Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Vaccine Megathread No 2 - Read OP before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

We'd know how "vanishingly rare" they were if Pfizer would actually provide the post-market studies into these types of safety flags that they committed to as part of their EUAs. Of course these studies have been pushed out another 6 months recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I've posted the relative risks before and how they're vastly in favour of the vaccine, but good analysis of recent claims to the contrary:

interesting to see the increased ongoing risks of severe disease across a variety of ailments post infection showing up (and something we're used to here, labelling and then misreading a graph).

Continues to blow holes in the "it was just a flu" and "vaccines are dangerous" crew.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,003 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes it is " vanishingly rare " , and yes , those studies would be taking that long , as they are, after all , post market studies , especially as the urgency appears to be over in the US, so research is no longer for' emergency use approval" .

Can't see why you are complaining about that .

I seem to remember similar posts griping about original vaccines and the subsequent dosing schedules, despite real world data which showed the safety overall with millions of doses worldwide , and in some cases the dangers, as with AstraZeneca which was swiftly restricted .

Others complaining that these boosters did not have sufficient testing on humans .

Now the complaint is the companies " are not producing data " quickly enough.

Make up your mind what you want ... data tested on humans , under normal 3 to 6 month time frame comparisons , or more quick studies on engineered lab mice .

And if you have any real proof ....not opinion or conjecture or anecdote ...that Covid vaccines, boosters or anything else , are causing a marked and significant increase in myocarditis and pericarditis or deaths in young people , please do post it , because up to now , you haven't .

All I have seen and heard thus far is hearsay and misinformation.

Here is the situation in the UK up to November last , and even then people here were claiming otherwise ...

" As of 23 November 2022, the overall reporting rate across all age groups for myocarditis following vaccination with the monovalent Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine was 10 reports per million doses; for pericarditis, it was 6 reports per million doses. For monovalent Moderna vaccine, the overall reporting rate for myocarditis was 14 reports per million doses; for pericarditis, it was 8 reports per million doses.

In those aged under 18 years, the reported rate for heart inflammation (myocarditis and pericarditis) was 13 per million first doses and 8 per million second doses of the monovalent Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine; these are lower than the reporting rates seen in young adults. There is currently insufficient data to calculate the reporting rate for third/booster doses" .

Nobody denies that vaccination carries a risk, especially to younger adult males, of developing myocarditis and pericarditis. The risks are clearly written on all the literature.

But It is just that , so far anyway , it is such a small risk compared with everyday risk of Covid infection causing the same problem but worse , as to be considered low enough to be worth the risk/ benefit ratio , even for that age group 18 to 29 year old males.

If as that poster claimed above , the doctor indeed had found it was becoming more common , there are immediate pathways of reporting what would be a severe adverse event of vaccination . And other doctors would be setting off that alarm as well , again, if that was truly the case . This triggers a review as with AstraZeneca and Janssen here and in other countries .

The British Heart Foundation don't seem to be unduly concerned!

One would think that they should be up in arms if the health of their nation were being put at risk daily .

Do you really think it would not be reported and boosters stopped , here and elsewhere even before the safety study data was out , if it was in fact causing such a severe response ?

Ok.. maybe YOU do . But that is going down a long , winding rabbit hole of CT , imo.

It is not a REASONABLE belief given our experiences thus far with our ultra cautious vaccine authority, NIAC , here in Ireland . Safety has always been uppermost on their minds .

So much so that at times , people have complained the rollout was too slow , why weren't they being given this and that vaccine like other countries, why wait for so long between doses ...you just have to look back over this thread to see those discussions and we were all impatient , myself included , at times .

Now some people are choosing whether they need a booster or not . That is their choice and we are in a better place to do that , with more immunity and a less virulent variant . But everybody needs to have facts to make their decisions . And not just sensationalist op eds from trashy news sites or poor science review fora .

Or maybe..

