Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fourteen migrants discovered hidden in refrigerated container at Rosslare Europort

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Yes, seriously:

All on board the refrigerated trailer were understood to be in good health and once they were fully checked, they were brought by An Garda Síochána to CityWest in Dublin for “processing”.

A source confirmed that those on board the trailer were primarily Kurdish nationals and, following medical examinations, they were brought to the nearest processing centre.

"There’s very little involvement locally,” the source said. “We just bring them on to the nearest processing centre, which I believe is CityWest in Dublin. From there, the initial processing of their details and documents will be carried out before they are taken to an accommodation centre and a decision will be made around whether they apply for political asylum.”

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/rosslare-migrants-forced-to-cut-hole-in-container-as-they-struggled-to-breathe-human-trafficking-investigation-launched/a1940424559.html

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That's a bit of stretch of for you to claim,

If they aren't seeking asylum why are they currently staying in an asylum hub aka citywest....

Remember we have no room for male asylum seekers they arrive and get handed a Dunnes voucher and a sleeping bag , not brought to citywest asylum hub

It’s not a stretch for me to claim? I even cited the relevant bits of the article for you. They were taken to Citywest for initial processing, and from there they go to an accommodation centre where a decision will be made around whether they apply for political asylum. There’s no evidence they have applied for asylum, and given they intended to enter the UK illegally, it’s just not reasonable to assume they’ll apply for asylum here. They never intended on being here in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,677 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

"fooking" people out requires that you have someone else who is going to take them and accept the burden of handling them. That's not always straightforward, so just kicking them out is a nice phrase – but what you ignore then is who is catching the kickout.

Here's the thing, we know these 14 came straight outta Belgium, we send them back to Belgium. No ifs buts or ands. They at least belong in Belgium - its up to the Belgian authorities to deal however they see fit thereafter.

ALL stowaways and passport shredders should face instant return. Back to where the flight or the ferry originated from. Immediate dismissal, and I would add that they be added to a database and permanently banned from ever entering Ireland again.

Sure all that’s doing is Ireland sending migrants to Belgium, Belgian authorities are under no obligation whatsoever to take them, and they can just as easily send them back to Ireland if your ideas were actually in place.

All stowaways and passport shredders do face instant return, to their countries of origin, which takes the authorities a while to figure out, and then we have to have reciprocal arrangements with those countries so that they agree to take them back.

They already are added to a database when they’re taken for processing in Citywest, which they’re probably not too happy about as it makes getting into the UK now virtually impossible, whereas originally they had intended to enter the UK without coming to the attention of the authorities.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Yeah, and if Belgium take the same approach then they will say these guys have come from Ireland so stick them on the next Ryanair flight back to Dublin. Do you see the problem here? If everyone takes the same approach it's refugee ping pong. The receiving country needs to actually be willing to accept them and this is not always easy to do. What do you imagine the likeminded chaps on Belgium Boards would say? "Ireland's problem, we have enough of them"?

By all means man, vote for a party who promises to just boot all these people out every single time and who will somehow manage to strong arm the rest of Europe into just sucking that up. If anything, the one satisfaction from it would be watching them try to navigate the complexities they like to pretend don't exist.

The EU Migration and Asylum Pact 2023, which is likely to come into effect this year, is ramping up identification protocols for asylum seekers and refugees which will include each individual having facial and fingerprint information taken to improve the ability of states to identify people and track their history of movement between states.

Dublin regulations ,Brussels would have to deport them to their home country not her ,no idea why you would think that they would send them back here

Because the premise of the argument relies on the idea that the Dublin Regulations don’t exist, so they come here from Belgium, we send them back, Belgium sends them back here because as far as the Belgian authorities are concerned - they came to Belgium from here, they’re no longer Belgiums responsibly, and so the two countries go back and forth. Meanwhile the 14 have applied for asylum in the UK 😂

In practical terms (and legal) though, Ireland has to issue and Belgium has to accept the request first under Dublin Regulations.

Most Dublin Regulation requests fail. The top four countries who issue these requests are Germany, Belgium, France, and Austria and the success rates of their respective applications varies between 6% to 8%. Part of the reason for this is that the vast majority of take-back / take-charge requests are issued to the external border countries of the EU like Greece and Italy, who are refusing them because they do not have the capacity to handle both new arrivals and returnees. This is the very reason why the EU is trying to reform the system because the Dublin system is not actually working very well in practice and we are already seeing a situation of a merry-go-round of refugees being flown in one direction and the other.

Belgium sends them back here because as far as the Belgian authorities are concerned - they came to Belgium from here

Belgium cannot send them back. They ILLEGALLY boarded a truck bound for Ireland that is proven to originate from a Belgian port. If the Belgians are not able to track how they originally got to Belgium then that's their tough cookie.

The EU Migration and Asylum Pact 2023, which is likely to come into effect this year, is ramping up identification protocols for asylum seekers and refugees which will include each individual having facial and fingerprint information taken to improve the ability of states to identify people and track their history of movement between states.

