Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of this country

I visited Malaysia last year, friendly place where I got talking to a few people with close relatives who are doctors out there, all Irish trained. What did they do, but return to their homeland to practice medicine. Medical tourism is becoming a very big thing there as it is so cheap. You can see a fully trained consultant for €25. Now there’s a country where native doctors return to base on pittance of wages, because they love their attractive homeland, they love medicine rather than becoming millionaires.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Emblematic

In fairness, though, income from most investments is taxed at the marginal rate not just rental income.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭NSAman

How many murders (not connected with terrorist/ira/uda) were there in the 80s? Maybe 20?

how many last year? 63 or so?

yep definitely safer!

still low per 100k but still rising…

EDiT: was actually 69 in 2023

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭tinytobe

It would just be looking for the causes.

I think it's fair to say the biggest issues facing the country is the lack of rental housing supply.

Rents are in general to high for the younger people to build up savings for a down payment later on.

There are no real solutions to this problem ( and no voting for SF is not one of them....)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,674 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The solution is the same as the solution for the general housing shortage. Building more!

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Emblematic

As above, I think enough tax-payers' money ends up in landlords' pockets when the real problem is lack of overall units built. To a certain extent it does not matter whether these are built to rent or built to purchase. Just concentrate on building more units, removing obstacles (planning delays, vexatious objections etc.) to building and attracting inward investment to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭tinytobe

• Registered Users Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Ah yes, selectively picking numbers to try make a point. Nice try.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

• Registered Users Posts: 40,933 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Yes remember when the banks used to bring cash to the banks with an armed battalion of the army taking over the Main Street for half an hour. Scared the shite out of me the first time I saw that as a young child. Nowadays it’s just one man in a van.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

No it is not, repeating the same old nonsense over and over and expecting a different outcome is the definition of madness. There is not a single country in the Anglo Sphere that has made this work despite trying for decades and decades. The pain is going to have to get a lot worse before the voters will be willing to accept a housing policy that does not include them getting to own a house. Until people accept that not everyone can own a house and live in the same spot in the country, we won’t see any policy that has a chance of solving the problem.

Selective facts, sweetheart.

”if you ignore all these crimes and murders, it’s not as bad as it is today, see I told ya so”

• Registered Users Posts: 12,551 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Tax an absolute killer especially if you were charging a fair rate.

What repeating? No one is building in sufficient quantity anywhere in the "Anglo Sphere" which is why they all have the same problem.

House, apartment, whatever. It all requires more and denser building.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

The cost of living only goes one way - Up. Land is finite and public finance is limited to what the tax payer will bare. The build more houses approach has been tried for decades now and it has not worked out. But as I said the pain is going to have to get a lot worse before voters will look at any alternative solution. Pretty much all the western European states have a housing problem on some kind, but not anything like Ireland and the difference is that most of them have public transport systems and industrial polices that allow for a better distribution of the population around the country, they have strong rental laws that protect both the landlords and tenants. They have tax policies that encourage pension funds and insurance companies to invest in building up a rental market and so on.

The policy of lets try and build more houses, financed by people taking on huge amounts of debt or the public purse for social housing has never worked, it if did we'd have solved the problem a long time ago because we plus just about everyone else in the Anglo Sphere for decades now. The day the Irish voters accepts that owning a house is not the only acceptable solution, is the day we can start to actual take steps that will at least start to reduce the problem.

The build more houses approach has been tried for decades now and it has not worked out

Building more housing is not the same as building more houses specifically, but regardless it has not been tried for decades. Your argument makes no sense as even if people accepted today long term rentals and apartment living as a norm there still isn't anywhere near enough dwellings. We need to build more.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,934 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yes land is indeed finite, solution, start building upwards, reducing urban sprawl....

public finances have been deliberately limited, in order to force us into more credit run economies, this credit is now primarily being used to (re)inflate the value of assets such as, and in particular, property, solution, start encouraging more public money creation methods such as public banks and by running deficits, thus becoming less reliant on global credit markets for our financial needs, which may reduce this hyper inflation in our property markets....