Let's wait for the post bivalent booster studies to complete and be published and in the absence of real data not be arguing over something that may just be another red herring . Like so many others before ..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

the heart cells cannot be regenerated, that's why we don't get cancer of the heart.

If you damage your heart in some way, that's gonna stay. Most mio/pericarditis are mild enough to allow for normal life, but they will impact life expectancy in the long run

• Registered Users Posts: 17,742 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

And not to mention that the risk of myocarditis is substantially higher just after Covid

• Registered Users Posts: 12,003 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You are assuming damage = death of tissue . Like any other muscle when injured or infected it initially becomes inflamed . Most cases of myocarditis ( which is inflammation of the heart muscle ) do not lead to permanent scarring and resolve , although it can take time . . People are advised to rest and take it easy for a number of weeks/ months to allow this inflammation to settle completely in order to prevent any permanent damage .

The biggest danger is people who continue exercising , because the age group in which it commonly occurs would be more active generally. Some cases are so mild that people only present when they find they cannot excercise as normal and they are found to have abnormal cardiac investigations.

It is scarring that is permanent damage. As said before cases are rare , and permanent damage even rarer. However the risk is there and it is a serious risk however small .

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-news/myocarditis-covid-vaccine-research-long-term-effects-rcna55666

Unfortunately while it is usually those that require hospitalisation for symptoms of breathlessness and chest pain that would have more severe illness that may lead to permanent damage, sometimes those that develop it may have had a mild illness to begin with but it becomes worse as time goes on .

It is however misinformation to say that myocarditis leads to permanent cardiac muscle damage.. Also that it will all lead to reduction in life expectancy however mild ...Where have you read this because it has never been the case before now and it is just an assumption based on no evidence and incorrect information ..

https://www.reuters.com/article/factcheck-myocarditis-covid19-vaccine-idUSL1N2S924L

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

According to doctors myocarditis create scars, thus permanent damage

"In simple terms, myocarditis is a disease that causes inflammation of the heart muscle. This inflammation enlarges and weakens the heart, creates scar tissue and forces it to work harder to circulate blood and oxygen throughout the body."

"there is no known treatment for viral myocarditis"

https://www.myocarditisfoundation.org/about-myocarditis/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭walus

Safety of Pfizer vaccines appears to be batch dependent. Danish scientists examined rates of SAEs (severe adverse effects) between different BNT162b2 vaccine batches administered in Denmark (population 5.8 million) from 27 December 2020 to 11 January 2022.

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/eci.13998

4.2% batches have been found to be responsible for 71% of severe adverse effects with the blue line representing batches for which the occurrence of SAE was 1 in 20 (!) doses. These batches are thought to be administered up to April 2021. Green line represents batches for which the occurrence of SAE was 1 in 1000. Age has been reported to be of no significance.

With the safety of vaccines batch dependent a general statement that ‘vaccines were safe’ is not true. Some batches were safe, others were dangerous.

Looks like over time the safety of vaccines improved (possibly by changing the formulation?) but the question mark remains if that negatively affected the efficacy.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users Posts: 27,783 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Is this a peer reviewed study?

First important thing to note is that nowhere does the study state vaccines were unsafe. It warns of a potential safety signal that is all.

So is pure anti vaxxer embellishment to make a statement of fact as to "vaccines were safe" is not true. It is your own invention, without foundation or merit. Of course an anti vaxxer shoots first and asks questions never. Only asks questions about the vaccines, never questions these studies. Your anti vax agenda here is obvious.

This seems to be just a rehash of the VAERS nonsense, with failure to take into account the context of the rollouts.

By that I suggest that when vaccines were initially rolled out, more VAERS reports were logged as this was a new medicine. This is a known effect.

Or, different batches were given to different age groups, with differing level of background medical events?