Has Ireland signed on for this yet - I don't think we have, and I don't think we should either.

Nonsense they would have to deport them to their home country they came ,they departed Belgium not Ireland

Belgium would have to accept the request to take charge of these asylum seekers. This is part of the reason why most such requests under Dublin Regulations fail.

I'm also not sure why you think that Ireland shouldn't sign up to a Pact that is aimed at strengthening the control of the EU's external borders and to foster bloc-wide co-operation on the matter for fairer burden sharing.

The two things go hand in hand — better cooperation across all the EU member states means a more effective process for rejecting and deporting unsuccessful asylum applications instead of it being a limbo situation which it is currently. It means we can operate more effectively and start rowing in unison with countries like Greece and Italy rather than against eachother. The current situation is not fit for crisis management.

Lads if you’re just going to abandon reality and make it up as you go along, then why should you imagine that other posters be held to reality which when it suits your argument to put them at a disadvantage?

Either we can all make it up as we go along, or you guys could at least base your ideas on acknowledging the reality of the situation if you’re expecting to be taken seriously.

”Deport them immediately” is neither feasible, realistic, nor effective, and it still wouldn’t stop them making subsequent attempts to enter the UK and remain there illegally.

@Boggles Deport them immediately” is neither feasible, realistic, nor effective, and it still wouldn’t stop them making subsequent attempts to enter the UK and remain there illegally....

Once they get deported it's not our problem anymore,let the UK send them to Rwanda

Yeah and deportations take months, and cost the taxpayer a fortune, something which you are undoubtedly conscious of. In the case of these particular migrants who were discovered in a container, it seems far more effective and costs a hell of a lot less to have them leave voluntarily rather than attempting to go through a lengthy legal process which is unlikely to be successful anyway given the figures for deportation proceedings! That’s the reality of the situation:

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/state-spent-5-million-deporting-31538605.amp

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I have to admit I burst out laughing reading the story on the.news. what a fupping racket🥴

Are all the bleeding hearts on here willing to take one each?

Somehow I don't think so.

We can't keep taking in every person that rocka up in a boat/container. We know we can't but is anyone going to or able to do anything about it?

No to that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

8 of the 14 have now vanished.

News just breaking.

It is understood that at least eight of the individuals are now “missing” following their transfer to an asylum centre in Dublin.

Senior sources have told the Irish Independent that they are not being sought by gardaí as they are not under criminal investigation.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/at-least-eight-of-14-migrants-found-in-rosslare-shipping-container-missing-after-fleeing-state-services/a1708436895.html

What's the cost of flight to Brussels via Ryanair less than €100 one way.... They could be deported in Days if needed by they deported Peter dube Zimbabwean killer found in Dublin fairy rapidly recently .

I found flights via aer Lingus Dublin to Brussels for €34 next month one way

I'd expect a particular minister to tell us they self deported themselves Nothing to see here folks

It’s obviously not just the cost of the flight though? At that rate they could be just sent back in a container (with air holes this time!). There’s also the legal costs involved, which are far more costly than the cost of a seat on a commercial flight for passengers who have all their travel documents in order.

Anyways they’ve absconded from their accommodation now so aren’t costing the State a cent.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Just under €6,000 a pop. Expensive, but worth it.

Also, from the article linked - which highlights that we are perfectly entitled to return migrants.

The majority of the costs associated with deportation relate to flights and accommodation in returning an individual to their country of origin or, in the case ofDublin III’ removals, back to the EU state from which they came to Ireland.

What a joke. The authorities in this country are by and large incompetent.

They don’t come from us though? Legal costs are provided for by public funding.

The public aren’t expected to contribute a cent to anyone’s legal costs either other than our own, and even if we do require legal aid, it’s still not free, to anyone.

It free to asylum seekers hence the near unlimited appeals till they get the right answer, they don't pay a cent

It comes from tax payers Just like the exchequer....

Playing word Games won't change that

It’s not free to asylum seekers, and I’m not the one playing word games. I’m just not willing to entertain yours lest anyone be given the wrong impression that there’s any legitimacy whatsoever to what you’re saying:

Means Test & contributions

To qualify for legal services, your income (less certain allowances) must be less than €18,000 per annum. 

Applicants for asylum services will pay a contribution of €10 in total for legal advice and legal in relation to a case before the IPO or the IPAT. An additional contribution would be payable for legal aid in any other matter such as a case before the High Court.

If you have capital resources of more than €4,000 (excluding your home) you may have to pay an additional contribution. 

If you are receiving direct provision from the State (i.e. accommodation and meals provided directly instead of social welfare payments) you may apply to have some of your contribution waived, at the discretion of the Legal Aid Board. 

https://www.legalaidboard.ie/en/our-services/legal-aid-services/services-for-international-protection-applicants/services/general-information/legal-services.html

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Not being sought by the guards because they have not committed an offence....what the f*, they entered the country illegally.