again, most advanced economies have in fact being following the above method of excess credit run economics, also called financialisation, which in fact its mains aims is to simply maximize financial gains, which, particularly since the 08, has in fact moved towards less physical building, and more speculation in these markets. in an irish context, we ve been actually experiencing a deficit in building requirements, on a perpetual basis, since the 08 crash, again noting, this deficit was in fact recognized since the crash, particularly in the dublin region, in which is now extremely chronically serious nation wide, i.e. we ve simply havent kept up with demand for about 15 years now, which means we re hundreds of thousands short of dwellings now, with no real solutions in how to catch up!

yes our public transport is also completely fcuked, billions required there to, on an annual basis, for decades, probably wont happen though!

what people are actually looking for, which in fact is a critical human need, and always has been, and since the cave man, is, 'security of accommodation', not necessarily home ownership, but since we ve completely fcuked up our property markets, neither rental or otherwise, are now fulling this need, so, go us!

..oh and if you think your pension fund is safe, you better think again, as property markets are amongst the most common markets where such funds are invested, so, be prepared!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

For irish residents to accept owning a home is not the number 1 priority, the govt would need to create an environment in which security of tenure is guaranteed.

The mindset change needs to come from the govt first, so the necessary securities can be put in place for long term renters.

Until this happens, a person would be mad not to seek access to the property ladder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

For security of tenure to be guaranteed, there would need to be a mechanism where the renter is held accountable for the condition of the rental property, and a fast and effective means to remove the tenant should there be a breach of contract.

Housing references should be mandated, and a deposit or rent based on the amount of risk.

As it stands, the government is going the opposite way, "reduce homelessness at all costs" we have landlords leaving the market because they have no support or recourse against the few bad tenants.

I think it's a real chicken and egg situation, and it honestly stems from a poorly thought-out housing and immigration policy.

Here ya go sweetie pie! Or should I not be condescending and call you Karen?

1980 20 murders : https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/publications/annual%20reports/an-garda-siochana-annual-reports/1980-commissioner-s-report.pdf

Murders up, so what is your narrative now? Statistically Ireland WAS safer back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭RetroEncabulator

There would also need to be a way of guaranteeing decent housing into old age. That is what mortgaging and owning did. Most of us couldn’t pay commercial rent in our old age on pensions and fixed incomes.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,334 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

People have said that for generations in Ireland. But now the main thing wrong with this country is affordability of houses. Or at a push no metro link to Dublin airport At least those are far solvable problem than the other ones that caused people to emigrate.

Besides that Ireland is grand -

1) At the heart of European politics in the EU lots of softpower- given even more importance as the main English speaking country in the EUs

2) Stable governance - no radical right/left

3) A very safe country compared to the vast majority.

4) Lots of foreign direct investment

5) A highly educated workforce (who can travel the world should they desire to)

6) Infrastructure way better than it used to be I remember when going from Dublin to Galway was like going to the moon a long drawn out journey horrible roads - Dublin transport is better than it ever was Luas etc - road infrastructure much improved

--

I think Ireland has never been as steady. And people don't know how lucky they are to live in a country like it.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

On the whole I agree.

If you have a house, a decent job and you have your health then Ireland is just fantastic. There's nowhere I'd rather be.

However, I can see how people are struggling with rents or accessing necessary services.

That is great, pet, call me what you wish, I tend to notice imbeciles fall back on calling people a "Karen" when they are moody.

From reading this, Ireland sounds really safe back then. So very safe. Are you (again) just using murders as your metric?

Remind me again, what was the population back then, how were crimes reported, did people use mobile phones back then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

I agree the govt are not supporting landlords and this leads to further exodus of landlords from the market.

But my main point is that it is up to the govt to create a security of tenure/safe environment for both landlords and tenants to exisit in a functioning and stable rental landscape.

Until that happens (I dont see it happening) an individual would be mad not to try and get on the property ladder.

Wow, 38 bank robberies.

No wonder they used to have the army out.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Rustyman101

Equally an individual would be mad to get into the rental market eg BTL