The study limitations noted:

in the present study, the SAE case history of prior COVID-19 was unknown, and specific SAE types (MedDRA system organ class etc.), demographics of SAE cases, relationships of SAEs with consecutive vaccine doses in individuals cases, temporal trends in the observed batch-dependency of SAEs, and batch-dependent effects on vaccine effectiveness, respectively, were not examined

The below article explains why this is a major limitation:

Hickey and Rancourt found (their Figure S6, [2]) that the age factor could explain all the batch differences in deaths, and that increased variability in deaths per dose was likewise consistent with increasing median age, in the USA (VAERS). It was incorrect for Schmeling et al. to conclude as they did knowing that they had excluded the age consideration.

https://denisrancourt.ca/entries.php?id=131&name=2023_07_01_does_the_analysis_of_schmeling_et_al_suggest_a_batch_dependent_safety_signal_for_the_bnt162b2_mrna_covid_19_vaccine

Post edited by odyssey06 on

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Incredible,

Some batches as high as 1/20 adverse effects.

Others 1/1000 - even this is too high, vaccines have been pulled for 1/10,000 adverse effects.

Yet still people on here will defend these.

The study even says the below but of course as expected anti vaxxers will ignore this and misrepreset the findings as proving something about vaccines being unsafe when it can do no such thing:

"The DKMA-managed spontaneous SAE reporting system in Denmark is a passive surveillance system akin to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS) in the US, and reports from these systems are subject to reporting biases, with potential for both under- and over-reporting, as well as incomplete data and variable quality of the reported information. Owing to these inherent limitations, signals detected by these systems must be considered to be hypothesis-generating and generally cannot be used to establish causality."

The Danish study signals problems with vaccines and asks interesting questions. I think that the researchers discovered patterns that indicate issues with the Pfizer product. Those issues are most likely related to product quality in a large scale production scenario.

Ramping up production to millions and billions of units in such a short period of time was most likely achieved by outsourcing and manufacturing in multiple plants at the same time. This product required specific storage and transportation conditions, which imposed the need for distributed manufacturing. For example US received the vaccines from different plants than say Europe and so on, thus making some adverse event reporting systems not pick up the signals. Manufacturing so many vaccines in such a short period of time while maintaining the product quality is extremely difficult. Of course, any deviation from the expected specification should have been picked up by the quality control but as we know that sometime fails too.

If that is what happened the affected batches should be easily traceable to the respective plants and product quality issues could easily be confirmed. Could it be that some of the plants have failed to provide an in-spec product especially when large quantities were processed at the same time and the process became unstable? Did somebody from Pfizer not say that making the vaccine was like building the plane and flying it at the same time? Maybe it really was.

Another possibility could be that Pfizer re-formulated the vaccine to make it less and less harmful. That would imply that they knew about the inherent issues to begin with but still chose to introduce the product to the market. Highly unlikely imo.

I think that the vaccine was safe and the formula/process was stable and worked well on a small scale. It is only when the production was ramped up the issues came up to the surface and this is what the study detected.   

Of course, the authors in line with scientific epistemology cannot make definite statements and conclusions. It is to early and more research is required. Otherwise they would have not got it published. As far as I understand these are preliminary findings and the data is not fully in yet for the 'yellow line'. On top of that there are concerns about under-reporting of the events that occurred long after the vaccine injections - the more time has passed the harder it is to link the SAE with the jab. Nevertheless this work certainly signals problems with the some of the early batches of the vaccines and gives an opportunity for Pfizer and other researchers to investigate. 

The differences in data for batches are explicable with regard to the different groups who received the batches, and when.

The work does not "clearly signal problems with some of the early batches" and to suggest it is scurrilous anti vax scaremongering.

As explained already, there is plausible alternative explanations to account for the data differences.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/120821693/#Comment_120821693

As I said in the original post age was not a factor. Although not in the paper, this was confirmed by the authors after the paper was published.

In fact the green and yellow batches had a higher elderly (70+) participation than in the blue batch. Blue batches got first to younger cohorts who were deemed essential i.e. healthcare workers.

