as a "comedian". He just shouts and jumps around like a mental patent in his 'Comedy" for the most part. Like the friend in the pub who thinks he is funny when you are 18-25 ish. Which basically entails shouting as loud as possible, putting on a stupid voice, jumping around the place like a mad eejit.

Someone can correct me if I am wrong but Tommy's most famous and IMO only funny joke is the "Jesus I can see your house from here" joke?

But I think Tommy should not have other past it "comedians" or even comedians on his show.

1) He knows them, they have little to "find out"

2) Comedians are really disturbed individuals (for the most part maybe with the exception of the likes of Ardal O'Hanlon) it just ends up being a really awkward live "therapy session" with "Dr Tommy". Who loves a "bang of sadness" off a guest.

Tommy literally once seriously said phrase "There is a bang of sadness of ya" to one of his guests. Nathan Carter (the singer) I believe it was. While Tommy was trying to be deadly serious. Ironically it was the most awkward uncomfortably/funny/odd interview I saw broadcast for a long time.

But that "guest list" from the last show reads "lads we are stuck" just get McSavage and Byrne on they will go on any show at short notice. Which is how I can imagine the producers chat behind the scenes. "Great to have on a few depressed/disturbed 'comedians'..... Tommy loves that lads!"

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Savage Eye was great. I'm not claiming it was Chris Morris level comedy by any stretch, but as I say, better than any other sketch show RTE ever made. I remember that I watched Bull Island, but it made so little an impression on me that all I can remember is Michael Sheridan's Jackie Healy Rae. The Savage Eye was much more absurd, and not just impressions of the day's Irish politicians. Just for the Catholic church intros alone, it was nearly worth airing, with my particular favourite being the father and son at the museum looking at a painting of a priest, then the father turns away for one second, then looks back to see his child trapped in the painting with the priest, crying.

Or this. This was brilliant.

If nothing else, Savage Eye was a departure from the very low-hanging fruit paddywhackery, to an, er, more sophisticated form of paddywhackery.

I enjoy the fact that Tiernan's interviews can sometimes go awry, and that he could ask a completely miscalculated question, because that's what can happen in human interaction from time to time, and it's good the show reflects that as opposed to the homogenised, vacuum packed, dry and safe thing that virtually all other shows of that kind have become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Banjo Carney

I wouldn’t be calling for its retirement just yet. But I think Tommy could do some great interviewing if 1, he had a good guest and 2, more time with that guest.

Correct me if I'm wrong but surely, as this is recorded he has time with the guest and what we see is what's considered to be the best of the interview.

Retire the Tommy Tiernan Show and you can guarantee that something not as good will fill the slot, so careful what you wish for. Then again, the professional complainers would secretly be delighted by Vapid Chat w/ Vogue Williams.

Yes, the interviews are chopped down. TV and radio is fundamentally hamstrung by a schedule which makes almost zero sense in this day and age when everything can be on demand and programme lengths don't actually matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭John arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,945 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Basically because Tiernan can be a very poor interviewer, and has zero filter it can make for an entertaining show.

But there is one thing that annoys/throws Tiernan the most is when guests seem happy, it throws him.

He does one of two things keeps quizzing them in the hope that they "break" (like with Nathan Carter). Or look on them with amazement and congratulate their attitude as an example for others (like the woman with robotic arm).

If there happens to be a misery guts/socially awkward/guarded individual on it just does not work in this format and Tommy's own nature at trying to embrace/revel in melancholy sadness just makes it worse. The guests have to be talkers and not one dimensional. That is why the Roy Keane interview did not work he was guarded/safe.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Eibhir

What would you have on instead?

Tommy's show is only as good as his guests. I think it's a very good show in general. Some brilliant interviews, Dolores Keane, David and Bríd McGowan (Sligo Unertakers) off the top of my head. Countless very good ones.

If people are guarded Gay Byrne or Parkinson wouldn't get a decent interview out of them.

Tiernan is a great listener and he picked up on the sadness he felt in Nathan Carter. Who's persona at the time was a 30 year old fella living the country music life.

Like it or not most of our lives are periods of good and harder times. It's often in the hard times we grow and become stronger as people, evolve into who we are.

Every interviewer who talks to people will touch on the bad, the good, what changes and drives us. It's how you deal with the harder, sadder more tragic aspects of life. Ryan Tubridy looked like he was going through a check list and putting on a glum face. You never got the sense he was really engaging or learning anything, feeling real empathy.

Tiernan listens. He looks like a man who has had a lot of ups and downs in his own life. You feel he understands, how he greets and says goodbye to guests. Tubridy is glib, he feels superficial.

Before him Pat Kenny felt wooden and boring, on light issues especially. He's a fairly humourless man. Little dry jokes that often came out all wrong, for example his Dawn French one. Tiernan can bring a bit of gallows humour.

I always felt Gay Byrne could be arrogant and condescending but he had great scope and ability across all issues. From Rita losing her daughter in a road accident, Late Late 1997, to Billy Connolly.