Therefore the 'plausible alternative' is not really plausible.

It wasn't in the original paper. Right.

And was the original paper even peer reviewed?

But now we're expected to rely on comments from the authors that contradict the actual contents of the study itself.

When the study itself actually says:

In addition, in the present study, the SAE case history of prior COVID-19 was unknown, and specific SAE types (MedDRA system organ class etc.), demographics of SAE cases, relationships of SAEs with consecutive vaccine doses in individuals cases, temporal trends in the observed batch-dependency of SAEs, and batch-dependent effects on vaccine effectiveness, respectively, were not examined.

The claims about this study get more and more dubious.

More VAERS reports from early batches can also be explained by known factor of a 'new' medicine undergoing more vigilance by reporters.

On what has been presented so far, the stories being spun about this study appear to be nothing more than scurrilous anti vax scare mongering.

The authors are fairly adamant that they are right and that there were issues with some batches of the product.

I'd also argue that the families of those 579 Danes who are reported to have lost their lives because of the vaccine would consider their findings much more than "scurrilous ant vax scare mongering".

Right, just they can't provide actual data and you can't provide evidence of same, and they are now contradicting the actual contents of their study.

Sure lots of scientists are adamant they are right, only to be corrected and disproven in peer reviews when other scientists have examined their data.

Where in the study does it attribute causation to 579 deaths in Denmark to the vaccines?

The notion that a VAERS report indicates causation has been thoroughly discredited it is incredible anti vaxxers persist in this scare story.

Where does the study, or the authors of the study attribute 579 deaths to vaccines?

You are now deliberately and deceptively misrepresenting the contents of the study to engage in scurrilous anti vax scare mongering.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sconsey

This is gas! did all the rich people get together in 2019 and put the plan in place? great co-ordination, fair play to them.

Time and time again you are making unjustified personal attacks that add nothing to the discussion.

I don’t see a need to search through my browsing history from 3 months ago. Your claim that the demographic distribution is a possible explanation is debunked by the co-author Vibeke Manniche herself in the clip provided. The fact that it is on Cambell’s channel is completely irrelevant and your remarks are aimed purely to deflect from the fact that your arguments are void.  

I have no intention to be dragging this any further and engage in such a low level discussion with you. You have made several fruitless attempts to discredit the study and went on the personal insults path, which you always do when there is nothing else to hang onto. Standard tactics.

Translation: Your pretence of an 'open mind' on vaccines have been shown up for the obvious falsehood that it is. Your post history on Covid is therefore entirely relevant to demonstrating that. You were unable to find posts where you rebutted an anti vax claim made by another poster. Yet your post history is full of false or exaggerated claims about vaccine safety risks.

These are not 'personal' attacks. They directly relate to the anti vax propaganda without merit or foundation you post on this thread. Desperate attempt at the posting tactic of 'playing the victim' when your pretence is rumbled.

When you have to start pulling figures out of an anti vax grifter John Campbell Youtube video, figures which are nowhere in the study itself, it is clear the claims you have made for the study are thoroughly discredited.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sconsey

The fact that it is on Campbell's youtube channel is very relevant, if you are relying on a widely discredited commentator to prove your point, you have already lost the argument.

Exactly, they aren't releasing this new data through seriously peer reviewed sites, but drip feeding it on a known anti vax outlet. Claims they wouldn't be able to make in a proper study. The discredit themselves with these tactics.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,813 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Conspiracy Theories forum ---------->>>>> 🙄

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,813 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

you mentioned 579 deaths, and of course provided zilch to back this up.

When questioned on it it became an "irrelevant matter" 🙄

Are the 579 deaths alleged by you irrelevant or not?

You then posted a video from the well known fraud Campbell who misrepresents himself as a medical doctor, he is not.

So that's the best thing you have to back this rubbish up? If so you have nothing.

Life ain't always empty.

Standard anti vax tactics. Drop in a false scaremongering claim about vaccines with vague weasel words... 579 deaths, 20% excess deaths. BS they know they cant back up, hoping no one will challenge them.

Then if challenged they pretend they didn't say that or post 'evidence' that actually in no way proves the original claim. Then come back a few posts later repeating the scaremongering slur as fact. Fundamentally dishonest posting tactics.

Just to summarise the debate has been about whether the early batches higher SAE rates where due to older demographics (increased median age) and that if this could have skewed the data. This has been debunked straight from the horse’s mouth so to speak – by one of the authors. Any attempts to downplay the significance of that are simply pathetic.

Whatever the issue you have with the 579 deaths that were classified as SAE related, as reported in the paper, is as far as I understand not related to the above matter and thus I consider it irrelevant.

1. Is the original paper peer reviewed? We have many times over the course of Covid 'preprints' non reviewed studies making very dubious claims, never make it through peer review. Yet amazingly surface on anti vax news feeds and are posted here. Then disappear without trace. Amazing how you found it yet when have you ever once found a pre-print study that reported favourably on vaccines and posted it here? Well?
    2. The subsequent figures are not in the study. The study itself is on very shaky ground. Figures being drip fed through Youtube have no standing. That the authors are going on a known anti vax grifter Youtube channel to spread their views raises serious questions as to their impartiality and agenda. So no nothing has been debunked except the claims made by you for the original study -> which went well beyond the study itself which was much more qualified as to implications.
    3. Based on all that, there is no credibility at present that the authors have controlled for confounding factors to explain the differences - such as age, precondition profile, or just that more scrutiny \ reports might be expected \ logged for a brand new medicine \ vaccine.
    4. As a frequent poster on this forum, you know that an SAE logged post vaccine \ dispensation does not indicate a causal connection. Yet you still scurrilously attempted to directly link 579 deaths to vaccines in Denmark. If it wasn't relevant why was it mentioned? It was done as an obvious example of anti vax tactics to insinuate any scare story about vaccines.
    5. It has been demonstrated beyond question that you are here pushing an anti vax agenda.

Co-author of the paper Vibeke Manniche has been debunked before on claims trying to downplay impact of covid.

https://www-dr-dk.translate.goog/nyheder/detektor/detektor-laegen-vibeke-manniche-vildleder-med-hjemmelavet-corona-graf?_x_tr_sl=auto&_x_tr_tl=en&_x_tr_hl=en&_x_tr_pto=wapp

The authors of this study have no credibility, as demonstrated by their anti vax grifting as they makes claims without foundation on Youtube etc where they start inventing new claims not even in the study.

The article was rejected by Lancet and multiple other reputable journals.

The authors of the study are tracking batches shipped- they don't even know how many doses from each batch were actually used. Differences in batches could in part be accounted for simply that some batches had more unused doses. To know that, and then to come out in public and start talking about major safety issues with vaccines is scurrilous scare mongering.

Health care workers, being familiar with the reporting systems, were encouraged during the rollout to report adverse events - even minor ones such as fatigue, headache. These are the people who are actually trained to log these reports. So there is another explanation as to why certain non-random groups being vaccinated leads to differences in events reported.

Serious questions have been raised about the study by experts, one going so far as to label it 'pseudoscience'.

I agree - The claims being made by the authors of this very dubious study on social media are pseudoscience.

https://sundhedspolitisktidsskrift-dk.translate.goog/nyheder/sundhedspolitik/7612-eksperter-dansk-forskning-af-bivirkninger-af-pfizer-vaccine-er-bevidst-vildledende-pseudovidenskab.html?_x_tr_sl=auto&_x_tr_tl=en&_x_tr_hl=en&_x_tr_pto=wapp

Oh look, one of the authors of the study was placed under official increased supervision for covid related conduct.

I think the facts are in, and the authors of this study have been shown to be anti vax grifters and covid wingnuts.